0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Ampeg SVT Micro VR 200-Watt Classic Head Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Ampeg SVT Micro VR 200-Watt Classic Head?

Questions about the Ampeg SVT Micro VR 200-Watt Classic Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Rocky Mount, NC May 1, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist and Vocals for 38 years and more to come!

    Tiny Giant

    At 9.9 pounds it surelu packs a punch. Yes it is solid state but it still captures that SVT tube tone. Great job Ampeg! I play through a large FOH system so I don't have to be loud on stage. I basically needed a great tone to be boasted out front and this little amp gets the job done. I strap on my gig bag and walk in with my head in one hand and my matching 2x10 Ampeg cabinet in my other hand and I'm set up in like 5 minutes, Sure beats the old 8x10 cabinets from yesteryear. Plus I can load everything in the back of my Hyundai Sonata. Can't be happier.

  • from Tennessee April 29, 2016Music Background:
    Playing professionally for 33 years

    Ampeg SVT Micro VR-200 Watt Head

    It delivers without question. Ampeg has stayed in the arena with everyone else when it comes to lighter weight, good power and big sound. Go to a local store and check one out. Awesome rig. Very satisfied

  • from Michigan November 20, 2015

    Awesome and so transportable

    It's like carrying your lunchbox around, so light and manageable as compared to most heads of comparable watts. It produces great sound with a nice amount of room to dial in your perfect tone. If you play fairly aggressively it will clip quite frequently (almost constant), but I guess that's what clipping is designed to do. Besides the benefits already mentioned, it is a totally cool looking rig when sitting upon its counterpart speaker cab. It looks like someone put a full size stack in the dryer for too long, lol.
    I would definitely recommend this over a combo all day for someone in the 200 watt market.

  • from Harlem GA December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro. and always a student

    Versatility

    My Fender Jazz Bass sounds excellent through this little baby. Both of my Taylors with the Expression System (added a bit of analogue chorus through the loop) are incredible.

    And as far as a "surround sound" system for my plasma panel, I mike it with a SM-58 on a boom stand and run this through the VR, two 2x10s and a 4x12 1967 Bandmaster elongated cabinet. BadAss.
    Thanks. Have not used an Ampeg sine 1980. My friend had a V-4. Miss it. K.M.

  • from La Mesa, CA December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Ampeg Rocks!

    This little amp is amazing! Very light to carry, Tons of tone and lots of power. Sounds good with one or two of the matching cabinets! This amp has worked great in small and medium sized clubs. I have even used it outside and it worked well. If you are looking for a system that is compact, light and easy to transport don't hesitate to purchase this amp!

  • from Evansville,Indiana January 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro/ hobbyist Musician

    This a great looking and sounding little amp!

    I needed a practice amp that would work for small to medium gigs. I'm a old school type of guy, keep it simple. This amp is prefect! Great looks, solid sound with that svt look without the weight. I can't wait to try it out at the gig! Again, sweetwater is the best! P.S. thanks for the candy!

  • from Boulder May 29, 2014Music Background:
    Professional player and teacher.

    Really nice practice amp.

    Killer little practice amp. I love it! Has a great little sound for a 200 watt bass head. I have never played it very loud, I use this as a practice amp in my apartments with its matching 2x10 cab. At low volumes it sounds like an old school Ampeg. If you want to play with a band, buy something else. If you are looking for a moderate volume practice amp with a solid punch, buy this.

  • from Columbia City, IN May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Not bad if using 4 ohm setup

    It is a great sounding amp, but it holds it's own during practice only if you have two cabinets plugged in.

    I'm considering a second one.

  • from Champaign, IL June 7, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great Sound, Great Price, Almost Perfect

    This is a very nice lightweight amp. I also have a 1970's Ampeg B410 combo and this amp sounds much better (played through the B410's speakers, so it's a good comparison). Also much louder than I expected, so don't think it's just a toy. My only complaints are that the fan is a little loud if you're playing softly and the tolex could be a little more scratch resistant.

  • from Landmark Studios February 11, 2016Music Background:
    Various

    Ampeg SVT Micro VR 200-Watt Classic Head

    This no frills "micro" bass head from Ampeg seems like a winner so far. It solidly delivers that classic Ampeg thump in a very portable package. I was tired of lugging my 400lb bass rig everywhere and was looking for a small amp to use at practice, small venues and studio settings. This baby does the trick and is very light and portable. I added the 2x10 cabinet that Ampeg pairs with the micro head and the package rocks. This amp does have it's limitations though and it would be easily overwhelmed in anything bigger than a small venue or practice studio. But what it was designed for, a smaller very portable and lightweight package that sounds great , it succeeds hands down. Now, the real test with any amp is how it holds up over the years and I've owned this three weeks now so we'll see.

  • from Charlotte Nc July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    Powerful little beast

    Great solid state tone. Very lite weight. Pairs well with my Mesa Rec as a Stereo Baritone guitar rig.

  • from new york March 28, 2012Music Background:
    semi pro bassist

    great little head

    This is a very good head especially considering the size and price. This little guy is just as at home driving full size 4x10 and 8x10 cabs as it is powering the matching 2x10. While running it through an 8x10 it only gets slightly warm (the gk head i had before it would always run very hot). The sound is pretty good but even so i run it through a pretty extensive rack rig to get my perfect ideal sound (a slightly driven svt type of sound with a little more balls)

  • from May 27, 2010

    great for quiet settings

    very cool product to use as a practice amp, demo recording, or small venues. i have it in combo with the cab, its about 2 feet tall but sounds remarkably like a real svt. not recomended for use with driven guitars and drums, but an acoustic set would be fine. its perfect for an apartment when volume is an issue.

Questions about the Ampeg SVT Micro VR 200-Watt Classic Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway