0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

MXR CSP026 '74 Vintage Phase 90 Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR CSP026 '74 Vintage Phase 90 Pedal?

Questions about the MXR CSP026 '74 Vintage Phase 90 Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Berdoo CA March 17, 2017Music Background:
    Life-long student of the guitar (since 1966)

    Just like 1974 model I once owned ...

    Perfect tone recreation of the original ... I owned the Phase 90 and Phase 100 back in the day ... if you want to run this on DC power (not battery) ... Zvex sells a bottom plate which has a battery clip inside and and 9v center negative 2.1mm plug on the outside, it's not cheap though ... I placed this pedal on my pedal board using this technique, works perfectly!

  • from DC September 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hobby

    Good Pedal

    I originally tried out the EVH90 Phaser and thought it was a good pedal that worked well and had a really cool paint job, but I returned it as I was intrigued to know how the '74 would sound and I dug the retro thing as well. I've been using my '74 Vintage Phase 90 for a little while now. First off, it's not really difficult to get the battery in like some people have commented. Putting the battery in with the wide side facing out - YES, then it'd be tough to get it in, but sideways, it fits snug with a little finessing of the foam. The sound of this Phaser is really, really good and I like that it has a hand-wired circuit board. I'll give it some time to consider if it's worth modifying to handle AC power which is an option should unplugging the cords to save the battery become a pain over time. This pedal is different then the EVH90 - better, not necessarily, but different in a warmer and subtle way, especially when turning up the effect - it has more of a Leslie speaker vibe to it. Sweetwater = Awesome Service!

  • from Lisle IL. December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician.

    '74 Vintage Phase 90

    I almost passed on getting this one, because it doesn't have the LED or the AC adapter....However, I am really glad I got this one.
    I know when it's on, so the LED is not a big deal. As for the connection, well my voodoo pedal power came with a battery connection cable, and that works just fine. I did use a small file to make a notch in the lid for the cord to pass thru when the unit is closed, but it was no big deal to do this, the metal is pretty soft
    This Phaser is just really nice and smooth, without being too much effect...it's really great!

  • from Orlando, FL March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    MXR '74 Vintage Phase 90

    The reviews you read here and elsewhere on the internet are true about this pedal. It is that great and it is the sound you've heard on albums. This is what Eddie Van Halen was using on those first iconic albums. It is very subtle, but magical. I bought a Hammond orange case and notched a hole out of it's base and it fit perfectly on the bottom of this pedal. I did this to avoid ruining the Phase 90's base plate. I run the battery adapter by 1 Spot out of the hole and power it with the 1 Spot adapter, so I don't have to worry about changing batteries. I tried it with both a battery and powered by the 1 Spot and didn't hear a difference. I'm running this through the EVH 50 watt 5150iii and a Marshall 1960A cab. If you are looking for that vintage phase 90 from the 70s, this is the one to buy. I love it!

  • from On the road. September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Recording Engineer

    Sweet!!!

    Well worth the money. I use this 90 for guitar, mandolin, bass and keyboards when applicable. It's just got that sound I hear in my head that transfers to live and recorded situations. I own a few different MXR Phase 90's, but this one is smoother than the rest. I don't have this in my pedalboard rigs because it doesn't have an external power supply (it's to much to pull it off of the Velcro and unscrew the back to replace the battery etc.) So that's when the other 90's come in handy. But, when recording or playing that special live gig... this is the one to have.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging Hobbyist musician

    MXR "74 Vintage Phase 90

    Awesome vintage tone and warmth! Everything that I hoped it would be. It's hard to find true "vintage" sounding NEW gear these days. One usually has to just buy the old to get that tone and feel. Not in this case. Search "Gary Rossington" Phaser tone on youtube and you will hear a great demo of this pedal that is spot on IMO. Geat job MXR at bringing back a legend. Thanks!

  • from Washington, DC December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Advanced Student

    MXR '74 Vintage Phase 90

    I am very pleased with this pedal. After testing other MXR phase pedals, I came to the conclusion that this would be the optimum device to achieve a warmer vintage sound. The other MXR pedals have a longer sweep, with more extreme frequency range covered. This pedal is subtle, and is ideal if you want a less harsh, smoother phase sound.

    Tested using Gibson ES-335 and Roland JC-90. Tested all pedals with selector switch in all three positions

  • from sioux falls, sd April 28, 2014Music Background:
    23 years playing guitar

    excellent phaser

    I really like how this phaser does not change your tone or add any unwanted distortion or any volume difference when clicked on. I mainly use it for clean tones to add a nice shimmering watery effect and occasionally with heavy distortion to add a little extra to a solo or intro. I have tried it with 8 different tube amps both in front of the preamp and in the loop and found it add almost zero extra noise when not in use. No led indicator is fine with me, its noticeable when on so I'm not going to dock any points for a reissue staying accurate. Loses half a point due to the battery being a pain to stuff back in the case but compared to how great this pedal sounds, that's a very minor inconvenience. I recommend this to anybody that already loves their sound and wants to add a phaser without having their tone compromised or changed in any way.

  • from February 17, 2017

    Chewy Delight

    I love the sound of phasers, so I'll confess my bias up front. This pedal sounds fantastic, but it's not perfect. Let me explain:

    Good points:
    +Distorts less that other phase 90 variants I've tried.
    +Very little volume change when engaged.
    +The speed knob goes so slow that the sweep is almost still. This makes for an awesome mid-boost that actually has a lot of sonic similarities to my Xotic EP Booster! (Mmmm...is that why Van Halen loved both the Phase 90 and the Echoplex preamp?).
    +Not too swishy, i.e., it's musically useful and not just a special effect.

    Bad points:
    -No LED. Didn't think it was a biggy, but in the dark an LED is incredibly convenient.
    -No AC input. Also didn't think it was a biggy at first, but I like this on my pedalboard after my wha and I have to unplug the input after use. Since it's squeezed onto the board and velcroed down, it's a bit of pain in the butt to disconnect the cable and half of the time I forget to do it. That kills the battery.
    -The switch (on mine) was funky. It was loose and now sometime sticks.
    -It's hard to fit a battery into the case because of a layer of foam covering the circuits. I ended up cutting away some of the foam to make it easier to screw the back plate on.

    Sonically, I'd give this 5 stars, but this pedal definitely is in the 3 range in terms of construction and features. Nevertheless, I love it.

  • from Ridgewood, NY April 6, 2016

    No AC Power No LED

    This pedal runs on batteries only and has no LED to tell you if its on or not. You wont be able to tell when power is low either without an LED.
    Sending this back and exchanging for an MXR EVH90 Phase 90. People want vintage sound not vintage inconvenience.

Questions about the MXR CSP026 '74 Vintage Phase 90 Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway