0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Shure SM27 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Shure SM27?

Questions about the Shure SM27?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ohio May 20, 2017Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing Engineer, Musician

    Seriously Good

    I happened upon this mic when I was recording a band at a new studio and forgot to bring my standard overhead mics. I was extremely happy with the transparency, clarity, and versatility of this mic, that I wound up purchasing a pair for myself. They're built like a tank and I am in love with their ability to capture the source at hand.

  • from South Carolina May 13, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced Vocalist

    Very Nice!

    I've had this mic for about a month and I really enjoy using it. My vocals are really dynamic and this mic is able to handle it. The vocal replication is accurate but not harsh. The Shure SM27 is a microphone that I highly recommend. Very Nice!

  • from Mebane, NC February 6, 2014

    Great condenser for the price.

    Using with a Bose L-1 with a Martin acoustic and harmonica. Love it!

  • from November 22, 2012

    Disappointed

    I'm disappointed. Too much high end response and not enough warmth. I have to spend too much time on EQ in the software to get the vocal sound I want. It also is very easy to overload this mic through the preamp. I have to back the preamp down to 1.5 to get my normal levels the firewire control surface to the softwate.

  • from October 12, 2012

    Just the right side address mic

    First used for a bluegrass band performing in a park. Bass player, Banjo and Mandolin shared. All came over the PA very nicely, and they were able to switch positions easy for each break. The bass just blended right it. Nice.tone and coverage, no feedback.

  • from Winston-Salem, NC USA October 27, 2011Music Background:
    25 years of recording musician, 6 years self-recording musican, 2 year professional podcaster

    Powerhouse

    This microphone is amazing. It is small and rugged and completely portable and the response is amazing. It requires very little extra body even including EQ or compression for the voice work that I use it for on The Less Desirables podcast. Almost makes my SM7B sound wimpy. I love this mic. I have 3 on the podcast, one for my co-host one for my color commentator and one for any guest we have (I use the SM7B). I have to do the most post-production on the SM7B and almost nothing with the 27s.

  • from CALCUTTA- INDIA August 15, 2011Music Background:
    PROGRAMMER,RECORDIST

    SHURE KSM 27

    This stuff is great at an affordable price tag n a bit more in high frequency than lower end but a KSM 32 would be more of a proffesional touch.

  • from Groton,CT March 28, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live sound engineer

    Excellent for live guitar

    I use the SM27 on one side of my stereo guitar rig to fatten up the sound in the FOH system. Mixed with a Sennheiser e609,for attack,the SM27 rounds out the sound and adds a nice,full and balanced tone that always get noticed. Shure makes microphones that can take a beating and keep on working,as my thirty year old SM57s can attest,and that represents real value.

Questions about the Shure SM27?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway