0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Roland GK-3 Divided Pickup Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland GK-3 Divided Pickup?

Questions about the Roland GK-3 Divided Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Nick Schenkel

    Dead simple to install (even temporarily). Excellent tracking. Roland quality and support. If you are looking at this pickup, you know what it does and why you want it. Just go ahead and order. You will not be disappointed.

  • from Brunswick, Ohio May 16, 2016Music Background:
    Play at church

    Roland GK-3

    I have several of these installed (by a professional) on various guitars. Comes with all the parts needed to install. Use them every week. They work great. Of course, you have to mount them on top of the guitar, but they are out of the way and there is no damage to the guitars from the install. Very easy access to the push buttons,and the volume control. I did have one of the input jacks fail, but Sweetwater is taking care of getting that fixed. I have only praise for the pickups.

  • from Cleveland, Ohio August 10, 2015Music Background:
    Intermediate player

    Roland Synth Pickup GK-3

    I had the pickup installed by a professional. It can be installed by a non-technical person, but I chose to not make an attempt at that. It works great with the GR-55. It tracks very well and I use the guitar and synth every week.

    I have a total of (3) guitars with the GK-3 pickups installed and all perform fine.

  • from N Dallas January 16, 2015Music Background:
    retired fm live gigs, personal studio, private projects

    GK-3 Hex pickup 13 pin

    Had GK2s w my older GR30 and finally got the new GR55 (get one!) the mounting on the GK3 is much better. A new bridge bracket for LP install no hassle no screws.The main controller attaches w a new mounting bracket that is padded and screws onto the strap holder. You simply must take the effort to install this puppy correctly and meticulous. position, height and saddle distance is all exact. Contrary to a lot of web stuff the GK3 is lower output than the GK2 probably to reduce string bleed and false triggering. GR55 w GK3 is a marvelous expansive tool for the advanced musician looking for the new galaxy of tones.

  • from OK, USA September 10, 2014Music Background:
    USAF guitarist for10 yrs.

    GK 3

    Fits like a glove! Great item 5 stars!

  • from Chico, Ca. August 14, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging for 45 years and counting.

    Learning Curve

    I was sceptical about this Idea I had. I work at a local music store in Chico Ca. I purchased the Pedal portion of the Synth system an old used GR30 and the GK3 is what I am reviewing. After finally figuring things out the GK3 operates perfectly and the whole system by Roland is indeed what I remembered for years back. Now if I can just record with it Wunderba...Thanks again it is always a pleasure doing business with you guys.
    Sincerely,
    Qflat

  • from Tallahassee, FL. December 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    took awhile

    I got the Roland GR 55 but didn't realize it needed the pick up additionally. I was distressed because I had really wanted to test all the sounds. I hope you are brighter than I. Then when it arrived, the directions were daunting. It turned out not to be as hard as I thought.

    Then, "Holy Cow" the sounds that came from my little guitar were stunning. I'll never learn to exhaust the possibilities of this gear. They will make a 100 new versions while I am still plowing through the manuals and tutorials. That's a good thing, because it will retain my interest.

  • from ME, USA December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Replacement GK-3

    I purchased the GK-3 as a replacement for an older GK-3 which has served me well for years. The new model is better than ever... slimmer, uses a 1/4 inch jack for the guitar input (unlike the old which has an 1/8 inch) and the pickup wire can be adjusted. All that and great tracking for all my midi needs!

  • from malden mo. March 26, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    roland gk-3

    i really like the roland gk-3 pick up

  • from Lubbock, Texas September 10, 2015Music Background:
    Lifelong Weekender

    I like this a lot... will probably buy one to build in.

    I have two of these; the first one came with my GR-55 and is installed on a Variax. This combination allows me to create just about any tone I want with the GR-55.

    The second unit is installed on an acoustic guitar. This is not typical, I guess, but I saw a couple of videos where people had done this, and figured if it didn't work out I'd put it on one of my other guitars. It works perfectly. Surprisingly, it tracks better on the acoustic than on the Variax, but it's pretty good on both of them. I have played out a lot with the Variax, and after a period of learning which patches to use for various tunes, I wanted to have the same flexibility with my acoustic.

    I now am planning to get one of the "pro-install" versions that is designed for permanent installation, to build into a strat copy I'm making.

    I took off one half star because of a minor beef: When you put this on an acoustic, with my hardshell case you can't close the case because of the thickness of the controller. It's a home-built D-28 knockoff in a Martin case, so the dimensions are pretty typical. So I'm using Velcro to attach the controller, leaving the pickup attached. When not in use, I can detach the controller and it tucks nicely between the case and waist of the guitar if I flip the converter so the bracket lays on top of the guitar.
    I know it's not designed to be used with an acoustic, really, but it works great except for this issue.

    I got stellar service from Sweetwater - my rep, Robert Koch, has been great with follow-up.

  • from Pittsboro, NC November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, 4-5 string Jazz bass, 6-12 string Guitar.

    Synth-Synching with GK-3

    For anyone venturing out to experiment with Synthesizers for the first time, the initial setup exercise is quite complex but rewarding if you get it right. I had played with a friend of mineís synthesizer a number of times and wanted one for myself as I already use a number of pedals and other sound devices in my collection.
    My experience: I purchased a second hand Roland GR-20 with the cables and the GK-3 pickup that came with it. The GR-20 was pretty well used, but it seemed to be a good deal at the time. After I assembled the pickup I experienced that some strings worked and others did not. I assumed the pickup was faulty and purchased a new GK-3 pickup from Sweetwater. After it arrived I assembled the new pickup on my Gibson SG and was a little disappointed now because none of the pickups on the strings worked. I contacted Sweetwater and spoke to a rep who suggested I purchase a new cable because the old cable may be faulty. So after I purchased a new cable and plugged that in after it arrived, I found that I now had 5 of 6 strings working on the new GK-3 and cable. The problem I now have is with the GR-20.
    Recommendation. The GK-3 and Cable purchased from Sweetwater were great, good follow-up and good support, however, itís the risk one takes purchasing second hand used electronics that is the issue.

  • from Naples Florida. USA May 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician , live sound

    Fast efficient service , good product

    Always good fast service and handled well by sales staff.

    As far as the divided pick up I have two others , a gk2 and the new gk3.
    They work very well and easy install.

  • from Anderson,In October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Musician,recording engineer

    A Step Foward

    What a step forward with all hardware and extras. To be able to tweek
    the center pickup poles was great! My install looks and sounds great.


    Thanks go to David Hess

  • from December 31, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist 20+ years

    Roland GK-3

    works great

  • from April 11, 2011

    Installation Difficulties

    The Roland guitar synth is an amazing piece of technology. However, no one's talking about the installation difficulties. The description says it can be installed on Les Paul's. Unfortunately, I discovered that with both my Les Paul's and SG's, either Gibson or Epiphone, the bridge pickup is too close to the bridge to install the Roland pickup. Roland's suggestion is to move the guitar's bridge pickup. So much for no drilling. Luckily I also had a Strat, and you can attach the pickup to the pickguard with supplied double-sided tape. But if you have a fitted Fender case, your guitar will no longer go in the case, because the pickup controller causes the strap button to stick out farther, and it has a second bolt that sticks out just as far. I'm going to have to try and alter my case to get the guitar in it again.

  • from Colorado July 19, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician

    GK-3 won't fit my strat

    I was advised that the GK-3 would work really great on a Strat. However, my 1960 Custom Shop strat doesn't have enough clearance for the GK-3 to fit beneath the strings. It's not even close. Having snooped around on the web I found lots of people reporting the same issue. Several YouTube videos show people removing the pickguard and using a dremel tool to cut a section out of the pickguard in order to accommodate the GK-3. I'm not going to go those lengths with my Strat. Before you buy this pickup you may want to make sure it will fit with your guitar or be prepared to buy a new guitar that won't require major surgery for the GK-3.

Questions about the Roland GK-3 Divided Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway