0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Fender Jaco Pastorius Fretless Jazz Bass - 3-Color Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Jaco Pastorius Fretless Jazz Bass - 3-Color Sunburst?

Questions about the Fender Jaco Pastorius Fretless Jazz Bass - 3-Color Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Chicago March 13, 2016

    Don't pass this up.

    I have had mine for a few weeks now and couldn't be happier with my purchase. I am hesitant to ship any guitar in the mail but when mine came in my worries were put to rest, the packaging was done wonderfully and all worries that something may have happened during shipping were put to rest. The guitar is flawless and so was the case it came with, anyone looking to get a fretless bass should pick this up as its one of if not the best choice you have. The fingerboard plays like a dream and then neck is buttery smooth. I would like to give a special thanks to Matt Fuller ext.1284 for all of his assistance in the process of getting this beautiful bass.

  • from Diamond Bar, CA January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Great Work Fender!

    My expectations for music gear are extremely high so I'm going to make this a short review.
    The Jaco bass exceeded all expectations.
    Fit, finish and playability were off-the-charts. As one other reviewer stated, you cannot put it down.
    So easy to play and I lover the flat wounds. I have three other basses all with round wounds so having a fretless with flats was perfect for me.

    The price, IMO, was very reasonable given what I received.
    Right out of the box it plays perfect. And for me, that's really saying something.
    I didn't even feel the need to change the strings like I automatically do on any guitar I purchase.

    If you've been on the fence about getting the Jaco then just do it.

    Great work Fender.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    The weather is good.

    Fender Jazz basses, in general, are all decent instruments. It really takes a special something for a Jazz bass to stick out of the crowd. The Jaco bass does just that. The smoothness and playability of this bass really sets it out from everyday Jazz basses. The tone of this fretless beast is outstanding. Fender even went the extra mile to make the whole apperance of the bass look and feel like a NOS vintage bass. The weather report on this bass is looking good.

  • from Denver January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, composer, producer

    Danger: Addictive!

    This being my first fretless, I do not have any right to make comparisons. But all I know is that it makes a beginner sound awesome. And I can't stop playing it. Everything feels natural and inviting. Of course, I bought it so I might someday approach the articulation of its namesake. As it plays, those expressive sounds come out almost spontaneously at times. This casts the magical thought that someday you too could have a voice like Jaco's, and hopefully your own. Add to that the personalized service from Sweetwater, and the experience has been without par.

  • from Seattle, WA July 2, 2013Music Background:
    35 year bassist

    fast and beautiful

    Stunning appearance and the neck is perfect. I am still getting used to the reverse tuners but don't use them too much as it stays in tune very well. Pretty amazing tone adjustments considering its all passive. Perfect balance.

  • from Gainesville, Florida May 8, 2013Music Background:
    engineer, musician

    Best Neck Ever

    There have only been two times before where I was completely awestruck by an instrument: my first Les Paul (early 70's) and a 1936 000-28 Martin I owned in the early 80's. I didn't think I would ever have that experience again, but this bass has the most awesome neck I have ever played. The fingerboard is silky smooth. I can't stop playing the damn thing! If you need a fretless, this is the one to get.

  • from Apex NC June 29, 2012Music Background:
    weekend musician

    Jaco Fretless Bass

    I was a bit hesitant to buy an 1800 dollar bass but I wanted a cool sound that I was lacking. After much thought and going back and forth I made that plunge and I do not regret the decision. I love this bass it is smooth and fast with the neck action and the sound is incredible. My band mates like the sound and tone I get. I am glad I made the decision to get this bass

  • from Vancouver, B.C. Canada April 23, 2008Music Background:
    D

    AWESOME JACO TRIBUTE BASS!!

    After joining a jazz outfit recently I realized that a fretless was needed to achieve the sound I was looking for. As a big fan of Jaco's back in the day I was thrilled to find Fender's Tribute Jazz Bass. My hesitation about the price was offset the minute I had it in my hands. This is one beautifully built bass solid but finished nicely. Trying not to be impulsive I didn't buy it then and there and when I did go back to get it of course it was gone. Ordered one and in a few days I was the proud owner although I did have the shop swap out the flatwound strings for medium gauge roundwounds. I guess Fender doesn't want to encourage you to wear down the neck. This is strange however as Jaco played Rotosound rounds and it is a definite part of his signature sound. Once this was done the bass sang. Play the strings near the bridge and you got it. The band freaked when they heard it and frankly the fret markers and lines make it easy to play. I'm sure this is one of Fender's basses that will just appreciate in value and break in nicely. I guess you could go with a MIM fretless to learn or save some dough but I have always been of the opinion that you can't go wrong buying the best. You won't regret it if you invest in this beauty..

  • from United States September 13, 2012Music Background:
    bassist for many years

    Great option for a serious fretless bass

    This is a solid, really high quality instrument with a few details that make it stand out, and at a price that is relatively accessible for a professional quality bass: nicely voiced, traditional sounding passive J pickups, beautiful, classic looks (I've put the pick guard on and will put standard J bass knobs on), great playing, easily adjustable, a nitro finish, and well balanced (mine is 9 lbs).

    The instrument's finish is fantastic, really well done in nitrocellulose lacquer, and the joint in the two-piece body is indistinguishable. Here, especially with a transparent finish, the fact that Sweetwater has photos of the actual instrument is critical if you're buying something on-line.

    It was playable out of the box, and with minimal truss rod adjustment, new strings (still flats, my preference) and no bridge saddle adjustment I've gotten it playing as I like it. The neck and fingerboard both feel really good to me. I have two fretted Jazz Basses, so this is familiar to me. The pickups sound like they should, the bass feels and looks great. Should be near the top of anyone's list of high-quality 4-string fretless basses, and obviously is at the top for me.

    With Fender, as with pretty much any other maker in my experience, quality and qualities like feel vary from instrument to instrument. They're made of wood and are built with some to a lot of human craftsmanship, and things like weight, location and intensity of dead spots (wolf tones), neck pocket fit (an overemphasized issue IMO), and even the peghead profile vary. I find most higher-end Fender instruments to be really flexible and adjustable, and this one is no exception.

Questions about the Fender Jaco Pastorius Fretless Jazz Bass - 3-Color Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway