0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass V - Natural Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Michigan April 8, 2015

    Amazing bass!!!

    This bass looks even better than the pics!
    Nice string action,and the bass has great balance! It doesn't move when i let go of the neck!(very important to me)
    Of course it sounds amazing too!
    I want another one!(or five)!

  • from January 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician,live gigs ,studio works.World music

    Pick of spending on Fender bass sound.

    I heard you say slowly we are we fading away but with this bass not gonna be this way.till i lay my hands on this will be recalled'Sometimer`'
    saving hard to the pick of spending.

  • from Tampa, Florida August 5, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro bassist, producer, recording engineer

    This is the last stop....

    I have owned this instrument for about 3 weeks and I have to say, this axe has ended my search. I love this bass. I bought an ADJBV in the year 2000 and it is a nice instrument but I missed the vintage sound/look. The new one (2012) is simply fantastic. Perfect fit and finish. Even tho' the body is 3-pc, they did such a great job matching the grain of the wood, that you can hardly tell it's not 1-pc. It plays like a dream and sounds exactly right. The B-string is so clear, that even when it's fingered, it sounds as tho' it's open. The pre-amp is voiced just right. Very vintage sounding but also powerfully punchy. There is so much tonal range that it sounds great even if it's set flat. The only thing negative I could say is that the natural finish model (that's what I have) will look a bit like the Squire Vintage Modified Jazz Bass V to the untrained eye. Now, we wouldn't want anyone to think we had the inferior model, would we? Maybe a "spiffier" pick plate would set it apart. All in all, this bass is "the goods". Although I do not have much experience with J-Bass clones made by other companies (Ken Smith, Sadowsky, Mike Lull etc.), I could not imagine spending more money for them when you can have the real deal for less.

  • from Parkersburg, West Virginia June 6, 2012Music Background:
    60 years of playing guitar, bass , piano and pedal steel

    The American Deluxe Jazz Bass V ( Natural )

    I have always been a Fender player , and I have the Fender Highway 1 that my wife purchased for me when it first came out..and it sounds as good today as it did when first bought years ago.

    But when they came out with the new American deluxe Jazz, and you had a choice to get it in Natural,
    I knew when I first saw it, , that was going to be my next Fender Bass..

    When it arrived at my home, and I opened the case, I WAS ABSOLUTELY speechless ,
    That natural finish is something to behold, if you have never owned one,
    After I realized that this was my 5 string bass, I LIKED TO HAVE NEVER figured out how the darn case locks worked ..
    The case it is like none I have ever seen before, it is molded to fit the bass very tight, with no movement at all..
    And when I plugged the new 5 string into my amp. right out of the box, I had the folks at Sweetwater do some extra custom work on it before shipping it to me, and they did everything that I asked them to do.
    The sound will just blow your mind, the tone that can be set is out of this world.
    I can change the tone to anyone of the sounds that fit the type of music that I am playing at that time.
    And best of all with all of the outstanding features and looks, it is MADE IN AMERICA.. that's something that's not found to much these days..

    for what it is worth, you can not but a better looking or better sounding instrument
    i LOVE MINE..

  • from Minneapolis MN May 15, 2012Music Background:
    Musician For 40 Years

    Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass V (Natural)

    I have always been swayed to Fender Jazz Basses not just for there appearance but for there sound. I have always wanted an American Jazz in the Natural Finish but could never afford one until now. I did own a natural finished bass back in the 80's but it came down to the house or the bass, and the house won. I purchased this one and have never been more satisfied with a bass in my life. The looks are everything that I wanted, the fit and finish is extraordinary for a production bass. This bass plays like a dream come true after some minor neck adjustments, but nothing major. I am blown away by the active EQ of this bass as it gives me that tight low end sound I have been looking for and more. You can dial in just about any tone that you would want, and I have not experienced any hum from this bass as I have read in other reviews from other sites. Don't hesitate on getting one of these as you will not be disappointed by this bass if you like the Jazz Bass tone plus more.

  • from November 24, 2015Music Background:
    I've been playing for a long time.

    Better than expected

    This bass plays great right out of the box. Clear piano like tone.( I'm wondering if the Marcus Miller collaboration had something to do with the sound of this bass.?) It sounds similar to the 1976 4 string fender which was a beast . Solid slap, sweet pops on the top. Excellent low mids. This bass has a very good low "B" once you dial in the lower hertz. Ash and maple is the perfect formula for funk. Pickups are very quiet. Feel and balance are excellent. Tone is fat . You can get a thunderous reggae sound with this bass. Getting a good sound for recording is like "plug and play". I highly recommend this bass. Get a Fender Jazz -you'll have all your "Bass" covered.

  • from New York September 1, 2015

    Most comfortable bass I've ever played!

    First off I'd like to thank Sweetwater for their amazing customer support and service. Got my bass in two days! Alan, you're the man! As for the bass, the title says it. You know when you just "feel" like the instrument you're playing feels just right? This bass right here will give you that. Its got that fast neck that doesn't feel fat at all, a killer low B and the natural grain (on mine anyway) looks great! The craftsmanship and thought put into this bass is impeccable. Great quality from Fender; from the wood to the hardware. It's like a Cadillac! My only gripe is the N3 pickups. Don't get me wrong, they do sound great. Modern single coil sounding noiseless stacked humbuckers. Works great with the preamp. Just not my flavor. I prefer a good ol' 70's set of single coils. Buy this now! You won't regret it!

  • from Maplewood, MN April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Part time live and recording professional; full time music aficionado

    Great 5'er!!

    I’ve had my eye on one of these for quite some time. Waited, watched, demo'ed, and read. I finally pulled the trigger, grabbing a black A.S. Deluxe V w\ maple neck. My version has an alder body, and at just shy of 10 lbs. works for me.
    IMO, the many little good things on this bass add up to make it a solid performer. First - the neck looks and feels nice – with block inlays, maple\maple neck & fret board, smooth easy going finish and neck binding. The body finish is excellent, and shows pride in craftsmanship. More importantly, it plays really well – thanks in part to a real bone nut, solid fret work, string retainers on all five, and a width that fits my mitts quite nicely. I find myself playing mid-neck and up a lot on a 5, and like the B string up high almost as much as way down low.
    The N3 pickups are impressive, and I have not experienced the “noise” others have talked about. The active electronics are better than good, and on-board tweaking is fast and painless. And less tweaking, fussing and switching rigs during a show is always good.
    The A.S. Deluxe J5 is easily the most versatile Fender I own. IMHO, the quality\features\value of this rig will give many of those Fender boutique knock offs’ a solid run. In this case, you don’t need to buy a Fender copy, just buy the Fender. My weekend gigs have found a new 5’er.

  • from Reading,Pa September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great bass but...

    This bass feels good to play. The action is great but I am not crazy about the pickups and preamp. The bass is really quiet for playing live. I have to crank up my amp and i still do not have enough volume. I love this bass but I am thinking about changing the pickups and preamp.

Questions about the Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass V - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway