0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

MOTU micro lite Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the MOTU micro lite?

Questions about the MOTU micro lite?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 18, 2017Music Background:
    Electronic

    The Answer To All Your M1D1 Woes

    This thing is built like a tank and it works like a beaut. It's plug and play on Mac and fixed all the timing issues I was running into running through my MIDI controller. MOTU has been an industry standard for MIDI for many years. Tons of pros use it, so should you!

  • from December 14, 2016

    Mine came DOA

    Sorry to spoil the chain of glowing reviews, but mine came DOA. Mac Midi Studio recognized the device but as soon as I started a DAW or Clockworks it said it couldn't detect the USB connection. Confirmed with many other cables, USB hubs, and two other computers. Yes I had the latest drivers for Win 10 and MacOS Sierra. POS, but Sweetwater tech support gave me absolutely no guff and immediately gave me a return/refund, which makes me think they have had a few DOAs before.

  • from Maryland February 26, 2016Music Background:
    Producer and artist.

    Nice Product

    This product is a must have. Great if you have V-Drums. One long midi cable and you're off to the races.

  • from Milwaukee March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Good reliable midi interface

    this is a nice easy to use midi interface. only criticism is that the promotional materials led me to believe that it was rackmountable which it is not - unless you purchase a second 1/2 space micro lite.

  • from New York City February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Totally awesome!

    I own a professional home recording studio. For many years I sequenced via my Korg M3 88. The M3 controlled all my external sound modules. Recently, I decided it was time to invest in a D.A.W. I use the the D.A.W. Primarily for sequencing. I now was in need of a midi interface to trigger my external sound modules and synths. I opted for the micro lite. I must say I was impressed. Works seamlessly with my D.A.W. Easy set up and sufficient channels for all my external midi equipment. I am extremely satisfied and recommend this product. Looks sleek and looks good with the rest of my babies. Good luck!

  • from Cincinnati, OH January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio enthusiast

    Great MIDI device

    Needed something with more than 2 ins/2 outs without overspending on something too large. This fit the bill well. Installation was very simple, software drivers have been rock solid, and my DAW could access the MIDI ports without any manual intervention. The device works better than I expected and has certainly lived up to MOTU's reputation.

  • from San Josť, Costa Rica July 12, 2013Music Background:
    Music teacher, studio musician.

    Fast and easy.

    ultra efficient and easy to setup and administrate.

    Works fantastic in cubase 7

  • from San Angelo, tx March 28, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyest, noise maker, with rare live performances,

    Its not MIDI-ocre.

    This device is so straitforeward I almost feel like a jerk for wanting to devise a new use for it, FL studio's routing options with it make it priceless and of course its giving me the ability to connect another 5 devices to my hybrid studio vs just on or daisy chaining with a ultralite mk 3 which I paired it with, whats not in the description is that this includes the mounting kit to connect with other half racks sold by MOTU. Its built solidly and its an important part of my studio and portable needs of my setup.

    4 stars as it does what it says, since it doesnt make breakfast in the morn or buy me a surplus of lottory tickets, I have a hard time getting it its 5th star. It works, and does what its supposed to do. I am happy with it.

  • from San Angelo, tx February 26, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyest, noise maker, with rare live performances,

    If only all midi devices were this simple!

    No knobs, no buttons, just install drivers, plug in, connect to appropreate devices, assign Midi port on FL Studio and dont even bat an eye if you're taking it on the road, its built like a tank, complements other MOTU half rack gear well (like my MOTU Ultralite mk3) and gives me a mobile road ready solution to a problem faced within my studio; Which was how to add another 5 midi ins and outs to my mobil studio or add 5 midi ins and outs for home composition. More live gear for toting along and sends midi control messages to my gear without error.

  • from February 12, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, composer, sound designer, equipment designer, live sound tech

    MOTU micro lite

    It was what I was looking for. I have more than one keyboard controller and it works with all controllers great. I use my 49 key controller at the computer to audition the sounds, then use the new 88es to play.

  • from United States December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Home Recording Engineer

    Review of MOTU Micro Lite Interface

    I bought this to replace a Midisport 4X4 because it doesn't work with Win 7.
    I am completely satisfied with the MOTU because it works perfectly with all of my gear and my new Win 7 64 bit system.

  • from baltimore maryland December 6, 2012Music Background:
    engineer

    still working on it but looks like it will work out fine

    I am not expecting any troubles,

  • from Mumbai India October 15, 2012Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    Just what I needed

    Had a couple of times when it didn't detect ..Couldn't really figure out why but otherwise when it works it works great.

  • from Wyomissing, PA September 19, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician/bandleader/songwriter/engineer

    Does what it's supposed to - what else can I say?

    Had to order this because Apple bought out Emagic years ago and of course they wouldn't make drivers for my Unitor8 and AMT midi interfaces, which I loved and paid lots of money for. Of course I also lost support and updates for Logic Audio at the same time, which left a bad taste in my mouth about them.

    Anyways, I bought this so I could use Windows7 in the studio and what can I say? It installed without a hitch, the setup screens are fully idiot-proof and it just works, which is all I want. I never have to think about this piece of equipment; it's just THERE - doing its job - and I can devote my full attention to figuring out where Cakewalk moved all my SONAR shortcuts to in SONAR X1, which takes a LOT of attention!

    Don't hesitate if this is what you need. No worries, no surprises. Good stuff at a good price.

  • from Rockville MD USA August 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, pipe organ enthusiast

    Plug and Play MIDI integration

    Port structure allows me to have 2 MIDI devices which send on channel 1 to be handled separately, while routing inputs to outputs. No channel mapping required - awesome!

  • from Lawson, MO USA October 19, 2011Music Background:
    Student, Pro Musician, Home Recording Engineer

    Works Like a Charm

    I've had several problems with MIDI I/O devices in the past and this was a cheap and flawless device to fix those problems. With most other devices MIDI notes can stick and mess up everything. So far I have not had this problem with the Micro lite. I'm even running it along side two exterior sound cards that I am using as an audio aggregate device and they are all working together without a hiccup.

    I really needed this for live shows, so that I don't have to haul around expensive keyboards just to have a midi controller to hook up to my computer. Now I don't have to worry about breaking my good controllers because I can use any controller with a MIDI out port.

    Even better yet, it includes a half rack combination kit to combine with another half rack device.

  • from san francisco ca, USA October 18, 2011Music Background:
    semi pro musician

    5x5 motu

    perfect. just what the doctor ordered. i just have to get use to perfecting my egnigma through my keyboard controller. thanks

  • from Antelope, CA July 26, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Motu for me

    I had an Emagic 2 in 4 out and 2 usb I/o single ports and wanted to have just one i/o for all midi. Using Cubase, this Motu pluged in, I renamed the port devices in cubase to each in and out and it's working great and if I switch to my I7 - Windows 7 computer it should work fine. Working on XP now. Love it and it's a simple IO that cubase see's no problem. Wtih old setup I would have midi timing issues every once in a while and wanted to have one device to rule in or out of the problem. Can't say I've had any issues with Motu. Exactly what I wanted.

  • from Singapore October 11, 2006Music Background:
    Professional Hobbyist

    microlite

    A competent, set-and-forget interface. Bus-powered, so there's no wall wart. Absolutely reliable performance on MacOSX, and a good value on a dollar per port basis.

  • from Denver April 12, 2006

    MOTU MicroLite 5x5 USB Interface is splendid

    I replaced a joystick midi interface with the MOTU USB 5x5. It was easy! My Edirol control surface works with Sonar4. Yamaha & Korg keyboards, drum pad, soft synths - all working just fine. Only gripe is the USB driver for WinXP is not "certified" by Microsoft.

Questions about the MOTU micro lite?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway