0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

sE Electronics sE2200a II Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the sE Electronics sE2200a II Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Questions about the sE Electronics sE2200a II Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Derek Senestraro

    I just got an sE Electronics sE2200a II and was comparing it several others I own, and I was very impressed! A lot more character and less "highs" than other similarly priced mics. I was running it through a basic interface preamp and sounded good - can't wait to give it a whirl through my LA610 soon!

  • from CA May 14, 2017

    I like it

    I don't know much about about microphones, but this was recommended to me by my sales engineer and I'm happy with it so far.

  • from Jacksonville, FL May 4, 2017Music Background:
    Audio Engineer & Producer

    My secret weapon

    I picked this mic up about 3 years ago when I bumped into one of their US sales reps on an airplane. I was talking about my home studio and he mentioned their mics. That day my whole world changed. I picked up one mic and it offers a clean yet subtle warmth. I was blown away by the clarity and price point for such a mic. It's durable and the frequency range is great too. I now have 3 of these mics and use them for many applications from vocals to various instrument placements. SE Electronics made my studio's secret weapon and I use it daily.

  • from Missouri May 2, 2017Music Background:
    Concert Pianist, Music Teacher, Home Studio Producer/Engineer

    The Perfect Start

    If I were only allowed 1 mic in my personal studio I wouldn't feel the least bit hesitant to choose this one (over anything else out there). This mic doesn't bring "the magic" like some mics claim to, and it isn't the one perfect mic for every job in the studio, but it is so clear and evenly full throughout the frequency range that every signal that passes through it is thoroughly usable! Nothing sounds bad - at least that I've found. I have favorite mics for "this singer's voice" or "that acoustic guitar", but when it comes down to it, if I don't have the time to find "the perfect mic" for the job, I'm grabbing this mic and getting to work. No worries. Start your microphone collection here - you will never regret the decision, especially for the value. Then add other mics for specific applications later when you need them.

  • from Smithfield NC May 2, 2017Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, spoken voice

    Amazing, smooth and affordable

    I wanted an sE condenser after hearing a friend's and found the price on this one attractive. So I went for it. And my god what a good move. So smooth and real but loaded with personality and flavor. It's the best condenser in my locker and it's hooked me on sE as a company. It's also worth noting a friend borrowed it a while back and is now talking about buying her
    own. Which is good. I'm protective of mine

  • from Illinois August 14, 2016

    My favorite mic

    I picked this mic up years ago and I have been sticking by it for vocals and drum overheads on almost every single recording I've done. People tell me they've been in other studios but their voice hasn't sounded as good as it does here. I try to take credit for that, but it's the mic. The metal pop filter is really nice, too. I bought a second one for a friend when he expressed how impressed he was with it.

  • from UpState, NY November 6, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Studio Owner, Engineer, Producer

    Fantastic Mic!

    I was in the market for a new LDC mic and my Sweetwater Agent, Paul Lea recommended the sE2200a MK2 after I explained what I needed it for. I took his professional advice and made the purchase. Glad I did. I was blown away by the sound and what I noticed most was the silky, smooth highs on vocals and acoustic guitar.This mic is a winner and IMO can easily compete with some of the more expensive mics I've used. If you're looking for a natural and warm sounding mic without the highs sounding hyped, definitely check this one out. Thanks for the recommendation Paul. Sweetwater is the best!

  • from CA, USA September 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    I'm a believer

    I love, love, love this mic. This mic was suggested to me by my Sweetwater agent as an alternative to the AKG C 214 I was thinking about buying. Having own AKG mics before I knew that the AKGs tend to push the high end a little bit but I really wanted a full sounding mic that could also deliver the highs. As soon as I got this mic I started recording and was blown away by the results. I've never owned sE mic before but now they are on the top of my list when it comes time to buy my next one.

  • from Radcliff, KY August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Louisville Youth Orchestra, woodwinds, guitar, piano, B3, composing, arranging, writer, etc.

    Quality Mike at half the price!

    As a writer, producer, arranger, Pro Tools 11 user, accurate sound reproduction with minimal to none ambient noise is critical to me. I spent hours, days, and weeks, researching before I decided on this award winning microphone. First of all, I wanted a large diaphragm condenser mike so that I could duplicate and capture in my recordings the individual subtle tones of each vocalist. The lows, the highs, the enunciation, the raspiness, the shrills, all of the important aspects and nuance's that make each vocalist unique. Secondly, if you are serious about what you are doing, you need to have an excellent mike like the sE2200a 2 that offers multiple uses. If I am recording a choir, then I switch it to Omnidirectional to capture all of the sounds in the room . If I am recording one vocalist, then I switch it to Cardioid where it blocks off all sounds except directly in front of it. When I have two or more vocalists, I switch it on figure-8 where it picks up on the left and right of the mike. Eventually you will have a need to record in all of these types of scenarios, so it is more cost effective to have one excellent mike to do the job than three or four mikes to do the exact same job.
    In conclusion, you can spend literally thousands of dollars on just one mike. This mike will do the same job in 90% of quality recording situation needs for a much more affordable price point. They even supply the shock mount and screen with the mike. You can't go wrong with this one!

  • from April 21, 2014

    Awesome Microphone!

    I was looking for a new vocal mic for my home studio. The salesman recommended the SE 4400 but, that was out of my budget so, I opted for the sE2200a II. I love this mic. It is so nice crisp, clear and full sounding. After several playbacks I also noticed how smooth it was. I am very happy with this purchase and plan to get a second one in the near future.
    Highly recommend this mic!

  • from South Lyon, MI November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Student, Home Studio Owner, Musician, Mentor

    Yep, look no further, this is it.

    When I purchased the sE Electronics sE2200a II (2200), it was bundled with bundled with the dual pro mic pop shield & the Reflexion Filter X Portable Vocal Booth. The 2200 had been on my wish list for some time, yet the additional $150+ worth of free goodies made me finally make the purchase.

    The 2200 is one of the cleanest, clearest mic's that I have purchased in this price range. Add to this that it has multiple patterns, a bass roll off and comes with its own shock mount & High Quality Pop Filter and you have one hell of a deal!

    So far, I have used it for omnidirectional drumming, acoustic guitars, vocals and I even used it during a few band practices and lessons that I teach in its omnidirectional pattern. If properly setup, this mic does its job nicely on everything mentioned here.

    Whether you are looking to enhance a project studio, or create options for yourself in a professional environment, the 2200 is one of the best mic's for under $1000.

    Many thanks to Steven Chamone at Sweetwater for pointing this mic out to me! Great choice, I couldn't be happier!

  • from November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect for Acoustics. Sweet for Voice

    This microphone did not remember nothing I used before. This mic have his own characteristics and it is just a little warm and very pleasant. you can go for all instruments with no mistake.

  • from Poplar Bluff, MO USA March 21, 2013Music Background:
    I've been playing music for 35 years.

    Thanks to Luke for suggesting this.

    This is a great upgrade from my RØDE NT1. Nice clarity. I am very pleased. Great for a home studio.

    The only negative I can mention is the XLR cable was very very tight the first time I attached it. So tight it was difficult to get it out.




    As a bonus the metal pop filter that comes with it is much clearer than the foam pop filter I was using before.

  • from Poplar Bluff, MO 63901 February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Songwriter, Guitarist, Singer.

    Amazing mic for a decent price.

    I seriously doubt you're going to find another mic with this quality for under $400. I was looking at an AT4050, but couldn't really justify the $700 price tag for my little home studio. Luke with Sweetwater recommended the sE2200a II. I decided to give it a shot and man was I pleased. My previous mic was a R0DE NT-1. I recorded some new vocals on a track I had already be recording. The difference was amazing. Much more clarity. Also the metal pop filter that was included with mine seems to work much better than the fabric mesh type. If you are looking for a home studio mic that doesn't break the bank, you just found it. Thanks again Luke.

  • from Toledo,ohio February 10, 2013Music Background:
    engineer and artist

    bet than the big box brands

    This mic is my goto guy for all my vocal tracks. I'm running this thru a presonus studio channel to my interface to pro tool. I was making a jump from a isloation filter and a mxl 990 this mic makes tht mic look like a piece of tin. Great warm sound and in your face vocals tht just sit on a track. If your searching for a good voacl mike on a budget. Get this mic you won't be disappointment. Best 400 bucks ve spent in my carrer. No only if se would make a wireless mic

  • from Red Lodge, Montana October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician for 40 +years

    sE Electronics sE2200a II

    After endless hours of research on vocal microphones for my studio and trial and error, this sE2200 a was suggested to me by my Sweetwater rep Steven. I received the sE2200 a ,set it up in the studio and recorded my first vocal track and what a surprise even with average preamps this microphone out performed anything I have tried including my SM7b. I haven't had the opportunity to really put it through the paces but so far I am feeling excellent about the choice.

  • from November 2, 2016

    Great for MS stereo

    The only reason I gave it a 4.5 instead of 5 is that I haven't used it long enough to justify a 5 (although it probably is. I built a rig to use this mic with a sE Electronics sE2200a II C in a stereo MS arrangement. The mic itself is great. Wish I could attach an image of my use of these 2 mics as I'm using them.

Questions about the sE Electronics sE2200a II Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway