rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Fulltone Custom Shop MDV-3 Mini DejaVibe 3 Vintage Rotary Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Fulltone Custom Shop MDV-3 Mini DejaVibe 3 Vintage Rotary Pedal?

Questions about the Fulltone Custom Shop MDV-3 Mini DejaVibe 3 Vintage Rotary Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Broken Arrow, OK February 18, 2017Music Background:
    Semi-pro, Hobbyist, Weekend Warrior

    The Vibe search is over!

    I've tried several different pedals attempting to get that Hendrix & Trower "Univibe" sound. I have an old Dunlop Uni-Vibe Stereo Chorus which got me close for several years but always seemed to cut some of my mids out, plus no way to control speed with an expression pedal. Other pedals I tried were basically just glorified phaser pedals.

    When the Lester G came out recently, I bought that with an expression pedal...I figured since the original 60s Univibe was an attempt to imitate the Leslie sound, this would be just the ticket for me. While the Lester G was very impressive and to me sounded just like a real Leslie, I soon realized it was too close and still didn't have that Univibe sound. On cleans, it was phenomenal, but not what I was looking for on my fuzz and overdriven Marshall tones.

    Don't know why it took me so long to look into it but I finally decided to find out what Robin Trower currently uses. When he came through on tour recently, I got a good look at his pedalboard and this was the baby that was on there! After researching it, I figured out this is the closest clone of the original Univibe circuit available today, so had to try it. It's perfect! Placed into the front of my Marshall, it doesn't get better than this! I still run the old Dunlop Uni-Vibe in the fx loop for a different sound but this is THE vibe tone I've been searching for.

  • from N.Y. November 7, 2016

    Nails It...

    I've been a vibe freak since it's inception. Played 'em all from the original to dressed up phasers posing as vibes. For me The Fulltone sounds / performs the best. I own a few versions both mini and pedal. They're all solidly built with quality components and they sound greaI. I've never had issues either. I use the pedal version mostly for it's simplicity and foot control on the fly. Excellent pedal!

  • from Cleveland OH October 30, 2015

    Excellent Pedal

    It does everything that it is supposed to do. Sounds great and built like a tank.

  • from Bedford, NY September 22, 2015

    Fulltone MDV-3 returning to Sonic Excellence!

    I have owned 3 "Deja Vibes" since 2001. The first #521 is one of my favorite pedals to this day and you can't get that sound in Fuller's newer pedals. I wanted a backup in 2010 when the new MDV-2 came out. I was seriously unimpressed with that unit! It was sterile sounding and had no authority IMO, plus the deep lush sound that I got from my original 2001 was completely missing from the MDV-2, so I shelved it and never played it again.

    Enter the MDV-3. Wow! What an difference this newer version is from Mark 2! It is Lush, deep and rich sounding. Sounds great clean and with dirt. I never want to turn it off! The MDV-3 gets full ranking stars here. This has to be one of the very best pedals that Mike has ever issued! I will be getting another as a back up because I love the MDV-3 so much!

  • from Long Island, NY September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Gigging Musician, Producer

    One hell of a pedal

    It's rare for me to offer a 5.0 star rating, i feel even if you are blown away you should never rate something at the best level, just out of principal. The MDV-3 delivers, and i may add sings. I am using this with keyboards (fender rhodes patches primarily), it really has a complex, unique and convincing sound to it. The build quality is fantastic and feels like it can withstand a beating, the sound is lush and for those of you concerned about precious pedal board real estate its footprint is minimal! Despite being a relatively pricey unit, (in my opinion) I would confidently say its worth every penny. Normally when offering a review I like to be "objective" and offer at least one critique or constructive criticism. I'm really going out of my way here to do so but since I want to I will say this, the output (volume) even when set to "Max" is slightly lower than my original signal, but its far from a deal breaker in this case. Fulltone has truly made an authentic and convincing uni-vibe.

  • from Sacramento, CA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Longtime hobbyist and band player

    Fulltone Mini-Deja Vibe 3 is a step above other vibe units

    Everyone else has spoken about the special tonality of the unit, so I'll try and talk about some of the other noteworthy features. I tried other vibe effects and one of the issues I've seen on other foot treadle controlled units is, in order to turn the unit ON & OFF, you have to rock your heel back to actuate the switch. This changes the sweep rate! Not very convenient if you want to keep a particular setting.

    The MDV-3 has a nifty cut-out section of the rear treadle.... it allows traditional shut-off or turn-on by rocking your heel back.....BUT, IF YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR SETTING, YOU CAN JUST TAP YOUR TOE ON THE BUTTON AND NOT DISTURB THE TREADLE POSITION! That is worth the price of admission, folks. Thoughtfully designed......it should be on wah pedals!

    Let me also say the build quality is fabulous. The pots and switches feel robust and smooth. The treadle itself can be fine-tuned to the stiffness you desire.. Attractive blue hammer tone finish.

    In closing, I guess I will comment once that the tone is "roiling and corpulent".......it bubbles with swishy goodness. Low end response is deep.

  • from American Canyon, CA March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Been to the mountain

    Get it while you can

    Don't know how long they will have the custom parts for these, but this is the REAL DEAL. I have bought and tried every "univibe" unit out there and this is by far the best. Engaging pedal is very close to original signal tone and level. Tons of speed "headroom". I play this in front of 2 distortion, 1 Compressor/sustainer, an MXR Chorus, a Big Sky reverb, an Eventide delay, into two Marshall 50 watters. Absolutely fantastic!!! This is my first and only musical equipment review. Mojo Vibe, anyone? BTW Sweetwater is also awesome!! :)

  • from america March 10, 2014Music Background:
    weekend guitar player

    fulltone mdv3

    if you want that Johnny Winter from the Captured live album sound, this is what you need. If you want the best chorus pedal you've ever had, this is what you need.

  • from Youngstown, Ohio February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and all around gear nut.

    Custom Shop quality!

    An excellent take on the vintage Uni-Vibe! Amazing sound and build quality that far surpasses any Uni-Vibe clone that I have used before including the Dunlop Rotovibe, Dunlop Uni-Vibe and even the Fulltone MDV-2 which came before it.

  • from N TX January 6, 2014Music Background:
    heavy fusion player retired from live gigs doing studio stuff

    The real deal Vibe

    This is an optimized revamping of the real Univibe photocell circuit, unlike many vibe pedals it has a 4 cell/lamp circuit using NOS transistors and Fullers long life pot and quality build. A vibe is what you do with it and how you set your drive and amp. This puppy renders warbly pulse into feedback Trower as well as a brighter Hendrix "Hey Baby" tone. If you want the real Univibe circuit optimized to 2014 tech, this is it. This version 3 allows the speed setting to remain when turning on and off. Fuller has some epic pedals in his line this is one of the best.

  • from N Dallas TX January 3, 2014Music Background:
    decades heavy fusion, private studio, tone maven

    Fullerhe updates the Univibe again

    What sets a vibe apart from others is how many photocells does it use, some have just one and use an LED source instead of the lamp the original had plus the 4 photocell of the original.
    Mike Fuller is responsible for resurrecting the real Univibe circuit, using original NOS transistors and custom spec'd out cells. his long life pot and superior bypass no noise circuit. It's the real deal, most vibes sound good and one can argue to death which one to use. Compared to the version 1 deja I had, this one gets a little brighter. deeper phasing and the speed can go slower and faster than usual. Built to last and quality from A to Z, There might be a lot of other vibes out there and many great units. This is the real deal and it is all how you use it, into the right OD it is a touch of coolness nothing else renders. I have returned to using more Fulltone, Mike just has some epic pedals in his line.

  • from Austin October 23, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-retired pro, clubs to arenas, studio production, etc.

    Very close to the original

    Having owned and used an original Univibe for over 20 years (to the point it could no longer be repaired), I spent another 20 years wondering if any of the many (many) offerings of Univibe clones could match the original, the Fulltone is the closest I've ever seen. The difference can be heard in the way that it slams and hangs for a tick at both ends of the cycle. The wannabe pedals are more of a sine wave (which is also one of the reason why most chorus pedals can become so boring). I used the original with my classic Marshall half stack, my original Mark IIc Boogie combo, and to a lesser extent with my Boogie Mark III Coliseum 300 (not enough monster gigs to justify the Coliseum) - and the Univibe was perfect with all three. The Fulltone univibe clone is the very best I've found and on all of my three amps, it does a fantastic job. if you can ever work Machine Gun into your set and you are at a venue where you can crank it up, you would swear that you were at the Fillmore East with Billy Cox and Buddy Miles. Great pedal.

  • from fresno, ca September 19, 2014Music Background:
    classic rock cover band, recording hobbyist

    Fulltone Univibe makes it on the pedal board

    It sounds as good as I hoped it would sound. I found it works best in front of the amp. I have it last in the chain after overdrive pedals. I tried it thru the effects loop, but it was too much of an influence, and overpowering when engaged. It's pricey, but sure sounds swell. I like that it is easily powered with the most common power supply plug too. If it was cheaper I would give it 5 stars.

Questions about the Fulltone Custom Shop MDV-3 Mini DejaVibe 3 Vintage Rotary Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway