rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Epiphone 940-EGCS Reviews

4.5 stars based on 29 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone 940-EGCS?

Questions about the Epiphone 940-EGCS?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Prescott, AZ May 30, 2016

    Perfect for SG 400

    I had my Epiphone in an SKB case for the past few years. I didn't have anything to compare it to--but I was bothered the SKB case was not padded well. It had a firm, hard (felt like) styrofoam under the carpet. The opening to the accessory pocket opened from left to right (Epiphone opens from right to left) while feeling very thin, flimsy and cardboard- like. I think the exterior of the SKB case is actually a hard plastic and will probably wear better than the epiphone case (which will be prone to the standard vinyl contusions and abrasions from heavy wear). However, the details are in the PADDING of the Epiphone case. Padded better, perfect fit for my SG, accessory compartment better padded and not so flimsy. I will probably give my SKB case away or sell it for a few lessons.

  • from Northwest Ohio July 14, 2015

    PERFECT

    The title says it all. The case is perfect.

  • from June 8, 2015Music Background:
    4078804456

    Excellent case

    Guitar fits perfectly in the case and the padding is extremely soft. This is definitely a quality case and it looks very nice.

  • from Illinois June 28, 2014Music Background:
    recording/ live sound engineer, Pro Musician

    Epi 940-EGCS case

    perfect fit..grat workmanship

  • from Central PA December 6, 2013Music Background:
    Semi professional drummer/percussionist, instructor, exploring guitarist

    Epiphone 940-EGCS

    Always the best dealing with Sweetwater. Never feel like I'm just some number on an account. This case I would gladly recommend to any Epi SG guitar owner. Snug fit and provides great support of the neck. A solid deal of a case for the money!

  • from United States July 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist in local band

    Beautiful Case

    For the price, this case is terrific. It's a nice, solid protective case with a great lining. Perfect weight with just enough room to store capo, strap, picks, etc. Professional looking too.

  • from Conroe, TX USA May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Guitar Collector

    Epiphone 940EGCS Guitar Case

    better than i expected. This case is just awesome, my sg fits in the case perfectly!!!! I will purchase another one for my other sg's.

  • from Chicago March 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Totally worth it!

    When I got this case i was totally amazed. my SG Special fit perfectly and it's very durable. I threw it by accident one day, it slammed into the ground with a HUGE thud, guitar was perfectly safe and the case was a little scratched. This is worth every penny. it protects, it fits quite a bit of extra stuff, and it just looks badass.

  • from July 30, 2008Music Background:
    Student, hobbyist, rhythm guitarist

    Great case, and an extra bonus.

    FedEx just dropped the case off and I am extremely pleased with my purchase. Fits my guitar like a glove. There's a chemical odor that came with the case, but I had heard about that before. Tough exterior and very cushioned interior, I highly recommend this case to an epi sg owner.

    Also, the added bonus, was that candy came with my order. No joke. Laffy Taffy, atomic fireballs, and a peppermint candy. Truely a "wtf?" moment.

  • from OH April 10, 2017

    Sturdy, Well Made Case

    My Epiphone SG fits fine in this case---I've read some reviews that complained about the fit of the headstock but didn't notice this with mine. It is important that you don't overload the storage compartment, though. The clasps are nice and solid, and the case overall would be good protection for gigging. The only reason that I'm giving it 4.5 stars is because there are only three clasps---one on the back side of the case would have been nice to have. Other than that, this is a very nice, very solid case.

  • from Ct. August 6, 2016Music Background:
    Beginner plus guitarists (4 yrs in, w minimal lessons)

    It's nice to e surprised with an add on purchase

    I'll start my review by saying , th only reason I gave 4.5 and not 5 stars is because.... though I don't see how really , but there's gotta be a better way to lock your case . The lock works fine but its key is a punched piece of metal and the lock itself is never lined up for the key.....locks aside ( almost every case I have[15] has the same or similar lock. The case is well made with plenty of cushion inside. There's a no name brand ,and their icon is an "e "that i bought for a cheaper used epiphone guitar . It was like $25 less , but quality wise it was more like $75 less quality. These epiphone cases are great and worth their price all the way. I would have no problem putting a Gibson in one of these cases [if the Gibson didn't come with its own case ] . The guitar fits snugly and is supported great . If your on the fence ,don't w0rry it's a great buy.

  • from Elon, NC July 2, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fits my G-400 Pro like a glove

    Just received my new case. Very pleased. Good protection for my guitar. Pretty well constructed although the handle seems a little sketchy. Well suited for my needs but doubtful the handle would hold up well for heavy use gigging.

    Kudos to Sweetwater and my sales engineer, Nick Schenkel, for super fast shipping and stellar customer service.

  • from Houston November 24, 2015

    Epiphone 940-EGCS case

    Very plush, great fit, a Really a nice case for the SG. If you like guitar cases, this is a good'er.

  • from Suburban Detroit Mi January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Old dogs keeps picken

    Thanks for the rapid order / sale Jimmy Hart

    Jimmy Hart

    Thanks for the help! I needed a Christmas case for a guitar gift and
    Jimmy and I got it done in less than 60 seconds.

    The case is great (I have one too) and the person who received it liked it.

    Its a case so a 4.5 ease of ordering 9

  • from Boise, ID July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, part-time palyer.

    Great case...

    Every guitar deserves (and needs) a good quality case, and this one is a good case for the SG400 Pro I bought for my son. I just wish they were either included in the purchase of a quality guitar, or a little less expensive, since you are caught in getting the case if you want to protect your investment. Great selection of cases at Sweetwater, and great service.

  • from March 27, 2012

    Good case, but be careful reading reviews

    First off, this is a good case at a good price. I'm completely happy with it for my epi SG. Im seeing reviewers claiming that this case is as good or better than the more expensive Gibson case. This is simply not true. The Gibson case is much more solidly built with obviously higher quality materials. Now, I'm comparing an epi SG case to a Gibson LP case, so there are obvious differences in shape and size, but simply comparing quality, the Gibson wins hands down. The plush lining for example on the Gibson is like that of an expensive plush toy from a nice store while the lining in the epi is more reminiscent of a carnival prize. The Gibson has 5 latches that lock tightly, and the epi 3 that are not so tight. The epi does have one lockable latch, so no worries about it coming open if you don't want it to.

    All that said why 4.5 stars? Because its a great Case. The Gibson is a better case, but at an appropriately higher price. I would absolutely buy this case again for my epi SG.

  • from Albuquerque, NM September 2, 2011Music Background:
    lover of all things music

    great case, better service!

    Yeah the title pretty much says it all. The Sweetwater service was absolutely awesome! And the case came in and fit my Gibson perfectly!

  • from Mooresville, NC August 16, 2011Music Background:
    Senior Hobbyist (+40 years)

    EPIPHONE 940-EGCS Case for EPI NIGHTHAWK

    Great fit for the EPI NIGHTHAWK. Tough enough for routine travel and gigging...substantial protection. Has a strong chemical odor when first opening...needs to be open to the air for several days to allow odor to dicipate. Overall...great...good price...I would recommend if you are looking for a hard case.

  • from Memphis June 13, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar collector

    Great case at a great price

    Epiphone is supposed to be the little brother (or is it sister?) of Gibson, so why do they sell better cases for their guitars? This is a very fine case, even more so when you look at the price. It's got a nicely textured exterior (not cheap feeling, like some cases), very strong and heavily chrome-plated latches, and a nice padded leather handle instead of some cheap molded thing. Inside, the gray plush lining is extra thick, and I've used these cases to store a wide variety of SG-style guitars. It's sturdy without being heavy, feels like it's built to last, and it looks great too.

  • from Minneapolis, MN USA January 19, 2011Music Background:
    Student

    Perfect!

    This is a great guitar case just got it today and already lovin it it's leather covered, the inside is very soft to protect your guitar, and it locks shut so nobody breaks into you case and takes your guitar. the only reason I rated it a 4.5 Is because it's a little on the heavy side but don't go buying a Gibson case for $150 when you can get this great case for $70

  • from North Carolina January 5, 2017

    SG case

    Nice case. Well made and the SG fits perfectly. Hardware is good quality and the price was right.

  • from Sacramento, CA February 5, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro musician (40 yrs experience)

    excellent case

    nice looking, leather surface - 3 buckles (vs 5 for the Gibson) easier to open/close case but still secure. *Very* happy with the purchase (my 2nd-hand G-400 deserves a nice case and got one!)

  • from Bedford, TX USA November 22, 2014Music Background:
    Recreational enthusiast

    Best guitar case I've ever owned.

    The interior is great protection for your guitar. The case is well designed and hats off to the quality - well made.

  • from United States February 28, 2014Music Background:
    long-time amateur

    nice case for the money

    It seems to me that when I first started playing guitars, most except the really cheap ones came with cases; since that's no longer the situation, and since Sweetwater makes guitars available at such low prices, this was a good purchase; the case is, I believe, intended for SG models, but it's also recommended for the Nighthawk, which I have. The fit isn't perfect, but I'm sure it will protect my investment well.

  • from East Central Ohio February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, home recordist, amateur videographer and photographer

    Good standard case

    This case fills the bill for my Epiphone G-400 Les Paul Custom guitar. The case seems to fit well and offers standard protection. Obviously, it is not a heavy duty case, but it does fit, is well made, sturdy, and does not cost a mint. When it first arrived, it seemed remarkably "thin", but then again, so is the SG. All in all, I am satisfied with the case and am especially satisfied with Sweetwater's service, having it in stock and prompt delivery. In short, I recommend it.

  • from Cape Cod, MA February 25, 2012

    Great Case!

    I have an Epiphone G-400 Left-handed guitar and needed a case for it. Sweetwater was the only on-line retailer that offered the 940-ECGS case. This case is designed for the left-handed model of my guitar. They had the case in-stock and shipped it immediately. Great service and an equally great case. I'm pleased with the quality of the product....nice fit and solid protection for travel.

  • from Newport Beach, CA 92663 September 9, 2011Music Background:
    County Gospel Songwriter and Novic guitar player/collector

    Epiphone 940-EGCS

    Everything seems okay.

  • from AZ March 2, 2017

    It's always better to view in person but...

    It looks very pretty new, if that's your thing. It will hold up to minimal wear outside the house gigging. I wouldn't personally put it on an airplane or truck as I have my doubts.. but it will be very adequate for in home storage and in mobile circumstances to where it won't get smashed like in van's or truck's.. baby it, protect it! I found a little more flex in the overall case construction = thin outer shell. I would have preferred something more stout but it will do as it won't be in back of trucks or airplanes etc. It's very hard to judge an item online by description only of the item as it makes sound like its the bomb and its definitely not! While I looked at others more expensive they looked cheesy to me and settled with this. All in all this particular guitar that is going in this case doesn't have to worry about airplane's, truck's etc.. For A hundred dollars I guess this is the best we can do, amazing the difference in quality over the years in comparison to quality. I am primarily a Paul Reed Smith guy as I have 8 beautiful different specimens and let's face it... PRS RULES in my book! No a PRS is not going in this case LOL!! cheers!

  • from New Jersey October 9, 2008Music Background:
    Long time player

    Could be a much better fit

    Bought this for a used Epiphone Faded G400 SG I recently bought (the guitar is a 2007 model). The case has a VERY tight fit. I have to push the body of the guitar firmly to get it to sit properly. Also, when seated, the neck of the guitar does not sit against the two rests provided for it. I have to place a cloth under the body of the guitar to raise it to the correct height so that the neck is not at an angle.

    This case may fit some of the Epiphone SG line well, but not mine.

Questions about the Epiphone 940-EGCS?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway