0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TC Electronic Sentry Noise Gate Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Sentry Noise Gate Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Sentry Noise Gate Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Bend April 11, 2017

    Killer noise gate with a bonus feature...the Effects Loop!

    Wow this thing has worked wonders for the hum and buss my Fender jazz bass was putting off. Just dial in the sensitivity of the Threshold so it activates the noise gate at just the right time. If you are using a delay effect, you will have to dial the threshold back to lessor degree to get the delays to ring out, which is not a problem. My rig sounds great and has never been quieter.

    Now for the bonus feature.....the effects loop!!! Before I started using the built in effects loop, I was experiencing tone suck, which was bumming me out. Now I run my Octave pedal, and my Chorus/Delay/Reverb pedal in the send/return loop off the Sentry, and then back out to my Ampeg DI box. That completely solved my issue and my tone is the same now as if my bass is plugged direct into the amplifier. Huge difference! I initially bought the Sentry for the noise gate, but the effects loop was feature that restored my original tone. Awesome product!! You will not be disappointed!!

  • from Columbiana, OH December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Assistant Engineer Wall of Shadows Studio and Session Bass Player.

    A rack mount gate in a pedal!

    Coming from expensive and well performing rack mount equipment I was skeptical of how well this pedal would work. Especially after purchasing a Electro-Harmonix Silencer. It was okay but nothing like my Drawmer DS201, or the gate section of my DBX 1066 and ISA 430..

    I needed a high quality gate that worked as well as my rack mount gear but that I could fit on a mobile pedal board. All of the reviews I could find of this pedal were very favorable and promising. I was a little worried that I wouldn't like it.

    When I started using this unit my concerns were gone and I was instantly not sorry for purchasing it! I'm very happy to report that this gate is not only dead quiet, but it does almost everything my rack mount units can do.

    I say almost simply due to the fact that the rack mount units have a little more overall functionality and options that are usually only necessary in the studio. However don't let that take away from how great and powerful this gate is. My first concern with any device like this is making sure it's transparent.

    I don't want anything in the signal chain to adversely affect my sound. As I said this unit is transparent. As far as how well it works? Well just let me say that I had a ear to ear smile when I turned it on! Unlike my EXH Silencer, I was immediately and easily able to get this thing set up to get rid of high gain hiss.

    Best of all the settings weren't touchy or finicky. If you've ever tried to set up a gate with guitar or bass effect pedals you know what I mean. With the EHX unit I just couldn't get to a happy medium. If I set my threshold to the point where I got rid of the hiss, my softer notes wouldn't come through.

    If I set it to where I could easily open the gate with the softer notes, the gate opened when I didn't want it to and was very touchy. None of this was ever a problem with either of my rack units and certainly isn't a problem with the Sentry!

    (Needless to say I wish I would have bought this first instead of the EHX.)

    The best thing about this unit is it really gets rid of the unwanted noise but leaves your tone intact while doing it. I mean this thing gets rid of about 85% of the hiss. That's something even the rack mount gats can't do! The processing that's built into this unit is second to none and I'm really surprised that this thing doesn't cost several hundred dollars more for all it does.

    Usually I can find at least one thing to criticize about a product but this is one of those rare occasions that the engineers got it 100% on the money! This thing could survive a nuclear explosion and still work! It's built for to hell and back reliability.

    Everything on this unit is heavy duty. There's literately no play in the knobs. All the jacks are made out of a heavy gauge metal and secured with metal nuts and screws. The switch for the Tone Print is solid and the power jack is very sturdy. Very, very well done TC!

    I'm using this pedal with my Bass rig. I play with a lot of distortion and overdrive compared to some Bass Players. As such many of my pedals are high gain and noisy as a result. Thanks to the Sentry the hiss isn't a issue anymore. Best of all I don't have to lug all that rack mounted gear to a gig now!

    I haven't tried it with any guitar pedals yet but considering my playing style and all my high gain pedals, I can't see why this wouldn't work just as well for all you guitar guys as it has for me, This pedal is a real winner. I know I will be buying a few more of these as my guitar pedal board grows larger.

    I highly recommend this unit to anyone that uses high gain pedals or any long chain of analog pedals where unwanted analog noise/hiss is a issue. This unit is for you and will serve you very well for many years.

    Buy with confidence!

  • from New Mexico August 31, 2016Music Background:
    Long time musician

    Another TCE Homerun

    After much research, the Sentry has been my first pedalboard noise gate I actually purchased and use. Over the years, I have tried a few in showrooms and borrowed from fellow players and just did not like the way they sounded. Subsequently, any of my rig floor noise was handled through the FOH and monitor gating systems. This pedal does the trick though and is a pleasure to use.

    At first, I tried placing it in a few different places in the signal chain but was simply not happy with the sound. Then I started patching through the loop. Now I was getting somewhere. I eventually settled on running both overdrives, a distortion, and Budda wah through the loop then out to my compressor. Noise problem solved. There is still of course minimal tube amp noise but night and day difference with the gate engaged even with vintage P90s. Against all (my) logic as I have a clean shorter signal path with GeorgeL patches, I tried the buffer amp. Wow! Nice sound from the single coils in particular.

    With this setup, I don't even have to roll off the guitar volume after every song now. I would suggest trying a variety of setups in your signal path and with the TonePrint software to determine what is best for your rig and ear. Since I am playing more intimate venues nowadays, it's just nice to have this onboard to keep the stage noise to a minimum. And my 'analog' ears stay happy, too.

  • from Kentucky August 8, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbiest / Recording

    What Noise

    TC has created a pretty cool noise gate that works fantastic. I especially needed something to tame single coil noise from my pedalboard. This does an outstanding job plus it also makes it more enjoyable to use fuzz boxes which I tend to have a love hate relationship with due to their noise. Great product, works especially well with high gain rigs to. I haven't had a reason to make a customed tuned tone print just yet but I could see it being a fantastic tool to remove unruly frequencies in studios or certain venues. Once again thanks Sweetwater for making my buying experience fantastic.

  • from July 23, 2016

    One solid noise gate!

    I just received this pedal yesterday and it blew me away ! It does what its suppose to do, keeps that hissy sound and feedback away. Highly recommend this pedal! Best noise gate out there!

  • from Alabama April 21, 2016Music Background:
    20 year guitarist.

    Wow!

    My pedal board is packed full of pedals and I had a problem with the added noise. I did everything I could to reduce the noise as much as possible, but the noise was still a major problem. After a LOT of research I decided on the Sentry.
    I initially plugged my guitar in to the Sentry and used the loop option of the Senty. It didn't work too good. Then I realized I had pedals in the effects loop of my amp. I put the Sentry into the effects loop of the amp and wow! No more noise.
    I highly recommend it.

  • from April 6, 2016

    Taming the beast

    I've used the Decimator,NS-2, and Rocktron Hush in the past. I have and have used many very high gain pedals including several Big Muffs, a Black Arts Destroyer, etc. It is the ONLY gate that has kept my rig dead silent without compromising tone or sustain. I run all the pedals through the loop of the gate, which works differently than the NS-2 loop. It opens and closed the gate based on the direct signal, ignoring the noise from the boxes. I have literally turned on 10 dirt boxes at the same time, and it is dead silent.

    Only issue I ran into was with a Golden Cello by Mad Professor. It has an analog echo built in that was gated off when I put in the loop, so I had to run it before the gate. Otherwise, it is a flawless device.

  • from West Jordan, UT February 17, 2016Music Background:
    about 18 years playing guitar as a hobby and in bands

    Silence

    I switched from the original ISP decimator to this and could not be happier. The ISP was good. The sentry is better. I can't speak to how it would stack up against the II or the G-string but I can't imagine it being much better than this. At this price I think it is by far the best value! I can leave it on while playing clean and it does not cut out my signal wile playing lightly or squash my delays. I run a super high gain signal on a Mesa rectifier with a tube screamer in front and I can just leave it on with no issues. I didnt get too deep intop messing with the settings because I am getting everything I want from it already! Im sure the toneprint tech is awesome I just have not seen a need for it.

  • from Tucson,Az January 11, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist/ Home Recording enthusiast

    Best Gate on the Market!

    This thing is amazing! It is bar-none the best gate out there right now. I was using an Isp Decimator, which is a very good pedal in its own right. But the Sentry blows it away. Like the Decimator I hear no affect in my original tone, but this has a lot more options to tweak it how you like it. I play hi-gain, so i like a very fast gate, but at the same time I don't want it to chop off my held/bent notes. The Sentry does just that for me. And using the damp knob lets you either cut the signal all the way off when the gate engages, or just attenuate it. Which is really cool. You can make it sound like there is no gate, just a super quiet hi-gain amp(which we all know doesn't exist.) Lol. Plus the Toneprint is just an awesome feature. Oh,and for you single coil guys/gals,you can gate only your 60 cycle hum! That's just Crazy! If you got noise, you need this.

  • from Minneapolis December 31, 2015

    Awesome

    You WILL be happy! 2 thumbs up :)

  • from Durham NC December 4, 2015

    TC Noise Gate

    This pedal lets me eliminate quite a bit of interference from my output signal.

  • from Fairfield May 5, 2016

    Sick pedal

    I have a peavey 6505 and it makes alot of noise compared to my mesa and this gate kills it without killing your sustain ,it takes a little time to get it right with this amp but it works really well once it's dialed in.alot of options with the tc electronics software you can fine tune this peddle to work with your combination.

  • from Casper, WY March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught musician, youtuber, guitar enthusiast, gear nut

    Keep It Tight

    I enjoy this pedal a lot. My amp and setup isn't excessively noisy but I like to keep everything tight. This helps keep things tight, and when I want to play clean just kick it off and get your chime and ring back. I'm sure I can fix that in the toneprint editor, I just haven't been able to get there just yet. Great product though, keeps my overdrive/distortion/dirt pedals at bay!

    My Sweetwater rep, Dustin, always takes care of me and helped me get a great deal on this and a few other products that I rounded up. Thanks!

  • from December 8, 2015

    Sentry

    It takes a little while to dial it in so that it doesn't alter the attack of your distorted/OD tone. Once it's set, though, it sounds great (meaning it doesn't sound like anything) and works very well. Haven't used the TonePrint feature yet, although I have used it on other TC pedals, but the Hiss and Gate settings are so good I am not sure I'll need to except to satisfy my curiosity.

  • from NJ October 12, 2015Music Background:
    Plays Guitar

    So Far Liking it a lot

    I was using an ISP Decimator II in my rack and it was doing the job just fine except for one problem. It powers up in off state so when I powered up my rack I would have to reach in the back to engage the ISP pedal. That is honestly the reason I tried this pedal. I have not messed around with the tone print functionality as it is working just fine out of the box. I like the added control for damping and decay. Like any gate, still not perfect with dynamic playing like lowering volume knob on the guitar, but i have not gone crazy tweaking it yet! Overall I say this pedal is a winner.

Questions about the TC Electronic Sentry Noise Gate Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway