0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Korg nanoKEY2 Keyboard Controller - Black Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg nanoKEY2 Keyboard Controller - Black?

Questions about the Korg nanoKEY2 Keyboard Controller - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • David Bailey
    from New Hampshire, USA February 27, 2017Music Background:
    Professional trumpeter and private lesson teacher and composer/arranger.

    Great keyboard for travelling!

    I used to own one of the original nanoKey keyboard controllers but it had eventually died from all the travelling with it that i did. So after having tried some other small keyboard controllers I decided to try this second-generation nanoKey2 and I love it. It has all the functionality of the first generation, but the key construction is much more rugged so it travels better. I use it for entering music into my notation programs (I primarily use Sibelius but I also have Finale, MuseScore and the new Dorico) and this is ideal. I don't play the music into the programs in real time -- I step-enter it and this is great for that purpose. It works well with DAWs also. It fits into whatever briefcase or backpack I am carrying my computer in. It's not a performance oriented keyboard, although with some practice it would be fine for playing single-line music much like a melodica. I find it's the best product on the market for the purposes I need it for.

  • David Swigert
    from Dublin, OH August 22, 2015

    This thing rocks!

    I ordered this as well as a few other things and had it the next day! I didn't pay for any extra shipping! I'm just blown away by the amazing service!

    Now for the actual product. I use it with Garageband primarily and let me tell you, its freaking amazing! Highly recommended. Do not hesitate!

  • Mr G
    from August 18, 2015Music Background:
    Film and TV writer composer producer.

    Shame On Me!

    I should have gotten in here sooner to write a review for this awesome little keyboard. I'm not a keyboardist my bag is guitar but when I need a midi controller on the road that's compact and ready to trigger drums and synth sounds this one works great. I'm amazed at what you get for the price and how nicely it fits into my computer bag. I would buy it again without question.

  • Rob
    from South Carolina September 22, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Technical Engineer

    Perfected!

    The nanokey2 is simply a perfection of the first nanokey. No more keys breaking or popping off. Great MIDI controller.

  • Customer
    from Piteň, Sweden December 7, 2011Music Background:
    percussionist, computer musician

    Cute keyboard, works nicely with iPad

    Extremely light and thin. I carry it around a lot and basically forget about it in my bag.

    Works nicely with iPad using the camera connection kit.

    Velocity is not super sensitive, but it works.

    Keys are kind of loud, like a loose computer keyboard. but it's bearable.

  • Greg
    from NC January 15, 2013Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    Nice

    The Korg nanoKey2 is compact and it does everything I need. If had to buy it again, I most definitely would!!!

  • Pearse Scudder
    from Dayton, OH USA June 17, 2012Music Background:
    DJ, Band Leader, Gear Nut, Electronic Music Producer

    Korg nanoKEY2: innocent to the untrained eye...

    I bought this keyboard on an extremely tight budget and found it to be a little more than what I expected. The basic statement is that you are getting what you pay for. The USB MIDI driver was a sinch to install and route to the controller and the editor software has a great basic MIDI clock. So yeah, it's not a proffesinal studio choice, but gets stuff done well on the go whether your in a coffee shop or on a plane, the nanoKEY2 likes to show off its portability. It's great how it is bus-fed power through the USB link. For my rig, stage and studio, I used it for Native Instruments software like Reaktor, Massive, and FM8 (my superman), but I found it useful that it is versitile enough for sampling and even can be used for drum triggers for programs like Battery 3. The keys have no feel, but are velocity sensitive. But the price makes up for the no feel. So overall, it is a great portable solution to on-the-go music making and has earned a spot in my studio-in-a-backpack and on my stage rig. I am now attempting DAW trials, but for production like that, leave it to the bigger brothers like the Axioms.

  • Pearse Scudder
    from Dayton, OH USA June 17, 2012Music Background:
    DJ, Band Leader, Gear Nut, Electronic Music Producer

    Korg nanoKEY2: innocent to the untrained eye...

    I bought this keyboard on an extremely tight budget and found it to be a little more than what I expected. The basic statement is that you are getting what you pay for. The USB MIDI driver was a sinch to install and route to the controller and the editor software has a great basic MIDI clock. So yeah, it's not a proffesinal studio choice, but gets stuff done well on the go whether your in a coffee shop or on a plane, the nanoKEY2 likes to show off its portability. It's great how it is bus-fed power through the USB link. For my rig, stage and studio, I used it for Native Instruments software like Reaktor, Massive, and FM8 (my superman), but I found it useful that it is versitile enough for sampling and even can be used for drum triggers for programs like Battery 3. The keys have no feel, but are velocity sensitive. But the price makes up for the no feel. So overall, it is a great portable solution to on-the-go music making and has earned a spot in my studio-in-a-backpack and on my stage rig. I am now attempting DAW trials, but for production like that, leave it to the bigger brothers like the Axioms.

  • Mike T
    from San Diego December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Korg nanoKey2

    Works well on my 2009 Mac Mini with Garageband 9. It did not work with my older 1.42 Ghz PPC Mac Mini, it just bleeps sound weakly.

    The bundled software (Korg M1 and EZdrummer) is a pain to install. They make you jump through hoops with Key codes, authorizations codes, passwords,
    verification codes, computer ID's, locking codes license codes, PIN keys... After the trauma of installing, these two peices of software seem to have value though.

    I like the action and sensitivity of the keys. Playing chords on the cramped little button-keys is awkward.

  • drone jockey
    from Kentucky May 15, 2011Music Background:
    professional hobbyist

    vast improvment

    I have the first white versions of the nanoKey, Kontrol and Pad. The nanoKontrol and nanoPad are excellent products. The nanoKey was the letdown of the bunch. The key action was really bad and I flipped a couple of the keys off the controller while playing. I was able to reattach the keys, but it put the breaks on what was otherwise a productive session. The nanoKey2 is vastly superior. The keys are still more like a laptop keyboard than a synth, but i am not worried about having them fly off while I'm playing. If you are looking for a mini-keyboard controller for a small pricetag, I would give this one a try.

  • Carroll Bassett
    from SE WV February 24, 2012Music Background:
    Occasional player

    nanoKey2 review

    I bought this to go along with my MacBook Air and am generally pleased but would get a larger real keyboard if I had to do it again. Works seamlessly with Garage Band. I am a very amateur musician so I will not criticize any further as I am not really qualified but I am having fun with this new "toy".

  • Mike Abelson
    from Pittsburgh PA September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Classical composer and arranger

    So you think you want this controller!?

    The width of the individual keys is about the only thing this Korg has going for it. They are almost as wide as full-sized keys. In practice, though, the controller is useless. It requires a very forceful touch to achieve a high velocity, the feel is like pushing your index finger through a raw chicken, the resulting tones are pretty much either very loud or very soft, so playing expressively is out. Also, there is no way to assign the keyboard to a particular midi channel, so it is useless for auditioning patches. A total waste of money. I have ordered an Alesis. It has to be better than this thing.

Questions about the Korg nanoKEY2 Keyboard Controller - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway