rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 45 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Cristian Good

    Like any experienced live sound engineer, I depend on the accuracy of my headphones, but they also need to be comfortable. I've loved my Audio-Technica ATH-M50x monitoring headphones from the minute I got them, because they're both detailed and comfortable enough that I can wear them all night, without getting fatigued. I don't just use them for gigs - they're also perfect for just listening to music.

  • from Bellevue June 19, 2017Music Background:
    Drums Percussion & Recording

    Best Headphone Value Out There

    I lost my 1st set of these and recently replaced them with this newer version that have the replaceable/interchangeable cables. I love the ability to change cable types. There is almost no break in period. Very smooth from lows to highs, with no obnoxious peaks. Super comfortable and no noticeable ear fatigue with extended wearing.

  • from St. Louis metro June 13, 2017Music Background:
    Recording studio owner and musician

    The best of the best

    I have used Sony MDR7506's since they were introduced years ago and I've always enjoyed their sonic capability and their durability. I tried the Sennheiser HD280 Pro but my first set kept making noise every time the cord moved the slightest bit. I exchanged for another pair that did the same thing. Maybe I got a bad batch but twice was enough for me. Then I decided to get the Audia-technica ATH-M50x and I have found the best headphones for everyday studio use, Their sonic range is as good as you would expect a top quality piece of gear to be. They are very comfortable for long sessions. I still use my Sony's but now they are my backup set. The M50x are the best headphones in their price range without a doubt.

  • from New Mexico November 24, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist/Keyboardist/Pro Musician

    The ATH-M50x Headphones ARE AMAZING!!!

    The ATH-M50x headphones are extremely comfortable, isolate outside noise very well, and come with 3 very thick cords that won't break easily along with a nice pouch to carry it all in.

    I am blown away by how great the sound is from these headphones. Wether you are mixing your own music or you are listening to songs you enjoy, you can hear each instrument being played more clearly than ever before...Even vocals too.

    It's worth the money. You won't be disappointed. GET A PAIR I RECOMMEND IT.

  • from Michigan October 4, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar/Vocal/Songwriter/Recording Engineer

    M50x Headset

    The change from my old AKG 260 Pro set to these was stunning. I can get a rough mix using this set. The tone and volume output increased 50%. I just love them!

  • from Auckland August 15, 2016

    Money Well Spent

    I spent many hours demoing more pairs of headphones than I can remember. These were the highlight of four days' listening.
    They sound beauitful out of the box. But this is only half the story. Mine are now around six years old. They sound better and better with age. Certrainly, much better after about a month of use.
    The slightly cheap plastic has come off mine around the bar over the top. And the cups are a bit on the worn out side. I'm assured these are replaceable. None of this takes away from their sound though, and I've no intention of swapping them any time soon.

  • from July 28, 2016

    Great headphone

    The headphone was amazing. I highly recommend it. Thanks sweetwater for the great service

  • from July 15, 2016

    M50 headphones

    Awesome product love using them, sound quality is spot on.

  • from June 6, 2016

    Awesome Headphones

    I continue to be highly impressed with the Audio Technica ATH-M50 brand pf headphones. The 50x model continues the excellent quality of its predecessor. LOVE IT !!

  • from June 2, 2016

    Amazing Headphones!

    Recommended by Cody at Sweetwater. These headphones are amazing, top of the line for the price range.

  • from February 24, 2016

    Amazing

    Great headphones with amazing quality! Great price for a great product. Its perfect for mastering tracks and allows you to really hear the lowest of the frequencies and the highest of the highs.
    I would really recommend this to anyone that has a passion for sound quality and sound production!

  • from January 15, 2016

    Great headphones at a great price

    Great response and extremely comfortable.
    Would be nice if it came with an extension line and a hard case, but otherwise met my exectations.

  • from NJ. August 20, 2015

    Best bang for the buck!

    Can't go wrong with these. I use them in my home studio. They sound great and are very affordable.

  • from Louisiana July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Bedroom rock star.

    Excellent quality.

    I bought these to use with my Boss ME-80. They are very good sounding headphones. I like the 3 cords that came with them, so you have your choice for the application you are using them or extras incase one gets damaged.

  • from July 8, 2015

    At headphones

    Best dollars i ever spent on headphones

  • from Brooklyn, NY June 10, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    A Modern Classic

    A very well balanced headphone that translates well, combined with a solid construction even after falling to the ground a handful of times, and a comfortable wear makes the ATH-M50s my go to cans! Over the last 24 years, I`ve had my share of headphones, the M50s are my favorite for tracking, mixing, and mastering. I even use them for pure listening enjoyment.

  • from San Jose, California April 9, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Songwriter, Acoustic Guitar

    Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Professional Monitor Headphones - Closed

    I bought these headphones specifically for recording acoustic guitar sessions. I wanted a pair of closed back phones that would give me a full spectrum audio playback with no hype in the highs or lows. I have found that this really enhances the player's response and improves the over-all performance. With great acoustic players, you really want them to be able to hear and capture the emotional content of their performance. I bought these phones based on the recommendation of my Sweetwater Sales Rep - Jeff Green. He has been my sales rep for over 20 years and I have found his input and opinions highly valuable. I found these phones to be very accurate even a low volumes. Especially nice was that the mids and highs were present, smooth and not hyped at all. As a matter of fact - it was really refreshing to hear the full spectrum playback without the "typical" hype you hear in the upper mid-range. The bass response was very smooth balanced and again not hyped. I found the over-all playback balanced with a smooth 3-D clarity. I was actually very surprised on over-all quality being biased by the low price. I own AKG, KRK. Focal and Sennheiser headphones in the studio. I found the ATH-M50x the best pair for recording acoustic instruments.

  • from WPB Fl January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great for the price

    Awesome set of earphones!

    For the price you can't go wrong, sturdy construction and solid sound performance.

    They feel good on my big head and they cover my ears completely.

    The included carrying bad is a bit small.

  • from New Berlin,IL October 25, 2014Music Background:
    Song writer/hobbyist/former working musician

    Not disappointed!

    Before purchasing these headphones, I did tons of research on a variety of brands. I was extremely impressed with the price of the Audio-Technica ATH-M50 compared to others. So, after 6 months of research, I made my purchase. These are the most comfortable headphones I've ever worn. And, they sound great! I love the fact that they come with 3 separate cables. The short cable is perfect to use with my iPhone and the other 2 are sufficiently long for recording purposes. Service from Sweetwater was as usual, fantastic. I'll be using these for a long time!

  • from Grand Rapids, MI October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    worth every nickle

    Wow, I upgraded to these and can't believe how much better they sound than every other set in my studio! I can hear so much that I could not hear before. I can't give a tech review, but I know what I like. I have not compared them to my $500 Westone in ears, but I just use those for stage performance monitors and they are harder to put on. Buy these, I am glad I did.

  • from October 15, 2014

    best

    Amazing studio monitor headphones

  • from United States October 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist, Singer, Producer

    Blew My Beats By Dre Out Of The Water

    I have a pair of Beats Studios (Original) that at the time of purchase, I thought were the best things to happen to the audio world. I was blind to the fact that there were many other brands out there that were even better. I just wanted the cool effect. However, after purchasing my own home studio the other day, I bought these as well, based on the reviews and research. Accurate sound reproduction is key for me and Beats don't cut it. These I must say, are the best things to happen to the audio world for the price range they're offered in. There supremely accurate, comfortable and come with 3 different cables, as well as a 1/8 to 1/4 adapter, which was perfect. Tight bass, crisp highs and solid mids. I will probably never buy any other brand of headphones again. Do yourself a favor and pick these up if you're serious about your sound.

  • from El Segundo, CA August 27, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Nice, nice... very nice!

    I got these headphones on the recommendation of my main-man Tony Dayton here at Sweetwater. These headphones really suit my needs as a mixing engineer and for tracking. The irony was I can mix really good just with these cans and that's impressive. Obviously, mixing on monitors is even better, but for rough mixes these perform great. For tracking they are sheer perfection. Thanks Tony for another great recommendation!

  • from Singapore August 23, 2014Music Background:
    DJ, Producer

    Bass... and.... more bass......

    Amazing, perfect, love it, you need it, buy now!

  • from Boston, MA August 10, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Super.

    I use these for recording in my home studio. I sing in better tune and I play better using these headphones. Beautiful, clear, detailed sound. My AKG k240's are officially retired.

  • from May 30, 2014Music Background:
    hobby

    NICE HEADPHONES

    I really like it. It cam with different cable to use it and the sound is incredible.

  • from United States March 27, 2014Music Background:
    Studio musician , Teacher and Player

    You think your hearing things and you are !!!!!!!

    I have heard the M 50s in some studio's and they always impressed. I have had these for 1 week and the new Ath-M50x headphones have left me speechless. If a break-in period makes them sound better in 40 hours I can't wait. Definition, separation and clarity are just a few words that come to mind. I bought these for my home studio which does double duty as my listening room and when I played some classical through these - wow. I heard things that in 30 years of listening, I haven't heard before in these pieces. Jazz , R&B and blues likewise. The only bad thing is I also heard things in my mixes so I need to remix some lol !!!!!!
    As always Wayne gave me great advice and Sweetwater's service is the best..

  • from NW Indiana March 27, 2017Music Background:
    Playing more than 35 years

    Love these cans

    I've spent a ton of money on headphones over the years and these are without a doubt the best you can buy for under $. They sound very, very good.

  • from Acworth, GA March 23, 2017Music Background:
    Pianist/keyboardist for over 40 years

    Sweet cans!

    I read all the reviews on these and other headphones before I made a decision. It's hard not to like the ATH-M50X headphones. They are very comfortable and have great dynamic response. I have a Casio Px560 and a Yamaha Avant Grand and use these for practice so as not to disturb my wife in the early morning hours. Every detail from the lowest notes to the highest notes are clear and detailed. I also do some mastering and mixing with these and they are truly superb for that. You can't go wrong with these headphones.

  • from Ohio January 28, 2017

    Jdaffer

    Great product. My son loves tgem

  • from Atlanta December 2, 2016

    ATH-M50x

    I love these headphones! I have had them for about a year now and I have found them to be the best sounding and durable cans I have ever owned. It took a while, but I mixed and mastered two complete projects with nothing but these alone. The results were very competitive.

  • from WA October 18, 2016

    best cans I have ever owned

    I am that person who spends weeks and even months researching something before I make a purchase and I am so glad I happened to find these. I typically wear these for 8+ hours every day just listening to music and they travel with me in the Gator headphone case I also purchased. I never get an achy jaw wearing these. The sound quality is amazing. I am not a professional audio tech or anything, but my old, blown-out ears required something more than a $40 pair of headphones that sounded like music under water. These sound amazing. I can even pick out those highs I gave up on hearing years ago. I really could go on and on about how comfortable they are and how great they sound but I will sum it up. You don't have to be a professional audio tech to give yourself something great to listen to music with. Maybe you are looking for yourself and you know your ears deserve more than what you have been giving them. Maybe you are looking for a gift for someone who loves music but doesn't require a $500 pair. Look no further, these headphones are the by far the best bang for your buck in this price range. I'm pretty sure you will be blown-away, certainly not disappointed.

  • from Memphis, TN February 6, 2016Music Background:
    FOH, Monitors, Tracking, and Mixing

    2nd pair in 5 years

    I've had my ATH-M50 headphones since 2011. They've been the best set I've ever owned and have provided hundreds of hours of mixing and listening while holding up to all the abuse I could give them. But it is time. My original pair will be hung near the turntable for the occasional listen when my M50x set arrives next week.

    While they may not be the best sounding set you could buy, you won't find a better sounding set for this price.

  • from Pittsburgh November 12, 2015Music Background:
    hobby writer

    good budget choice?

    I wanted reasonably priced- yet solid quality- headphones, so I tried these based largely on previous Sweetwater reviews. I use these primarily for writing electronic music, and I'm enjoying them. The sound is crisp & accurate, and I don't feel too stuffy wearing them for a while. Most importantly, I don't feel that sinking disappointment when I need to turn off monitors and throw these on. score!

  • from Pennsylvania May 20, 2015Music Background:
    semi-professional guitarist/bassist

    Wonderful!

    Got the limited green version but non the less...Incredible! Out of the box they are clear, full and comfortable. I'm using them for writing/recording purposes and I couldn't be happier. The cables are long enough to not get in the way which is a huge plus! A++... would buy again! Thanks to Sweetwater for the quick delivery!

  • from Ukiah Ca April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging musician, wannabe recording engineer.

    Great Cans!

    I needed a set of cans for some home recording projects but I didn't want to break the bank. A professional engineer friend of mine recommended these, I love them! Very comfortable, they sound great and I love the three cords you can select depending on the length for the job you're doing. Very pleased with these, especially for the price.

  • from April 3, 2015Music Background:
    Solo instrumentalist of 20 years

    Awesome Sound

    No complaints with sound. Bass is deep and rich, highs are crisp.

    Only complaint is that they are not as comfortable as my ATH-M40fs, but sound SO much better. Not a big deal. Much more stiff in the headband, but maybe that will mean they wont peel and shed it's black shiny coating like the ATH-M40fs did.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Excellent

    Definitely worth the money. Overview: Good isolation, Great for monitoring, Seems pretty true for mixing as well. Note on the short cable, it's really designed for connection to things like an IPad, direct to computer without a box (why would you use the computer driver anyway??). The adapter has a screw on lock for 1/4 to mini for the coiled and longer cable. np, just an FYI. Cable twist locks into the headset, I like that. Very comfortable. I can hear LOTS of detail with these headphones when mixing without the use of mains. I was also looking at the ath-m40 but decided I wanted the other driver material and extended range. Glad I tossed in the extra $50.

  • from Los Angeles June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Former professional musician and studio drummer

    Clarity

    These headphones are most likely about as good as it gets. Comfortable, crisp, clear sound and light weight.

  • from December 13, 2016

    Excellent for the cost

    I have a ten year old pair of Audio Technica cans of this price range that despite years of abuse (stepping on the cord while wearing, dropping them) still work perfectly. I was getting a new set only because the plastic lining on the old set was basically disintegrating. I tried the Sennheisers in this price range for something new and different but returned them and got the ATH-M50X. No comparison in terms of clarity of sound. These are very sturdy and work great for monitoring while recording. No need for anything better unless you mix thru headphones. Be sure and get a cable extension also if you are using in any type of group setting with a headphone amp.

  • from January 26, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer

    Great Headphones

    Very comfortable for those long recording times . Sound quality is great. They are affordable, I bought two pair so when recording, what we hear, will be the same.

  • from Michigan December 10, 2015Music Background:
    35 year pro

    AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-M50 HEADSET

    The sound I hear when recording now went from thin, empty with my old set to really full and the phones are very comfortable to wear over a period of time.

  • from Pa USA April 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Headphones

    I have owned a lot of headphones over the years. These are my favorite for just plain clarity. Nothing overhyped. Great for just sitting back and enjoying music. Cd's with higher quality than mp3 sound really good. No ear fatigue or harshness with prolonged listening.

  • from Chandler, AZ April 11, 2017Music Background:
    Part time engineer

    Good for studio but could be better

    If you're using these as fold back for the studio and you're not particularly concerned about getting the "best" (correctly balanced) sound, then these will fit the bill. They have good noise isolation and would work very well where that's required. I would not recommend them for casual listening or mixing but YMMV.

    To me, there are two problems. First, they sound quite noticably boxy and I find that disconcerting. I can deal with a bit trebly or too much bass but the response curve on these headphones doesn't make me want to spend a long time listening to them. If you're looking for phones for mixing, I suggest you evaluate a set of AKG semi-open. I've had good luck with those and they've long been an industry mainstay.

    Also, I find that the shape of the support frame to be less than ideal. The chosen radius makes it put too much pressure on the side of my head. Fine for short term but after a couple of hours, I just have to get them off my head for a while whereas I've had others that are comfortable enough that I almost forget I have them on after a time. Slightly wider ear pads might eliminate that.

  • from Illinois, United States June 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Guitarist, Vocalist, Pianist, Musical Composer, Hobbyist

    Ok for the first couple years...

    First off let me talk about the benefits before I cut in with the down side. These headphones really are great headphones, they come with the little gig bag to store them in, they have a pretty flat sound, and are pretty great to have. Additionally, they are pretty comfortable, I love the ability to flip the cups if I need to have a critical ear outside of the headphone while still having one inside the headphones. Now let me tell you the big turn off. I've owned this pair for about 3-4 years now, and right around the 2-3 year mark the headband starts flaking the black "fake leather" all over your hair and the back of your neck which is a royal pain in the neck. If that doesn't annoy the heck out of you, it's Audio Technica's lack of allowing you the consumer to buy a replacement headband, and nowhere being able to find a replacement headband. So here you are with a pair of headphones flaking all over the place, and your only option to stop the flaking is to hope you can find a pair of headphones on eBay that doesn't have the same problem, and is broke so you can use it for parts...

    Don't let that discourage you from these cans entirely though, because the flaking can be minimalized by not using them when you are sweaty, and not letting them get sun exposure, or any environment that is either too dry, or too wet. Unfortunate for me that's near impossible because I use them on the road and there's no telling what kind of weather you're going to run into and these are great headphones to compose music on the go.

    If I buy another pair of headphones, MY FIRST plan of action is to find a pair of headphones with serviceable parts that I can service myself, and make sure that the headphone band is replaceable.

  • from Indianapolis June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Owner/Engineer of a recording studio.

    Good but not durable

    Headphones sound great and are comfortable but they are not durable at all. I went through 2 pairs in my studio this year alone, and over 3 pairs over the last 3 years. Im finally just going to move on from these. Their is a small clip on the side of the phones that broke on two of my pairs and make it impossible to wear the headphones. The other set had a different issue one side of the headphones just stopped working. If you need durable headphones that are used for your recording studio i would not recommend these

Questions about the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Closed-back Studio Monitoring Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway