0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Casio Privia PX-330 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • from Lafayette, IN March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Songwriter's Dream

    This thing is so cool. Easy to use. Drum beats that are easy to access and basic enough to write to. I think it has a sequencer though I haven't used it. Keyboard feels great - to me it only gets better once you move into RD700 territory. Light - perfect for my young daughter. Metronome. Serviceable sounds all at a bargain price. What's not to like?

  • from Sequim, WA December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist playing at lots of small stuff and keeping active at playing and learning.

    Top Shelf

    I'm learning, but I've had some really top players helping me and they are blown away by how great this keyboard sounds. Being a musician myself I have a pretty good ear for quality and feel and I LOVE this keyboard. No wonder it's recommended by everyone for the best under the $1000 level. It's all I will ever need or want. It's truly impressive.

  • from shoreham ny June 16, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    well finally!

    I just unpacked my new px330,plugged it in and played right away.The Casio logic is the same as their wk series. Great sounds,excellent customer service,Sweetwater. You guys rock! Can't wait to delve a bit further into the board.

  • from Charlottesville, VA September 14, 2010Music Background:
    Church Musician

    Great Value!

    I tried several pianos before I bought the PX-330. I can not get over the quality for the price. Nothing else in this price range comes close in sound or feel.

    The action is incredible, the sounds are amazing and setting up registry stops for performances are cake. When I tell musicians how reasonably priced they are, they're amazed.

  • from Kansas City USA August 18, 2010Music Background:
    Beginning Student - Keyboard

    Right Digital for Beginner

    Just a beginner but enjoy the weight, features and sound. My instructor was impressed with the feeling of the keys, sound and wide array of options. My Sales Engineer, Forrest Powell, recommended this digital keyboard to me after having a quality issue with a less expensive keyboard. Sweetwater took the first keyboard back, verified the sound issue and quickly replace it with the PX-330 (only paid the difference between the keyboards). Sweetwater service is of the highest quality I've ever experienced, in any industry. They definitely let me know my satisfaction was their primary goal, no matter what it took to achieve that. Thanks Sweetwater for making my buying experience fantastic!!!

  • from Spokane, WA July 2, 2010Music Background:
    Gigging Musician and part-time producer

    Excellent Piano

    This is simply a great keyboard for gigging. It light, and very easy to transport and set up. The piano sounds are as good as anything else currently being offered out there. The action is superb, and comes close to a true grand piano response. I also purchased an optional pedal setup to take advantage of the smooth damper pedal response rather than the typical off/on sustain. If you are a piano player you owe it to yourself to have this function. The other keyboard sounds on the PX-330 are very usable as well (I use them often and am pleased with them); but the piano sounds are there to love. Really, for the price of this unit you can't go wrong. I am very pleased with this purchase and feel I got a lot more than what I paid for it.

  • from Washington, DC April 23, 2010Music Background:
    Church Musician, Recording Engineer

    AWESOME KEYBOARD

    I GENERALLY DON'T BOTHER TO WRITE REVIEWS BUT THIS KEYBOARD DEMANDED IT. I PLAY PRIMARILY GOSPEL AND JAZZ AND I WAS ALSO LOOKING FOR A DRUMMER AND BASS PLAYER. NOT ANYMORE, THE DRUM PATCHES ARE PERFECT AND THE BASS PATCHES HAVE PEOPLE LOOKING AROUND FOR THE BASS PLAYER. YOU CAN BE TOTALLY INDEPENDENT. GOD USED SWEETWATER & CASIO TO ANSWER MY PRAYER. BUY IT!!!

  • from February 12, 2010Music Background:
    Composer, Arranger Pianist, Jazz/Classical Guitarist/Bassist.

    The Casio Privia PX-330.

    This is just what we were looking for! great piano sounds, great feeling keyboard, which is the most important thing about why we purchased the PX-330 in the first place. We have owned everything that has been put out by famous companies, such as Roland, Yamaha, Korg, etc., but the keyboard action on this keyboard really excels along with the many sounds that are contained in the Casio Privia PX-330. Matt has been very helpful with this purchase, and it's greatly appreciated, and did we mention that the keyboard is less than 25 pounds!!!!!

  • from USA February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Bang for Buck

    I love how this product description begins with "lightweight".. haha. because the only thing I don't absolutely LOVE about this keyboard is that it is a bit heavy for my scrawny girl arms to lift, though I haven't got my case yet so that will help.

    Seriously amazing deal. I looked constantly for a mid-range priced keyboard (meaning I was desperately hoping I could find something decent for under 1k). I was hoping to spend around 600 tops. The quality and sound of this blew me away immediately so I bought it after seeing it for less than 15 minutes. It took me an hour to check out all 250 sounds and they are all incredible. The weighted keys are perfect for adding dynamics easily to your playing. If you play them soft they are surprisingly very quiet and if you pound them, they sound like you're pounding a piano. I can't say enough good things about this. I'm so glad that I found this. It really is a steal.

  • from CT USA January 28, 2010Music Background:
    semi-pro, several insts., published songwriter, project studio owner

    GET THIS PIANO...Casio got it right with this version of the Privia....

    GREAT ACOUSTIC AND ELECTRIC PIANOS...VERY NICE ORGANS AND GOOD PERIPHERALS...THE HAMMER ACTION IS SOLID AND "REAL"...THE PRICE, THE WEIGHT, THE SOUNDS...WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR??...I THINK THIS IS A BETTER INSTRUMENT THAN MANY OF THE OTHER STAGE PIANOS AT MORE THAN TWICE THE PRICE...I WOULD (AND DID) TAKE THIS OVER THE ROLAND RD 300....FOR TRUE...

  • from Greenup, KY USA January 13, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Educator, Recording Engineer

    This Is a Great Digital Piano!!

    This is a great sounding and feeling piano. The action is even better than my Triton studio. The grand piano is the best I've heard in years. I've owned just about every brand of keyboard over the past 25 years and this one is one of the best. The other sounds are great as well. Very light, easy to transport and the onboard speakers are really good. Great all around and great value.

  • from Spring Valley, MN November 12, 2009Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Freelance Singer, Choral Director

    FANTASTIC!

    This keyboard is spectacular for the price. The touch is wonderful (a fellow accompanist played it and immediately said I got an awesome deal). If you don't need something with tons of complicated buttons and settings, this is the way to go.

    I easily hooked it up to my computer recording software - the directions in the manual are easy to understand. I got it specifically for the purpose of using it with my computer and because it has built in speakers that face out toward the people and toward me. It can also be hooked into a PA system or a just a free standing speaker with a 1/4" cable - SO EASY! Even has a stand for music. PLUS... at only 25lbs. I can carry it myself!

    Do get a new pedal for it. I have an MGear and love it. Feels more like a piano pedal than the one it comes with. I also got the Privia Keyboard bag and a stand so I was ready to play anywhere in one shipment. It was good day!

  • from Sarasota Florida November 8, 2009Music Background:
    Pro

    Great Piano

    This Piano is great for the money.I've always had roland and Yamaha but Casio has out done themselves.I recomed this piano for the quality of sound and the light weight.I like the fact that it is half the price of the rest.Thank you Stuart for your help and professianl attitude.
    Musically Yours Jimmy Jay

  • from Adrian, MI April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Casio stepped up on this one

    I've owned several boards over the years including Korg, Ensoniq, Yamaha and Roland. I never thought of buying a Casio because I remember if you owned a Casio back in the day, you were laughed at. Well, times have changed and technology has also. Casio delivers big in this keyboard. I would call it a Piano-board because of the astounding job Casio did with the feel and sound of the board.

    I paid way more for the other boards I mentioned above and not one of them has piano keys like these. Casio did their homework on getting the "feel" of an acoustic piano on this board, and the default sound does not disappoint. The keys on the left are the heaviest and get lighter as you go to the right just like the strings are set in a grand piano. I have played "weighted key" boards before but there is something different in the way they did it that makes you WANT to keep playing over and over. For a keyboard with this type of technology at the price I paid- it is an incredible steal.

    There is something funny in the way the on-board speakers are made. When playing, the sound is good, but when you hear someone else play, it sounds even better. I thought it was strange. I have mine hooked up to a mixer and amp, so the on-board speakers act as a monitor.

    The board is durable, and I looked at the px130 right by it when I bought it and thought it (the 330) was better built in my opinion. You can carry it in one arm with a case or bag, which is a huge plus if you are a gigging musician.

    The electric piano sounds are pretty good as well as the organs. Setup of registry is a breeze and the board also "remembers" the location of the sound you selected last in each of the tone banks. So if you switch from organ to piano, the sound you selected last in the "piano" sound bank will be displayed, which is a huge plus if you only use a certain "set" like most musicians who play live.

    The only gripe I have with this board is the light grey typeset they used to display the buttons. Believe me they are hard to read in low lighting, so make sure the area you play in has adequate lighting.

    To sum it all up: This board is NOT a toy. It has amazing technology that has actually caused me to alter my playing style (as if I was playing a actual grand piano). For a keyboard under 700 bucks, it is an absolute bargain.

  • from Toano, VA April 12, 2010Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Sweet Piano!

    The piano sounds and keyboard feel is really top notch. So far the only complaints are the buttons are hard to read in a dimly lit room or stage. And that you cannot turn off the internal speakers when hooking it up to a really good set of monitors. If you try putting a plug in the headphone jack to mute the speakers you get an expanded stereo/reverb out that sounds great through headphones but not good at all through speakers. That really was bad design decision. The EP's & Organs are sub par. But I guess that's why the just announced the PX-3 stage piano that is really just fixed EP & Organs and no speakers. The PX-3 also has the Ivory Feel keyboard of the PX-830. So it's great for home and practice. But if you want to gig with it a lot I would wait for the PX-3 due in June 2010.

  • from Kingston, Jamaica, in the beautiful Caribbean September 12, 2011Music Background:
    Music lover/Semi-Professional Musician/Sound Engineer & Band Master

    This could be the ultimate Professional Keyboard with a few Improvements

    This is a wonderful instrument, the feel of the weighted keys are excellent; and the touch response is really great.

    There are about 25 excellent voices such as Grand Piano Modern, the saxophones are wonderful, the strings are to die for; The trumpets are good and so are the brass sections. The big problem is, they are buried in eight different tone banks with 250 tones, and in a hurry - difficult to find . Why did they not include a navigation wheel?

    The rhythms in the auto accompaniment section are - "close to perfect", the 16 track recorder is sheer genius; but the display is much too small and difficult to read especially - on a dimly lit stage!

    To make matters worst the buttons on the "black" keyboard, are labelled in "dark gray" and almost impossible to read. The display needs to be as least four (4) times as big as it is; and change the color of the lettering to "bright white" or "bright yellow".

    These improvements, would make the Privia PX330 a serious contender to the more expensive "icons" such as the Yamaha "S 90" and the "Motif"

  • from Traverse City, MI June 13, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician / teacher

    Great lightweight keyboard

    Great keyboard for the money! Much better than the PX-310 which I replaced. My main keyboard is a Roland FP-7, which is far superior in touch and sound (65 lbs) but the Casio is more practical for the gigs that require hauling stuff long distances or more than 1 set up per gig.

  • from Taipa, Macau August 14, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician for 30 years

    Should be taken very seriously

    The first thing to "get over" with Casio is "Casio" and the assumption that "this can't be a serious pro instrument". The original Privia, the PX-300, was in my opinion, one of the best damned digital pianoes anywhere. Killer action, 88 keys, quick n easy to call up sounds, light-weight.... oh, and sounded great! Perhaps the acoustic piano was not on a Yamaha/Korg/Roland level, but it was close behind, and 1/4 of the price and 1/2 the weight. So, this revised PX-330 continues that legacy. I am surprised to not see more Casio's out there on professional stages, frankly. But on a basic gigging eve, this beast is incredibly user-friendly and .... should be taken very seriously.

  • from St. Louis, MO August 12, 2010Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Close...but, no cigar!

    This instrument was recommended by my salesperson as the one that would suit all of my needs as a professional classical singer, rock musician and voice teacher. It had way more whistles and bells than I needed, but in order to get those I did the 'extras' were along for the ride. At first, I was very pleased. But, after a few days my ear caught a problem that once noticed became glaring and unbearable. Between A1(+/-) and D4(+/-) there was a serious temperament issue. Notes played singly were fine, but play an interval, e.g., Major 3rd, and it sounded as an acoustic piano does when one of the three strings per note is slightly out of tune; the same quavering heard when tuning a guitar, or bass guitar. I pointed the issue out to Sweetwater and their tech dep't. spoke with Casio who replied that they'd never come across this problem before and that all of the samples and the engine driving them were the same in all. My salesperson was able to hear what I was talking about over a cell phone!! My students commented on it. Sweetwater quickly replaced the unit with a new one. But, it had the same problem. Having concluded that the problem is endemic, I've opted to return it and have chosen to upgrade to a Yamaha P-155, an instrument with which I have some experience and which has many of the features I need, too. It is sonically superior, as well. I find it strange that Casio didn't catch this. It made me wonder if they merely rely on engineers for QC without consulting musicians with good ears. I cannot recommend this instrument.

Questions about the Casio Privia PX-330?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close