0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

MXR M102 Dyna Comp Compressor Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the MXR M102 Dyna Comp Compressor Pedal?

Questions about the MXR M102 Dyna Comp Compressor Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from January 28, 2017

    Awesome pedal. Always on.

    I play Red Dirt, and you can't beat a good ol' dyna comp for that twangy stuff, man. Maybe the script version is a little better, I don't know...I just know this pedal sounds really great, and I'm a full on tone Nazi. dial in anything from subtle compression to about as much snap as you would ever want...I run it at about 12 o clock generally...3 o clock for hybrid picking. American Standard Tele, 65 Deluxe Reverb...country sound til the cows come home, baby!

  • Reggie
    from Kansas December 23, 2016Music Background:
    Pro, 20 years

    As country as it gets...

    If you're looking to get that authentic Nashville or Texas Country sound, look no further. The Dyna Comp is where it's at. Great pedal, and very affordable. #twangfordays

  • Todd Morgan
    from Florida August 17, 2016

    Twang city, so you want to play country music?

    Best buy in this type of peddle out there, if your looking for that country music twangy thing then you hit the Jack pot this peddle is that and a whole lot more, I have a lot of differant guitars and this peddle sounds differant on each one this is the one peddle you will always have use for its kinda like finding the ultimate wah wah you will almost always have a purpose for this one! Buy it you know you want it!

  • Heath Stewart
    from Jasper, AL April 5, 2016Music Background:
    guitar, drums, bass, vox

    Get that Tele Twang...

    I love this Comp pedal. It's the real deal. Forget the cheaper brands and models. Get this one and be done.

    Sweetwater is the best company to buy from. There service is second to none, if you have an issue.

  • Heath Stewart
    from Jasper, AL March 15, 2016Music Background:
    guitar, drums, bass, vocals

    Get that twang!

    Amazing pedal. It really changes the dynamics of things. WOW! I now know where the Tele Twang really comes from... Call Tyler Moore, and tell him to get you one of these on the way.

  • Stephen
    from Indiana July 28, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner

    Love It

    I am kind of a beginner when it comes to pedals. I am still trying some different ones out to see what I like. What I do know is when I turn this pedal on I get a nice clean tone that I was looking for. Very satisfied. Plus the price was very reasonable and the online reviews were very favorable. It may not have all the bells and whistles as some of them but it does a good job for me and my bedroom concerts.

  • aaron hall
    from tecumseh, MI January 19, 2015Music Background:
    student

    Nice lead and sustain boost

    I can see why this is used a lot in studios. It makes for a nice lead boost and really increases the sustain on your notes. I was impressed with the warmth that it has. it does not suck any of the tone and really accentuates it. I was quite impressed with it and wish that i had bought one sooner.

  • John
    from Denver, CO May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    A Time Machine

    This great compression pedal takes me directly to 1985. I've been able to get exactly the sound I was looking for. Anybody know where my parachute pants are?

  • Khawaja Jodat
    from 61 M, Gulberg III, Lahore, Pakistan June 15, 2007Music Background:
    Engineer & hobbyist guitarist for the last 27 years.

    MXR dyna comp is a Gold.

    I am glad to see this pedal once again. This is the finest compressor pedal I have ever used especially for Clean sounds. I found the sound quality of this pedal very impressive. It is so creamy, punchy and extremely warm with so much dynamic compression quality. It has a very simple operation but sound is beautifully complex one. As far as its build quality is concerned it is like concrete. I have used it for both humbuckers and single coil pickups and it responds equally great. I wish it might have a tone control & furthermore it has a fixed Attack time but still I found it fulfilling all my requirements beautifully. For Clean sound I give it all 5 points.

  • Gary
    from November 7, 2016Music Background:
    I play several instruments, mostly guitar. Been involved in music most of my life, but now that I'm approaching 70 mostly at church.

    MXR Compression pedal still the best

    I used one of these for years until the switch went bad. Decided to try the Boss version, enthralled with all of the extra controls. Wrong decision. Didn't take long to bring me back to the MXR Dyna Comp. I just purchased a new one and love it.

  • Jon Kemppainen
    from ATX November 8, 2011Music Background:
    Part time musician

    MXR Dyna Comp Review

    Classic pedal for a good price. Worked perfectly straight out of the box. Helped me get the tone I was looking for. Thanks Sweetwater for great customer service!

  • Randy Stanton
    from Centennial, CO April 15, 2009Music Background:
    Song Writer, Guitarist, Demo Recording

    Like Buying Another Guitar

    I had recently heard a great guitarist at a coffee shop with an amazing tone. He attributed it all to a classic compressor (having a Fender Twin and a Gibson 335 didn't hurt). I went ahead and bought the MXR DynaComp thinking that it would be a good choice after reading several reviews. I am totally blown away. I am able to get sounds out of my Les Paul Black Beauty that I thought were only possible by purchasing a completely different guitar. This one pedal turned my already great tone (Blues Jr with Les Paul) into unbelievable tone. If I had any idea I would have bought this a long time ago!

  • Mark B-H
    from Boyne City, MI January 5, 2009Music Background:
    20 years of giggin'

    Good pedal

    I'm using this for bass. This is a very good compressor for the cash. It's extremely quiet--only adds a very slight hiss, but that's (in my experience) fairly unavoidable unless you really shell out some bucks. If you squash the high dynamics and raise the low dynamics, you get some noise. But it's FAR less noisy than other ones. I docked it half a star only because it kills a little bit of the attack, and it takes a perceptible instant to kick in on your first note. But these are small things, and I'm keeping mine.

  • Chris Pickenpaugh
    from Southern California July 7, 2007Music Background:
    Composer/Multi-instrumentalist

    My favorite comp pedal

    Simple design. Simple functionality. Great for gain staging. Great for upping tone and sustain. Great price.

  • Kevin
    from Florida October 14, 2016Music Background:
    Luthier,Amp,Effects Tech

    An Old Favorite

    I got caught up in the new "Studio" compressors in pedal form, and forgot all about this one. I didn't like these other compressors with humbuckers or distortion. I bought one of these on a whim, and I'm glad I did. It has a warmer, less sterile sound. It sits in front of my gain pedals, and makes them more effective. I love it with Humbuckers and a bit (or a lot) of gain. It's simple to use too. Set the output where you like, and adjust the sensitivity so it engages just where it's effective. That's it, nothing else to do. It's still built like a tank and it's priced right too. Highly recommended.

  • K. Frederick
    from Nashville July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Tour player/writer/producer/management

    Dyna Comp

    Toured with one of these in the 80's - Still built like a tank and remarkably sensitive with single coils. Great price/service too.

  • Alex
    from Colorado April 24, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Gigging Musician

    Take the Time To Figure It Out

    I bought this pedal originally to add more clarity to big chords with distortion and to get a really nice pick attack for neck position clean sounds. At first I was having a lot of trouble with the controls (probably just overthinking it), but after a few hours of putting it in different places and trying out different settings, I am really happy with it, it does exactly what I need it to and really adds clarity, this pedal almost always stays on in my rig. No problems with it, unless you don't want to take the time to set it up right.

  • SK
    from Astoria, NY October 8, 2008Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Simple as it gets

    Just two controls - easy to setup. It can effectively level the signal before your recorder, while creating some nice attack and sustain characteristics. For me, it works great on clean or just-slightly-overdriven electric guitar parts and for rock bass sounds. For the price you can't go wrong.

  • Tim Logsdon
    from Chicago Area March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Working Musician, Recording Artist, Small Studio Owner

    Set it and forget it

    This compressor is a one control knob jobber with output control. It will do compression best with a light touch, otherwise it pumps a bit.

    If you're looking for more control this may not be for you but for a quick set live pedal it works great for that "Nashville Sound".

    Be sure to find the right spot in your signal chain first though.

  • daniel oconnell
    from Michigan November 9, 2012Music Background:
    40 years. Everything.

    TWELVE STRING??

    Those of you thinking about buying either a Dyna Comp or the Janglebox for you live 12 string sound should buy the Dyna Comp. The Janglebox is great for studio or if you're McGuinn who has a horde of sound support and stage people... but for on stage in the clubs you can't beat the Dyna Comp for 12 string. I own a Janglebox and did everything with it for a year, not satisfied with the sound. Got my Dyna Comp today and instat: 'problem solved'. Dyna has a single compression and volume. Jangle box tweeks between volume and compression... more compression, odd volume level, more/less volume is weird compression ration. Dyna Comp is your bread and butter solution. Done. Buy it if your thinking about 12 string for the clubs.

  • Customer
    from March 19, 2016

    Good sound... too noisy

    The compression sound was good, but the pedal has a terrible buzz when engaged. There wasn't really a way to get around the buzz though, and it just got worse when overdrives were engaged. I wouldn't recommend this pedal simply for that reason.

  • Rob Kosinski
    from May 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro working musician

    Does what it does

    Compresses like a ton of bricks. Noisy switch. Leave it on or leave it off.

  • Matt
    from Manchester, CT February 14, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Too much noise in my opinion

    This pedal does add some sustain. It sounds okay. I just feel the increase in sustain it provides is not worth the amount of noise it adds. I was a little disappointed. I thought it would sound better.

  • JC Blues
    from Mn November 17, 2011Music Background:
    blues

    Dynacomp pedal

    This is a terrible pedal. It totally squashes your signal. It's very noisy. Absolutely no sustain,didn't notice any difference at all. Volume issues.

Questions about the MXR M102 Dyna Comp Compressor Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway