0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
24 Day Giveaway

Korg monotron DELAY Analog Ribbon Synthesizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg monotron DELAY Analog Ribbon Synthesizer?

Questions about the Korg monotron DELAY Analog Ribbon Synthesizer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Bay Area January 11, 2017Music Background:
    Home recording, touring musician, hobbiest

    One of the best gifts I've ever recieved

    This thing is so fun! Keep in mind it's a one trick pony but some of the best things are. I'm also a person who could mess with just a delay pedal and guitar for hours. Running things through it is awesome - for me that's my MS-20 Mini, which up until this point has been a pain pairing with any other effects/equipment because of those **** mini jacks but these two were made for each other. No extra power supply or big 1/4" adaptor just sits right next to it or on top. Same goes for iphone/ipad apps - perfectly small and toylike for those kinds of applications. Don't have any of the Volcas but if I did this would be a must have.

    Pro tip: great for hooking up and getting noisy at parties.

  • from ChattanoogaTennessee September 24, 2016

    Better than the english language.

    not exactly the most precise musical instrument but one of the most entertaining knobbed black box you can buy for under $50.

  • from September 11, 2016

    A real synth

    Great low end and a true analog delay

  • from Manhattan June 10, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/sound engineer

    Monotron delay review

    I love this piece of gear. It has a rich warm analog tone. Easy to use straight out of the box. Great for live performance or recording into your favorite DAW.

  • from Chicago April 28, 2016Music Background:
    Producer Engineer Performer

    Way cool

    This lil thing is capable of amazing sounds. It instantly found a place in 3 songs I produced the day it arrived. Great for cool transitions but also an awesome inspiration tool.

  • from July 15, 2015

    Excellent as a filter and inexpensive delay.

    With the MS-20 filter built in and the delay with it, the Monotron Delay is excellent as a gritty filtering and spacial effects device. Run a Volca Beats through it's filter and rediscover why they were so fun to begin with.

  • from October 27, 2014

    NICE!

    space sound!! love it!!

  • from Atlanta June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Experimenter, producer, noise guy

    Get it one now. Get TWO!

    This little weirdo is the most bang for the buck I've gotten in a while. Great for drones, noise beds, sampling, you name it. The delay is amazing. I use everything from vintage analog to modular to high-end virtual synths to iPad stuff, and this little guy winds on price to capability ratio.

  • from Mass March 7, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Rec Engineer

    Too much fun!!

    Too much fun in a handheld analog synth for anyone! Very cool sounds, 1/8 inch headphone and aux ( I hooked in up to my car stereo on the way to work today!) Will try and hook it up to my guitar rig tonite. Very addictive!!!

  • from Venice, Florida USA February 23, 2012Music Background:
    experimental, electronic

    Another cool product from KORG

    Thanks to A.J. Peterson for being there to always make a smooth sale. KORG monotron delay = awesome little noise box. That about sums it up.

  • from Arizona March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Mini Monster!

    This thing is a blast. It's a mini sound FX monster. It's basically like having the soundtrack to Forbidden Planet in a box the size of a large smart phone. It's also quite amazing just how much variation you can get, given the minimal controls. Build quality is also surprisingly good. The creaky plastic case and wiggly knobs I expected before purchase are both pleasantly absent.

    As far as the audible output hiss, yes, it is definitely there, but I don't see it as a negative at all. It adds a nice dirty, grungy quality to the sound that somehow "fits" this little guy. It also add a lot of character to the delay feedback in its own right. In fact, having grown up listening to LPs and cassettes, I find the hiss brings back good memories of my youth. I also see the multi-octave ribbon as a plus, considering this box's obvious dedication to bizarre sound fx. It allows really beautiful and dramatic cascading note effects that really fit the character of this particular memeber of the Monotron series.

    The only real complaint I can level at this device is that the built-in speaker is not up to the task. Low notes are nearly inaudible and the speaker buzzes and distorts when you get to wild with the delay feedback. Not a huge deal, as I plan to run this through my mixer and powered monitors 90% of the time, and a good set of phones or buds takes care of the issue for on-the-go use.

    As in the past, dealing with Sweetwater was a pleasure. Excellent communication via phone and email, fast shipping, and even a handful of candy in the shipping box. You can't go wrong with Sweetwater. Thanks, guys!

    Now of Korg would only grant my wish for a Monotribe Plus with two oscillators, a dedicated S&H section, and two 16 step tracks for the synth section...Ah, well...

  • from drexel hill, PA March 14, 2013Music Background:
    sound sculptor

    the cherry on top!

    i have all three monotrons and the monotribe and each one is hours of awesome fun on their own as well as hooked up together. yes the delay does add some noise to the signal, but the analog delay on this thing negates any complaint. wicked awesome delay adds depth and dimension to any sound going thru this. did i forget the cuttoff filter... another added bonus! buy it!!

  • from Plumas Lake, CA USA February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Beat Maker, Recording Engineer

    Great Delay!

    I bought this just to have a smaller Korg synth and was blown. With the sound effects you can create with it. This small synth is so much fun.

  • from Missoula, MT November 16, 2012Music Background:
    Saxophonist, composer

    A lot of fun.

    This is a fun little piece. It does need to be used in tandem with other gadgets, otherwise it is just a noise maker. A super fun noise maker though it is.

  • from Tampa Florida March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Mixing and Mastering Engineer, Producer, Studio Recording Artist, Songwriter

    Sorry for the DELAY

    Awesome little piece of equipment, I mainly use it for Song Intros for Live gigs... works perfectly, just wish that you could set the Time of the delay or the Rate to a set BPM... that my only wish. But still, it's worth it, just to play around if nothing else. In fact, my son won't stop playing...

  • from February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Monotron Delay

    Love this little machine. Since starting it up fresh out of the box a month ago, it's been my little noisy companion. The device is small enough to go anywhere, anytime, and the headphone jack lets you create sounds in my own private audio space.
    Rated 3.5/5 because the output isn't balanced super well—the signal can be really soft or really hot depending on how the parameters are played with. Self-oscillating maxes the output and really distorts the signal, which isn't necessarily a bad thing once you learn how to control the unit.
    I tried running my keyboard through the input to play with the delay and filter, but was disappointed to find that the signal clips at a very low level.
    The worst thing is the noise level compared to the actual line signal. It's not necessarily noticeable running through the built-in speaker, but through headphones or running to an amp or recording interface, the incessant hiss is kind of annoying.
    Still, this is a great little analog noise toy that's a cheap and fun way to mess around with sound! Lots of fun features for a compact and cheap device, but not even close to something that's 'studio quality.'

Questions about the Korg monotron DELAY Analog Ribbon Synthesizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway