0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Korg nanoPAD2 - Black Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg nanoPAD2 - Black?

Questions about the Korg nanoPAD2 - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from June 17, 2016Music Background:
    drummer

    great for price

    pretty cool instrument, pretty low cost - can be used in many different applications. i don't regret buying this at all

  • Infinite Dreams
    from Florida March 1, 2016Music Background:
    Musician 30+ years

    Korg does it again

    Outstanding inexpensive smal unit to play drums on with EZ Drummer 2.

  • Garrett Davis
    from Eugene February 3, 2016Music Background:
    B.M. Jazz studies, performer and producer

    Maybe i got a bad one?

    For reference, i used this device with Pro Tools 12 and NI Battery 4. I bought this Korg on Amazon because it was on sale, and I am reviewing it because all these reviews are glowing for what I found to be a useless product. No discredit to Sweetwater, you guys are the best.

    I don't know what velocity sensitive pads everyone else is getting, but mine were trash! They were so stiff that i aggravated the tendonitis on my forearm trying to put down a drum line. I tried holding it like a keytar and could kind-of-sort of get a more velocity-accurate sound of what i was trying to get. It was alright, but I still went back and changed the velocity on every individual note that i played on the Nanopad.

    The XY pattern is a pretty neat idea. The gate is cool, and if i sat down for a few hours and really got to know the little nuances of the sensors underneath the xy pad, i might be able to make some use of it with snares and hihats. It's I did like ability to switch scales and octaves with the buttons, but like everything else, I had a hard time just getting the buttons to work.

    I read the manual, downloaded the Korg editor software and fixed the weird default layout, and was hoping to find someway to make the velocity pads more sensitive, but I couldn't find it.

    This product has a great amount of potential. I would have loved for this little unit to stay right in front of my macbook, but i decided to return it the next day. Anything that can be done with this unit could be accomplished with midi editing and my DSI Mopho that i am also using as a midi keyboard. The buttons are just so stiff and harsh that i would never want to use this product because i know it will never be satisfying. I can keep using the keys on my mopho for drum plugins, and continue doing midi wizardry within protools. I wish this product worked as well as i'd hoped, but for now my desk would be better off having empty space where the nanopad2 was.

  • HOZEA
    from Dixons Mills, Alabama May 12, 2014Music Background:
    Well seasoned music production

    Great Drum Pads for production!

    YOU JUST CAN'T BEAT THIS WITH A STICK!!! Great Handling for the price get drums laid out quick! Works just as good as the over priced stuff like mpc has!! I have had some over priced stuff over the years had to sell due to money issues and decided to give up the music production game!!! BUT I ran across this nano pad 2 and angels began to sing!!!! I just had to have it! I have fallen in love with it. I don't want it out of my sight!

  • Customer
    from Seattle, WA November 2, 2013

    Korg musical item with features

    pretty awesome little controller. the gating feature is also cool.
    the rubber is pretty responsive.

    overall, it lends itself to be used easily for its purpose.

  • JonAlan Lockhart
    from July 27, 2013Music Background:
    Project Studio in Creation

    Bought it for DAW control

    Not made of cheap materials but it WAS a bit smaller than I had imagined. After a little poking around with the KorgKontrol software which had to be downloaded, it was possible to make it useful for controlling clips in Fruity Loops during performance mode. It is however not specifically designed for this purpose and you can tell when you use it. Nevertheless it IS very portable and as long as the chord and jack is kept safe; should last a while. The included software was excellent and helped to round off my already growing collection of VST instruments.

  • Soap Gawd
    from Butler,PA June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    Good

    It's build quality is obviously gonna be as good as it costs but functionality wise it's great. the pads are awesome once you break them in after pounding em. It's proven to be durable thus far since I've had it since December (christmas) and it's now near the end of June. i do everything with it though; and it's XY pad is good for soft expressive sounds it's learn and use effectively though (i dont use it much). it's a good straight to the point product though; highly recommended if you're starting off

  • John Mannes
    from Germantown, Marykand June 10, 2013Music Background:
    40 years of playing Synthesizers and composing Original Soundtracks

    My New Pads

    Short and "Sweet"! Received order in 2 days. I am using this with the Korg KronosX88.. Sit's on top matches black on Kronos. Maybe Korg should have this built in. Pads work great for playing chords. Tracking Pad make's a new way to change Vector X/Y, which control's, Arps, Filter and then push a save button to "lock in" what new sound you've created Reminds me of the Controller Pads contained in IPad Synth Apps. Very usable and need to learn how to set and use cc numbers and key octaves.
    Used the $10.00 Korg Rebate till Jue 30th. Have to register the item with Korg first (take's too long which is why I am taking off 1/2 of a point" I think it's easier to get a Driver's License or Passport), but when you have time, I would do it. Best thank's to my Rep, Ryan W! The best Rep you could ever ask for! Cheer's, my friend!

  • allan laird
    from marion, ohio, usa May 1, 2013Music Background:
    practicing musician of 25+ years

    OK for the price.

    I like the pad itself, seems well built, the pads have good sensitivity and all. What I don't like is the VERY vague instructions that come with it. And, the Korg Kontrol editor that you use with it is very hard to understand as well. I still haven't figured out how to customize each individual pad to my liking and thus, I've been stuck using the default pad layout. I'm using this with EZDrummer. Still, it's worth the money I think.

  • Steve
    from Raleigh, NC USA June 2, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer

    Tough and Reliable

    Pretty much speechless.. Best velocity sensitive buttons that are a tad smaller than the norm but this thing is transportable and durable. Expression pad with a touch scale plus arpeggiator on hold is great! Everything at your fingertips.. Speechless because I'm busy playing

  • T.Skeen
    from Kingsport, TN USA January 8, 2012Music Background:
    listener

    Korg Nanopad2

    Got it for my boyfriend for Cmas. He LOVED it.............. works great!
    Sounds Great!

  • Robin Johansen
    from Auckland, New Zealand August 29, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Lightweight & likeable

    My need was for something lightweight and portable and the Korg scores well on these attributes. I use it as a drum pad controller with my iPad and it does an admirable job. Whilst light, it doesn't sacrifice robustness and it looks like it will take the knocks which result from being packed up and hauled around frequently without ill effects.

Questions about the Korg nanoPAD2 - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close