rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Gator Lightweight Case - Electric Bass Guitar Reviews

5.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Electric Bass Guitar?

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Electric Bass Guitar?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Columbiana, OH December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Assistant Engineer Wall of Shadows Studio and Session Bass Player.

    You can't go wrong with this one!

    This bag is very well made and very well thought out. I'm surprised it doesn't sell for more than what it does. I keep coming back to Gator products because when I buy them I don't find myself needing to replace them. They are built to last and best of all, they are affordable and always seem to be really well thought out.

    I highly recommend this bag!

  • from Beautiful Wyoming December 8, 2016

    Great Case!

    Gator makes some really nice cases and this is no exception. It's light, it has good neck support and is well designed. The price was the best part. It was very inexpensive for such a nice case.

  • from San Francisco, CA November 15, 2016

    Solid Case

    This case from Gator feels solid and light. I am using it with a Lakland Skyline 44-51, which fits very well with plenty of room for accessories.

  • from Illinois September 26, 2016

    Fits a Fender Jaguar Bass nicely

    This is a very nice, lightweight bass case. I bought it for my Fender Jaguar Bass (it's a 4 string, MIJ, approx. 2006-2008 IIRC - it's the full scale-length Jag, not a short scale). It fits perfectly in there, this really solved the problem of finding a case for the Jag. I like the two roomy spaces for items such as strap, wireless guitar pack, wireless IEM pack, batteries, etc. Just a great case, at a great price. I tried a few other basses in it, as well. Fender Jazz Bass 4-string also fits just about perfectly. Music Man Stingray 4 string fits fine, but is a little bit loose around the body. Sadowsky MV4 4-string also fits and is also a little loose. The Jaguar and Jazz are perfect fits, so if you are looking for a lightweight but protective case for them, this is a good choice.

  • from New haven Vermont April 21, 2015Music Background:
    semi pro

    Gator lightweight bass case

    I liked the one I already have so I bought another one. Great case.

  • from Raleigh, NC March 26, 2015

    Perfect!

    I love this case - bought it for my Fender Jazz Bass - perfect fit! Plenty of room on the inside for cord, tuner, strap, polishing cloth (plus whatever else you're carrying) - two outside pockets are also roomy.. Very good quality case - well built - you won't be disappointed.

  • from El Dorado, AR, USA February 4, 2015Music Background:
    long-time amateur/hobbyist

    Great fit for Ibanez 5 string

    I got one of these for my Ibanez GSR205SM, and I think it's better than a hard case; it's lighter, the neck padding really secures my bass, and the shoulder strap frees a hand for more gear. Also, the exterior pouches keep hard, sharp-cornered items away from my bass. Unless you fly alot, and/or have gorillas handling your gear, I can't imagine a more secure way of transporting my bass, especially considering the price, & Sweetwater's customer service, which is truly peerless.

  • from New Haven Vermont January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Gator lightweight bass case

    Nice light weight case with heavy duty zipper ,plenty of cargo places. My jazz bass fits very well. great to have shoulder strap frees up your hands a little more so you can carry more stuff. seem to be a bit more heavy duty than I expected. I do lkie this case alot .I am going too buy another one soon. and my sales tech Marcos is awesome, he is a great help.

  • from Katy, TX July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Love This Case!

    Purchased this case for my Fender Jazz bass, great fit! Not as heavy as a standard hard case, but protects the bass very well. Foam interior with plush lining provides outstanding fit and protection. Lots of storage inside as well as a zippered pocket on the outside. You will not be disappointed in this case!

  • from Saucier, Mississippi October 6, 2013Music Background:
    40 plus years

    Great case

    Light ,sturdy,a lot of storage compartments, fits all my basses very well. zippers seem to be very sturdy. I would recommend this case.

  • from Albuquerque December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Praise Band Leader

    Great Case

    Nice sturdy case, lots of room inside for accessories. Light and fits my bass nicely.

  • from Clarkston, WA USA November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    No glove, no love

    Fantastic! I can't say enough about this case. Purchased to accommodate a 32" scale bass guitar, I was happy to notice that this case offers just the right fit for such a non-standard instrument. In addition, this case offers tons of real estate for cords, straps, and other accessories--even folio-sized books.

    The Gator case also features really sound construction. The padded interior is soft but firm, and the stitching, seams, and zippers are all of the highest quality. For me, Gator cases represent the ideal hybrid between the light weight offered by a gig-bag with the sturdy dimensions and protection exemplified by hard instrument cases.

    Thanks to Tom Maxwell, Sweetwater Sound Engineer, for helping to select the perfect case for a guy on a budget.

  • from September 27, 2011

    One size fits all!

    I bought an MTD Kingston 6 string bass and couldn't find a case for it. This case fits it like a glove. Plenty of compartments, very lite, and pretty ridged. Price is great also!

  • from Vermont June 14, 2010Music Background:
    Weekend player

    Gator bass case

    Perfect case for the money: rigid but light, secure zip + handles, inside and outside storage compartments, optional shoulder strap.

    Tried a molded Fender case when I bought this one: couldn't get the latches unlatched, then when I did, I had to pry the case apart. It was $20 more and had no advantages, unless you count the large F on the outside.

    The Gator case is a perfect lightweight case and a great buy.

  • from Illinois February 5, 2017Music Background:
    Bass player

    gator lightweight bass case

    I was looking for a case for a bass guitar at some musical instrument stores and I thought they were overpriced and not very good quality. Having done business with Sweetwater in the past I thought I'd go online and look for one. Ordered the Gator lightweight case and was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. It would fit just about any bass with room for accessories. Offers pretty good protection too. Haven't had it very long yet so I can't comment on durability. Always a pleasure doing business with Sweetwater.

  • from Charleston, SC May 4, 2016Music Background:
    20 years

    Great Fit, Super Light and Protective

    I got this to move up from a traditional, soft-contoured gig bag for a Fender P-Bass that wasn't really cutting it during long trips to gigs. I'm very happy with the result: a much more protective case with good storage and yet very little weight penalty. I just wish it was a little more inclined to stand upright on its feet.

  • from MI April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musicial

    GATOR LIGHTWEIGHT BASS CASE

    Everything I have purchased made by Gator has been great. This is a nice case with good protection for the guitar and at a very reasonable price. Gator's products hold up well and I have no complaints.

  • from Fort Wayne August 24, 2012Music Background:
    Rock Delivery Specialist ;)

    Perfect Gig Bag

    Perfect bag for practices or gigs. Tons of internal and external compartments and storage for strap, cables, music, etc. Quite a bit lighter fully loaded versus hard shell. Would definitely recommend.

  • from Nebraska March 14, 2011Music Background:
    Weekly church bass player

    Impressive Case

    I just received the Gator GL-Bass case. This case is replacing a "Road Runner" gig bag that should have lasted much longer than it did as I am NOT hard on my stuff.

    Construction of this Gator case seems to be very well made. I'm surprised at how solid the case is for as light as it is. The case fits my Yamaha TRB1005 five string PERFECTLY. I could not ask for a better fit. Zippers all work smoothly.

    The interior storage on each side of the neck is nice. It is holding my Peterson tuner, Shure IEM body pack, a couple extra batteries and a few other small items with room to spare. My "Comfort Strap" easily fits in the area by the headstock.

    My only wish (not a fault of the case) is that the front pocket be a little deeper. Our church band uses three-ring binders to hold our sheet music. A binder fits in the pocket fine, but the 1-1/2" binder is too thick to let the pocket zip shut. I can still use the pocket to carry the binder as I'll not be turning the case upside down to where the binder can slide out. It would just be nice if it was deep enough to zip closed.

    I only have one complaint that seems like an error in construction. With the case laying on a flat, level surface, the lid will not stand open vertically. The strap that keeps the lid from opening too far is too short to let it open enough past vertical to stay open. I may just cut the strap and sew in an extension piece of strap webbing to fix that.

    They may hold up fine, but the shoulder strap hooks are plastic. I'll probably not use the shoulder strap myself, but that may be an issue for others that will be trusting those plastic hooks.

    It's too early for me to know how well it will hold up with my weekly trips to church, but it seems very well made. I will be surprised if this case does not last me several years. I'm so initially impressed that I wanted to go ahead and post a positive review.

  • from Ohio February 12, 2017Music Background:
    Working Musician

    A GREAT CASE

    I needed to buy a case for my new P Bass, saw this and decided to give it a try. Well months later I'm happy to say I made a wise choice for my situation. I play out every week & my basses are constantly on the move. This case protects my bass just as well as my hard shell cases, my bass fits nice & snug, it is nice looking & lightweight & the price is right. If you are the one who carries & transports your own guitars to and from gigs ( like most of us ) This is a great case.

  • from Northern California May 25, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro enthusiast

    Lightweight, Great Fit

    My original case, that I thought would last forever, didn't. So I went with this lightweight - it's more protective than a gig bag (but not much heavier), and fits my G & L 5500 5 string perfectly. I love all the accessories space, both inside and in the external pouch. The removable strap is an interesting touch; it lets you sling the case over one shoulder, but you have to remove one side to open the case, so its practicality is limited. The wrap around zipper looks sturdy. I hope it remains so.

  • from Rhinebeck, NY December 16, 2012Music Background:
    Musician for 48 years.

    Took care of business

    I needed something to protect my Ibanez SR 600. This has worked out very well for me. It also gave me an excuse to give some business to Sweetwater. The best friend a musician has.

Questions about the Gator Lightweight Case - Electric Bass Guitar?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway