rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Whirlwind pcDI 2-channel Passive A/V Direct Box Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Whirlwind pcDI 2-channel Passive A/V Direct Box?

Questions about the Whirlwind pcDI 2-channel Passive A/V Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Sylvania OH May 7, 2016

    Solved my static issue

    I was having a lot of interference with the audio plugging directly from my MacBook into the mixer. Problem instantly solved with thepcDI

  • from Joshua Tree, CA July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Forever

    Whirlwind pcDI

    Great piece of gear! i really like that one can use the Ground Lift and 20db Pad.

  • from Hope Mills, NC February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboard player

    Pcdi

    It is an excellent solution and works well whether lined in to my amp or to the house.

  • from Mesa, AZ July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Great Little DI

    Does exactly what it is advertized to do....little pricey but you get what you pay for.
    Love the Stereo/Mono switch.
    Lots of inputs (Swiss Knife).

    My system is now officially all Low Impedance and silent.
    ahhhh.

  • from Columbus, OH September 13, 2012Music Background:
    One-man entertainer and long time live sound guy

    Minor upgrades keep up the great tradition

    I've used earlier versions of this device for years and I bought another one based on its reliability and performance. None of those aspects of changed. This is still one of those devices every sound dude should have on hand.

    The latest model includes the addition of a 1/8" stereo line input, complementing the RCA inputs. This saved me on a recent gig where I ran short (by one) of 1/8" to RCA cables. I just happened to have an 1/8" to 1/8" on hand that usually sits idle in my bag of tricks. It let me get the presenter's laptop connected in to the sound system and everyone was happy.

  • from Palm Springs, Ca. June 5, 2012Music Background:
    Nightclub DJ & VJ, Sound Installations.

    Laptop Sound Converter/Enhancer

    This is the perfect approach if you are experiencing sound issues while connecting your laptop to a professional sound system.* Laptops and their sound cards can be noisy and introduce hum and rumble to everyday RCA inputs on a mixer board. This Di box coverts your RCA or Mini Plug into the proper balanced XLR type input that can be connected to a professional or club sound system.

  • from Winona Lake, IN January 3, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Stereo DI

    We have had one of these at the church for several years and I just got one for our new auditorium. It's great for iPods, iPads, iMacs, and even a electric piano that we have that has stereo RCA outs instead of 1/2".

  • from Jacksonville Fl April 14, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and touring artist, Integrity Music

    Whirlwind DI

    A multi tasking and road worthy piece of equipment that is so good that I purchased several more. End of story.

  • from North Little Rock, AR March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Live bar gigger for decades.

    Very versatile directbox, but needs a slight redesign

    This is the most versatile directbox I've ever used. I play live with a computer running VSTs, and I usually just use the computer's 3.5mm audio out. No venue expects a keyboardist to give them a mini headphone jack, and many expect balanced XLR. I've used little submixers a lot to provide them with a 1/4" unblanced, and then a directbox after that if needed. Also, the mono/stereo was an absolute must for me, a lot of venues aren't running in stereo, and a lot of bands don't run their PA in stereo. Mono is almost always what I need, and this box does a very good job of outputting mono XLR.

    The way I use it is this:
    stereo laptop -> 3.5mm input
    electric piano -> one of the 1/4" inputs
    mono switch pushed in (mono mode)
    one XLR out to the PA
    one XLR out to my personal powered speaker for monitor

    This box mixes the laptop output plus my electric piano output, thus removing the need for a mixer, and it sends the same output out of both XLRs so that my personal monitor gets the exact same signal that I'm sending to the house PA.

    The issue that Michael Massura mentioned is for real though - the XLR outs have a weird perimeter around them that prevents a lot of XLR cables from being able to get all the way into the socket. If not addressed, it can be very frustrating. I fixed it pretty easily though with a pocket knife and some wire cutters. I just trimmed that little margin down so that it's flush to the point that most XLR sockets would be. It accepts and locks-in all XLR cables just fine now.

    The "thru" outputs are a little quirky, but very acceptable. If you plug an instrument into the left 1/4" input, the left RCA does NOT act as a thru. However, if you put it into "mono" mode, you can plug an instrument into the left 1/4" input and the right 1/4" jack will function as a thru. I think it's probably asking too much to have all five of the inputs capable of being inputs and thrus, depending solely upon what's stuck into them.

    Every live keyboardist that uses a combination of VSTs on laptop, and hardware keyboards, needs one of these directboxes.

    Whirlwind - you need to use a different XLR port. The one you're using is just goofy, like it's from some alternate universe that always uses skinny cable connectors.

  • from Orland Park, IL October 19, 2012Music Background:
    CEO, Recording Engineer

    Easy to use, a most have!!!

    pcDI is a great product to get if you really need to get rid of the sound from your computer for PC application. I bought this for a Dance Program, because I wanted to run my I-Mac thought my PA. Clicking the ground relief switch on both channels removed all computerize noises.
    I also use it to connect computer to my studio monitors works the same.

    Well built!

    One downside the (2) XLR does not work with all XLR cables because it has a smaller plug, it worked with my GLS XLR cables and most of my cables that have a normal smaller around heads, but the bigger XLR connectors on my Shure XLR cables would not fit.

    Other then the Shure XLR Connecters this DI box is solid and for the price and how clean it sounds it is well worth it, I consider it a steal.

    Also the Pad on the DI works like it should.

    Simple to work, and has all the connects that you will ever need for your computer or digital devices.

  • from Duson La. May 11, 2012Music Background:
    professional karaoke host

    direct box

    really works well music so much clearer with less distortion

  • from Fortville IN November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engr

    The Whirlwind pcDI works very well.

    We used this DI to provide sound directly from an Aviom unit to a camera we use to distribute the a/v throughout the Church and a recording to put on our website. It works very well with many adjustments and I/O options.

  • from IN, USA March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    pcDI

    It does exactly what it says on the tin.

    Versatile in that I can take a variety of input cables and make it work in either stereo or mono.

    Took the nasty PC soundcard noise right out of my system and the extra 20db attenuation is a nice option for really noisy systems.

    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I only give 5 stars for things that truly suprize me. But this is a great product.

  • from CA December 11, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Kills level

    Great functionality, a lot of features. But this entire line of Whirlwind DI's really negatively effects your input level. I'm having to crank my headamp to get an appropriate level in the house. It's the same problem with the rack mounted unit with 4 stereo DI's.

  • from Boston, MA, USA January 30, 2015Music Background:
    musician

    too large and heavy for touring

    i purchased this unit for international touring and it is too large and heavy to be practical for this purpose. i have not opened the package and plan to return the unit and purchase something smaller and lighter. i could not find dimensions and weight specifications on line.

Questions about the Whirlwind pcDI 2-channel Passive A/V Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway