rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Move Your Pro Tools Regions between Sessions

If you’ve ever tried to import a region that you edited in a previous Pro Tools session into a new session, you might have been frustrated to find that only the whole audio file is available. This is because Pro Tools by default stores all region information within the session rather than attach it to the audio file. You can write region data into an audio file by selecting a region in the region list and choosing “Export Region Definitions” under the Audio pop-up menu. The region information will then be written into the parent audio file, and the next time you import the file into a new session, you will be given the choice of importing the whole file or just the exported regions.

Pro Tools versions 6 and above also allow you to move entire tracks – complete with edits, fades, automation, and plug-ins – between sessions by using the “Import Session Data” feature found in the File menu.

Share this Article