rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Gator Lightweight Case - Double-cutaway Electric Guitar Reviews

5.0 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Double-cutaway Electric Guitar?

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Double-cutaway Electric Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Glendale, AZ May 12, 2016

    Extremely nice case

    I bought one of these for an American standard tele recently after using one for artist series Jim root Tele two years ago. The zippers are still fine on the older one, the extra pockets on the out side fit music books just fine and the smaller pocket keeps all your accessories just fine cant beat it for the price.

  • from Wilmette, IL February 12, 2016

    Excellent lightweight case

    An excellent case at a great price - I'm using this case for a Stratocaster and the guitar fits perfectly - the neck is nicely supported and there is joust enough room top-to-bottom to get the guitar in and out of the case easily - and plenty of room in the trays for pick, strings, winder, slide and a tuner - still room for a pedal.

    The EPC (expanded polystyrene) foam core is rigid and provides a hard case like feel to what would otherwise be a rectangular gig bag.

    The handle(s) are placed so the the case is nicely balanced when you have your guitar in the case and the outside pocket is just the right size for tablature or songbooks.

    Overall a great bargain - I'll probably buy another one of these when the need for another case arises.

  • from Florida February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great lightweight case

    Great case, nice fit, super lining, good price another great product from Gator

  • from El Dorado, AR, USA February 4, 2015Music Background:
    long-time amateur/hobbyist

    perfect for Ibanez MiKro basses

    This is better than the gig bag Ibanez makes for their short scale MiKro Basses, by far. I'm pretty sure it'll also fit the PRS SE & S2 guitars, specifically, my SE Custom 24. As long as a person is careful with the closure zippers, I'm sure it'll hold up to all but extreme transporting situations. it's very light, & very sturdy...I have the bass size of this case for my Ibanez GSR205SM, which is why I thought of this size for my new MiKro bass.

  • from New York, United States December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby Musician

    Lightweight but secure

    Great case @ a great price. Lightweight but very secure. Precision molding keeps your guitar where you put it...also 2 zippered pockets to keep your cords etc. Very pleased!

  • from Central Illinois March 19, 2014Music Background:
    Stay at home old guy musician.

    Very Nice Case For Tele or Strat.

    I believe that this case is sold primarily as a Stratocaster case, but I bought it for my Tele and it fits just shy of perfect. Not much flop or wiggle when you zip it and pick it up. Great case!

    As always, the service from the staff (Norb) at Sweetwater was spot on!

  • from Stow, OH March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar fanatic and songwriter

    JUST RIGHT

    Very lightweight and provides excellent protection. I have no reservations putting my expensive, custom built Warmoth Tele in here. I bought one of these and a Fender Metro Gigbag at the same time (from Sweetwater, of course). This is just ten dollars more and thirty times better. Very good guitar luggage. Thanks Greg and all at Sweetwater for the always great customer service.

  • from Southern California February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    Easy 5 Stars

    I'm very happy with this soft case. Great quality, Great price, Great fit. My Strat and Tele fit perfectly. (not at the same time haha) I also tried my Schecter C-1 Classic for giggles, and it does fit, but it's slightly tight when closing the top due to the height of the bridge, but no big deal - I bought it for the Strat anyway.
    I couldn't be happier - Easy 5 stars!

  • from Woodridge, IL December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, playing since 1963

    Get the Gator GL-Elec Gig-Bag (Case) for your Strat

    I bought the Gator GL-Elec from Sweetwater in April, 2012. I got it for 'My Baby'-- my '86 Fender Strat (Candy Apple Red w/ Flyod Rose) and I couldn't be happier. It's more of a case than 'gig-bag' and it holds a Strat perfectly, with plenty of storage room for accy's -- whammy bar, picks, allen wrenches, straps, whatever. It's sturdy and yet it's light weight. The 'case' is so nice that when my wife saw it the day it came, she said to buy more for my other Strats -- and she doesn't tell me to buy more of anything when it comes to my guitars ;-). And buy another one (at least) I will, for my Fender Blacktop Strat, also bought here at Sweetwater.

  • from Long Beach Ca. November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician.

    A great case

    I wanted a case that is light but strong to hold my Strat. A friend had a case similar to the Gator GL-Elec and I liked it alot. I looked up the reviews of the GATOR and decided to try one. What a great case! A super tight fit and just as well made as a 200.00 case. Getting it from Sweetwater means no hassle and super fast service.
    Got to love this case and this site.

  • from Scottsdale, AZ August 31, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Songwriter

    What a great case!

    Wow! For the money I can't imagine a much better case. Perfect for gigging around town. It offers plenty of protection for going anywhere except air travel or touring. Nice and light, yet still rigid. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another if needed.

  • from Bluffton,In. May 14, 2013Music Background:
    amateur

    Great case/gig bag for the money

    I highly recommend this case/gig bag,...it is a very high quality product for the money and I really believe you won't find a case in this same price range as good as this one. Gator has done one heck of a good job with the design of the case/gig bag,...you could call it a hybrid,...but my new Strat fits snugly inside and is well protected.

  • from Ojai, Ca. April 23, 2013Music Background:
    My bucket list is to teach myself to play guitar. Yeah, I'm a senior (62) and a vet on disability. Time's running out.

    A perfect fit for my Strat.

    It's a rare time when I have purchased a product without actually putting hands on, but the Gator GL - Elec gig bag for my new STRAT is spot on with the way is was advertised. Personally, I think Sweetwater might want to include this case with all their MIM Strats, for just a few bucks more. This way the guitar would be shipped in the case, held firmly against the rigors of shipping. By the way, my Strat is the second guitar I purchased from Sweetwater, and both stay in tune. My next guitar will be a PRS 24.
    Sincere thanks to Ben Porter.

  • from porter tx April 7, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    looks reliable

    I really liked the case although i had some issues with the guitar that came with it. My nephew ended up with them both and is just as happy as can be. Case was pretty and looked made good. I was kinda jeoulous after i gave it to the teenager.

  • from Woodburn, IN December 8, 2012Music Background:
    Band musician, Southern Gospel, Contemporary Worship, Blues and classic rock

    Gator soft guitar case

    Sweetwater is great , great price , great service , excellent products, will continue to shop with Sweetwater..

  • from Indianapolis, IN August 30, 2012Music Background:
    gigging musician

    excellent light case

    I am very happy with this case! I already owned one for the bass and needed a new electric case. The price for this is excellent. I have a variety of guitars - mostly strat/superstrat styles. This fits all of them, including room for the strap locks that stick out a little bit further. With every guitar I own, it is a snug fit. This case protects the guitar very well and won't leave a mark on your wall or woodwork if you accidentally bang it there. I would definitely recommend this case.

  • from New Jersey, USA December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Gator GL-Elec Gig Bag

    Although it's a somewhat snug fit for my Les Paul, you would be hard pressed to find a better hybrid gig bag this close to a hard case. The price is also extremely reasonable.

  • from Central Ohio August 14, 2010Music Background:
    Active Musician

    This isn't a gig bag

    I was skeptical of this case before I bought it because it looks so much like a gig bag instead of a case. But it's really a case with a foam frame and a heavy weight nylon covering. The foam is much more sturdy than I would have thought. It also makes the case very light, much lighter than a case with a wooden frame. It has very good neck support for your guitar. It has plastic feet on the bottom and it will stand up easily without worrying if it's going to fall over. I'm used to using the metal fasteners on most cases so at first the zipper opener for the case seemed bothersome but I'm used to it now, and the zippers are very sturdy and work great. The two compartments inside the case are sealed by the lid of the case and it seems to work well. I haven't had any thing come out of the compartments and rattle around in the case yet. The only thing that I would question about the case is the shoulder strap. The strap is fine, but the fastener clips on the ends of the strap are made out of thin plastic and I don't know how long they would last with regular use, but I doubt I'll use the strap much anyway. I bought one for my Squire Telecaster and liked it so much that I bought another for my Statocaster. For the money I don't think you'll get a better case.

  • from GA January 28, 2017

    Gator Case

    Love it. It's nice and light, yet durable. Fits my new Charvel very nicely. You don't have to worry about "dings" on your guitar if the panel hits it. I recommend it to anyone who tours or gigs.

  • from Adrian, MI USA October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician, Home Recording Engineer, Worship Leader

    Great Case

    Nice and light weight with plenty of protection.

  • from USA August 29, 2013

    Gator GL Elec

    Very light, guitar fits very snug, Like it!

  • from United States June 27, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Great quality at a good price.

    For the price this is a great quality guitar case. I have other Gator cases and they have held up well.

  • from Woodland Hills, CA February 8, 2013Music Background:
    Ex Pro Musicians hobbyist now

    The Gator GL-Elec Case

    This is a very good quality case for the money. I use it for a Fender Telecaster and it fits very well. It is light, but sturdy enough to protect your fine instruments. Sweetwater is a very customer oriented provider of fine gear and I would give them a 5 star rating. They follow up, and are always there for help in finding the best guitars at the most competitive pricing.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN August 4, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Gator GL-Electric Guitar Hard Gig Bag

    This is a great case to protect your guitar for years. Lightweight hard case that you can easily take anywhere and know that your guitar will be safe & well protected. I really like this case and would recommend this product to others.

  • from pa June 26, 2012Music Background:
    full time musican and Guitar/Bass instructor.

    GATOR GL-Elec

    Well made and solid. Good balance with gitar in case. I highly recomend it. My Kramer with a Floyd Rose fits real nice.I feel it's a Good Buy.

  • from May 8, 2016

    Great Case 4 My Tele!

    My 2015 Xmas present, a Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe P90, fits perfectly! Great neck support, internal storage pockets, and zippered pockets on front for other accessories. Lightweight and superior protection, as opposed to a plain ol' gig bag. Bought another for my Telemods Pacifica 311s, fits and looks great! It would earn 5 stars if it cost $59.95 or less. :-)

  • from June 8, 2016

    Good but tight fit for odd headstocks

    I got this for my Kramer The 84, and it barely contains the Kramer's endless headstock. Fortunately, the foam and fabric construction allows enough give to fit, but I'd be leery of banging it into anything lengthwise. It's a fine case for light duty, just be aware that deviant headstock shapes may be a tight fit.

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Double-cutaway Electric Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway