0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro Plus Reviews

4.5 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro Plus?

Questions about the Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro Plus?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Michigan October 6, 2016Music Background:
    Solo keyboard player

    APEX AX-48 PRO

    The pics always did me in - never looked impressive. But wow, this thing is just fantastic. It cleans everything up and is SECURE and PROFESSIONAL LOOKING. I have my 76 on top, with the 13 legs at the bottom, where it holds my mixer. Everything is in close proximity. I love the mic boom. I just close the boom down and swing it around to carry. Never take it off, that way the threads stay good and it simplifies the setup. I love the self storing legs and feet, a novel idea. I am so done with X stands. Trust me, you will not be disappointed!

  • from WA July 29, 2016Music Background:
    Popular, Latin, Motown, Smooth Jazz: All the steaks and lobsters of MUSIC!

    Best 2 -tier Keyboard stand, add 3rd with optional holding brackets and bars.

    Thank you Forrest Powell!! My go-to guy at Sweetwater! YOU ROCK!

    WOWOWOWOWOW! That's all I can say about this product. Why the heck did I not get it sooner? Because of the $249.99 price tag. I thought I could get away with cheaper stands. I ended up with 3 that was either too bulky or pointy that HURTS my car or poking other gears when I transport them to gigs.

    Pro:

    1. Pull out the plastic tab behind the bottom of stand so you can pull off a singer - keyboardist AND be SEEN on stage.
    2. Beautiful and Stable stand: these 2 qualities don't go together until now.
    3. Everything goes into the nice bag and off you go: Look like a PRO you'd like to think of yourself!
    4. Stabilizer bar (the little dude at the bottom facing you) is VERY IMPORTANT to keep things rock solid.
    5. All bars go into top. All legs go into the bottom and click.
    6. Big tube is round so it looks expensive for a mid price stand. Have you heard of a $600 stand?
    7. NEW pads on bars are very solid. Will see how long they last.

    Con: NONE!

  • from Seattle, WA September 16, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz, Rock, Pop vocalist and keyboard player 35+ years

    So easy to set up

    I was tired of carrying my keyboard, stand, mic stand, mic...etc. This makes set up so easy and it looks great on stage. I added a quick release for the mic, so it is even easier to set up. Very sturdy, sleek and the bag is very high quality! Excellent purchase, no regrets here!

  • from November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboard player

    Great stuff

    Simple to install and good Loking

  • from Covington, LA March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Amatuer Professional Musician

    Beautiful Stand

    Very professional looking stand. I purchased and extra super clamp and set of short support bars, and use the music rest that came with my keyboard to hold my sheet book down at an angle so the audience can still see me and I have my music just in case! The legs DO lock in place. I have a Korg SV1, 50 lbs on the lower teir and a Nord Electro 3-61 on the top. I hang a tamborine from the lower tier. It takes about 3 minuters to fold it up and tote it away! Comfortable pedal placements, all 5 of them.

  • from jamestown, NY November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Educator, Hobbyist

    Good for 20 years

    After more than 20 years of regular gigging my old Apex stand came apart. It was time to get a new one. The new updated stand is sweet. It looks slick and the boom screws in right on top and is not attached on the side. My old clamps and tribars still work on this model so I can add extra tiers. The mic boom extends and the entire unit fits well into the bag. This stand should last until I'm in the retirement home. Thanks Sweetwater and Ultimate Support

  • from Michigan October 11, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Finally!!

    I have talked about getting this stand for years. I'm glad I finally did it! This stand is everything it clams to be.

  • from Miami, Fl. March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    This column Keyboard stand is a must.

    Everything work with this stand, the look, it don't need too much room...it's worth the price.

  • from San Antonio, TX February 3, 2016Music Background:
    Chaotic

    Built like a tank

    I remember when this keyboard stand first came to market. It's grown muscles since. Worthwhile stand, but it makes my system1 look really dinky.

  • from Florence, KY September 11, 2015

    Very Pleased!

    I wasn't sure I wanted to spend the money for this stand. After reading many reviews, just like the one you're reading, I decided to get the AX-48 Pro Plus. Honestly, at first I wasn't sure about my main concern, stability. It wobbled a little bit when rocking out on my Yamaha MOXF8 which weighs about 40 lbs. This was mainly on the upper and lower ends of the 88 keys. Overall the AX-48 is more stable than I expected and I'm very pleased with it. My band members LOVE the modern look of it. The one issue I have to comment on is that the cross bars are not user friendly with my expression pedal and sustain pedal. I had to make a pedal board that went over the bar for my expression pedal to be in the position I like. As for the sustain pedal, I just turned it 90 degrees and it works fine. Other than that issue, I am happy with my purchase.

  • from Rhode Island May 9, 2015

    Ultimate Support Apex AX-48Pro Plus keyboard stand.

    I have only had my stand for a couple of weeks /band pracrtices. I do think it is pretty nice though. After the original set up to get the boards at a desirable height it is quick, easy and compact to use. I purchased the extra clamp and support arms but haven't used my third keyboard yet. Compared to the three other types of stands I have used I think this is going to be my favorite and the way to go from now on. Everything fits in the bag nicely including the Mike boom and the extra support arms. I would not over stuff the bag with my Mike and cable though.

  • from Pittsburgh August 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Classic - Even Better

    I had one of the original Apex stands...lasted for years on the road. Never really considered any other stand when I needed a new one...they've improved this one over the original...still has some quirkiness to it but love it none the less!

  • from Monclova, OH July 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Stand or Sit

    Quick and easy adjust on the height .. can be used in standing or sitting positions. Easy transport and looks great. I use the top teir to rest my music notebook on. I hang a small wire shelf below the bottom teir that holds the AC/DC box, power strip, mic spliter and excess cable. Got some LED lights also. Negs are when set up it is a bit awkward to move as the 3 legs don't lock in an up position and thus they swivel down if assembly is picked up. The front legs are just high enough in the middle to get the back half of my Roland sustain pedal under.. it's not exactly in the position I'd like, but good enough.

  • from NE Michigan June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Professional DJ

    Very Nice Stand

    You know... I am using this stand as a DJ stand and not a keyboard stand. I place a carpeted board on the top and bottom arms and put my computer on the top and mixer on the bottom. It is very stable and looks awesome! no need for a table and cable managment is a snap! The microphone stand that is included is sturdy and fits well with the group. Very easy to setup and take down. It comes with a sturdy case and is not to heavy to transport. In conclusion...it is awesome for a keyboard stand or whatever you can dream up!!!

  • from Midland, TX USA April 12, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, hobbyist, student

    Great stand

    I've only used it for on gig so far but the convenience of being able to store all parts within the stand is great. It makes for a real portable and sleek look. The only thin you can't store within the stand is the mic boom, but the stand comes with a gig bag where there is a place for the mic boom. Great stand!

  • from Living Waters Church April 25, 2015Music Background:
    Keys/Synth for Living Waters

    Pretty nice, just depends on your setup.

    I have used 3 of these and they are pretty sturdy, and look sleek. You just have to be cautious when running a lot of cables up the middle bar because the clips can break, but that's not that bad if you have Velcro straps. The only issue I have is that I don't have any real foot room for my pedals other than my sustain. If a sustain is all you are running, then there are no issues.

  • from Lowell, MA August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend cover band rock star

    Positives outweigh any negatives

    Pros:

    -portable

    -looks great

    -easy to setup and store

    -Sweetwater quickly sent me a new one when I reported mic boom and storage bag issues

    Cons:

    -easy to cross thread and ruin the mic boom
    (a microphone quick connect fixed that)

    -mic boom was dropped on a hard surface and
    counter weight broke off
    (will find a way to fasten that back on)

    -the manufacturer product video shows a burly roadie type guy
    holding this stand with one hand while pulling out the legs. If you are NOT a burly roadie type guy, you will need both hands and/or rest the product down (to insert into the bag, for example).

    Summary: I never want to go back to transporting box style or x-style stands. The On Stage stand will stay at home and the AX-48 will be in my car or setup at rehearsals and gigs.

  • from Middletown, NJ June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging clubs for over 30 years now.

    Nice look, Sturdy stand

    I love that the Ultimate stand takes up such a small amount of space while holding two keyboards and a mic. With the tiny stages most places have, it's a blessing. Folds up nice and compact, will fit in most cars easily. My only complaint is that the legs are usually reluctant to easily emerge from the body of the stand when you're trying to set up. If you have a lot of time to jiggle and wriggle them to get some cooperation, it's no biggie. If you're pressed to get your gig up and running, the legs will definitely add some points to your blood pressure.

  • from San Marino, CA September 10, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist playing live gigs.

    overall, really good product that does the job

    This is a very good keyboard stand for the gigging musician. Set up is a breeze, as advertised. It is also very easy to transport, as everything fits into the provided gig bag. I have been using this at band practice and have not taken it on a gig yet, but my practice set up is similar to a gig, so I do not anticipate any problems. The provided mic boom is really awesome. This makes life so much easier, as you do not need to struggle with a separate mic stand, in addition to a key board stand. The boom is easy to adjust and it makes playing while singing so much easier and enjoyable. I have only two minor complaints. The first is that I would have preferred the stand to be a bit more stable. This is probably because I am using a very large keyboard. I have an 88 key Korg Kronos on the lower tier, and the stand does wobble just a little bit while playing. It does not affect my playing in any way, and I am not concerned about the strength or stability. I am confident that it will hold the keyboard safely. However, I would have preferred if there was no wobble at all. I have a smaller keyboard on the top tier. Here, I wish that the top tier could have been tilted a little, because it is a little difficult to see the display on the top keyboard at times. Again, it does not affect my playing, but I do have to move my head a little at times to get a clearer view of the display on the top keyboard. These are very minor quibbles, and I am perfectly happy with the stand. In fact I love it. It has made my playing much more easier and enjoyable. I highly recommend it. It is totally worth getting the Pro Plus model to get the mic boom and gig bag.

  • from Portland, OR April 2, 2017Music Background:
    I've played and run sound for many many years...

    A Few Issues

    While I like the "look" and the small space it takes in my hauling rig, it does have some issues.

    First, the mic-holder-attachment is loose. I need to get to Home Depot and purchase an allen wrench the correct size for adjusting it, but until then, reviews I've read on line have commented on the same thing--even when "tightened down" the mic-mount is "floppy-floppy" (buy one and you'll see what I mean)...

    Second, you're gonna need another allen wreck and a pair of pliers to get the crossbars tightened down enough that they don't want to slide and readjust mid gig....

    Third... I am going to be replacing all the rubber-backed padding on the keyboard arms with velcro, then putting the velcro "mate" onthe bottom of my keyboards... This seemingly rubberized base isn't very non-slip...and I find my keyboards slipping around...and having to adjust them. I am hoping this will fix the problem.

    Finally...I went from a stand that put my top keyboard at an angle to the bottom keyboard. This stand doesn't give you that option. It took me a while to adjust to this.

    With that said, why have I chosen to keep this stand?

    1. the cool look onstage
    2. the small package it folds into
    3. the same-angle of my top keyboard to bottom actually improves my playing of my top board
    4. The cool look onstage

  • from Johnston, IA April 21, 2013Music Background:
    Former pro, now semi-pro, hobby musician.

    Has some cons, but I still use it. EASY set up.

    I've used on 15-20 gigs. I will continue to unless it becomes a problem or something better comes along. Definitely pros and cons. Pros: Love the intended design, especially for 1-niters; packs up small, sets up fast, looks great on stage, integrated mic stand = 1 less thing to haul. Cons. Iíve had to replace the boom twice, just buy an On Stage MSA7040TB and use the intended one somewhere else. They are not machined properly and threads do not match. Iíve broken the little stabilizer piece in transport - itís plastic. They quickly sent me another. It transfers sound from stage to the mic because itís hollow. I stuffed two short pieces of foam in it and that helped. Sound man has not complained since. It is possible for the legs to go too far into the stand at teardown. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE ALLEN WRENCH with you on the gig you will be hosed. Itís a pain to open the bottom because again, machining is not good. But 15-20 minutes will do it. Some people feel there is a lack of space for pedals. I donít. I stand and play and have volume and sustain and two other pedals, no problem. Summary: Great design, some bad machining. Despite what looks like a long list of cons Iíve gotten around them and proís still outweigh them for now.

  • from Florida September 3, 2016Music Background:
    Pro

    Not worth the price

    I bought this stand because I own the old version but it was cosmetic all not very appealing the new one was heavier bulkier and the mic stand broke the second time I used it, the thread was gone of it and it wouldn't hold up, also I had to get a special microphone holder so the microphone would not pick up the keyboard noise as I played, I cannot believe they don't have a different system like a snap on or some different kind of locking system, even if the thread was right that is still time consuming and awkward to set up and tear down anyway mine came defective and I called to see if I would get another since this was obviously defective and I just got the run around, they sent me to the tech department as if it was an tecnical problem, of course I got the run around there also so I'm stuck with a expensive Keyboard Stand that was not worth buying and I was very sad to see sweetwater didn't do anything other then play musical chairs with my case. If you are going to set up this stand and leave it setup then I guess it would work but if you're a gigging musician 4 nights per week or so and are going to set up everyday I do not recommend this stand as I say it's just not worth the money, bulky heavy and award to set up.

Questions about the Ultimate Support APEX AX-48 Pro Plus?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway