0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Korg microKEY37 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • from Nashua, NH February 4, 2016

    Great keyboard, doesn't work with iPad without a powered USB hub

    As a keyboard it is very nice, great for data input into notation programs on my PC. However I'm returning it because I primarily wanted it as a traveling keyboard to work with my iPadPro, and when I plugged it into the iPad I immediately received an error message that it draws too much power and won't work. It turns out that to use it with an iPad in addition to the Apple Camera Connection Kit you also need a powered USB hub. Which negates any notion of "portability." So I'm returning it and ordering the microKEYAir37, which works via bluetooth. Unfortunately it's $45 more, but to me it's worth it for the portability.

    The construction of this keyboard is solid, the response is great (with my PC) and I'm sorry it won't work as advertised with my iPad. Comparing this keyboard with the only competition I've tried (the IKMultimedia 37 key keyboard) I find this Korg unit to be much better built and much more responsive. Sorry to send it back, but looking forward to the bluetooth version.

  • from Atlanta, GA., USA December 16, 2013

    Best of the little midi controllers!

    Out of all the very small, portable, light weight USB midi controllers, this is by far the best I have used. Having 37 keys rather than the usual 25 found on most smaller controllers is great. The keys themselves are just big enough that you won't feel like they are too small, and the action of the keys is impressive for a controller this size. Way better than most full size key controllers!

    The Mod and Pitch wheels feel smooth and they are elevated high enough off the controller they are easy to play, yet there is hard plastic protecting the wheels on the left and right of each so they don't accidentally get bumped and break. Great if you travel with one of these units! Check out an enlarged image of this controller to see what I'm talking about.

    The usual Octave Up/Down buttons are there, and they light green when in use. There is a red light to indicate the unit is on via USB Bus Power. Speaking of USB, the controller doubles as a USB hub providing two additional USB ports.

    Overall I really like this controller and give it 5 stars.

  • from Roanoke, VA February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great for what I'm doing

    LOVE this little keyboard. Small enough I can just leave it lying around and it doesn't bother anyone, big enough to get done what I need. Great purchase, highly recommend.

  • from January 7, 2013

    Korg Micro Key 37

    The unit works perfectly and the added bonus of the free plug-in promotion is why I give it a 5 star.
    I'm running it on a iMac G5 with Logic Express 8 and have had no problems at all. Sweewater was again fabulous to deal with.

  • from April 30, 2015

    Korg microkey

    Great product. Keys feel great. Small, compact easy to use.

  • from Minneapollis, MN September 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, church musician for 50+ years

    Great computer accessory

    I arrange and write brass music. My main instrument is trumpet. But this little keyboard is a terrific tool to use with Print Music and with Finale. I also use it with the bundled software and with Garage Band to work on ideas. All told, there are about 12 music programs on my 6 year old iMac and it worked with all of them without a glitch! The iMac is 19.25 in wide and the key portion of this gem from Korg is 17.25 inches so it fits beautifully. That is especially important living in an apartment part of the year and in a motor-home part of the year.

    The octave switching allows me to write for the full range of instruments from the low tuba to the piccolo. I even use the feature where I play a chord in a low register and hold it while I bump up a couple of octaves to play a melody in an upper register.

  • from February 5, 2015Music Background:
    EDM, Drum & Bass

    Excellent mini keyboard but the usb hub doesn't give full pwer

    This is an excellent little keyboard for the price. Even though it's nice and small it still gives the feel of a quality piano type keyboard. Very easy to play.

    However the usb hub was slightly disappointing, as it couldn't power my Nektar P1.

  • from June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Awesome micro-keyboard

    Great feel on the keys, love the modulation and pitch wheels. Light and portable can carry and pull it out and start producing anywhere. Keys are a bit short though. If you are looking for a surface that will enable you automate a lot of parameters however this may not be it.

  • from Vacaville CA February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician most of my life.

    This thing is totally awesome

    If you're searching for a miniature keyboard with 37 keys that does exactly what it advertises your luck. I purchased this as a secondary keyboard to use of my laptop or other devices and like it so much I plan on also purchasing the 61 key as my main keyboard. I grew up a guitar player and am not sentimental at all about keys they play like a piano. As a matter of fact, it's kind of the opposite of my logic. I really like a key that is easy to push down but not so easy that I feel like I'm pushing air. To me this does exactly that the keys are delicate and graceful and I can pull off everything I could on a bigger he while also doing bigger stretches and complicated cords. Again, I know I'm thinking like to guitar player but isn't ease of play A good thing? Just like everyone else I wish this had a sustain pedal option but that's not the end of the world

  • from sturgeon bay ,wi January 31, 2014Music Background:
    multi keyboard jazz player

    mexico trip with keys!

    Travels easy, had my keys in Mexico hotel! Software a bit of a chore as I am not familiar with virtual instruments. Also suspect my laptop processor is not quite up to the task for speed. Will call SW and ask for help. Really fun. CWS

  • from Westerville, OH October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced Hobbyist

    Great Value

    I compared many portable midi/usb keyboards and this one delivers a much better value than the alternatives(i.e. IRig Keys, Line 6, M-Audio, etc.). The fact that it has 37keys and a usb hub were major contributing factors. When you look at the included software, it becomes a no-brainer. I've gotten quite a bit of use out of it and its holding up very well. The only small issue is sometimes I have to unplug it, and plug it back in for it to be recognized, not often, but still kind of annoying. This even happens with my Alesis boards, so its likely not the fault of my MicroKey.

  • from Brentwood, TN October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pianist, Composer and Technical Specialist

    Terrific

    What I really like about this keyboard is the feel of the keys. The keys have more depth than other mini keyboards and have a better feel. I like that it has 37 keys and I also like the quality of the unit overall. The controls feel great and the unit and its controlls are sturdy. The hub is an excellent feature as well. It is a little too large for most of my bags but I can fix that. I would rather have the 37 keys in a unit this size and it makes a terrific addition to my mobile setup that includes M-Audio's Axiom Air Mini and Keystation 32 mini as well. If you do not need a lot of controls and are looking for a little more playability in a small package than this unit is for you.

  • from San Francisco July 11, 2013Music Background:
    Many Years, I'm and Old SOB!

    Nice little keyboard

    It's a great little keyboard.... Easy to use with your computer. Keep in mind it ain't no Hammond B3! The only down side is that the keys are a bit narrow.

  • from Texas October 25, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, Sound Dude, Performer

    Works with Mac, iffy with PC

    The item itself is great. The drivers are wonky, though. It worked out of the box with my PC, but quickly stopped being recognized by various programs including the bundled software and Korg's own Kontrol Editor. The system recognizes it, though (Win 7).It works fine on my Mac, even in the same programs. As there is no help center on Korg's website that I can find, other than product documentation and downloads, I'm docking a star. Another half a star just cause the USB cable that comes with it is unreasonable short.

Questions about the Korg microKEY37?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close