rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD?

Questions about the Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Syracuse, NY June 21, 2017

    Perfect for Home Studio Recording

    I've been recording with this interface for several months now. It's great for home recording for beginners like myself who want professional sound without the high cost. I wanted something that could capture my musical thoughts that wasn't going to break the bank. This is the perfect machine if that's what you're looking for. I like this product so much that I'm likely going to be upgrading to the UMC1820 in the near future for the additional XLR inputs. The only concern I have is that I have issues with the driver for this on my PC. Every now and again I have to uninstall and reinstall the driver, but I think this is an issue with my computer not the driver.

  • from June 6, 2017

    Highly Recommended

    Good product .. and perfect for me.

  • from Fort Wayne June 1, 2017Music Background:
    10 year Music Producer

    Good Value

    It does everything you need it to with basically no lag. I went from a Focusrite Solo to this. The solo was horrible as far as the drivers. It made me think my pic was slow at performing task when all alone it was the junk interface. I switched to this one and honestly I have no complaints. Thanks Behringer and Sweetwater.

  • from April 16, 2017

    Great Piece of Gear

    I have a small home studio where I record solo music and instrumentals and and produce videos for YouTube. I had been using the Propllerehead Balance as my audio interface until it started giving me fits with the latest version of Mac OS. After a lot of research, I decided to give this Behringer unit a try. The Balance wasn't going to last long anyway as the video production side of my little studio was growing beyond a two input interface and I needed something with enough XLR inputs for video podcasting with microphones for each guest. I also needed something with a decent and workable preamp system as I am mostly recording spoken words in a room with ample echo and didn't want to be picking up every ambient reflection.

    I used this unit for the first time last night to record a video in my "echo chamber". I used an SM58 about three feet from my mouth and off camera routed through a Cloudlifter CL-2 into the interface. I had the gain knob up about a quarter to get a really clear, volume appropriate vocal track. I had to laugh when I ran levels and only had the gain up that high because it was always half to three quarters on the Balance with the CL-2 and wasn't near as quiet. I will say that the noise floor wasn't perfect, but I didn't pay for perfect. With a little (and I mean little) bit of noise reduction in Audacity, I don't think you'd be able to tell the difference between this interface and others double, triple or even quadruple the price.

    Bottom line is this, after going back and forth between this and the higher priced Focusrite and PreSonus models, I am glad that I bit the bullet and saved some money. It is a sturdy little unit and just cannot be beat.

  • from Kentucky April 15, 2017Music Background:
    Rapper / mixing engineer.

    I'm Satisfied

    I got this interface because it had 4 inputs and pres for a very affordable price. I use a Rode NT1 (the black one) for vocals. When I first got this interface I was running my mic through my ART DPSII tube preamp. But I now run it directly though the UMC404. The Midas pres are great on my voice with my mic.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA April 10, 2017Music Background:
    Using in a professional, top FM radio station

    Has XLR outs! No WAY!!!

    There's a reason why this thing was sold out everywhere when I tried to get mine. But I waited, and glad I did! exactly whatI was looking for - it checks all the boxes. It sounds GREAT and does waaaaay more than any other interface in its price range. Forget what the Behringer "haters" say ... this is a great piece of gear, and sounds as good as the interfaces that cost 3 times more. "What if it breaks?" My Scarlett had several things break ... stuff happens. But at THIS price, in two years get a new one - with newer technology! But this thing seems to be built like a tank, and I'm not moving it around much, so I'm not worried.

    I just don't know how Behringer makes any money selling this quality at such a low price ... but now I'm a FAN.

  • from Miami March 28, 2017

    Fantástico

    Simplemente es genial. Llevo usándola tres meses y ha sido una excelente experiencia, tanto en el sonido como en la estabilidad de la interface. Muy buena.

  • from January 26, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer

    DANK

    This jazz is amazing for the price. I can't find anything else better for someone just starting or upgrading to something with more of what it has to offer. 10/10 would recommend

  • from Queens NY January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Home studio

    Value value value!

    Works exactly as it should. Super small for portability! Preamps are clean. Amazing deal.

  • from October 25, 2016Music Background:
    Drums, composition

    Perfect

    This thing is perfect for what I need. It sounds great, works great, is portable and is priced very reasonably. The customer service is fantastic as well. I'll be ordering from here more often!

  • from Quitman, TX October 20, 2016

    Excellent inexpensive interface

    Let me qualify my five stars by saying this is a 5-star value, not the best interface in the world. I will say that it blows the socks off the (first gen) Scarlett Solo that this UMC404HD replaced. Where I fought the Solo every time I used it, this one just works.

    This device works great with both PulseAudio and JACK in Linux! Its preamps are capable and sound good, fairly neutral, leaning slightly toward ...cool, for lack of a better word. But that's what I want from an interface! I'll add warmth and color elsewhere.

    I really appreciate all the I/O flexibility, which I didn't think I'd use at first but I find I use it a lot now that I have it. I was able to simplify my setup quite a bit. All in all an excellent value that should compete well with interfaces from its competitors' budget-conscious but still much more expensive offerings.

  • from Nebraska October 17, 2016

    Amazing for anyone looking to record!

    This is an amazing interface and you will not find a better deal at this price point. I've owned Audioboxes and Scarletts and this sounds just as great. It stands out from the latter two because it has 4 inputs, midi, and plenty of outputs while remaining cheaper than even the basic model from Presonus or Focusrite. The only issue ive had is that you cant playback your previous recordings while recording a new track without getting a little bit of latency through headphones. Other than that tiny issue, this thing is amazing. Definitely consider this in your hunt for an interface and dont let the fact that it's behringer scare you. They make affordable products with great quality!

  • from Tennessee October 15, 2016

    Great recordings for a great price

    Very good product

  • from CA October 4, 2016

    Great USB interface at amazingly low price

    Behringer comes through with a super clean and versatile 4-ch USB interface at a price below many 2-ch interfaces. I've been using it with PT's on 96K sessions and it's a solid performer. I had it drop off-line quite a bit at first but realized I was connecting through a USB hub. Once I connected it directly to my iMac it's been cruising along just fine and I highly recommend it. Also thanks to my sales rep Derek Kemp for getting me a unit much sooner than I was originally quoted. Sweetwater rocks!

  • from Boston September 23, 2016

    An Excellent choice for Podcasters!

    This is BY FAR the best option for people doing a multi-person podcast with everyone in the same room. This has 4 mic preamps that sound great (as far as I can tell, and let's be honest, your listeners won't notice the difference once it's 128kbps or lower anyway) you add your FX in post, and it's only $99. I couldn't be happier with it. It's powered by USB or by wall plug, so it's very portable (despite it's medium-ish size, it's about the same size as a wireless mac keyboard without the numpad). It has independent gain for each preamp, and it has one headphone out. If I wanted my guests to live monitor their voice (not really that important to me since I'm recording 4 tracks simultaneously and can normalize them separately) I would just get a headphone preamp and plug it in.

    I'm not a musician, but I imagine this would work well for you also. The issue for a musician (I would imagine) is that the line level inputs are located on the back whereas the preamps are on the front. This could make setup a little messy.

  • from Northridge, CA September 2, 2016

    awesome !

    awesome ...i wasnt expecting this quality from behringer!!!!

  • from Edmonton, AB July 4, 2016

    Amazing!!!! Unbelievable!!!!

    Finally a very high quality Interface at an affordable price. It works great, absolutely incredible sound... clean and crisp... Way to go Behringer
    Sweet Water service is OUTSTANDING!!! Sales engineer Ian Lemberg did a great job and helped a lot... My respect to him and all sweetwater staff.
    Trust me guys out there... it's worth the wait to get this interface; No regrets

  • from San Antonio March 16, 2016Music Background:
    Owned full blown 24 track recording studio back in the day and play guitar

    Should have cost more!

    Works great. Setting it up, loading the drivers etc, went fairly simple. No problems. The "free" Tracktion DAW did not load on either of my 64 bit computers (laptop or all in one desktop) tho. Loaded fine on my 32 bit Windows XP machine. But not using that for recording. Not a big thing as at the time I purchased this, I was using Reaper. Reaper works great. Since then I have upgraded to Mixcraft Pro 7. Took a while to figure out how link the UMC to the DAW, but got there. The pre-amps sound good, clean and quite, not much coloration. It records with my system very well. For me a good test is to mic up some cymbals, record and listen for high end scratchiness. It passed. The input latency was nil. Undetectable. But the round trip (listening to recorded and live sound together) latency was horrible at 44.1 khz. Went to 96 khz, better. Then went all the way to 192 khz. Much better, 8 mil sec. I can live with that. Not sure if the latency is from my puter, the DAW or the unit or it's drivers. I'm pushing the CPU between 30% and 40% with my set-up. With the Reaper DAW it was much less.The pre-amp sound directly from the mic is ok at 44.1 khz, but sounds much crisper at 96 khz. I don't hear any difference going from 96 khz to 192 khz on mics. I use this mostly with a Mackie 1604 VLZ 4 subgroups plugged into the front. Sometimes just plug the mic directly in. The unit looks nice, professional, solid metal body, compact, well laid out with a lot of nice features, including inserts for effects, nice touch. I run the input gain (record) and output near the top. The unit pretty much just sits there and does it's job, I occasionally adjust one of the gain knobs a bit if I see the clip light blink. I'm not saying that this is the best interface out there, I really don't know what is. I'm just blown away that this unit cost less than most of my stomp boxes and does all that it does. I plan to soon upgrade to a unit with more channels, hope I get as good of results with the new device. Bottom line, I get a really clean professional sounding recordings with this, and it was so affordable. Good luck to everyone.

  • from January 13, 2016Music Background:
    drummer audio engineer

    I'll never buy Behringer...

    I'm sure you've said it or have heard others say, "I'll never buy Behringer..." but after they acquired Midas & Klark , I can honestly say that I am proud and very happy to own the X32 Producer, Midas DL16, S16 pre and now the U-PHORIA! Plugged it in and it works perfectly! Sounds amazing. Very quiet, lots of headroom, headphone amp are transparent as my Presonus Central Station. Solidly built metal housing, beautiful design and I love the playback and direct monitor mix knob on the front. And for $99! HELL YES!

  • from LOS ANGELES CA October 13, 2015Music Background:
    PRODUCER

    BEHRINGER

    THIS IS BEST INTERFACE AT THIS PRICE POINT. THE CLARITY ON THE PLAYBACK IS AWESOME. I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS UNIT FOR ABOUT WEEK.I CAN'T SAY ANYTHING NEGATIVE. I HAVE USED MOTU,APOGEE DUET 2, INTERFACES OVER THE YEARS. I CAN'T HEAR ANY DIFFERENCE. THE ONLY DRAWBACK I CAN SEE, IT ONLY HAS 4INS, AND 4 OUTS. I'M USING PRO TOOLS 9HD, CUBASE 7. THIS UNIT IS VERY SIMPLE TO USE. NO PROBLEMS SO FAR.

  • from May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Awesome Interface

    -Zero Latency
    -4 Killer Midas Mic Preamps
    -Phantom Power
    -192 khz Sample Rate
    -4 Inserts
    -MIDI I/O
    -Headphone Jack
    -USB
    -External Power Supply

    This is a surprising combination for the price, and a great piece of gear. I use this interface with both Pro Tools 10 and Logic X. Comparing it to my old interface (Avid Fast track Solo), this interface looks, feels, and sounds Beautiful.

  • from April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Heavy Metal

    Great for the Price

    I've been using it for three days so far and I'm very satisfied with the results this interface has given me. I aggregate it with my focusrite 2i4 and the work well together. No Latency whatsoever!

  • from January 26, 2017

    So far so good

    Serves every purpose I need, the knobs seem a little flimsy but over all seems solid.

  • from cuyahoga falls ,ohio January 25, 2017

    Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD

    A great interface,very portable&easy to use.
    Price is unbeatable&quality is good.
    Would highly recommend

  • from Fort Wayne October 31, 2016Music Background:
    Musician / Producer

    Good Interface

    This is a nice piece of equipment, especially for the price. When I got the unit, I replaced a firewire studio interface that had limited I/O. This unit has more than enough I/O for my project studio. So far the sound is clean and straight forward. You can't beat the price! I do have a couple of things I wish Behringer would have done with this unit. First, the phantom power switch is in the back of the unit which is a pain. Second, it would have been cool to have some of the input ports in the back of the unit so that it won't be so cluttered in the front. And last, it would have been useful to have some type of software interface to the unit to set up automated scenes for different mixing and monitoring options. None of these are deal-breakers, just suggestions. I would buy this interface again if I needed to added more I/O to my set up.

  • from Huntington WV June 22, 2017

    Nice gear

    Seems to be well made. Audio quality is very good.

  • from Syracuse, NY April 6, 2017

    Great Value

    Great value and works very well. I wish they made an 8-input version of this. I have had some issues with the driver software but I think this is something on my end as my computer isn't the greatest.

  • from Northern Michigan November 23, 2016

    Fantastic interface, but with a few issues...

    I bought this a few months ago with the intention of replacing my Steinberg UR22's with a 4 channel interface. Using Reaper, the setup went smoothly and it worked great. In fact, I'd have to say the mic pre's in this box are superior to Steinberg/Yamaha's! Just blew my sox off! But the other issues keeps this from being a 5 in my book.

    1. The output is so low I had to turn up my Yamaha HS8 monitors just so that there would be enough headroom to use the output control of the U-Phoria! (With the UR22, I barely need to move it past 1/4 to be very loud, but with the UMC404HD, I have to turn the output almost all the way up!) This could possibly be a defect, I guess. Don't really know how to ask?

    2. I could not find a position or setting to allow me to have zero latency. I could get close, but there was always some "echo" from the latency making things a bit interesting while recording.

    3. Some apps just have a hard time with it and vice versa. I use Band In A Box for songwriting or practice, etc., and just use my interface to supply audio. Well... I never could get it to work right with BIAB, so I stopped trying. Also, some other apps that just need an audio device, couldn't work with it. So I finally decided to only use it for recording, and then just for the first 4 tracks together. The rest of the time I use my UR22's... still.

    I realize that some of these may be my own ignorance... but that could be helped by Behringer providing a decent manual with workarounds for issues like I had. As it is, there is virtually nothing in the "manual" that's worth much! Another reason for the less than stellar stars!

  • from Arvada, CO October 30, 2015Music Background:
    Performer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist

    Great value!

    I have had mine for a couple of weeks now. I bought it primarily to record my band and to record demos tracking bass, acoustic guitar and vocals, simultaneously. I am very pleased with the performance. The preamps are surprisingly good and overall this is an incredible value for $100. I can't hear any difference between the UMC404HD and my PreSonus 2x2. It was a little challenging figuring out how to get my DAW to see 4 tracks coming in at the same time, but perseverance paid off. The only issue I have is that the XLR inputs are very tight. I have to really force the cable into the input and then it's difficult to extract. Very strange that they would make them so tight. Otherwise, no complaints. The unit works beautifully. I have a few other Behringer products and my experience has been that they perform significantly above their price point. The UMC 404HD does as well.

  • from Boca Raton, FL May 25, 2017

    5 stars for Sweetwater, 1 star for Behringer

    Loved this item for 2 months before it stopped working. Let me say this, Behringer tech support is HORRIBLE. All the nightmare stories I had heard were absolutely true. If you buy a Behringer product and have a problem, don't count on getting a response from them. I will never buy another Behringer product but I will ALWAYS buy from Sweetwater. After getting no response for Behringer, I contacted Sweetwater support. A replacement item was shipped the same day even though I was technically outside the standard 30 day replacement policy. That's what I call service. Thank You Sweetwater, you have earned my loyalty!

Questions about the Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway