rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Korg nanoKONTROL2 - Black Reviews

4.0 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg nanoKONTROL2 - Black?

Questions about the Korg nanoKONTROL2 - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from October 4, 2016

    Korg

    Great controller works great with Ableton

  • Ken O
    from Austin, TX August 9, 2016

    Instant Control in Studio One

    I just needed a simple transport,fader,pan knob controller for my mobile rig running Studio One 3. I was using a Korg Taktile in double duty, control surface AND instrument mode, while pondering the best small controller to purchase. There are several quality units to choose from in the same price-range. Very pleased I chose this one. Perfect for my needs,when mobile, or at home base. The nanoKONTROL2 is already mapped and ready to go in Studio One, and took less than 10 minutes to set up. The unit itself is well made and has a solid feel, definitely worth the price it goes for.
    So good to buy something that works 100%; no glitches or fits setting it up to use. Thanks, Korg and Sweetwater.

  • Digalev
    from June 8, 2016Music Background:
    Getting too old to do this road stuff anymore . Synth and Keys and some not very good violin.

    It only costs 60$ so don't expect a Rolls.

    The Nano Kontrol worked with the Omnisphere Template great for about 10 days then one of the sliders began to drop out the patch volume. Tech support said to call and they could help with the problem via the software. Well one does not need to be an electrical engineer to know it was a contact issue with the Kontrol. With the help of a HP engineer and some simple twiddling with the contact, the problem is solved and the unit again works very well as a simple switch for the Live and Stack Mode Multis within Omnisphere.

    This unit is just a stage piece for me, used for Live patch switching, but it should work well with DAWs. It is plastic with plastic bits so I do not expect that it will last too long as a road piece but it is inexpensive and if I can get two years out of it, I call that acceptable for money invested.

    Small and light so it fits in a ATA 76 case with my Stage2 no problem. Carry an extra USB mini cable but test them first. I tried two that did not work well and then tried one that was designed for my Numa2 Organ for OS updates. It works great. l

  • Mike
    from michigan March 24, 2016

    Good little Controller

    Good little controller does exactly what it says..do some reading on klinke mod software, works for me in reaper and mixbus

  • Customer
    from January 25, 2016

    Nice, Simple Controller

    This is a high quality unit that does all that it promises. My Daw recognizes it as it should and adds new control options. You can't go wrong with this unit.

  • Brian Barnes
    from Westfield Ma November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Worship team keyboard player

    Solid

    I use Korg NanoKONTROL2 to control Mainstage layers, playback and effects. The knobs and sliders are interchangeable and have always worked flawlessly. The slider knobs have fallen off from time to time when I transported it, so you have to be aware when transferring it around. But its not a big deal. Easy to program, dependable and affordable. Easily handles all my live synths, ableton and more.... and for $50 bucks! Save your $$ for the software and the synth hardware.....you won't be disappointed in this.

  • Customer
    from NY, NY September 3, 2014Music Background:
    vocal/ performance artist

    great instrument

    simple and clear does just what i need it to do and great service from sweet water!

  • Alan
    from July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Just what the controller doctor ordered!

    For quite some time I've waited for the right controller for my rig and I found it. People will constantly asků what is that attached to your keyboard and I tell them it's "Kontrol." The only thing that it needs is to have more banks to allow you to have another 8 or 16 instruments available.

  • Editorman
    from Sc April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician and producer

    Don't last long.....

    Worked great for about a year with EXTREME MINIMAL USE, now not at all. You have to download every little driver just to install it, and many to have to look thru to get the right one. Not the first failure from Korg, I also owned their digital mixer recorder that failed so many times it was discontinued, so they gave me a keyboard in lieu of giving my money back.

  • Phil
    from April 6, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, former pro-sound distributor

    Yes, but...

    Looks like the video reviewed the original, which as the reviewer pointed out, had (9) faders corresponding nicely to (9) organ drawbars. The new model 2 has 8. Oh well? I'm appalled at the controllers I'm seeing now with only (8) faders when so many people are using virtual Hammonds. Really dumb corner-cutting.

  • Adam
    from Boston, MA USA March 25, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Useful but flimsy

    This controller SHOULD be wonderful. It provides enough controls to do basically anything, with buttons, knobs, and faders galore. Unfortunately the fader caps are extremely flimsy and (in my experience) fall off during live use. Too bad. Maybe with some aftermarket fader caps the experience would be better?

  • Gary Bellucci
    from Carlstadt, New Jersey December 31, 2013

    An Unexpected Upgrade!

    Once again the knowledgeable staff at Sweetwater managed to bail me out! I had been using Frontier Design's TRANZPORT to control my DigitalPerformer software. When I upgrade my Mac OS X op sys, I found the TRANZPORT was no longer supported. Being wireless, it allowed me basic DAW control while at my keyboard station without returning to the computer. I was worried I had lost that convenience. Fortunately, Sweetwater turned me on to the Korg nanoKONTROL 2, giving me even more control than before; 8 faders adjustable in groups of 8, pan, solo, mute and record buttons for each. Fast acting, illuminated buttons also control navigation in play, FF, FR and marker location. The unit connects to the Mac with USB which is a small price to pay for this much control. (And it's cool looking!)

  • Customer
    from Seattle,Wa November 2, 2013Music Background:
    Boss

    Korg Awesomeness controller with sliders and buttons

    This thing is great in ableton or such apps.
    the only change i'd make is the mechanical faders, then it'd pretty much be the end all solution for something like this.

    I don't use it much since I got a apc40, but it still works and behaves accordingly

  • Yolchie
    from WV September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing/Production/Multi-Instrumentalist

    Plug & Play!

    I was tired of using my mouse SO MUCH to control all of the parameters for setting levels, pans, play, pause, solo, mute etc. And I REALLY missed the feel of old-school faders while running my DAW (Logic 9)...especially during a MIX. Plugged this puppy in and POOF! It worked flawlessly in an instant! All of the buttons, sliders, and knobs feel nice and smooth as well. A GREAT little addition to the home studio!

  • Daniel Surkis
    from CT July 15, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist musician / engineer

    Looks nice - horrible instructions

    This might be nice if you are a computer hobbyst or have a LOT of spare time. There is firmware, DAW drivers, editors, more secret key combinations than you will ever find and the instructions are poo. It works with Garageband, but I can't re-assign the faders to where I need them. I have not been able to make it work with Reaper yet. Good luck!

  • Carlos Melendez
    from pomona, California July 12, 2013Music Background:
    student Engineer

    Korg nanoKONTROL2

    Great Buy!! Controlling the DAW from the nanoKontrol makes recording easy and fast. Controlling muting, soloing is interactive and controlling levels for multiple tracks at the same time is awesome. Pro features at desktop level. My only Con is the USB cord lenght, the manual says to only use the cable provided.

    not sure what to do with that but... its fine for now.

  • Customer
    from July 7, 2013

    Just what I expected

    Set up fairly quickly with Live and Tracktion 3 for levels and panning, great to mix with ears and not eyes

  • Greig Hutchens
    from INDIANA June 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Instructor

    Great little tool

    This is a cool little tool to add some control to your setup. I am using it with Mainstage mostly - but occasionally with Pro Tools.

    I love having a more tactile control for my B3 patches. It also gives me a quick little mixer for PT when I'm mobile...

  • Michael
    from Dillsburg, PA May 30, 2013Music Background:
    performing musician for over 40 years

    Works great with Mackie/Tracktion software

    This thing works like a charm, and for this low price what's not to love? Was a little tricky at first trying to get it to work with Tracktion3 since it wasn't listed as a compatible DAW in the userguide. Was able to set each parameter individually following the instructions for "Other DAW Software". Very pleased and impressed!

  • Krystof Srebrakowski
    from Florida May 20, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician /pianist / composer

    Great little MIDI controller !

    I absolutely love nanoKONTROL 2. I was looking for something small, portable, but still very functional. My goal was to control CC# messages of virtual instruments within DAW with faders, buttons and knobs. Control all parameters, including B-3 organ bars. The amount of data that you have at your fingertips to control with nano is just what you really need. The faders and knobs feel sturdy, and durable. All parameters are assigned easily within the computer ( connected via included USB cable). You can easily assign any parameter to any button, knob or fader and save your customized settings. If you are looking for a USB MIDI controller that can serve both in the studio and on the road - Korg nanoKONTROL 2 is clearly the perfect choice.

  • Stephen Iverson
    from Camden, Delaware April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It works flawlessly

    The Korg nanoKontrol2 exceeds my expectations. I set it up to control my daw near my recording mic. It allows me to adjust all the necessary controls to record and re record as necessary with out going to the computer. After a little reading it was easy to program all the controls to function for my use. I use it on my Reaper software, but I'm sure it will work on others.

  • Larry Dunsmore
    from February 9, 2013Music Background:
    composer/orchestrator/entertainer

    Brilliant!

    I wasn't sure if I really needed this but for Sweetwater's great deal I thought what the heck! And now I can't work without it! Great little device, does precisely what it says it does and more importantly what I hoped it would. Life is better...!

    Thanks yet again to Tom Maxwell meeting the delivery deadline and getting it to me in the nick of time. Sweetwater is undoubtedly the store other companies can only aspire to be!

  • Randy Smith
    from Northern Califronia January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, hobbyist, synth crazed!

    Great Product!!

    For the price you cannot beat the NanoKontrol2 as both a mixer for your DAW or control surface for soft synths. With the programming software Korg puts out for their nano products the bang for the buck is stellar. All products should be designed this well. This is my second nano product purchase and both have served me well. Perfect for the desktop or laptop studio.

  • Ralph
    from Bronx N.Y. August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/ Semi Pro Musician

    Korg nanoKontrol 2

    If you like the feel of actual controls (ie: Faders / Pan knobs ) when you Mix rather than a mouse ,then this is for you.
    It speeds up my work flow , and is small enough to sit on top of your keyboard when your done.
    I gave it only 4 stars because you can't pan a stereo track with it.
    But for the price it's perfect for any Progect Studio.

  • Ralph
    from Bronx N.Y. August 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/ Semi Pro Musician

    Korg nanoKontrol 2

    If you like the feel of actual controls (ie: Faders / Pan knobs ) when you Mix rather than a mouse ,then this is for you.
    It speeds up my work flow , and is small enough to sit on top of your keyboard when your done.
    I gave it only 4 stars because you can't pan a stereo track with it.
    But for the price it's perfect for any Progect Studio.

  • davis salks
    from hamburg, pa July 9, 2012Music Background:
    music software development, amateur music production

    very good units, some USB quirkyness

    everything works as expected. USB is somewhat quirky via USB hub. I'm connecting four Korg nano's through korg's own USB hub, and experiencing loose connections. When this happens, all nano's go down requiring a PC reboot and sometimes a notification that the USB driver needs to be installed. I tied-down all physical connections to the hub on a piece of egg-crateing which helps a lot. Will be looking to use a powered USB hub next. Otherwise, the nano controllers work very well and have very good response, and will continue to purchase more of these units.

  • Customer
    from L.A. June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Producer, Recording Engineer, Keyboardist

    Sturdy Inexpensive Controller

    Not great for controlling your DAW. The sliders control volume faders in the mixer, but since they are not motor controlled you can't do smooth volume moves. If you accidentally bump one in mix mode you can wreck the automation.

    Great in CC mode for controlling drawbars, knobs, etc. via programming with the included editor.

    For Logic, you must use "Other DAW software" instructions to set Kontrol2 to CC.

  • Scott Sundberg
    from Spring Arbor, MI May 26, 2012Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Simple And Effective!

    Not much more to say than my title! You plug it in, select it from your DAW's profile, and away you go. A terrific controller for very little money.

  • Jon M
    from North Carolina, USA March 31, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Kontrol. Unbeatable Price!!!

    Consider me bias, in that, I have never been dissappionted in any Korg products that I've purchased. Not that i haven't drueled over many attractive midi controllers from Novation and Akia, which deliver a superb product as well, but i just needed some extra controls and really wanted something that was out of my price range, for now... So as cheap as the cost is for this controller, its made a great hold me over 'til I can get what my heart truely desires. I have been very pleased and will still continue to use with live performances because its compact design gives plenty of choices, when room is limited. KORG IS BASICALLY GIVING THEM AWAY AT THAT PRICE, WHY WOULDN'T YOU WANT TO GET IT? IF NOTHING ELSE, YOU COULD HAVE IT AS A BACK-UP CONTROLLER FOR WHEN YOU JUST NEED A COUPLE EXTRA HANDS ON CONTROLS. I use: hp -Envy, intel i7, 8GB RAM, windows 7, FL Studio(My Favorite Software Ever!!!), & every thing works great!! I mapped controller using downloadable "Korg Kontrol Editor" in no time. I have a Korg microKontrol & Korg Pad Kontrol, so mapping was more or less a exstention to current midi mapping set-up (to expand my microKontrols' 8 Faders,just always need more it seems like).Also includes a software pack, i already owned a lot of the stuff on it, but still makes a great added bonus. If you added up the cost of included software titles, it would probably be enough money to buy 2 nanoKontrol2's. Like I said, its pretty much a no brainer. I'd give it a 5 star rating if I could string multiple NanoKontrol2's together, like the option on nanoKEYS2.

  • Paul
    from W. Virginia March 28, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Unbeliveable

    If anyone can fuss about this little unit, I dont see how. For the money I have had more fun this then I have had in a long time , I am a drummer of 48 years and may never use a kit again.

  • Rufus Johnson
    from Richmond, VA October 28, 2011Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter, Producer, Musician

    Nice piece!!

    This thing is very handy when trying to record without having to always reach for the mouse and keyboard...really makes the workflow easier. For the price, you can't go wrong!!

  • Johnathan
    from Michigan September 9, 2011Music Background:
    Active musician

    Go crazy!

    All kinds of fun with this bit of gear...

    Eight sliders, eight knobs, 24 buttons, and as many possibilities as you can shake a DAW at. I use mine with PropellerHead Reason. Making the map for Reason for this controller wasn't hard, but buyer beware: Reason only comes with a map for the old nanoKontrol, and the CC#'s are different with this one. As long as you don't mind digging into your program and programming it for your new nanoKontrol if it's not already supported, go for it.

    For being small and plastic-y, it feels remarkably solid. The knobs have a respectable amount of resistance - not so much that you can't turn them quickly, but not so little that you can't make smooth adjustments. The sliders have less resistance, but it fits with the size of the slider and the throw length. Love it or hate it, all the buttons are rubbery silicon-type buttons, and almost all of them light up (the ones that are lit in the pic are the only ones that'll light up).

    Only negative thing is that the knobs markers (to show which direction it's pointing) are very dark and you probably won't be able to tell unless you twiddle them, see a reference to the direction in your DAW, or are in a well lit studio. For stage use, it's easily fixed with a dab of bright gaff tape and a pen mark on the tape in the groove where the pointer is. Not really a condemning point, but take notice if you don't have access to something bright to mark it with.

  • Matt McNair
    from Santa Cruz CA, May 25, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Eng, Guitarist and Loop Freak.

    Little faders and knobs (Way cool)

    The good

    1. For the price you can't possibly go wrong
    2. Even for the price the functionality is great
    3.It's built really well and is compact but useful
    4.The included MIDI editor is half of the functionality and is eazy to understand.

    The Bad

    1. The faders seem a bit sensitive but I think that has to do with the small through
    2. The pots would be much more useful if they were encoders instead. Especially if it is used in managing synth and/or sampler controls. They jump when activated to what ever position the pot is at.

    I got two for my live set up... I use one as a dedicated DAW control for Live, and the other to map to customer VST controls. If you have mixing requirements for your live setup but need to minimize your footprint, this is a must have. Not for serious mixing due to the fader size.

    All and all a great value and a must have.

Questions about the Korg nanoKONTROL2 - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway