0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

SweetCare®

How do I trash my Pro Tools preferences?

Trashing the Pro Tools preferences is a good way to “reset” Pro Tools if the application is behaving abnormally. With Pro Tools closed, follow the steps below based on your version of Pro Tools and/or your computer’s operating system.

Mac:

Pro Tools 11 & 12

  • With Finder as the active application, hold the Option key and click on the Go menu at the top of the screen and drag down to Library.
    • Go to the Preferences folder and delete the following items:
      • com.avid.ProTools.plist
      • ProTools folder within the Avid folder
  • Empty your trash.

Pro Tools 10 and below

  • Go to Macintosh HD\Library\Application Support\Digidesign and delete the Databases folder.
  • Go to you User folder and select Library (on Mac OS X 10.7 and up, you need to select the Go menu from the Finder task bar while holding the Option key to access the User\Library folder).
    • Go to the Preferences folder and delete the following items:
      • com.digidesign.ProTools.plist
      • DAE Prefs
      • DigiSetup.OSX
      • Pro Tools Prefs
  • Empty your trash.

Windows:

Windows 8

  • Go to C:\Users\*user name*\AppData\Roaming\Avid and delete all the files inside.
    • Note: If you cannot find the AppData folder, click on Organize and choose Folder and Search Options. Click on the View tab, then select Show Hidden Files and Folder. Click Apply then OK. AppData should now be visible.
  • Empty your recycling bin.

Pro Tools 11 & 12 on Windows 7

  • Go to C:\Users\*user name*\AppData\Roaming\Avid and delete the Pro Tools folder.
    • Note: If you cannot find the AppData folder, click on Organize and choose Folder and Search Options. Click on the View tab, then select Show Hidden Files and Folder. Click Apply then OK. AppData should now be visible.
  • Empty your recycling bin.

Pro Tools 9 and 10 on Windows 7

  • Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools\Databases\Unicode and delete the Volumes folder.
  • Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools\DAE\ and delete DAE Prefs.
  • Go to C:\Users\*user name*\AppData\Roaming\Avid and delete the Pro Tools folder.
    • Note: If you cannot find the AppData folder, click on Organize and choose Folder and Search Options. Click on the View tab, then select Show Hidden Files and Folder. Click Apply then OK. AppData should now be visible.
  • Empty your recycling bin.

Windows XP and Windows Vista

  • Open your C: drive and delete Digidesign Databases (Pro Tools 8.0.2 and below).
  • Go to C:\Program Files\Digidesign\Pro Tools and delete the Databases folder.
    • Be sure to backup your catalogs if you are using Pro Tools HD, DV Toolkit 2, or Complete Production Toolkit).
  • Go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE and delete DAE Prefs.
  • Go to C:\Documents and Settings\*user name*\Application Data and delete the Digidesign folder.
  • Empty your recycling bin.

Click here to search 28,000 other solutions on our knowledge base.

Hundreds of Deals in the DealZone