0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

TC-Helicon VoiceLive Play Acoustic Reviews

4.0 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Play Acoustic?

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Play Acoustic?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from January 26, 2017Music Background:
    guitarist

    LIFE CHANGING

    I have been a worship team guitarist for 20 years and have never really sung into a microphone because I am not gifted with a good voice. This machine helped correct my pitch and add elements to my voice I would have never thought possible. Now I am a worship guitarist and singer!

  • Dennis Ott
    from California November 8, 2016

    Wow Really Cool Tool

    A great addition for the acoustic guitar player. I've had this for two weeks or so and with all its features I have not tried them all yet.
    I do find that using the TC during practice I have been able to detect areas I need to correct in my playing. In other words I can hear much better the errors I play and make adjustments.
    This really adds that extra punch, ambiance and overall tone to your acoustic playing.
    It takes you to the next level.

  • Tony Dunn
    from Greensboro, NC July 11, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-professional musician, guitar, vocals, 40+ years

    Yep, it's all that...

    My wife and I have an acoustic duo where we both sing and play guitar. Although we sing harmony on a good number of our songs (mostly covers from the 60s/70s/80s), we were looking to expand our sound on some tunes by the Eagles, Doobies, Fleetwood Mac, etc. Our first rehearsal with this unit had both of us in disbelief - it really is an amazing unit. What is equally impressive to the harmony processing is the wonderful vocal effects like reverb and delay - they really add another dimension to the sound due to the high quality of the effects. Now you can definitely over use it, but we've had good luck with my wife using the unit to add a single voice either a third above or below her note and I'll sing typically sing the 5th - it really blends beautifully. We're looking to expand the use of the looper for percussion effects, but overall, we are thrilled.

  • Elijah
    from IL June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur, been involved in music for 11 years.

    Great Product

    I bought this mostly to be able to add harmonies to my vocals. It does this so well and so much more. I never realized I needed effects on my guitar until this, adding that reverb and bodyres does wonders for my sound. I was also able to use this in line for a octaver at an a Capella show. This unit is extremely versatile. I had three complaints about it when I first received it: 1) the guitar effects were global only (couldn't change per preset) 2) only the switch 3 was compatible 3) there wasn't a separate mix for the headphone out.
    In the latest firmware update the first two of those problems were fixed. I'm sure the third doesn't affect many players. This is a great box and I know I don't use it even close to it's full potential. And TC-Helicon is still putting support behind it at this time.

    I also recommend buying (or in my case making) a switch 3 or 6. It really makes operation of this unit open up.

  • Jim L
    from Boston, MA March 22, 2016

    TC Helicon Play Acoustic

    Just received the unit today. I'm extremely impressed. More importantly, when I first attempted to set-up the unit, I had an issue with the instructions. I could not get through to anyone at TC Helicon but thankfully, Sweetwater's tech support staff was able to help me out and the unit works great. Without Sweetwater's support, I probably would have returned the unit out of frustration. I am so grateful they were able to help me out. The Play Acoustic really is impressive.

  • Mike
    from Ridgway February 20, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Pretty cool

    Alot more than I expected. Not sure how I got buy with out this. Brings my music to life. Would recommend to all acoustic musicians.

  • Craig W. Ledford
    from Mooresboro, NC February 17, 2016Music Background:
    Praise and Worship Leader with JC & Company/guitarist, vocalist, studio engineer

    GREAT PARTNER TO THE TURBOSOUND IP2000

    As you will notice, I have already reviewed the TC-Helicon Voice Live Play Acoustic. This unit is a vocal harmonizer. Here's an update! I just received the Turbosound ip2000. This is a self contained unit that produces 1,000 watts of exceptional audio! The TC-Helicon unit has two XLR male outputs. You can program the unit so that the vocals are routed from one output and the guitar is routed from the other output. The inputs accept quarter inch for guitar and XLR, female, for microphone. Also, you have an eighth inch input for music, etc. I love the simplicity of this setup! Just make the connections and play! Also, consider adding the PRS right angle guitar cable with a built in switch that mutes the audio signal when the guitar is unplugged. Also, it prevents "pops" when plugging the cable into your guitar. Please give this serious consideration when you are purchasing the TC-Helicon Voice Live Play Acoustic. You WILL be totally pleased with the results!

  • Craig Ledford
    from Mooresboro, NC January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer/Studio Musician/Gospel Singer-Songwriter/Praise & Worship Leader

    Is It Live Or Is It TC Helicon

    I work with the ministry JC & Company as a praise and worship leader. God inspired me to add another facet to the ministry by doing live sets with acoustic guitar. I was looking on the internet for ideas regarding praise and worship music. Accidentally, I ran across a demonstration of the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Play Acoustic. I continued to research this unit on YouTube. I could not find anything negative about its performance capability. I ordered it. I love it! It is user friendly! I purchased the TC Helicon SWITCH-3 to compliment this unit. It is a match made in Heaven! I place the Play Acoustic within arm's reach and place the SWITCH-3 on the floor in front of me. I have programmed the unit so that all three switches accomplish what needs to be accomplished during an entire set or program. The background vocals are simply breathtaking. The delays and reverbs included inside this unit are studio quality. In fact, I do not use any "on-board" effects on my mixer when I use the Play Acoustic. It will take you very little time to "dial in" the background vocals that you need. Once you have the unit programmed, you can simply use the footswitches to do the rest! It will even allow you to route two XLRs from the unit to your mixing board. One can be routed for guitar and one for vocals. I have yet to find anything about this product that I do not like! Listen to the demos on YouTube. What you hear is what you will get when purchasing this unit!

  • Anthony Gaona
    from Livermore, CA August 28, 2015

    Fantastic!

    I've been playing around with the Play Acoustic for about a week now and wow! It adds a dimension to song writing that heavily promotes creativity and it's flat out fun. On top of that you can take it live and have a very professional sound. Buy one, you won't regret it!

  • Cliff
    from Tuscaloosa, AL August 6, 2015Music Background:
    27 Years

    Country & Southern Rock

    Our band has been together and for 15+ years doing clubs, private parties, frat house gigs, etc. We play mostly country, blues, classic & alt. rock, and "party" pop. Instrumental skills are average across the board. The one thing that made our music shine was our backup harmony singer. His role was critical in making over half the songs we do "click." He had to take an indefinite break for personal reasons. It just didn't feel right with anyone else. The chemistry and interaction after 15 years together was irreplaceable. Bought this gizmo on a whim. Jokingly introduced it to the group as our "(Insert name here-in-a-box." First run was rough. Sounded fake. Axed the vocal effects, dialed down the harmony volume a tad, and viola! The crowd, and the band, were blown away. It adds magic to your vocals without being overly noticeable (except for the audiophiles who keep looking for the other singer). Perfect for the country / rock 2 and 3 parts that make you sound tight and polished. Think of Don Rich, Vince Gill, Eagles, or Alabama. Of course, appropriate application requires a bit of tap dancing to kick in in and out and right time, but it's a small price to pay for such a big improvement to your sound. Hope this helps.

  • Jim Coppoc
    from Ames, Iowa July 28, 2015Music Background:
    Hack, but I get paid.

    Big effect, small package. :)

    Okay, some of the effects are pretty cheesy. Restraint matters. Elegance wins. But with just a few days of part-time messing around, I had dialed in the best guitar tone I've ever gotten from a digital multieffects pedal, and the vocal tone was good enough that in a live setting you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference between this box and a whole rack full of high-end gear. A few days after that, playing with space, I dialed in several other great (but probably a little gimmicky) tones for specific songs that need that extra push. As an added bonus, I've started running my keys through the aux in, switching to stereo out, and going straight from this unit to my amps for small solo gigs.

    Very impressed. I don't gush like this easily.

  • Customer
    from July 14, 2015

    Mostly amazing

    Harmonizers have come a long way. This one is a keeper. It's pretty unbelievable. My only criticism is not what the unit can do, but I wish there was a manual that assumes you know nothing. The youtube videos are a big help for the tech challenged but the manual is not for the beginner.

  • Red
    from May 11, 2015Music Background:
    40 yrs of variety

    TC acoustic VL PLAY

    Awesome all in one pedal. Simple set up. 3 patches so far for what I need. Good sound, that's what I have with this. I'm a plug play dude. I'm the one that's supposed to put the music out there, but this gives me the natural tones I want. Thanx again Sweetwater!

  • Jerry M
    from Anaheim CA March 17, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    Brilliant

    This thing is amazing. I was skeptical, but it really can turn a good vocal into a great vocal. The harmonies are uncanny. I played a few songs through it for some friends and we just laughed in unbelief because you can't believe that it sounds that good!

    What can I say? It is affordable, easy to use and it makes you sound amazing! When you hear how good you sound, it will boost your confidence through the roof. For the Acoustic guitarist/singer, this is a no-brainer. Highly recommended.

  • Chris
    from Arkansas March 15, 2015Music Background:
    Praiser Of Jesus

    Awesome

    This TC-Helicon voicelive play acoustic is all it said it was! I needed some guitar effects for my taylor gs mini so I looked into this, watch the videos on it and it has been great for my needs now I have some guitar effects and some voice effects, that sound great, really adds some harmonies to the singe performer!

  • Roy Lewis
    from Vero Beach, Florida March 9, 2015Music Background:
    30 years Musician..Guitar, keyboard, Piano..Singer song writer

    Awesome!!!!

    If your an acoustic player and want to add unbelievable accents to your voice and guitar, this is the one for you!! Small and easily hooked into your PA or Amp. The value of this Processing pedal is amazing!! I was blown away with how easily it was to use and the sounds it produces. As well as a super piece of equipment the people at Sweetwater are amazing too. Very helpful and knowledgeable and always friendly. You not only get a great piece of equipment but they become your family too!! Always hesitant to buy on line, I have never dealt with a company that wants to be sure your happy and always follows up on your order and how you feel about your purchase. My hat goes off to sweetwater and will buy all my equipment from them!!

  • Simply Paul Productions
    from Scottsdale/Tempe, AZ December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Performing musician since 1983: singer/songwriter, guitar, sax(tenor & soprano), flute, piano, & native instruments

    TC-Helicon Acoustic: A device you won't believe is this great

    As a currently solo singer/songwriter, I look for tools to add to my sound. The TC-Helicon Acoustic, after much deliberation and discussion with Sweetwater engineer Lindsey B (who performs, produces, and touches a lot of gear), I picked this up on Cyber Monday. It replaces my DigiTech JamMan 2 pedal looper and DigiTech Vocalist Live 2 and adds about a thousand times more clear sound, rooms, and you can tweak more than I will ever probably use. No, I didn't need to replace either of my DigiTechs, both great pedals but I blew an amp and went to the Bose L1 Model II w/B2 base and Tonematch T1. I was worried about TCHeli Acoustic's match with the Bose T1. Man, did I NOT need to be concerned. The TCHeli in 2 out mono, 1 for guitar, 1 for vocal get their own channels into the Bose T1.
    It just makes the sound happen the way it should. As a mainly solo performer today, this puts vocal/guitar effect at your fingertips. I have yet to touch the 1,000 presets. TCHeli as a company, tutorials on their site and people on web, just outstanding. Sell some old gear, move up to better sound. Keep makin' music. Keep relying on Sweetwater.

  • Ray Jennings
    from Pine Grove, CA USA October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter and small music studio owner/operator. I have written, recorded and produced over 350 songs.

    Best Solo Live Performance Toy Ever

    The TC-Helicon VoiceLive Play Acoustic is the most useful tool an individual acoustic act can acquire! The body res feature really brings your acoustic/electric guitar to life. The vocal harmonies are very realistic. I went online and downloaded additional vocal/harmony choices from the TC Helicon website. There are so many to choose from and they were easy to access and download. The unit itself is easy to set up and small enough to be very portable. I did not even know how much I needed this "tool" until I plugged it in and used it. Could not recommend it more! Thanks to Alan Finkbiener, my Sweetwater rep for turning me on to this amazing device! Any and all solo acoustic acts should consider purchasing this device...from Sweetwater, of course!

  • David Fowler
    from Mo February 22, 2016Music Background:
    Singer songwriter/ solo performer

    Very Happy with the Play Acoustic

    I've had the pedal since January, and just did the firmware update. I understand that with this update you can tweek guitar settings to match the mood /moods of the vocals. Seems very reasonable to do, haven't tried it yet. But I did feel that was a missing feature. I have also purchased a Digitech Trio plus, and noticed immediately that it tweaks your guitar settings automatically to match the drum and bass genres. So I started to miss that feel on the PlayAcoustic.

    I've done about 3 solo gigs with it, and for those I just settled in for about 6 "favorite" presets. It really brings some folks head around on a swivel the when the ghost vocalists show up.

    What I'd suggest as a thought for those that wanted a "guitar boost" for some solo playing, is to use the software (computer) to set up some side by side presets, with the only difference between the two being some guitar boost and maybe some added effect for the guitar solo playing. Then just use the up and down switch to move between "normal" and "solo" of your desired preset. I use the first two vocal presets this way, adding one harmony on first chorus, more harmony on the second or bridge (high harmony 1 and high and higher 2) and there's no sound loss switching between those presets. I think this would work and there are tons of empty preset slots to set up some favorites side by side.

    Anyway I love the unit, and with the added feature of fine tuning the guitar effects to match the vocal harmonies and effects in each preset... I think we have a total winner.

    (I can see why TC started out global on the guitar setting) You dial one in that you like, change the vocals and might wonder... where did my nice guitar setting go? Here's my dream that TC may have already fulfilled. I'd like to set a "standard" guitar setting that would be universally applied to each preset.... then be able to tweak and save on individual presets after that. If that's already possible, consider my 1/2 star deduction as a "whole" star. :-)

    Dave

  • Barry K.
    from Canton, MA. February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Been playin flat top acoustic since the 70's. Learned from friends, was only in one band but have had a guitar and played for years.

    large package, small box

    Presently playing a 2001 Taylor model D. I put in a MiniMic2 (2 small mics mounted inside the body) after hearing one in a Koa Martin. Plugged into a vintage powered mixer. Was working on newer tunes and realized I needed some Fx help. So I went to Sweetwater to see what was available that fit my needs. There was so much to choose from. Well I settled on this little baby and what a great piece of equipment it is. Not only do I get great controllable guitar Fx, I have harmony and pitch correction and about a hundred other options for about the same price I was expecting just for guitar FX. As an older fellow I appreciate the pitch correction, and I was amazed at how much it (filled in) not only my guitar but this old voice too. A word to the wise, when they say "read the manual before beginning" Do so, twice, and take notes! I have had mine awhile and I'm still fine tuning it, but I'm close. Can be challenging, hence the 41/2 rating. The one thing the V.L.A.has done for me in particular is it has made it easier for me to sound relevant in this digital age. PLUS it's a lot of just plain FUN.

  • Luis Vieira
    from Seattle, WA USA November 2, 2014Music Background:
    Church Worship

    Great Piece

    PlayAcoustic brings a whole new tone to both your vocal and your guitar. TC Helicon has done a great job with Bodyrez. I do not own a fancy and expensive guitar, but PlayAcoustic made surely made it sound like one. The clarity that it brought to my vocals is incredible. Not to mention how the awesome and realistic the harmonies are. The only thing that I recommend when buying the PlayAcoustic is also getting the Switch-3. I gives you a lot more flexibility and helps you to get the most out of the device.
    If you already are a Sweetwater client, I surely don't have to say anything about customer service experience. You know it. But if you're not, I'll tell you this, don't bother shopping somewhere else. This is the best you can get in all aspects.
    Hope this can help you a little.

  • Paul Morgan
    from Boquete, Panama November 1, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar

    Tc-Helicon Play Acoustic

    Very nice machine

  • John Russell
    from Savannah, GA August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Song-writter/Performer

    Pleasantly surprised! Nice piece of gear. 5-star with firmware update.

    First of all, I love what this pedal does. I actually love the compression and eq it adds to your voice, I love the luscious reverbs, I love how intuitive and easy it is to use. The looper was a great bonus, the amount of customization and ability to really dial in your sound is the most important to me and this pedal has it. It's super easy to set up when you're gigging. Not to mention the headphone out with room-sense mics, well done TC.

    Now to the nitty-gritty... My only disappointment with this pedal is that (as far as I know with the current firmware) you can't change guitar presets on the fly by tapping a switch. In other words if I wanted to turn on a boost and super wet reverb by stepping on a switch it's not possible. However this problem isn't a hardware issue so it could easily be fixed with a firmware update (which will hopefully come soon with the voice live play electric).

    Bottom line. Amazing pedal, needs a firmware update or two, but I totally recommend it as is, it's a great tool for those looking for control of their own sound.

  • Larry
    from North Carolina April 3, 2017Music Background:
    Singer songwriter ...

    Lots to learn - options abound!

    This is a really cool device. Easy to set up and attempt your first run. Will take longer just to go through all the options and to refine the performances. So far, having a great deal of fun with it. Also bought a Zoom H4N Plus, which I use to record takes, so I can hear back what is being created during my refinements.
    I can already see it will take me to new levels, not just in performing, but in writing ... :-)

  • Ed Sutter
    from Fanwood, NJ April 2, 2016Music Background:
    Just a hack, self taught for fun

    Great box, but takes time to get master it.

    I bought this to eventually use as accompaniment playing out (single vocal, single acoustic guitar). The presets are great, the harmonies added to my voice still amaze me. Ultimately I want to use the looper as a second level of accompaniment but I'm having a hard time figuring out how to do it in real time.
    I wanna start a song with a chord progression recorded into the looper. Then as the song progresses, use "HIT" to enable/disable harmonies; and then click in the pre-recorded chord progression so that I can play some lead on top of that.
    I'm sure there's a way to do it, I just haven't mastered it yet; hence I can't give this gizmo a 5 cause its not quite intuitive enough IMHO. Nevertheless, I love it.

  • Hoaloha
    from Makawao, HI August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Mostly Great

    There are a lot of things I love about this unit and a couple I really don»t like. I love the small size and sturdiness of the unit, quality of the harmonies, the fact that the wet guitar and vocal signals are on separate outputs, the tuner display is really well done, the ability to use in-ear monitoring directly from the unit (I bought the combination guitar/headphone cable), the looper works great and is easy to use. Now for the 2 things I don»t like. The first and biggest issue i have is the lack of a basic 3 band EQ. There is this thing they call "Adaptive EQ" which simply doesn»t allow you to set the EQ of the vocals to suit your own ear but instead they have several preset EQ/compression/gate settings that you can choose from - I hate this "feature" - give me an old fashion 3 band EQ and separate compression and gate settings!!!!! The other thing I don»t like is the way the harmony switch operates - you have to stomp to turn them on and then stomp to turn them off. With my old Digitech VL you could configure the foot switch so you hold down to engage harmonies and release to turn them off which i find much easier to deal with - but I guess I»ll get used to all of the stomping. Overall this is a great little unit and has everything the singer/song writer needs and just as important not a bunch of stuff you don»t need.

  • Billy Claiborne
    from Boston July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, performer

    Great little package

    I love this unit. It has all I need for great harmonies, looping and effects and is easy to use and manipulate. I had a VoiceLive Touch but in the end it really did more than I needed. My only complaint about this latest product is the manual. They could do a LOT better I. Instructing and illustrati g the best ways to use it.

  • Rolando Lopez
    from Cottonwood Heights, Utah April 1, 2016

    Pedal

    It is a good addition but I am still stroguling setting it up, the instruccions that come with the pedal are not extensive and clear enough to get you going faster, I think it will be ok in the future but is a very slow prosses.

  • Gary K.
    from Central Maine March 16, 2016

    VoiceLive Play Acoustic

    I've only been using this pedal for a few weeks and I'm really impressed by what it can do. I especially like the firmware upgrade from TC-Helicon that now allows you to save different guitar settings with each preset instead of the guitar being set globally. Now you can dial in your guitar and vocal any way you want and save the settings as a new preset. Thanks TC-Helicon for listening and responding to customer feedback. The only reason I didn't give it 5-stars is because both outputs are mic level. There is no line level output for your guitar. TC-Helicon advised me to use a line matching transformer so I could plug the Play Acoustic guitar output into my looper's instrument input. It does work as long as my looper sub-outputs are plugged into the mixer. But I've run into feedback issues if I just want to use my Fender Acoustasonic amp with the line matching transformer plugged into the instrument input. I'm sure there's a fix for this but I haven't found it yet. This would be a 5-star device if it had a line level output for the guitar as it probably would eliminate the problems I've run into.

  • Ron
    from January 19, 2016

    Play Acoustic

    Very hard piece of equipment to use. Wished I would not have purchased.

  • Greg B
    from Cataula, Georgia December 26, 2014

    Play Acoustic

    Too difficult to operate, instructions not helpful, no exit out , back, or reset button.

  • Johnny H
    from Lake Tahoe, Ca. USA February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    VERY LIMITED

    If your an acoustic solo act be wary of this. You CANNOT change your guitar effect settings with your feet. You have to manually kneel to the ground and change them. That's a little embarrassing while performing. You only can change your vocal effects with your feet as the guitar effects don't change. Now why would anyone want the same guitar effects all night. Very poorly designed

  • G. CORMIER
    from MAINE January 28, 2017

    The hardest review I've ever had to give.

    I compare this unit to the following:

    - Inventing the absolute best car on the planet... and leaving out the steering wheel.
    - Developing the finest restaurant in the world... and having only one drink on the drink menu.

    If you are a performing singer/songwriter looking for a "live" unit to assist you. Walk away from this unit for one reason:

    You can literally develop your entire night's vocal customizations into this unit so that you could simply click to the next song for over a hundred songs for your sets. Each song having a different vocal setting.

    Unfortunately, the unbelievably powerful guitar effects... once programmed for one song location... caryy over to all other songs. In other words, once you create the sound effects for song 'one" in your set... you are stuck with the same guitar effects for ALL OTHER SONGS.

    I am absolutely baffled by the short-sightedness of this unit. It literally would have been the most powerful unit I have ever owned.

    YOU CANNOT SAVE INDIVIDUAL GUITAR EFFECTS TO INDIVIDUAL SONGS. YOU CAN ONLY SAVE VOCAL EFFECTS TO INDIVIDUAL SONGS (LOCATIONS) ON THIS UNIT. ONCE YOU SAVE GUITAR EFFECTS TO AN INDIVIDUAL SONG (LOCATION) IT IMPACTS EVERY OTHER SONG (LOCATION) ON THE UNIT. FRANKLY, THIS IS UNFATHOMABLE.

Questions about the TC-Helicon VoiceLive Play Acoustic?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway