We Love Gear Sale
Sweetwater Forums

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Behringer MS16 Monitors

Smurf43

The Good
Price, fantastic stereo imaging, came with 1/8" to dual RCA stereo cable
The Bad
Lack of low bass, very forward mid range response, tweeters are not in a L-R configuration, plastic
I got to use a set of these for a little over a month, and when I decided to update my home studio setup these were the ones that fit my small budget. I am a 40+ year pro & semi-pro musician, live & studio rat, yada...yada..you know the drill. Read on for my thoughts.....
To stat with, every cabinet measurement I have seen on line, and even on the Behringer site and in the manual, is wrong. The correct measurements are 9 /12" x 5 1/2" x 5 9/10" (HxWxD)
First Days Impression - With the speakers tone controls set flat, Vol. 1/2 way. Volume controlled from the system.
Bright, but not piercing, treble.
Extremely mid-e, it is forward but not super "harsh"
Bad bass hump around 140 - 180Hz when pushed, and when a double-bass (doghouse)is mixed up in a tune.
Acoustic Alchemy, Southern Gospel Singing, Bluegrass, Folk, most acoustic music sounded clear & slightly over-bright, but the mid's are fatiguing after a few hours. This applies to Rock, Jazz, Ambient, etc also.
Bass response is no where close to the stated 80Hz, it is more like 110 - 120Hz.
Fantastic stereo definition, you could locate each instrument in the stereo field, side to side AND front to back.
After a week with them.

I have ran them thru most every bit of music I own, and my own mixes. Mostly real CD's, as compared to mp3's or FLAC tracks, so I could hear the unaltered wave files.