0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Seattle WA January 9, 2017

    So nice.

    This is better than expected. Everybody is loving the clearity. Experiencing increased higher mids. Seems more defined than my V30.

    Used with low to moderate gain in Fender amp with 6l6s, ax7s. Alnico 2 and 3 humbuckers in Gibson Memphis.

    Would seriously recommend.

  • from Central California November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Performer for 20 Years

    Classic Tone!

    I recently purchased this speaker for my 76 Deluxe Reverb. For the last 8 years I have been using an Eminence Governor in my DR to boost the mids and tame the treble response. I think the Governor is an excellent speaker (similar to a V30) but lately I have been wanting more personality from my vintage amp. I am very pleased with the Creamback and it has definitely added some character to my DR. The highs are present but are not shrill or overbearing, the mids are warm and smooth and the low end is nice and full without being flubby or boomy. This speaker is made in the UK, and the build quality and tone are excellent. In addition, the 8 mounting holes (versus 4 in other models) makes mounting in a Fender amp much easier. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for the classic Greenback sound and character.

  • from Chicago, IL. September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Part Time Musician, Studio Engineer, Songwriter

    Celestion G12M-65 Creamback

    I purchased this based on the fact that this was meant to be a higher power handling version of the Greenback. What makes this great is how it sounds in a 1-12 open back Mesa cabinet. There is a little more sparkle, less Ice-pick, and a nice boost to the useful low end. Sounds similar to my M-25 Heritage Greenbacks in my TA-30. Sounds great with my Mini Rec, and Mark 5. I've also replaced one Vintage 30 (16 ohm) in my 2-12 Vertical Rec Slant cabinet, and so far, love it too!

  • from United States September 20, 2013

    The New Voice of Rock n Roll

    One of the best Guitar speakers I've ever used!

  • from Honolulu Hawaii August 21, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist / semi pro

    Celestion Creamback 65 watt speaker

    One of the best speaker that I have tried. Great for blues and classic rock. Nice creamy tones with crispy high, well balance med, and not so boomy bottom. Great pairing with celestion V30 for more aggressive tones. Highly recommended!

  • from Ohio May 10, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player with great tone...

    Nice Sound...

    I am using it in a Mesa Boogie DC - 2... It sounds great! A definite improvement...

  • from hartwell, GA January 29, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12"/8Ohm-65 watt

    Replaced my OE speakers on the Fender Ultra-Chorus amp of mine with these and really improved the bottom end ! Clear as a bell when guitar is hammered on the clean !! Nothing wrong with OE speakers , just didn't have much money invested in the amp and just for S@G's decided to go speaker hunting , sweetwater Rep. Aaron Rom is great to work with !!

  • from March 15, 2013

    The Cream

    Just put one of these into a Mesa 5:50. combo.
    My first impression is WOW, huge improvement over the stock Black Shadow.
    The name says it, creamy bottom & mids, pleasant high end.
    This speaker rocks for Classic blues tones & does ok for heavier crunch.
    Everyone needs to check these out.

  • from August 13, 2016

    Lifeless

    A few years ago, I was searching for a "smooth" guitar sound. I had been using budget combo amps for several years (Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III; Peavey Classic 30) and was unsatisfied with the harsh tone I was getting. I figured a big part of the problem was in the cheap speakers that most manufacturers slap into their combo amps. Eventually, I decided to buy an amp head so I could easily pair it with a speaker of my choosing. Around this time, the Creamback was gaining popularity, and several reviewers talked about how "smooth" it was. I listened to many demos of the Creamback, and agreed that it was the "smoothest" speaker I'd ever heard. I bought one and put it into a Jet City 1x12 cabinet to pair with a couple of low-wattage heads I was using (JCA 22H, Blackstar HT 20). When paired with the HT 20, my first impression was that I'd finally found the tone I needed. The sound was dark and inoffensive with no trace of the fizzy shrillness that I hated in my combo amps. However, when I captured that smooth sound in my project studio, I discovered that it couldn't stand up to other instruments in a mix. Where the harsh fuzzy combo amps had punched fiercely through the densest mixes, the Creamback/HT 20 rig politely stepped into the background. At first I thought it was the Blackstar causing the lack of cut (as an amp, it's smooth to the point of muddiness), but the Creamback yielded the same disappointing results with other amps, including the Friedman Smallbox and Kemper Profiler that I purchased much later. My current cabinet of choice is a Hughes and Kettner TM 112 loaded with a Celestion Vintage 30; and no matter what amp I use, the Vintage 30 always works for me. Moral: "smooth" guitar tones actually come across in a mix as lifeless, muddy husks with no character. Recommendation: skip the Creamback unless you have a brutally harsh amp that needs balance.

Questions about the Celestion G12M-65 Creamback 12" 65-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway