0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Yamaha HS8S 8" Powered Studio Subwoofer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha HS8S 8" Powered Studio Subwoofer?

Questions about the Yamaha HS8S 8" Powered Studio Subwoofer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 19, 2017Music Background:
    House music producer

    Yamaha Hs8s

    Since adding the hs8s to my set up, my mixes have improved significantly. Having the ability to zero in on my bottom end made all the difference.

  • from St. Louis September 24, 2016

    Get one!

    Everything I've tracked and mixed since I bought it has sounded notably better, fuller, and better balanced. The HSM8's that go with it are great on their own, but with it, its a whole different ballgame.

  • from Maryland March 21, 2016

    First and last purchase!

    I've owned these speakers for a few months now and all I can say is they're a must have. They tell the truth about your music.

  • from July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Great Sub!

    Does the job. Great sub.

  • from Port Charlotte, FL March 24, 2014Music Background:
    25+ years as a musician, 3 years as a hobbiest, and now almost 4 years running my semi-pro studio

    Flying blind without a sub

    You read lots of reviews telling you to buy a good sub, and yet we hesitate. I'd like to kick myself in the nads for trying to work without one before. Trying to make the right decisions on those low frequencies when you can't hear them is a lot like trying to paint a masterpiece blindfolded... It just isn't gonna happen!

    This sub matches my Hs8's and I have it balanced nicely. Not overly loud but it gives me what I was missing before. Glad I mad the leap.

  • from Hastings, Michigan, USA July 13, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboard player/composer

    Fabulous, unless music is turned way down

    This subwoofer is fantastic when paired with the Yamaha HS8 monitor speakers. I adjusted the subs by playing bass heavy music like the Beatles' "Come Together" to make sure I wasn't going to mix with too much bass. The three speakers together are basically awe inspiring at mid-level and above loudness.

    One caveat, if you turn the volume down so the music is pleasantly quiet, this sub completely disappears. A nice medium or above volume level and everything is rich and full. I did not experience this without the HS8S, with just a wonderful pair of HS8 speakers, where the mix remains the mix regardless of volume. This could be true of all subwoofers, I don't know.

    So, if you are going to mix or listen at quiet levels, there's no point to getting this. If you are going to use it at a pleasant medium and above volume level most of the time then I can't see you going wrong. Adjust them with your favorite bass-heavy music first to make sure you're not over doing it on the low end with your mixes and then also listen to other music as well. Incredible sound.

    Again, the trio of two HS8 speakers along with the HS8S will be as near a religious experience as you are likely to ever have, just not at quiet volume levels.

  • from West Coast January 15, 2016

    Yamaha HS8S

    I got this sub to go with a pair of hs5s. I am addicted to this setup going through an apogee duet 2 into an imac. Always liked Yamaha.

  • from July 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musical Hobbyist

    Awesome Subwoofer!

    This is my first subwoofer ever purchased. Overall it has helped me hear the low end in my mixes (Paired with Rokit 5's). Love listening to bass music on these! Very clean sound for the price! The littlle stands reduces vibrations to the ground which is a plus. Only reason why it gets a 4.5 is the fact that there is no bypass foot pedal. You have to turn the knob down behind the woofer if your mixing during sleeping hours.

    Planning on buying Yamaha HS8 Series! Great products!

  • from Davenport, IA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    Placement is Key

    I produce, mix, and master primarily heavy bass music so I needed a sub that hits very very low. I have the room treated and have the sub placed in the best possible place and I am blown away with how low this thing goes! I wouldn't say it gets all the way down to 22 hz, after all the frequency response chart in the back of the manual shows it drops off significantly around 28-29 hz. But none the less this thing plays everything I can throw at it, and I mean some of the lowest bass in the industry. I personally wouldn't decouple it too much from the floor because the notes you cant really hear you can definitely feel through the floor, which also means this is a bad idea if you live in an apartment building, but they weren't lying when they said "Hear everything!"

  • from Brooklyn, NY September 5, 2013Music Background:
    Master of the Unheard f

    Bass in the Basement

    I have been without a subwoofer since the Infinity subwoofer from my daughter's former male friend's DJ stopped working a few years ago. I managed to produce an album/CD of our music, but now that I have replaced the missing bass in my basement studio, as we work on our second album/CD, I can hear the gaps of missing sound in the bass register, especially when the thud of a bass drum and the pulse of the bass notes resound in and out of the mixes. I have had Yamaha NS10s since the mid-'80s, so when I read about the new Yamaha HS8S sub-woofer, I figured it would be a perfect match and it has been GREAT!

  • from February 15, 2016

    Tuned too high, lacks deep lows

    This sub cuts off at 35 Hz, lower from which the driver is pushing air (no sound) and clipping if pushed hard. Surprising that the subsonic high pass isn't well matched to the enclosure.

    Several other subs in this price range are still audible at the 28-30Hz range. (JBL, KRK, for example)

    HS8S adds little value to a setup with HS8 monitors, as they themselves hit as deep. Probably worth it for the HS5.

Questions about the Yamaha HS8S 8" Powered Studio Subwoofer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway