0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Focal Alpha 50 5" Powered Studio Monitor Reviews

5.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Focal Alpha 50 5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Questions about the Focal Alpha 50 5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Santa Rosa CA. March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Pro drummer, lyricist

    Focal Alpha 50's

    Putting together home studio needed studio monitors. I did my research talked to the tech at Sweetwater and the Focal Alpha 50's are exactly what I needed. They are crisp clear articulate with absolutely plenty of bottom end. Thanks again Brent for your help.
    Mitch

  • from February 10, 2017

    Yes Yes Yes

    I recently got rid of my NS10M studios from the early 90s, yes I owned them since I think 1991. I got rid of them because - I was bored of hearing music the same way and wanted a fresh perspective (and I'm not mixing records these days), they were accurate and the standard for so many years.

    I tried these Alpha 50s and the Focal CMS 40s, and honestly if you're not trying to be mobile, this things sound WAY better. They're Great inexpensive speakers - and I've heard a lot of very expensive speakers in many major studios.

    Make sure you have a good interface or console, and cables with these, or they sound not so good. I was running these with and Apogee One and unbalanced cables, and these speakers were noisy, which was extremely annoying.

    Just picked up an Apogee element, running these balanced, and the whole system sounds AMAZING!!

  • from January 25, 2017

    Truth serum

    I used to work in a Focal listening room/studio and had a rough idea of what I was getting into. However, that was years ago, and this line wasn't out. I took a huge gamble buying these monitors without listening to them first, but it totally paid off. Accurate, sure, but that's not what my appeal is. They are setup in such a way that if you are close but some frequencies are a little heavy, you'll hear it right away. While breaking them in, I put on a number of songs that I had thought to be mixed, mastered, and produced extremely well. I was right about some, but was shown otherwise on others. Some mixes fell flat where I thought they would be huge, some had dominating mid freq on certain instruments, and some had it throughout the mix. So the mindset of, "if it sounds good on these, it will sound good on anything" definitely holds up.

    I have these on isoacoustic stands on my desk and get a small bump in the low end when I sit in the sweet spot. Do I wish there was more low end? Sure, but I know that realistically, I should have a sub to handle that more accurately.

    The fact of the matter is, you can listen to these speakers for hours and not get fatigued. I'm pretty sure they won't let that happen.

  • from Riverside, CA January 16, 2017

    Simply Amazing

    I usually do not write reviews for products but I have to say these Focal Alpha 50's are simply amazing. I'm sure there are better speakers but not at this price point. There is no competition. Whether they are cranked or turned down low, the sound has to be heard to be believed. If you are considering these, stop right now and get them. You will not be disappointed.

  • from Pennsylvania December 31, 2016Music Background:
    Home studio producer/audiophile

    Hear your music, not your speakers

    I have been in the market for good studio monitors for a long time. I talked to my sweetwater sales engineer and out of the many I picked as possibilities, he recommended these, which were the least expensive of them all. I was originally going to get the alpha 65's, but then I came short on my original budget, and I knew I couldn't use the 65's as practically due to my room size. The day after christmas, I had accumulated enough dough to buy a pair, along with an audient ID14 and some other things. Convieniently (sarcasm self test complete), they arrived on my first day of work, but that is my fault for scheduling to work that day. Just 15 minutes before I had to go to work, I turned them on. At first nothing came out, but then I installed a driver and read the manual for my interface and I started to play music. In about 2 seconds, Both of the Alpha 50's were playing a $ acoustic guitar in front of my desk. The thing is, there was no actual acoustic guitar. It was a .flac sample from the internet. I couldnt believe my ears. The things that I had been missing from my casual speakers (bose companion 5) made the bose speakers sound like a demented elf singing in a high distortion cardboard box. Extremely balanced. unbelievable detail. Surreal bass response for a 5" woofer. I had been missing out on bass with my previous monitors. I could hear frequencies clearly down to 40Hz, but could still somewhat hear frequencies down to 35Hz (Ran a Frequency sweep from youtube). The only complaint I could have is a very light noise which was similar to a light breeze going through tall grass from far away. It isn't enough to distract you when playing music at even low volumes, so I can easily overlook this since the performance of these monitors is just so good! I would definetely repair or replace these if they ever got damaged, instead of trying something else. You need these to hear your music the way it was supposed to sound. Phil Schwan is the best.

  • from Orlando May 23, 2016Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing Engineer

    Amazing Monitors

    Amazing monitors! The highs are clear and smooth, the mids are clean and the low end is very natural and un-hyped. The stereo image is nice and wide, I can hear things that previously went unnoticed. I hear problem frequencies right away, my mixes are sounding clearer, and they translate way better. One of the best things I've noticed after using these monitors is less ear fatigue. I would definitely recommend these to anyone who needs reliable mixing monitors.

  • from Brooklyn, NY April 20, 2016

    Outstanding at twice the price!

    These are absolutely fantastic! I did extensive research, I read reviews and compared every monitor in the (up to) $1000 price range and NOTHING compares to these, which was confirmed by Jeff (my Sweetwater rep).

    The stereo imaging is exceptional, the clarity and detail you'll hear is eye opening (yes, you'll notice what your prior mixes lacked on your other monitors) and they translate accurately to every other listening environment, phone and car. Literally what you hear is what you get. And for a 5" woofer they pack a lot of punchy bass. An absolute steal at $600 for the pair.

    The shut off feature is a nice addition also, if you're away for 15 minutes or so, they power down and then reboot upon hearing sound. They also look very cool! Do not hesitate.

  • from Las Vegas March 31, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Professional

    Just Wow.

    I think these sound better than the Focal CMS 40/50s. The bass is tight and not overbearing and the highs aren't fatiguing. I haven't even burned them for 20 hours yet and they sound that good coming out of the box.
    I originally had the JBL LSR-305s to compliment my Mackie HR824s. Not anymore!

    A perfect B or even A monitor depending on your needs and budget. Well done Focal.

  • from Florida March 15, 2016Music Background:
    Musician producer engineer

    Get these

    Just bought these after listening to a lot of other moniter speakers they sound great even prefers them over some speakers twice their price but don't take my work for it give them a listen at any store and compare .Ryan Murray is the best

  • from December 25, 2015

    Focal Alpha 50

    Really fantastic sounding monitors for the price! Keep in mind these are made in China, not the factory in France, but don't let that lead you to believe that they are not quality or that you could make a better decision at this price point! Getting these monitors placed properly for the ideal sweet spot is key for these monitors, considering the sweet spot is not very large, as expected with any 5" near field monitors. You won't be disappointed! And don't worry, they pack a decent punch ;)

  • from Miami , Florida November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Rock till you drop

    Focal Alpha 50

    I have a home studio , spoke to Robert Willams about sound quality , pricing and compared other monitors. I was gonna get the Yamaha 5 inch then after getting great advice, I got the focal alpha 50. I can literally hear instruments I've never heard in many songs ! If you walk away from the monitors anywhere around your house , you hear the exact sound quality. The bass is prime and clear in these little dudes. Nothing is muffled. If you're serious about mixing/recording get these ! And a huge thanks to Robert Williams !

  • from Marana, AZ May 11, 2015

    I Never Heard That Before

    I got to demo these at Winter NAMM this year and finally saved the dough to pick up a pair. All I can say is you will hear things you didn't when you get these in your chain. Amazing bass response from a 5 inch speaker but is most impressive is the Mids - they actually exist with these little bad boys. I had a pair of Dyn's and these are really close if not better.

  • from Brooklyn, NY April 27, 2015

    Wow. Just wow.

    I just added these to my project studio and I'm kicking myself for not doing it years ago. The Focals are absolutely true to the original sound. Also, they are POWERHOUSES. Big sounds come in small packages.

  • from Florida January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/ songwriter

    Focal ALPHA 50 monitors

    Clean and tight all the way - excellent detail - super smooth bass but tight
    As well - very detailed - just excellent

  • from Florida January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/ songwriter

    Focal ALPHA 50 monitors

    Clean and tight all the way - excellent detail - super smooth bass but tight
    As well - very detailed - just excellent

  • from Simi Valley, CA August 16, 2014

    Great Monitors

    These are fantastic studio monitors. Smooth high end and mid range. Extended and defined low end. The low end is understandable unlike other 5" monitors.

    If you are in a home studio and want to upgrade because you either feel like your monitors do not reproduce low end frequencies well or feel like its time to upgrade to something that is significantly better quality, this is definitely the way to go. I did't think the 5" woofers would have enough low end power, but I was shocked at the power and quality that these can reproduce low end frequencies.

    Would highly recommend these to anyone looking to get accurate sound at a great price point. These have similar quality to the genelecs almost 3 times their price.

  • from Washington, MA January 25, 2017Music Background:
    Bassist, Drummer.

    Focal Alpha studio monitor

    These speakers really put me on my toes, i thought my mixes were pretty good which they are, but making a mix sound good on these monitors makes it sound so much better on any stereo,..Also and just as important, Having Andy Miller as my personal Rep/coach on what would work best for me is and has been a real bonus to say the least, he gets me exactly what it is i'm looking for everytime! Thanks Andy, thank you Sweetwater, Ya'll Rock!

  • from Alabama April 19, 2016

    Focal Alpha 50

    Excellent speakers! Big sound in a small box. Thanks Sweetwater for another great product.

  • from Portland, Indiana February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Home Studio owner, Musician, retired parttime hippie

    Amazing Little Speaker

    I have been looking to upgrade my monitors for some time. I like many novices invested more in" bells and whistles" than I did on monitors when first out fitting my studio. I know now of course what an error that was. For many years I used a pair of Tapco S-5's and a Tapco 10" sub, they served me well but I just felt like my music just hadn't reached the level I perceived it could. I research monitors online for about a year including Sweetwater's site. Read as many trade mag reviews as possible-Recording Magazine, Tape-Op etc. I e-mailed My SE Matt Masek, gave him my price range and the three finalist I selected in my "new studio monitor" contest. He recommended, hands down, the Focals. I picked the Alpha 50's cause that is what my budget was most pleased with. DO NOT and I repeat do not over look these speakers if you are in the market for monitors. These speakers are amazing! The bass output, unless you are into hip-hop, techno or dance styles will amaze you. It did me. If you like me record a lot of guitar centeric music, you'll love these little guys. Very open and honest. My Tapcos' by comparison sounded boxy, they(the Tapcos') were louder, but in an irritating, fatiguing way, the Focals when cranked just sounded louder but in a very pleasing enjoyable way. If you are used to your monitors hyping your monitoring experience you won't like these speakers, but if you want a speaker that is honest and informs you of the EQ choices you need to make, you'll like these speakers. They aren't for everyone, but for me they are a good fit. A big shout out to my SE Matt..... thanks for "focusing" me on the Focals.

  • from Findlay, Ohio January 23, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, engineer, musician, writer, studio owner.

    Fatigue free and clean

    I wanted an extra pair of monitors, just for a comparison with my Genlecs. I had taken a chance on Focal headphones and was delighted with them. My sales tech recommended the 50's so I took a shot. I also bought Coleman Audio LS3 so that I could A/B compare. While the 50's are no Genlecs I would recommend them with out hesitation after listening for a week. I love the standby feature as well, why doesn't everybody use that? Add to the mix a happy price point and I don't know why you wouldn't want them, big studio or small.

  • from Deer Park April 19, 2016Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    Pleasently Surprise

    These Monitors sound pretty good. I really Like them.

  • from Missouri March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Studio Owner

    Big bang for the buck

    This is a lot of sound for a 5" woofer. I was concerned about getting a full range of tone from this set up but that was short lived. The Alpha 50 produces a great bottom end with a clarity across all ranges that is impressive for the dollar that your gonna spend with this monitor. Not sure I'm impressed with the standby feature. Seemed like it was a little picky about how it wanted the signal to be delivered.
    Overall this is a great monitor and will likely buy another set soon for the mixing and editing process.

Questions about the Focal Alpha 50 5" Powered Studio Monitor?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway