0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Pro Co Rat 2 Distortion / Fuzz / Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 55 customer reviews
Questions about the Pro Co Rat 2 Distortion / Fuzz / Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Pro Co Rat 2 Distortion / Fuzz / Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    The Pro Co Rat 2 does anything from subtle boosting up to some of the raunchiest fuzz you could ask for. I've had one on my pedalboard for about two years and it's not going anywhere.

  • from February 28, 2017

    Instant AC/DC

    Simplest way I've found to get classic Angus Young tone out of my HH Tele. Great bang for the buck. Thank you Pro Co!

  • from Texas February 24, 2017

    Great Great Great

    Works great on a clean amp. Works great in front of a dirty amp with little gain. Great to cut the lows of an amp to generate a tighter sound.

  • from February 16, 2017

    Love it!

    Has everything I'm looking for and highly recommend it!

  • from thomasville, GA January 5, 2017

    Best you can find

    This is by far the best distortion pedal I have played, and the price makes it unbeatable. This thing can create sounds ranging from gain boost to heavy metal, and it is my go to for now on.

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 14, 2016

    Pro Co Rat 2 Distortion/Fuzz/Overdrive

    This is a great pedal! Has a bunch of great sounds, and I am very pleased.

    Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from Carthage Tn September 9, 2016Music Background:
    Lots of different kinds of music played. From bluegrass to rock and roll

    RAT

    Love it. Bryan at Sweetwater was very helpful with the sale of this pedal. He knew just what I wanted as for sound. Thanks

  • from Champaign, il USA June 30, 2016

    Pro Co Rat 2

    I've used these on and off for nigh on thirty years. They're iconic....for me, NO other pedal is even in the same room with this. It spans the entire dirty spectrum. If the right tone isn't present, the right notes won't be either. The RAT is beyond compare!

  • from Miami Florida June 6, 2016Music Background:
    I have hadve been in 3 known bands. Played in abandon buildings a garage LOL I played pro 30 years

    A real professional pedal for an amazing price!

    The Rat is a special pedal that unlike the metal pedals that work through the signals given out by the speaker. It work as a unique pice that distorts sound through the amp. Distortion pedals are closer to an Overdrive the meal peal that disrupts sound in the speaker. It works on clean channels as we as the dirt station in fact better on the over ride amp. Its an amp pedal not a speaker pedal. I owned three of them and they were stolen from so called friends. They sold out themselves for a pedal so I got off cheap. Love this Pedal. And just bout two other pedals or I would have got it just spent my money on a new jerry Cantrell wah wah and a way huge swollen pickle Fuzz. A must for all types of pro music

  • from Washington DC June 3, 2016Music Background:
    Music Producer, Engineer, Guitarist

    A Must For Guitarists

    I own a recording studio, and have a lot of large production as well as boutique guitar pedals. I purchase my pedals with a lot of consideration, and do not keep pedals around that are just average sounding. I can not believe that I have not owned a Rat pedal before now. This thing kills!! In the distortion world alone, I own an Earthquaker Devices Pitch Bay, Earthquaker Devices Terminal Fuzz, Electroharmonix Soul Food, Maxon OD808, Mr. Black Thunderclaw, OBNE Haunt Fuzz, Rimrock Effects Mythical Overdrive, Sanford & Sonny's Blue Beard, SmallSound Bigsound Mini, Walrus Janus, and a Walrus Mayflower. The Rat pedal does something that none of these pedals do. Think raw rock and roll. It's under $70. Buy one!

  • from -- State -- May 18, 2016Music Background:
    22 years of guitar playing.

    Awesome Sound

    This is my first serious distortion pedal. I love the sound. The filter really makes a difference depending on the setting. It is built well, hardy and strong. And really, great distortion sound. I love playing with it, taping my guitar and grooving heavy.

  • from May 4, 2016Music Background:
    hobbiest

    Rat Attack!

    I have had a few distortion pedals including the super badass....the badass is sweet but for less money, this is all the distortion you need! I play this through a vox ac4c1 12 and it is SO Sweet! I'm a gear head and love to try new equipment, my musical ear may not be as honed as some, but I can hear enough to know that this Rat is going to stay my pet! Try It!

  • from Michigan March 21, 2016Music Background:
    Gigged when I was a young shaver, now just record

    Best overdrive ever

    Well, I ran my AXL Bulldog (les paul jr clone with Lindy Fralin p90) through the RAT, and then into my VHT Special 6 tube amp. Wow!!! what a warm crunch!! Thanks Alden!! As always, Sweetwater has the best customer service where you get the best communication, fast delivery, and followup!! Why go anywhere else!!!

  • from Milford, CT January 29, 2016

    The most versatile distortion pedal I have used!

    I can get a full array of fuzz and distortion sounds with the Rat 2 pedal, from modern metal distortion to psychedelic fuzz (more Tone Bender than Fuzz Face) and a decent approximation of a Maestro Fuzz-Tone. Best of all, this pedal cuts through the mix thanks to a midrange leaning tone. You will be heard!

  • from October 22, 2015

    Outstanding

    Can't really say much more then that!!!

  • from Connecticut July 26, 2015Music Background:
    Playing guitar for 23 years

    Great Pedal even better value

    I almost bought a $300 Bogber Ecstasy pedal until I gave the Rat a try & I couldn't be happier. A straight forward pedal with a ton on tonal options. I highly recommend this pedal.

  • from United States May 12, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Pastor

    Awesome

    Thanks Sweetwater for the video reviews of these pedals! The RAT does exactly what you said and it sounds great!

  • from West Caldwell, NJ March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic all the way around

    I was a little skeptical buying it based on the video demo, but I must say it blows away my other pedals at twice the price.

    The sound is fantastic and variable from mild bluesy to pretty heavy rock. And it's built like a tank. I've got a new #1 favorite pedal.

  • from Palos Hills, IL February 13, 2015

    Search is over

    Been looking at this pedal for many years and finally pulled the trigger. Great tone. Was exactly what I was looking for. Wanted a warmer fuzz than most other pedals I used and this thing nailed it. Luke Herian, as always you are awesome!

  • from Frankfort, IN. February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Black Metal, Drone Doom.

    Nothing Beats A Rat.

    i have been using a pro co rat 2 pedal for months & it's now easily my new most favorite pedal of all time, say goodbye to my terrible & noisy electro-harmonix little big muff, big muff pi with tone wicker & the dreaded germanium 4 big muff pi because those pedals come no where near the versatility of the rat, i love this pedal so much i bought 2 more & now want a fourth one, this pedal is legendary for a reason & i have demoed all the older & now more expensive versions of this pedal & i easily choose the new stock version over all the vintage models, if you are tried of buying & selling pedals because you are let down by most of them just buy this pedal, i'm not an expert or anything but i have well over 60 different fuzz / overdrive / distortion pedals alone & now i have almost zero use for them because of this pedal, i just can't believe how long i waited to buy one, i feel like a huge idiot.

  • from SoCal, USA September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Play out Wekly

    Sweet Rat

    I've been wanting a Rat for a long time. It does just what I expected. It goes from a nice overdrive to edgy fuzz. It's pretty versatile. I run mine, Distortion at 2o'clock, Filter 2:30, Volume 11:30. That gives me nice drive with clear articulation. It works well with the volume control on the guitar. With the neck/middle pickup I get a good fat rhythm tone. Add some delay and I get a nice singing lead tone that cuts through real nice... Everyone needs a Rat! Thanks to Brandon Eden my Sales Engineer!

  • from Gardena, CA 90249 USA September 3, 2014Music Background:
    guitarist

    rock!

    Fast shipping! Very good service. Thank you!

  • from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    ONe of the best distortion boxes ever made!

    Thanks Tony Dayton Sweetwater. Great recommendation!

  • from Buffalo, NY May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar

    Simply the best

    This pedal is amazing. I have owned multiple versions of it (and still do), and despite popular opinion on how the older ones are better, the new, stock version is simply fantastic. The vintage versions "warble" a bit more when turned up, but as someone who models his tone after Oasis / Heavy Stereo / Britpop, this current tone fits perfectly. Save the $240 and just buy the new one. There are demos on youtube that show how little, if any, difference there is. The Earthquaker Devices Tusk Fuzz is maybe the only better product out there for this, and that is long discontinued.

  • from April 12, 2014

    Great pedal

    Works great, good sound

  • from Sheridan, Montana USA March 21, 2014Music Background:
    45 years experience, semi pro musician, hobbyist.

    Awesome Pedal

    Everyone needs this pedal. From warmth to dirty crunch, this simple pedal does it all. I would highly recommend it.

  • from Mantua, Ohio February 7, 2014Music Background:
    guitar for fun

    awesome

    I love the sound that I get with this pedal. I'm very satisfied as I always am when I order from Sweetwater.

  • from Detroit, MI USA November 27, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Guitarist

    You Dirty Rat

    I play in many different Rock Bands and that Hard Rock distortion (ala Pink Floyd) that needs to be dirty but not abrasive is hard to come by. This little pedal achieves that goal.

  • from New York, NY USA October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Rat for a mouse runnin

    Outstanding pedal. I actually use it for vocal distortion, so much fun and for a great rate. Wouldn't use it on everything, but very great for specific usage and distortion fun.

    Sweet water is outstanding. Period.

  • from Manchester, CT February 14, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Exactly What I needed!

    Perfect! I have a Vox AC30 for an amp. The clean and crunch sounds I get out of it are great, but I was having trouble getting a good BIG distortion sound. I tried a few other pedals, and nothing comes close to the RAT. This pedal sounds awesome with the AC30. The sound out of this thing is huge! I love it!!!

  • from La Grange, IL February 27, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician, and always a student!

    I Love Stepping on a Rat!

    I've owned a Rat since 1984 and have since gotten the Duecetone. I can't say how much I love these pedals. I keep looking for others to come along. But I still go back to my Rat. Everything dirty in anyway that I've recorded, I've used the Rat. I'm planning to order another Rat II as a backup! I've heard mods work well for these pedals. I think they sound great just as they are. Hears to Rockin' the Rat!

  • from November 3, 2016

    Nice OD

    Gets nice tones and can even get a good fuzz through this. Like to use with my LP that has SD 59s and 50s wiring.

  • from Floating in Marshall Heaven October 7, 2016Music Background:
    Long time equipment freak

    Pro Co Rat 2

    The Rat was the final piece in a quest to duplicate recorded tone live. I am a 70's & 80's Marshall fan and found most speakers had waaaaayyyy too much low end at blow dry volumes. Greenbacks were part of the solution and the Rat was the remainder. It filters the low end to a usable level allowing use of the bass control on the amp. The trick with the Rat was to limit the distortion knob to the 9-10 o'clock area to get the smooth singing leads and chords - depending on the amp's gain. Crank that knob up if you want more bite.

    I gave it a 4.5 because the automatic 'I was blown away' on the 5 is just too cheesy. Very impressed and satisfied.

  • from Cornelius, NC March 7, 2016

    Pro Co Rat 2 Distortion/Fuzz/Overdrive

    Exactly as advertised. Great sound, super value, and sounds just like the Sweetwater demo video.

    Used frequently playing Alternative Rock Covers.

  • from northern ca. February 5, 2016Music Background:
    used to play gigs now just write

    Big Rat

    First let me say I do not believe in distortion pedals,i think they make bad players sound good,covering a lot of mistakes.I could not afford a tube amp of my choosing so i have a champion,(let me add)I don't like amps that let you dial in all the amps and so on and so forth.thats where the rat came in and may i say it really came in,if i didn't no it i would swear it was a tube amp.It has subtle overdrive witch makes it sound tubey.
    and if the need ever came up it can get really nasty.I have been pl;aying guitar for over 50 years and its the best i'v seen.I play thru a gretsch,les paul and once in a while a stratacaster they all sound great thru the rat

  • from Kentucky September 2, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer, semi-pro music-maker

    Versatile, Inexpensive OD/DIST/FUZZ

    The ProCo Rat 2 is an exceptional Overdrive, Distortion/Fuzz & Boost pedal comparable to many of the boutique & mainstream units available at 2 to 3 times the cost. With just 3 controls, the Rat 2 delivers an expansive menu of tastes. Use the volume and distortion pots to dial in anything from a clean boost to a thick hearty fuzz analogous to a sherpa's Himalayan wool-on-wool sweater -- weathered, worn, gravelly, gnarled & down right dirty & nasty! The filter acts as an inverted (so-to-speak) tone control whereby slight fluctuations to the right bring up the bass response & conversely, taps leftward, increase the highs. Full dimes in either direction open the flood gates of the damned or the righteous, respectively.

    Housed in an all metal shell that'd make 9/11 black boxes jealous, the Rat 2 can divebomb without a parachute, take a tumble over the proverbial edge of hell Or meet you God-fearing folks at the pearlly gates chiming its way past the naysayers.

    Coupled with 200ms of analog delay, soaked in a reverb syrup and slightly modulated with a slow phaser, the Rat 2 will give you a "wall o' noise" capable of holding your whole tone up! It's that good.

  • from June 16, 2015

    Freaking Sweet Tone

    The Rat combined with my Big Muff and Tube Screamer then Phase 90, EP Booster, and Deluxe Memory Man Delay... really nails the David Gilmour lead guitar sound using single coil pickups. Switch to humbucking pickups and you can do Maiden and the like using the RAT. Get one. Do it!

  • from United States December 21, 2014Music Background:
    stage musician

    ProCo Rat2

    After trying many,(too many) pedals for the "sound" I have been looking for ,since recreating myself....I should have realized,Joe Perry couldn't have been wrong all these years. I typically use 3 or 4 distortion boxes on my board live. Mild OD,and a couple gear grinders. I may actually end up with 2 of these guys on the same board. Oh , and sustain, even at lower volumes ,this sound folds on. This is the real deal,and it ain't the most expensive.

  • from NEWTON , NJ September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Intense

    I am using the Rat on Bass , good solid overdrive, Intense Distortion,clean boost.

  • from Chicago March 6, 2014Music Background:
    Lifetime hobbyist

    Sweet Tight Vintage Crunch

    Built to last. My new favorite distortion pedal. As always, my Sweetwater Sales Engineer Paul Rowan provided best in class service!

  • from Vermont April 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wonderful Fuzz Pedal

    Was looking to replace my big muff, which seemed too washed out and bassy, and this is the perfect answer. Creates a great range of fuzz sounds without losing the actual guitar tone. Tremendous harmonic overtones and feedback possibilities. I love it!

  • from March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician & home recording enthusiast.

    The Rat - a marvelous little pedal!

    I really like my new pet RAT. It has a little more juice than I need but I find if I increase the filter and cut back the distortion, I can get a really smooth sustain sound which is what I wanted. Tons of ooomph and well worth the money.

  • from United States January 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician and song writer

    nice warm distortion

    I haven't had a chance to push this to it's boundaries yet. But when I used it, I got what I've been looking for. A very warm overdrive that does not get distorted when pushing harder beats or higher scales.

  • from Los Angeles January 3, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician - Guitar.

    Beautiful Tone

    This is probably one of the best pedals I have ever had. The tone on this thing is just beautiful. I have tried it using single coil strat and a humbucker ibanez, in both cases the tone is amazing. From smooth to pasty distortion just by turning the knobs. Really classy sound.

  • from FL August 17, 2016

    Its a distortion peddle with a lot of distortion

    I would have givin this a 5 but I just could not bring myself to it and mostly because the filter doesn't really offer much and truthfully the peddle is almost overly distorted at least for the amps I've been using I may change my opinion when I get my new 100 watt Marshall amp, if your looking for that heavy 70/80 distortion peddle for your collection with a lot of volume this is the peddle esp. If you play a strat, a tele or a les Paul , as for the fuzz I don't get it.

  • from FL August 17, 2016

    Its a distortion peddle with a lot of distortion

    I would have givin this a 5 but I just could not bring myself to it and mostly because the filter doesn't really offer much and truthfully the peddle is almost overly distorted at least for the amps I've been using I may change my opinion when I get my new 100 watt Marshall amp, if your looking for that heavy 70/80 distortion peddle for your collection with a lot of volume this is the peddle esp. If you play a strat, a tele or a les Paul

  • from Fairhope AL. June 24, 2016Music Background:
    35years pro

    Rat 2

    Don`t listen to the cork sniffers.
    This Rat will do the job perfectly. I`ve owned old, big box, white and this reissue is just fine. Plug it in and KICK IT!!

  • from Knoxville Tn April 13, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught 70's rocker

    ProCo Rat 2

    Great hard rockin pedal for the price. I use it for solos so I keep it Hot. Lots of gain and headroom. Built like a tank!

  • from Manhattan, KS August 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pro Co Rat 2

    As expected, this is a solid, all-around classic distortion pedal. Easy to dial in as little or as much disortion as you need. The filter knob takes a little getting used to, as it's different that other distortion pedals with a "tone" knob. But it makes sense once you get it straight. I only have Fenders with single coils, so I can't speak to how it sounds with humbuckers, but it sounds pretty darn good with singles.

    Build seems solid; heavy duty for sure! Not the prettiest pedla out there, but it's got it where it counts.

  • from Louisville, KY January 20, 2013Music Background:
    At home guitarist. Been playing for ruffly 2 years.

    ProCo Rat II

    At first when I got this pedal I was a little disappointed, I guess I was just wondering if getting a solid state amp before getting this was a good idea. But slowly this pedal grew on me. I know people say that the Rat II is not as good as the old Rats but this one is quite amazing. You just can't plug it in and expect perfect tone without trying some different settings first. This pedal is great at what it does and that is full on distortion. If you were looking for a little tubescreamer you've bought the wrong pedal! To find "You're Tone" that you are looking for in this pedal you will have to do some searching around. The slightest knob adjustment can completely change the sound. More than likely you will have to do some amp eq switches aswell. (I did). My settings are Distortion: 9 o'clock, Filter 11:59 (different than 12 o'clock, trust me) and Volume 2 o'clock. These settings, given my amp (Fender Frontman 212r) give you a Sum 41 All Killer No Filler kind of tone also very much like the Foo Fighters. As far as I can tell turning the dist. up will increase the fullness of the bass so that is why my flter is at 11:59 and not 1 or 2. Overall this pedal does what it is supposed to do and does an AMAZING job at it. Great job ProCo!

  • from New Jersey January 16, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate guitarist

    Awesome! Shines less on cheaper amps

    This amp was awesome in the store and into my friends amp, but shines less on cheaper solid state amps like mine. I wouldn't recommend for 8 inch speakers. Otherwise, this pedal shreds!

  • from June 26, 2015

    Rat 2

    A great addition and very manageable

  • from TC MI September 18, 2014Music Background:
    Casual Musician

    meh

    I was disappointed. The low end seems a little thin. I'm playing through a Fender Custom Deluxe Reverb that sounds BA on it's own. The filter knob seems to do little to shape the sound which is not great considering it's the only knob that serves that purpose. It just sounds a little edgy to me. I may try to mod it. I was just hoping it would be better out of the box. I like and play all kinds of music from Gwar to Rachmaninov.

  • from August 1, 2016

    RAT2

    The RAT2 has a definitive good raspy sound. However, when boosting up the distortion, I get a feedback buzz with my system and pedals. I need to talk to Mike. Getting a new pedal soon and see if that controls things a bit more evenly.

  • from Toledo, OH March 9, 2006

    Bad-*** Monster sound

    I just received this pedal yesterday and plugged it into my Fender Blues Deluxe. I used my Strat (single coil) through this and it gave me anything from a classic rock tone up to a real heavy overdrive (think early Def Leppard, Sorpions,etc.)
    Reading the reviews before I purchased this pedal, I expected a goood tone, but it surpassed my expectations! I was "WOWED" by the power and clarity it brought to my tone! Truly satisfying!
    That was just the beginning. After running my Gibson Les Paul (Standard) through this it became SURREAL! Unbelievable power and tone. The overdrive is second to none! Flat out BALLS, but maintained the integrity of the guitar's original sound. I have never been this satisfied with my tone. I will NEVER give up this pedal. If I lost it I would place a RUSH order on it immeadiately. It is built like a tank and Pro Co offers the best warranty in the business. Check out thier site (proco.com). I can't wait to run this through my Marshall 40 watt combo! I can only imagine the sonic terror it will produce!
    No, I do not work or represent Pro Co in any way, shape or form - but now I am a dedicated consumer.

  • January 1, 2004

    The best distortion pedal ever.

    I tried one of these some years ago,and Im very obsessive with my guitar tone,at that time I knew very little about gear and tone,but still to this day,nothing comes close to its monstruous sound and great harmonic definition,you can go from Blackface combo to British stack and beyond;Years later gear has come and gone,but this little pedal is the only thing remaining,I want another one already!

Questions about the Pro Co Rat 2 Distortion / Fuzz / Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway