0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Roland Duo-Capture EX Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland Duo-Capture EX?

Questions about the Roland Duo-Capture EX?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from February 23, 2017

    Great little box

    I'm using this for a stereo feed to an iPad for recording video. It's a great box and works perfectly.

  • chemobrainkid
    from Annexia U.S.A. October 17, 2015Music Background:
    musical background? I play the radio real well and make pretentious art noise."art noisetetious a

    Quality Gear, Gold Customer Service

    I went on line to Sweetwater to purchase the Roland Duo-Capture audio interface. Yes it was in stock, but,
    The price had change originally discounted to XXX.XX the interface was now XXX.XX ( A GOOD DEAL)
    Doing the on line moves as necessary, purchased the unit and was promptly notified that the free shipping would have my purchased delivered to my home, sure enough, right as rain, Thursday as indicted the interface arrived at my door step.
    The service was perfect, hassle free, prompt and without a hitch.
    Thanks to the crew at Sweetwater for doing a fine job. Customer service gets a 10 out of a possible 10 once again.
    Oh, yes before I end I would replace the Roland Duo-Capture EX immediately if it were lost/stolen.
    Great sound , no hassle set up. ,three easy steps and I've got a crystal clear recording of my slightly out of tune strat.
    BINGO as agent Stansfield would say, BINGO.
    This was such an easy way to do things, I'll be back, again.

  • Garey
    from Mount Joy, PA May 4, 2015Music Background:
    Retired gigging musician, now passing the torch to my kids

    Typical Roland High Quality Product

    Not the least expensive, but a great value, though, especially given Roland's penchant for quality of construction. Excellent sound quality, Midi I/O and 1/4" outs for monitors make this a no brainer...

  • Drdrdaddeo
    from Jackson October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Physician/Scientist, Home Studio Recording Engineer

    Does not charge iPad

    This unit looks really nice for entry level computer recording, and apparently will work well with PC, Mac, and iPad. However, it has two major failings: Unlike the Griffin StudioConnect, it will not charge the iPad while recording, even when plugged into its own optional power supply. And an optional power supply, the Duo-Capture's batteries die in 1.5 hrs (along with the iPad itself several hours later). This is ridiculous! Second, unlike the new FocusRite iDock, the duo-capture does not have a midi-USB IN slot, and thus will not allow direct recording from a USB Keyboard. Only the much bally-hoo'd Griffin StudioConnect HD promises all those things ....but after nearly TWO years of promises, that device is still not in production!. Despite the availability of very powerful new iPads (four, and air), and impressive multitrack recording software for them (Cubasis, MultiTrackStudio, Auria, etc.), it seems like no manufacturer (Rolond, Edirol, Alesis, Prosonus, FocusRite, Griffin, Tascam, etc. etc.), can actually wise up and provide one fully functional interface that does exactly what recording musicians want, armed with the extremely powerful new iPad platforms.....what a pity! I guess I just keep waiting for the Griffin StudioConnect HD!

  • Frog
    from El Paso, TX USA April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent-mobile

    Portable and economic. It goes to the point. I Love it.

  • Dave
    from Painted Post, NY February 21, 2014Music Background:
    retired engineer, amateur pianist and vibration analyst

    Roland OK but Sonar LE not

    The duo ex appears to work fine with an Earthworks mic also purchased from Sweetwater, hence the high rating. However, the Sonar LE is difficult to use. I collect audio data in parallel with running a Matlab application and for some reason Sonar kept bombing out while the Matlab script was doing its thing. I ended up tossing Sonar and used Audacity to record and the process the recording. Audacity does not interact with the Matlab app. Recommend using Audacity.

  • Greg Bass
    from Providence, RI October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Musician

    iPad Recording Limited to 44.1k

    This is a fine product. Mic pres are pretty low-noise considering the price. USB/battery and wall power options are great.

    48k sample rate is touted in all marketing materials. It does 48k when connected to a computer. In the manual, you'll find that in "TAB" (tablet mode) it is limited to 44.1k.

    Not a deal breaker for me but I want others to be aware of this limitation - especially video folks.

  • Paul
    from Washington USA April 1, 2013Music Background:
    Industry Pro

    NIce & Compact

    I bought this unit to work on my iPad for remotes
    The manual was very iOS light for information through out manual
    and the addendum cared the most useful info.
    Roland Website product page as well regarding iOS and interfacing also light on info.
    The "TAB" selector switch on mine needed some electronic cleaner.
    While sliding 44/48 over to TAB position poor contact making errors
    on the iPad appear regarding USB device
    "The connected USB device is not supported"

    Works now with all my fav apps
    Audio Input is very sensitive with Condenser Microphones / phantom
    Dynamic mic worked great
    Line in ... worked great
    MIDI worked great

    On a Mac Book Pro with Logic & Pro Tools worked very well.
    I suggest follow the read me directions for driver install.

  • Blues55
    from US March 23, 2013Music Background:
    Blues Harp

    iPad Perfect!

    This is a solid piece of machinery. Extremely well built with very pristine preamps. A perfect mobile unit.

    As a beta tester for Auria, MusicStudio, Arctic Keys, just to name a few, this thing is an absolute dream with Cubasis.

    Been beating it around for over 3 wks now, & it works with all my iPad music or sound apps on both the iPad 2 & 3! It also works nicely with both my PowerBooks.

    For such a rich sound, the size will blow you away. Recorded files are easily imported into Pro Tools for more work.

    BTW, the midi is sweet also.

  • Adam
    from United States March 16, 2013Music Background:
    Spare-time recording artist

    Great interface for less than $200

    As a long-time musician new to recording, this is exactly what I was looking for. I did a lot of internet research before deciding on this interface, and I couldn't be happier.

    What I love:
    1. Solidly constructed and easy to use.
    2. Hi-Z input so I can plug the electric guitar into the interface directly, without having to mess with miking the amp.
    3. Cakewalk Sonar X1 LE is included. I don't have much experience with the other software out there (like ProTools), but Sonar is very capable and easy to use.
    4. Portable, so I can move it with the laptop I use for recording.

    For the price point, you'll be very happy with this product. I don't think you'll find a better two-input interface anywhere.

  • Jeremy
    from Thousand Oaks, CA USA March 10, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, DJ

    Most portable interface for under $200!

    Manufactured in China of course, but this baby is well built and rock solid. The sound is excellent. This product had me sold when I saw it could be battery powered, AC, or usb and has all the inputs I need for a mobile studio. This thing was built for ultimate portability in mind and I believe this will suit me very well for producing/recording anywhere and everywhere. Drivers were a breeze to install with the included CD which has the latest drivers already. Also, this unit works perfectly with Windows 7 x64 and Ableton Live. If you're planning on getting an interface for around $200, I highly recommend this interface..

Questions about the Roland Duo-Capture EX?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway