rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Martin 640 Case Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin 640 Case?

Questions about the Martin 640 Case?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Syracuse, New York April 17, 2017Music Background:
    Camp fire chord playing guitarist ....

    Great service!

    Let's be honest, the case is the case, the High Speed Low Drag of CF Martin Guitar cases. So what sets Sweetwater apart is the service. I've never had better service from an online purchase like I received from them. Jared Kalish is my Sales Engineer and the correspondence from start to finish was outstanding, and best of all it didn't have to be, they had me already but the GEM (Going the Extra Mile) pushed me over the top. I will absolute buy from Sweetwater again.

  • from NJ April 2, 2016

    awsome case

    bought this case for my Martin D12 12 string guitar. fits just fine and is well made with a nice plush interior. I would recommend this case you wont be disappointed

  • from West Coast January 5, 2016Music Background:
    Past member of working bands. Formal training consists of percussion in school band.

    Guitars are meant to be played, not put in a case.

    But when you have to put it in a case, you can't do any better than the one I got for my beloved HD-35.
    (replaced a generic one that just left a little more wiggle room than I liked. The Martin case is perfection.

    Shipped fast. Helpful staff. At this point in my life, I don't buy a lot of gear, I'm flush, but Sweetwater always temps me jus the same.

  • from RI November 7, 2015

    Excellent Guitar Case

    Really nice case fits perfectly. Excellent customer service too. AND it came with some Halloween treats too!

  • from Fond du Lac WI June 13, 2015

    Martin 640 case

    The Martin 640 case works great for my Martin DCPA5K guitar. Thanks to the salesman who checked with Martin about which cases worked for this guitar. Very pleasant experience and quick delivery.

  • from United States January 8, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Martin 640 Case

    In a word: PERFECT!!! Beyond what I was expecting.

  • from Concord, NH USA January 3, 2015Music Background:
    Retired Musician

    Perfect Case for a Martin Dreadnaught

    I have to say, this is WAY more case than expected for the price! Very well made, and fit my guitar like a glove. You will not be disappointed with this case.

  • from Seguin, Tx USA December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Long Time Player, church music leader

    Great Case

    called and got an excellent salesman, Jeff Bohan, who helped me find the perfect case for my Martin. Arrived fast, perfect Fit, case is an excellent buy for the money. I will buy from Sweetwater again!

  • from April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Play Guitar

    Awesome Martin Hard Case

    I bought this case for my Martin HD16-RA.It's really good case, better than C345.I had to sent C345 to my frend. Casue.The plane only allowed one guitar case. Thanks, A.J.

  • from Burlington, KY USA February 6, 2014

    Sweet Case from Sweetwater

    This is a fantastic case. Of course, I don't believe Martin would place their name on an inferior product in the first place. I stood on the case in order to give it my personal seal of approval. It handled my 215 pounds with grace. This case is not cheap, but it's definitely worth every penny.

  • from Havertown, Pa January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    My 2001 Martin HD-28

    I have a Martin 2001 HD-28 and I needed to replace my original case since it had a crack in it. I was worried that my guitar wouldn't fit in this case for some reason, after placing my order, I received a call from a Derick/salesman at sweetwater. I told him my concern. He said he would call Martin to confirm that my guitar/year would fit and said he would try a HD-28 in the case since they have them on site. Martin told him it would fit and Derick called me back before shipping the case. Great salesman as far as I am concerned. I received the case today and my guitar fits like a glove. It is even better then the Original case. This is a really nice case and worth every penny..Thanks Paul

  • from Scottsboro, AL April 11, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I would recommend this to a friend

    Very satisfied with my purchase. I called the help/support before making the purchase as I had a question concerning the latches. Representative was very helpful. I ordered the case, it arrived in a timely manner, well packaged and as advertised. I have been very pleased and would recommend this product and this web site.

  • from April 5, 2012

    Great case

    Replaced my 30 yr old HD-28 case with this updated version. fits perfect.

  • from Kansas City,MO. March 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Mike Tiller

    What an excellent product! I'm very pleased as the interior is very plush and actually nicer than I expected.

  • from Washington, IL January 30, 2012Music Background:
    Musician / Worship Leader

    Great case at a great price

    I've owned my HD-28 for over 30 years and the original hardshell case was showing a lot of wear and tear. I shopped around and Sweetwater had the best price I could find. Great service as well. The case is beautiful, sturdy and fits my guitar like a dream. So far, I have no complaints whatsoever. The sleek, modern design and rich green interior are very classy. The storage compartment is not huge, but is more than big enough for my needs. I use a gig bag for all of my accessories anyway. I would highly recommend this case and will definitely check out Sweetwater when I have needs in the future.

  • from Portsmouth, NH USA January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar and Mandolin Player - has a band and plays with a contemporary group at Church

    Martin 640 Case

    It's a nice case that replaced my original case that came with my martin 30 years ago. A bit more snug that my old case but the guitar is firmly held in place now.

  • from Stevensville, MD December 22, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician that plays bass.

    Nice Case

    This is a nice case for light travel. I play the bass mostly but needed a reliable case for my Martin. It is a solid built case and I look forward to may years of ownership.

  • from Waxahachie, Texas April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Martin 640 Case

    I really like the case everything was excellent in it's shipping when received in a timely manner. I have one small issue not a deal breaker, I had read there was not enouhg room for a guitar stap and that was a accurate statement. I have my original case i purchased in 1976. I just wanted the upgrade. I am very pleased with the case it looks great and in the hand carries very well and balanced.

  • from United States March 12, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Fortunately, the case wore out before the guitar

    After 38 years, the case for my D 35 wore out--it was the hardware that just got tired of opening and closing, I guess. Martin has done a great job of upkeep on the guitar itself, but the case died. I called Sweetwater because they seemed to have the best prices. Kenny was phenomenal. We talked through different cases and I eventually settled on this one. I have learned that this is actually the one that Martin currently supplies for new guitars. It is incredibly light compared to the old one!

  • from April 9, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging musician, Worship leader

    Solid case for a Martin dread

    I just bought this case for my Martin DC-15E. I was concerned by peoples' complaints (on other websites) about the "hold-open" strap being hot-glued and flimsy, but Martin has since updated the design. They've changed the position of the strap, and it's now secured with rivets. The case fits my Martin dreadnought perfectly--no wiggle room, and notches in the padding to make room for electronics (on a LH or RH guitar) and cable jacks. Only two downsides: not much storage space for strings, tuners, etc.; and the price is a little steep. Overall, however, I would recommend this for a Martin dread.

  • from March 22, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro guitarist / vocalist / band leader

    Martin 640 Guitar Case

    I bought this case to replace the original that housed my Martin D45 Guitar. The original case was damaged by being thrown around by airline baggage handlers. It had cracked in two places, however it protected the valuable guitar. It is a lightweight case and treated properly, will protect the guitar.

  • from Holly Ridge, NC USA January 1, 2015Music Background:
    Pastor, Drumer, Guitarist, Gospel Singing Ministry

    The Martin 640 Case

    I have a 1990 HD 28 P Martin guitar that belonged to my brother-in law before he died of cancer, my sister (Franks Wife) sings with our gospel group and she gave the guitar to me, great gift huh. The original Martin hard case couple of the twist latches were broken off, (which I still have) So I started looking online for Martin hardshell cases, and I found this sweet, sleek Martin 640 hardshell case, which fits like a glove. Thanks Mark for your information. Pastor Andy

  • from Morrison, Colorado July 6, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate

    The Martin 640 Case

    Sturdy hard shell extruded plastic case. It does the job for me. Please note: I don't air travel with my guitar. For the money, you can't find a better case. I would recommend this case.

  • from Hanford, CA August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Retired professional. Almost 50 years experience.

    Now THIS is the case I've been wanting.

    The ONLY reason I didn't give this case all 5 stars is because it doesn't seat 100% everytime when I close it. But, with that being said, the product is amazing and a great value. The case fits my D28 perfectly and there is more than sufficient protection and padding, as well as an extra latch on the backside of the case. It looks sleek and attractive with the Martin logo proudly displayed on the upper portion. I am very, very happy with this purchase and the service I have received at Sweetwater. I will definitely be using them again, and again.

  • from December 17, 2015

    Shallow Storage

    The case fits the guitar really well. However, the storage compartment is shallow. I am use to placing pliers, strings, tuner, capo, slides and a strap at least in the case compartment. If you are expecting to place all those items in the 640 compartment you can forget it. Won't fit. The case does offer great protection.

  • from Surprise, AZ March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Country, bluegrass, jazz band and solo work.

    Not quite the case I would have liked to see from Martin.

    Wanted to upgrade the case that came with my Martin DCPA1 as that one wasn't even close to the case that came with my 000-18 GE from Martin. While this case is extremely well made and makes a good seal and I would feel comfortable even letting one of the airlines handle this, it just isn't that well designed inside. The pocket is on the small side and could have easily been made more useful. It doesn't work well with the humidifier I like to use. I would have also liked to have seen six latches instead of five, but it serves its purpose for now.

  • from April 4, 2017

    640 case

    got this case with my d 42,nice looking case but not much room for storage gonna be tough squeezing a strap in there never mind extra strings wire cutters and a capo

Questions about the Martin 640 Case?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
Enter the Giveaway