0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Gator Lightweight Case - 12 String Acoustic Dreadnought Guitar Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - 12 String Acoustic Dreadnought Guitar?

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - 12 String Acoustic Dreadnought Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Strasburg October 31, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Versatile!

    I've had this case for my Ibanez 12-string for over a year now and i couldn't be more pleased! I love the fact that it fits my 12, plus the ease of carrying it around with the back straps. Very durable and fits tons of accessories. I'm actually ordering one for my Martin 6-string dreadnought because this case is MUCH lighter than carrying around one of the Martin cases.

  • from SW Lower Michigan October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Team, too many bands, hobbyist...

    Great Case !!!

    Got a good deal on this case with my Martin Guitar... I like it for a few reasons... Sturdy and will stand up on its' own... has a neck rest and place for strings or picks not counting the pockets on the outside... Zipper seems pretty sturdy too...

  • from Grand Rapids, Mi, USA November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent.

    Perfect fit, well built, couldn't ask for more.

  • from Erie,PA. December 4, 2014Music Background:
    old school pro

    Nice Lightweight case

    I like it better than most because of its size and weight.Most cases for 12 strings are heavier than the guitar itself. This one has some nice storage compartments also for those little things.

  • from Northport, Fl. July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Cristian, folk, and the love of Guitars

    NICE CASE!

    Bought this case for my Epi 12 string. Turns out, i did not have a case for my Epi Hummingbird, guess what? It fits perfect ! I think im gonna have to buy another down the line. Oh well, This is an excellent case for the money. Sweetwater, as usual, great job.

  • from Columbia, North Carolina April 22, 2014Music Background:
    ex part-time pro musician and hobbyist

    sturdy and light

    I actually purchased this for a 45 year old classical guitar that I was refurbishing and the hard case that came with the guitar had seen better days. I have a taylor gs mini gig bag and new Yorker gig bag that is used with a takemine mini. I was very impressed with the vividness of this case. I believe it is almost as protective a case as my Taylor and martin hard cases. Also, this cases is super light.

  • from NW Missouri May 10, 2012Music Background:
    singer-songwriter

    Great Balance between protection and weight

    I've been a big fan of hybrid cases for over 5 years now. They provide more protection than a gig bag and weigh less than your plywood hardshell case.
    In terms of physics, the hybrid case actually provides better protection than a hardshell case in most circumstances, as the EPS foam shell [aka durafoam, or as chemists call it, polystyrene] would absorb and diffuse most impacts whereas a plywood shell would tend to crack, split or shatter.
    Seriously, unless one is a touring musician who gigs constantly and has a posse of roadies to tote his/her guitars, this is a better way to save your guitar and your back.
    This is the only hybrid case on the market which can accommodate a Yamaha FG series 12-string since the FG has a slightly wider lower bout than your standard dreadnought guitar.
    Thumbs up also to Gator for securing the handle with at least six rivets, as opposed to the screws used by Kaces and Wolfpak on their hybrid cases.
    The only reason I did not give this a five star rating is that it lacks certain features other brands of hybrid cases have, and only uses a 600 denier nylon exterior covering. Kaces and Wolfpak use 1200 denier nylon And all the other brands of hybrid cases offer more exterior storage pockets. SKB, Wolfpak, and Kaces also offer better [as in more comfortable] shoulder straps/harnesses.
    Finally, Kaces and Wolfpak hybrid cases include built-in hygrometers for monitoring the relative humidity one is storing his/her guitar in.
    All in all, even though this isn't perfect, it's still a great value and a worthy case for schlepping around with a 12-string.

  • from June 7, 2013

    Gator Case

    This sits right in the middle of a gig bag and a hard shell case. I wanted it mainly for the backpack aspect. I was also fairly confident that it would fit my Seagull 12 string after reading the reviews The case is well made and very light for as rigid as it is. My guitar fits perfectly with no play. There is plenty of room fro the 12 string headstock.

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - 12 String Acoustic Dreadnought Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway