0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Overtone Labs Tune-Bot Digital Drum Tuner Reviews

4.5 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Overtone Labs Tune-Bot Digital Drum Tuner?

Questions about the Overtone Labs Tune-Bot Digital Drum Tuner?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from November 26, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Excellent

    I had been tuning my drums by ear and was frustrated by the sound. Then I realized that, as a long-time guitarist, I am perfectly capable of tuning my guitar by ear, but having a tuner makes things WAY easier and quicker. Good guitar tuners cost in this vicinity--the price is fair for a drum tuner.

    It is quite easy to use. Don't be dissuaded by comments by others that say it's hard to use--I suspect they don't have much experience with electronic tuners in general. You can use this tuner simply by turning it on and hitting your drum around the lugs. If you want to get more in depth, you can read the manual and learn more of the functions. I found the filter function particularly useful, as well as the chart (available on their website) of recommended lug frequencies for tuning your drums to different notes.

    I was pretty close by ear on the batter sides, but this helped me make sure the lugs were the same tensions, and it helped me a lot with the resonant heads.

  • from September 2, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Musician

    Best of both worlds

    I've read reviews of Tune-Bot vs Drum Dial, etc., but why limit yourself to one device. I just re-headed my kit using a Neary Drum Torque to get the heads close to even, then fine tuned them with the Tune-Bot. It was the fastest tuning I've ever done and the kit sounds fantastic. Once you know your torque numbers a torque wrench gets you close very fast, but it's not precise. The Tune-Bot is very precise but it's not fast if you're starting with new heads. But, the two together are the perfect combination for very fast, repeatable tuning. I'm loving' this thing. If you already own a torque wrench or Drum Dial, get one of these. You won't regret it.

  • from Minneapolis, MN August 14, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, Jazz, Latin and Funk. Enough said.

    I dig it!

    I'm so glad I found the Tune-Bot. I'm currently tuning my new DW Collectors kit using Dennis Chamber' tunings from their website. This entire kit just sings now! Incredible sound! Saaaaawwwweeeeeeetttttt!!

  • from Portland, OR February 4, 2016

    The Best Drum Tuning Device to Date

    I have a kit in my home studio, a Yamahas Stage Custom, stripped down to four pieces. I typically record Blues and Jazz tunes. I have had some very good drummers come over to play on a session and I have watched diligently as they went through the process of tuning the drums. Man, I was never really blown away by the drum kit or my two snares. They sounded 'OK', there's no other adjective to use.

    When I watched a YouTube video of someone using this Tune Bot I thought I should give it a try. It is a tool that needs to be understood and sometimes encouraged along the way as it does it's job, but once you get a handle on it, there is truly nothing out there that is better. The key is to visit the Tune Bot site and get some tuning parameters from the various artists that sign in there. One artist for example, suggested 278Hz for the beater (top) of and 14" snare, and 368Hz for the snare (bottom) side. The first time you attempt this it seems impossible, particularly the snare side, but as you finally hit that pitch (368Hz) on one lug and lock it into the tuner, the process becomes amazingly simple.

    BTW, I totally understand why some ppl dis the Tune Bot, I do. But it is not going to automatically tune the drums for you. However, if you watch a YouTube video or two, the operation of the tool should become clear. And I am here to tell you, once you tune that drum correctly, you will be blown away. I have never heard these drums sound like this before! All the drummers that came to my studio, as much as I respect your playing skills, plainly, the Tune Bot has shown me that tuning a drum is a whole different skill set. I love this thing. Finally I can put the drum tuning on the back burner and get my cymbals sorted!

  • from October 12, 2015

    Tune Bot

    Don't think my set has ever been tuned this well!!

  • from October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, studio and live

    Great addition to my setup!

    It doesn't get much better than this!
    Although I can tune my kit without any problem, the tune-bot gets my drums consistently at the same pitch day after day.
    I am very impressed by the ease of use and the simplicity of the tune-bot
    I don't view it as a "crutch" or anything of the sort. But just a valuable tool to help me save time tuning and focus on the music first!

  • from Seattle,WA. June 12, 2014Music Background:
    any thing and everything no song is a bad song unless your out of tune

    NEEDED THIS A LONG TIME AGO

    Fast and easy, you will always be in tune where ever you are!

  • from Brooklyn, NY September 4, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, Engineer, Producer

    My drums now sound great

    I'd never really figured out how to tune drums until I bought this product. I guess I've always managed to get my drums to sound good, but only through trial and error - messing around with different tunings, often for too long, until I liked what I heard. With this thing, some initial experimentation helped me figure out all the different sounds I could get out of my drums and now I can get them to sound any way I want them to! It does take some time to really figure things out, but once you like what you hear, it's easy to consistently replicate that sound over and over.
    I urge all drummers and recording engineers to check this thing out! it's great!

  • from Virginia Beach, VA December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, Recording Engineer

    Tune Bot is a game changer

    As a fan of the Drum Dial and Tension Watch, l learned the value of using tools in combination with my ears to get a better drum sound.

    When the Tune Bot hit the street, this took me to a new level of understanding drum tuning, head selection, relative pitches to the various toms, snare and kick. Once I learned to use the product (it may take some patience and experimentation) I was able to dial in a more consistent sustain, relative pitch, and find the right feel for each drum, not too tight or floppy.

    Not only do I love the sound and feel of the drums after a good tuning, I actually enjoy the process. The reaction of the engineers and band members is an added plus.

    I recommend using the Tune-Bot website to get you into the ballpark, and remember to experiment using different sustain setting for different drums. I go with max sustain on the smallest tom then try settings for lower sustain levels as the drums get bigger. Track the numbers used and continue to experiment with different numbers; the right numbers will become obvious with time.

    In closing, enjoy the benefits of this great product. Share it with other drummers, sound engineers and other musicians. They will appreciate it at different levels but it all should be positive.

  • from Broken Arrow, OK October 24, 2014Music Background:
    Front of House Engineer, Musician

    Solid!!!

    This is a SOLID tool! Takes all the guessing out of quick tune-ups and saves time on in depth tunings. I run sound for a church and I am the one that tunes the drums week to week, and don't always have time to get them sounding the best. Only had it a couple of days and already got the drums sounding solid, in tune with each other and can't wait for services this weekend.

  • from Usa Eastern N.C. October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tune Bot

    The Tune Bot Will Give you The Overall Hz of the drum head with easy clip on app. that makes a big diff. In overall drum tune! then you can adjust from there Work great for replacing heads and retuning. after they have stretched. took awhile to figure out how to use it? hitting lugs has to be done precisely to get good results?

  • from Soo, MI June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Don't guess - Know with Tune-Bot

    The Tune-Bot digital drum tuner makes it easy to get a drum set sounding good quickly with the fundamental frequency. However, I had trouble tuning individual lugs to a certain pitch because after tuning each lug the same, my fundamental pitch would change. I think with some more time I will be able to learn to use both functions together. Great product to have in your audio toolbox!

  • from April 30, 2014

    Super helpful

    I would mess around for a few hours and get an ok sound on my kit but never quite get all the lugs tuned the same. Now not only does my kit sound way better and it's way easier to get it sounding that way with the tune-bot, but the tune-bot is teaching me way more about how to tune my heads then any youtube video i've ever seen. For me the tune-bot was and is a must have. I do not regret a single dollar of that purchase.

    The only thing stopping me from giving this product a 5 out of 5 is the saving of frequencies/drum positions. It isn't very intuitive. I'll have to read the manual more to figure it out.

  • from San Diego October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyst, Pro Sound Student.

    Excellent addition to my drumming accesories

    It does a great job at assisting on precise tuning, the ability to store settings you found to your liking is nice.
    You need to get to know this tuner well, it does have a few issues you will need to figure out how to work, for example, sometimes you need to "mute" your drum head with a lite finger touch when tapping near logs for proper frequency, and not all the time! you will get to know the unit as you use it and get to a point when it becomes an invaluable tool.
    The tuner seems pricey at current cost, but once you figure it out real good, then you will appreciate the expense and consider it more of an investment that will assist you to return to your favorite tunings fast and with precision. Take your time with it, is worth it.

  • from Portland, OR August 20, 2013

    Accuracy and Consistency

    If you are a terrible drum tuner, this won't make you a great one. It will make you a better one. If you are a good tuner, it can make you a great one. If you are a great one, it will save you a lot of time. The musicality is up to you – what it provides is accuracy and consistency, and for that it's well worth it. I dialed in a great studio setup with it, then realized the floor tom had too much sympathy ring with the kick. A handful of cotton balls in there would fix it, but normally, I would either lose my great tone or spend an hour trying to get it precisely as it was. With the bot I just took off the bottom head, dropped in the cotton, and dialed up the EXACT same tuning; the whole thing took six or seven minutes. It does lose some accuracy with very high pitches (i.e., really tight snare heads), and it takes some learning to use. But recommended.

  • from January 16, 2013

    Awesome

    Pretty awesome little device. I'm getting great drum tones in my studio now

  • from Wooster, OH December 10, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Drummer

    Tune-Bot vs. Tension Tuners

    Recognizing that I'm not always satisfied with results of my tuning skills I recently purchase the Tama Tension Watch in effort to get the best possible sound from my Tama Starclassic. I initially liked the concept of evenly tensioned heads but found it annoying to keep moving the TW every time I adjusted a tension Rod. I also, rightly or wrongly, did not like the fact that after the tuning process was complete, some tension rods very loose while others were cranked down so tight that the hoop appeared to bend. I read that others had similar experiences.
    So, after reading positive reviews of the Tune-Bot I decided to give it a try. I like that you clip it onto the drum’s hoop in one position for the entire tuning process. I also like knowing that “sonically’ (vs. “physically” for the TW) the head is tuned properly. The end result of my initial tuning was very positive. My Starclassics definitely sound better. But at least for me, it still takes time to tweak the rods to get their associated frequency on target. It also takes a bit of time to educate oneself as to which rod to adjust. I found that for fussy rods it was sometimes better to adjust adjacent or opposing rods rather than that actual rod that had the issue. Once you get this process down tuning does go much faster.
    Overall I like the concept and usability of the Tune-Bot better than that of tension tools. It makes sense to me to focus on sound vs. a physical characteristic. I also like that if I’m clever enough to record head settings that it’s easy to get the same sound back when changing heads. For those that are gifted at tuning I suspect you’ll benefit little. But for the rest of us I think that this is a tool worth having in your drum bag.

  • from United States March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Drummer

    Dissapointing

    It was not was I was expecting. It wasn't incredibly accurate. I found that when the tune bot said that all the lug frequencies were the same, that they still sounded radically different to my ear.

Questions about the Overtone Labs Tune-Bot Digital Drum Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway