rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Sony MDR-7506 Closed-back Professional Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 145 customer reviews
Questions about the Sony MDR-7506 Closed-back Professional Headphones?

Questions about the Sony MDR-7506 Closed-back Professional Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 28, 2017Music Background:
    Recording Artist/Composer/Multi-Instrumentalist/ HOF Songwriter

    My favorite earphones.....

    I have several pairs of these headphones in the studio. These babies last a long time and are very comfortable for long sessions. The sound is very clear and accurate.....I look for (or should I say, I LISTEN for) headphones that don't require EQ or compression adjustments. I have another brand that I like, too, but these Sony's are our day-to-day, go-to cans.....

    Thanks to James Masterson for his help and feedback during the purchase. I bought these to replace an older set that were worn out...as they get daily use.... The price point can not be beat.

  • from Sacramento, CA April 14, 2017Music Background:
    Bassist, Live Sound Tech

    The Cans I'm Used To

    I've relied on MDR-7506 headphones for as long as I can remember. They are quality studio headphones and I'm familiar with their sound so I know what I'm getting when I listen thru them. Comfortable and adjustable.

  • from April 13, 2017Music Background:
    Engineer

    Amazing!

    Bought one set, listened to them and turned around and bought two other sets. These headphones don't lie to your ears.

  • from Richmond, VA March 21, 2017Music Background:
    Pro sound mixer and musician

    Industry Standard Video Production

    These are used by many broadcast TV professionals for field production. They are accurate, light weight and comfortable. They are also super reliable. My first choice for production and currently in use.

  • from Michigan March 10, 2017

    Perfect for studio work (or anything else!)

    What I love most about these headphones is not only are they super-clear, but very, very flat. They do not take away or add any frequencies as far as I can tell, so they don't hype anything that shouldn't be there when I try to mix in the studio. They are pretty neutral, and tell the truth about your music.

    If you insist on having super-hyped, thumping bass, you may not like these (although if your music is really mixed that way, these will still bring that out nicely). If you like having true-sounding headphones, these are an excellent buy!

  • from February 25, 2017

    Great Sound Great Comfort

    I do synth track arrangements and practice sometimes for hours at a time. So sound quality and fidelity across the complete frequency range is important as is comfort. These headphones not only feel comfortable physically, the sound doesn't sound like it's coming from headphones. I don't get the listening fatigue I experienced with other headphones or earbuds - even "pro" models that were much more expensive.

  • from Spokane, WA January 30, 2017

    Greatest Service on the Planet

    These headphones are everything the Sweetwater crew says they are. For the price, you can't find better headphones, period. The Sweetwater customer service is the best I have ever experienced from any business, whether online or in person. I am simply blown away by the amount of care they put into every order. Within two hours of my order, I got a call from Matt and was shipped out five minutes later. Ordered on a Friday and got here Monday. Sweetwater has service that is so personal you might as well be right in front of them. I will continue doing business with Sweetwater as long as I live. You simply can't go anywhere else. Also, thank you for the candy!

  • from Long Island December 30, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player since "83" and just picked up the guitar the last couple of years after getting inspired by my daughters awesome talents

    Sony quality you can count on

    There headphones sound outrageous, you hear everything in the mix. I thought it was me but my daughter put them on and was totally blown away

  • from Texas December 2, 2016

    my new favorite headphones

    I picked these up primarily for recording and mixing, as I wanted something with a flat response, but these headphones sound great for everything. I listen to records with them, have used them to play video games, and even use them with my phone or ipad around the house. For the price, you cannot beat the quality of these headphones and the sound they deliver. I broke them in with white and pink noise from my MS-20 mini, and they sound great coming from the headphone outs of my Moog Sub 37 and Korg Minilogue. Within minutes of plugging these in to my mixer, I had already started a new composition and was loving hearing the detail of all my synths working together. Can't say enough good things about these, just buy them already!

  • from Ecru, MS May 16, 2016Music Background:
    Lead guitar in Band in 1963, co-owner of Baldwin Brothers Recording Studio in Birmingham, Alabama.

    Best Headphones In This Price Range

    I was considering one of three sets of headphones in the $100 price range. I watched a youtube comparison video on the three I was considering. Based on what I could hear, the Sony MDR-7506 was the best quality with solid lows, and the highs did not sound thin. When I received the headphones, they were well packaged and the shipping was fantastic. When I plugged them in for a Demo test track, the sound of the Closed headphones was literally awesome. I could hear each distinct note and chord on my Stratocaster when overdubbing, and the individuality of each track on my DAW in my home studio. They are very light and fit comfortably on the ears. This was a GREAT buy and I appreciate the help I received here at Sweetwater.

  • from BEVERLY HILLS,CA April 30, 2016Music Background:
    DRUMMER,BASS PLAYER,DJ,RECORDING ENGINEER,LIVE PERFORMER.

    SONY MDR-7506 HEADPHONES

    I ordered up a pair of new headphones a couple of weeks ago,and I have to say that I am more than pleased! I ordered a pair of theses Sony's and a pair of Shure SRH 440's. The Sony's were as I expected: tight sound,very detailed and focused.Classic sound. I got nothing bad to say about them. The Shure SRH 440's surprised me with their smooth buttery sound! Very focused as well,but tailored for the artist because they envelope you in a wide,expansive sound field. They let you get "into" the music. Because of the impedance difference,the Shure's are a tad louder. They Sony's are perfect for my mixing and mastering needs. I love the Shure's for everyday,walking around town,music playing. Great sound from both! Robust build quality so far. I'm putting them through their paces! Thanks again to Dave Brow and all the folks there. You guys are the first and last word in music gear. Expect anothr order coming shortly!

  • from April 16, 2016

    Amazing

    Been looking for good headphones i can use to practice playing the bass guitar and this headphones is a very good fit for it. I totally love that i can pick up even the slightest sound from the bass guitar.

  • from March 17, 2016

    DJ

    one of the best headphones to DJ with.....awesome bass and clarity

  • from February 12, 2016Music Background:
    9183989073

    Sony MDR-7506 headphones

    These phone are great! Incredible bang for you buck! You will not be disappointed! I've been recording for more than four decades and these are the best so far! I know that you can always get better but not for the price of $99.95. These are much better than some of the phones costing much more! Sound quality and construction far out way the cost!

  • from Toluca Lake, CA February 8, 2016Music Background:
    Video/Sound Editor

    Great sounding headphones

    Very impressed with these headphones. Clean response.

  • from Tulsa, Ok. February 1, 2016Music Background:
    Performer, Writer, Musician

    Right on the money

    The folks at Sweetwater go out of their way to provide excellent customer service. I am very pleased with these phones. Several months ago a keyboard player turned me onto the Sony MDR-7506's and while
    I was waiting for my order from Sweetwater this past week I had the opportunity to try a pair at a session so I already knew what to expect. No matter what you use them for (listening to music, watching TV or
    recording) you will not be disappointed!

  • from Traverse City, Mi. January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Chief Engineer

    Sony MDR-7506

    I love this headphone for durability , good sound , and long life .
    In the radio broadcast studio , I have this model trouble free
    even after 15 years ! wear parts are available if ever needed .

  • from Grand Island NY December 24, 2015

    Sony MDR-7506

    Had these headphones for over 8 years now. Love 'em. Will recommend these to my fellow musicians. Will buy another pair soon!

  • from Philadelphia December 16, 2015

    Freakin' great.

    These cans just rule. If you need the best headphones possible, just get 'em. You'll be like, "Woahhhhh!".
    Comes with a cool carrying pouch. One of the drawstrings came untied on mine. Now it's gone. But hey, now you know, if you see them jawns untying, tie that **** up real quick. I was like 'meh, i'll do it soon', like a lazy jerk. Don't be like me.

  • from Montana November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Radio Broadcaster & Voice Artist

    Sony MDR-7506 Studio Headphones - Closed

    I have used these headphones probably since they hit the market and purchased them for many radio announcers. We have all loved them for on-air work and in production recording. Good flat response with great detail and warmth. Almost complete isolation from outside sounds. Lightweight on the head and a nice carrying pouch. You get a schematic that is detailed with part numbers. You destroy them, you can fix them. They are as durable as anything I have ever used. I have had no need to step up to their more pricey models. But I intend to just out of curiousness...They must be something!

  • from DeKalb Illinois October 15, 2015Music Background:
    Audio engineer / Producer

    Studio Review

    I am going to keep this short and sweet all I am going to say is I should of bought them years ago I bought a second pair as soon as I heard how they sound my artist love an they are pretty good to do a rough headphone mix

  • from Southeastern US. October 10, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound production for 40 years.

    Sony MDR-7506

    These headphones have become the "Shure SM58" of the music industry since their introduction. No self respecting engineer should be without a pair of these in their arsenal of tools even if they have another favorite pair that you are using. At a minimum they are the benchmark for what other engineers, musicians and professionals are using.

    From live to studio to home these are the constant work horse to measure everything else by.

  • from manheim September 21, 2015Music Background:
    34+ years as mix engineer & owner....

    SONY MDR 7506+

    I have been using sony mdr-7506 exclusively ! since their release in 1991 & never heard anything better & I demo's other had phones & excellent quality never had one go bad out of about 10+ pairs purchased between 1991 - present ! I tell everybody is is the best phone for tracking & mixing & I would like to add that live they are great for cuing &ionly use the one cup in this situation & the pulled my out alive when not getting sound checks

  • from Tampa, FL June 5, 2015Music Background:
    20 years guitar 15 years TV Production

    Sony MDR-7506

    They don't look hipster but they cost less and sound better than the expensive decorative headphones.

  • from Eugene, OR March 7, 2015Music Background:
    Lifetime sound enthusiast

    Fantastic, as they all say

    If you are reading this review, you've heard or heard about the MDR-7506 headphones. If you make produce music or just funk around on moogs (see what i did there?) these headphones will deliver the true sound.
    I guess that is what was confusing to me at first, some headphones end up providing more emphasis on different frequencies. Either providing a "bright" or "boomy" sound can be nice for someone who enjoys those tonal qualities. However, when making the music or sounds that those individuals whom like a crisper high or some earlobe wobbling bass you need a good base point. In a typical speaker arrangement, you have multiple size drivers with dedicated crossovers essentially designating each speaker its frequency job. "Work" would be providing sounds within the driver's linear capabilities defined by a proper crossover. Resulting in a smooth output, and a true sound of what your mix should sound like. Considering there is only one driver per can, the sound reproduction is linear and clear. I've had several pairs of headphones with more pronounced bass, but ill take a 20 year+ legacy and durability over a smidgen more bass.
    Another positive that others probably have noted, but i haven't seen much about is the parts breakdown in the packaging. So, i started searching and the part numbers i looked up resulted in replacement parts. Sweet! I break it I fix it!
    Ok the downside: The cord is heavy. Yeah boo hoo its heavy and borderline annoying. Not detrimental, and a long cord for mobility is worth it. My only other gripe is they clamp somewhat forcefully. Not catastrophic, i take a few more breaks that way.
    Great product, as everyone says. The serviceability to me, is priceless, keep things out of the landfill and save on cash!

  • from Bakersfield CA February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/bass drum prog and rookie rec engineering

    True sound

    Theses head phones are great for recording I have some $300 + studio headphones that don't even compare ..I can hear each individual track and get a perfect mix also great to listen to music you're favorite songs like you've never heard them before I also dialed in all my presets on my pod hd pro with theses headphones and they sound way better with my love rig

  • from Los Angeles, Ca January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Composer

    Great transaction as always

    Great price, arrived on time in perfect condition.

  • from Ravenna, OH December 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    mdr7506 sony headphones

    David loves them! Says the sound is great and stops sound from outside sources.

  • from CO November 17, 2014Music Background:
    Harpist for my own pleasure, and offering background music

    Excellent Clarity

    I hadn't received my audio interface yet when I received these headphones so I plugged them into my stereo right away to listen to a piece of music I had never heard through headphones before. It was such a pleasant and exciting experience to actually hear parts that weren't audible through the stereo speakers (which are also excellent, but nowhere near the clarity). When my interface arrived and I got set up I was very satisfied. I am sure there are better headphones, but as far as I am concerned, these are absolutely fine for all my purposes...listening pleasure AND monitoring recording. Can't see why anyone would pay more...

  • from Charlotte, NC October 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Sony MDR 7506

    Bought these for my Roland drum kit, sound is clear, bright, and the bass response is excellent. Outstanding headset.

  • from California, USA September 22, 2014Music Background:
    sound designer, musician, budding recording engineer

    very good affordable headphones

    I'm consistently impressed by these headphones. I started using them in media school where we switched from sennheiser (280 pro and some smaller ones). They were okay, but tended to squeeze the head--which after a few hours of video editing could be quite painful. So we switched to these (Sony MDR 7506) and was impressed with them as they were much clearer in my opinion.

    Certainly more transparent. So after I finished I was eager to pick up a pair for myself. I should probably say they're not pleasure listening headphones; this is the plain unhyped sound. The no bass boost or anything like that, but you can definitely hear where going on and that's what matters. I give them five out of five for opening my ears one again and allowing me to make better mixes.

    I would definitely recommend these to anyone who wants an shame page of studio standard headphones.

  • from Des Moines, Iowa September 8, 2014Music Background:
    Live Playing, Home Recording

    Awesome Headphones!

    I had a pair of these years ago and just loved the sound. The only downside to closed headphones is your ears get kinda sweaty and this deteriorates the pads over time. However the good news is Sony offers replacements pads! If you are looking for a great sounding affordable pair of phones the 7506 will not disappoint.

  • from OR, USA September 6, 2014

    I love my new gear from Sweetwater

    I do a lot of music editing for our own website where my wife and I showcase our Christian Songs, CDs and Sheet Music. After "wearing out" a couple of Headphones. I decided to give the Sony MDR-7506 Studio Headphones a try. I was very pleasantly surprised with the crystal clear sound that comes out of this gear. This clarity helps me to hear and detected minor "defects" the previous gears missed! It is a mixed blessings: I get to do the needed correction, as well as "have work" to keep me busy for a while. All in all, I highly recommend this gear and thank Sweetwater for continue being the quality provider of musical instruments and related products. Your service has been and is always "topnotch" with attention to details and professional courtesy. Thanks again!

  • from Sanford, FL August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Producer

    Great Headphones, Great service

    One of my favorite headphones, my first pro headphones!. Sweetwater, great store, great service. It was my first time buying on Sweetwater, It won't be the last one. Thank you so much.

  • from Melbourne, Fl August 1, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician-recording studio hobbyist

    Great Phones

    I should have upgraded a long time ago. I use these in my home recording studio for recording and editing. Excellent.

  • from Ca usa June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I loves these headphones

    Iv used many other kinds and out of all them the sony MDR-7506 were the best persist sound i was wanting is the best pair of head phones i have. Overall i have recomended these to my friends

  • from April 11, 2014

    EXCELLENT!

    The industry's standard

  • from April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Very clear

    Great sound for a great price.

  • from March 6, 2014

    forget the hype of other headdies

    Studio standard...waver at your own risk

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah February 22, 2014Music Background:
    45 year hobbyist

    Sony MDR-7506 Studio Headphones "Just right for me!"

    I've always liked the Sony circumaural headphones and recently purchased some MDR-7510 headphones. While the 7510's are a great set of "cans", they colored the sound a little too darkly for my tastes. I returned them (which is never a problem with Sweetwater, thanks Art!) for some Sony MDR-7506 headphones. I prefer the sound of the 7506's as I feel they give you a sound which accents the high end a bit better than the 7510's, but of course that's a very subjective opinion as you can't go wrong with either set of these Sony headphones. If you like a headphone that gives you a response that covers the sound spectrum quite well (as far as I'm concerned) and is very comfortable, folds up into a handy size, and offers a good value for your money, the Sony MDR-7506 headphones are a great way to go! Many other 7506 headphone owners agree with me on that!

  • from Ridgecrest, CA January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Audio/Video

    Consistant Linear Sound Reproduction

    I have been using this exact model of headsets for years at work and finally decided to purchase a pair for my new home video editing system with good reason(s). First, when listening to lots of video during pre- and post-production phases, it is important to not experience "Audio Fatigue" from high volume monitoring. The Sony MDR-7506 are both Linear in Response and have great enough sensitivity to be able to hear all sound at lower levels. They are also very comfortable for wearing over long periods and conform well around the ears without the feeling of pressure. In my forty-plus years in the business, I've used many models and brands, but have always preferred these Sony Headsets above all others.
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

  • from United States May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Great Product! For an even better PRICE!!

    I highly recommend these Headphones, they are a steal for the price! I was going to purchase a pair of the main stream headphones that cost about 3 times as much. Luckily I asked a few people before I went and spent that much money. These are a fraction of the price & sound just a good if not better.

  • from Houston, TX April 6, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Excellent Product - Outstanding Customer Service

    I knew the product was great because I had sampled it from other engineers. Sweetwater's attention to their customers: ensuring I ordered the right product, ensuring the product arrived and ensuring I was satisfied - continues to be their amazing attribute.

  • from March 29, 2013Music Background:
    sound designer

    March 28, 2013

    These are great, When I record ambience background sound.
    I plug in these head phone the sound is great I can hear those ambience background sounds.

  • from Casa Grande, AZ March 7, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter, Recording/Live Sound Engineer Student,

    Highly Reccommended

    As a Recording Engineer student it was reccommended to me to get these particular headphones to do my work with. It was also reccommended that I come to Sweetwater to get them and I'm very glad that I followed those reccommendations. These headphones have been a fantastic tool for my personal use as well as my work in the studio. I especially appreciate them as a performer when I'm learning a new song.
    They have been worth every cent & then some!!!

  • from Strasburg, VA USA February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Radio Broadcast Production and at Home Recording

    Sony MDR-7506 Headphones

    This is my first set of Sony Headphones. I had heard so much about them that I had to give them a try. I ordered them from Sweetwater and when I got them and gave them a test run it was amazing. Clear, clean, crispy sounds that I did not hear before with other headphones, and they fit just great. I'd recommend these to anyone wanting to hear what I experienced. Whether you use these at home or professionally you'll appreciate their quality. Believe me - they're worth every penny.

  • from Rockport TX USA February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Engeenier, Pro Musician

    Love these things!!!

    These are the best cans i have ever used, clear, precise accurate sound. We also use them for our drummer and bass player on our praise teams in our adult services and our youth services. A++++

  • from Newcastle, WA September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Recording engineer, Producer, Songwriter, Keyboardist, Vocalist, Professional Musican

    Sony 7506 Headphones

    I've been using 7506's since 1989, I now own 26 pairs for my studio. No recording artists have ever disliked them. Many have gone out and bought a pair for themselves. Not to say other artists and engineers don't prefer other brands by a slight amount but I've never had a complaint of anyone not hearing their mix or fidelity. I especially like the bottom end of the 7506's to reference other CD's, my main speakers, and my near fields. For 23 years they've worked for me perfectly.

  • from Marietta, GA August 29, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Artist

    Sony MDR-7506 -- the greatest headphone ever!

    This headphone is my studio staple for the past 20 years. Both crisp enough on the highs and powerful enough on the bottom end to hear the real audio signal. I purchase a new one every 2 or 3 years because I put a lot of wear and tear on them, but the price is great, so it's inconsequential. I'm so attached that I carry my personal phones while visiting another studio. Love 'em! Highly recommend 'em!

  • from Chicago, IL August 21, 2012

    Quality Hearing

    We purchased these headphones for our drummer to use in our lively worship services and he loves them.

  • from AZ July 10, 2012Music Background:
    Teacher, Musician and Hobbyist

    Who Can Argue With 7506's?

    Have been using these cans for...many years. I count on the clarity of sound and accuracy of frequencies.

  • from Santa Fe NM June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Recording artist several solo piano CDs published

    Wow. What clarity!

    I had two other "professional" headphones but these let me hear every note and tone with perfect clarity. I know exactly what's going on the CD when I listen to my solo piano recordings with these.

  • from San Diego June 26, 2012Music Background:
    professional musician

    Great headphones for the money

    As a bass player, I really appreciate the quality and sound of these headphones. A great value for the price.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA June 12, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Artist

    Excellent Quality

    I love my Sony MDR 7506s. My first pair is a hand me down that the previous owner had for years and thought would give out any day. That was almost two years ago. I still use them every session. They sound great. All of my other headphones would break after 1 year of use (right outside the warranty window). I couldn't be happier. They give a very fair representation of the sound in my opinion.

  • from Las Vegas, Nevada November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Voice Over Artist

    Sony MDR-7506

    These are just great. If you like your volume really loud they will leak through a little sound. If you like your volume just loud they are very fine!

  • from DF Venezuela April 1, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    ...Amazing...

    For the first time in my life, instead of just buying new headphones, i bought replacement parts, and they were just the pads. I just love them. I do all my audio editing and mixing through them, and then check out the sound over different speakers from cheap couple of bucks ones to more expensive couple of hundred surround systems, and i have never changed a thing after the initial mastering.

  • from Chicago, IL November 17, 2010Music Background:
    All around Audio Engineer, Columbia College Graduate

    Awesome

    Extremely reliable, great sound, nice and solid design. I've had them for 5 years, I generally mix with headphones and I'm always surprised how well my mixes translate in the real world. Great for the money.... enough said!

  • from Seattle, WA October 8, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Eleven years and still kicking

    I love these headphones. I purchased them in 1999 on the recommendation of a friend to use with a portable minidisc recording setup. The minidisc recorder is in a box some place. These headphones are on my desk and used almost daily. I am quite pleased to see that there are replacement ear pieces available, because after all these years mine are starting to peel a bit--everything else still works great. With all the products that come and go over the years, I was quite pleased to see that these are still available.

  • from Culver, OR September 18, 2010Music Background:
    Necktie Killer, executive producer, bassist

    Old Faithful

    I've been using the same pair of Sony MDR-7506 since 1990! They haven't so much as crackled or popped and they still sound crystal clear. I use them for editing my tracks in Pro Tools when monitors are not an option. You won't be sorry with these headphones.

  • from Sacramento, Ca December 12, 2009Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician, student, live sound junkie...

    Best Headphones Ever!

    Straight up, these are industry standard headphones. So I bought a pair like... I don't know, 8 years ago and they've never broken, busted, crackled or so much as peeped a sqweek of unwanted noise. I would only buy these for studio monitoring.

  • from space coast of florida February 6, 2009Music Background:
    producer, musician, composer

    solid all around.

    i bought my 7506s from sweetwater in 2001 after using other 7506s and watching them get used and get incredibly beat up and keep right on functioning in live sound situations. i'm still using them now and they havent changed in sound or quality since fresh out of the box. i love my 7506s. the cup pad covers have pulled away from the inside of the cups but other than that no problems.they fit most head fine and wear for a decent amount of time. to those who say they are hyped in the low or high end- my first qustion is: what are you comparing them to? you cant use a pair of computer speakers for comparison. and you cant use some really high end speakers for comparison. there is a reason why the top band on the 7506s says "studio monitor". they are dead flat REFERENCE headphones. if youre trusting your final mix to any set of headphones youd better know your ears over the sound of your cans. i use mine to reference against my studio monitors since i work in an imperfect sound environment- they help me hear stereo effects and eq adjustments i might have missed in the monitors.
    final word from me? use these. they wont steer you wrong.

  • from New York, NY USA October 23, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    I Love Them!

    I bought these headphones because I need to monitor my recordings without disturbing neighbors. These headphones are comfortable, volume levels are consistent, and they don't cause ear fatigue. I definitely don't do final mixes on them, but I've made some pretty good rough mixes. Definitely gonna be a staple in my arsenal.

  • from brooklyn ny June 27, 2008Music Background:
    producer

    great headphones

    these headphones r beter than the ultrasones i paid twice the price for and super comfortable im totally satisfied and im gonna buy a second pair rite now

  • from Cleveland, OH March 31, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Working Musician

    Great Live and Tracking Headphones

    Ok, If you professional engineers give these a bad review because of a hyped up high-end, you're just stupid. You of all people should know not to use headphones (especially $100 ones) to mix. Great. Now that we have mixing 101 completed, these headphones were made for tracking and live sound. For that purpose, they're amazing. They truly are rugged, reliable, and very consistent when I take them from system to system. I play drums live with these about 2-3 times a week, and they've never failed me. They're quite road worthy, as well. Took them to Australia for a few months on tour and came back without a problem. Bought a pair of the Senn HD280s and in about a month and a half the left ear went out. Took them back and got another pair, three weeks later the right ear went out. In this price range, nothing touches these cans.

  • from Huntington, IN October 2, 2007Music Background:
    Audio Technician/Student

    Great Headphones

    These headphones are great for live sound. Of course, in FOH or Monitor World, you're not usually mixing with cans, so it's not expected that these will do for studio mixing - that's why there are such things as studio monitors. I have had my 7506's for about 4 years now and they have performed flawlessly. As others have mentioned, my earpads ar starting to peel - big deal, I'll just buy some new pads. I primarily use them for line checks or level-setting at mix position. I have driven them as hot as I could get and they never clipped! I can't comment on the exxagerations others talk about (high-end versus low-end). Leave the studio monitoring to the gear that's MEANT for that task and let these cans handle the rest.

  • from February 8, 2007

    Great

    You can't really beat these for the money. The HD 280's are about the only other thing. I am a professional audio engineer and I use these for almost everything.

  • from Evanston, IL August 29, 2006Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Solid Headphones

    These are my favorite headphones without question. I've used AKG's and other nicer headphones, but I prefer the flatness of these a lot. I also liked using these because, in live settings, they actually allowed you to focus on what you were trying to clean up and giving you the nice balance between your PA and your solo. I also liked using these on my own time. These were my FOH headphones and I always relied on them because they were always accurate. As well, I'm not what one would call delicate with things, so the fact that these headphones could take a beating is a great plus in my book. The fake leather starts to wear off, but they are still very comfortable and they give you a guide on how to replace the materials when that time comes.

  • from Hazleton, PA July 20, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Excellent Headphones

    I purchased these headphones based on many positive reviews, and I’m proud to offer a highly positive review myself. I was immediately impressed with the construction quality and features right out of the package, including the numbered size adjustments and collapsible design. The cable is very durable, and the screw-on adapter plug is awesome. Most importantly, not only are these headphones the most comfortable I’ve ever tried, they are by far the best sounding headphones I have found. The bass response is excellent, however not at all overwhelming, and the high end is crystal clear. While listening to my favorite recordings I have noticed slight nuances I never knew existed in the song... totally amazing. I highly recommend these headphone, and I definitely plan on purchasing more of them in the future.

  • from Ft Wayne, IN May 17, 2017

    Sony MDR-7506 Headphones

    The guys at Sweetwater are the best! Got a pair of headphones I thought were going to work for me and they didn't. My biggest issue aside from the technical performance, is comfort. I do a lot of work that requires me to wear phones for extended periods. Took the first pair back and got the Sony MDR 7506's and love 'em! Great for extended recording sessions in my home studio.

  • from Alabama (AL) March 30, 2017

    Best Studio headphones for the money.

    Always excellent.

  • from Oregon November 22, 2016

    Isolation

    Very great headphones. Blocks out the outside and let's you focus on whatever it is you're listening to. Also, these are perfect for personal listening, I take them with me all the time in their included storage bag. Love.

  • from AZ. October 12, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, musician, mix & mastering engineer

    Great Headphone for monitoring

    I use these with my Astell & Kern AK70 DAP. It really is a perfect pairing. I also use them for vocal and acoustic guitar open mic recording. I wouldn't mix or master with them, well maybe master for a second source opinion. All my mixing is done with a combo of my Focal monitors and Sennheiser HD600 w/Stefan Audio Art 10' cable. Best sound I have heard yet using my Senns and the old X-Cans amp with the 6922 Electro-Harmonix tubes. The Sony 7506 is a very well priced monitoring headset. Recommended

  • from Murfreesboro, Tn. January 8, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Artist/Engineer

    Great Headphones

    Have been using them for over ten years.
    Great phones to track with, and for artist tracking use as well.
    Nice crystal clear flat response. No heavy bottom end, and smooth top end.

  • from October 15, 2015Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Great sound, so pristine!

    The sound has more clarity and is better than other headphones thats cost 3 o 4 times more. I don't give it the five stars just because it could be a little more comfortable. Great for live sound or mixing reference (i mean like an alternative source)

  • from Azusa, California May 30, 2014Music Background:
    Singer,Songwriter, Engineer, Producer

    Industry Standard Lives Up To It's Reputation

    After accidentally stepping on my last set of headphones, I needed to find a quality set ASAP. I did not want to spend a ton of money to replace them and began to research the internet. I found the median price to be around $100.00. The Sony MDR-7506 popped up as a long time (over 20 yrs) industry standard being used in studios everywhere. So, upon having past success with Sony products, I chose the MDR-7506 and found them to be exactly what I was looking for.

    They have very good frequency response, solid construction and definitely live up to the reputation the music industry has given them. Sound is subjective at best and there is plenty of competition, but I strongly recommend these headphones! You might find it hard to be disappointed.

  • from Sioux Falls SD March 27, 2013Music Background:
    Home recording

    What a difference

    First time I plugged these in I was astounded at the clear, comfort of the sound immediately. Tracks come through with clarity along the stereo spectrum. So much less ear fatigue.

  • from Austin, TX January 30, 2013

    Can't Go Wrong

    You just can't go wrong with these headphones. Great for fine-tuning the mix. My last pair lasted 11 years. Confident these will last just as long.

  • from United States October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Student, Audio Enthusiast, Audio/Recording Engineers brother

    +1 Year use and still great!

    I bought these over a year ago and recently sent them in for repair for a small problems. I believe the problems occurred due to intense use and wear but nevertheless. I sent them in and I got a new pair back. For this entire time, I've LOVED this headphones. As far as closed-back headphones go for those who are audio enthusiast on a budget, these are the way to go. They don't overwhelm you with bass increase, have a long cable (though being curly is annoying to untangle at times), and the sweetwater service is great! A great buy, no doubt.

  • from September 19, 2012

    Sony MDR-7506

    I've owned a pair for many years and wanted a matching pair. They are great in the studio, awesome sound, very comforatble.

    The cable gets in the way a little, that's my only beef. Otherwise a stellar product!

  • from Bellingham, WA USA September 4, 2012Music Background:
    multimedia journalist

    Great gear even with heavy background noise

    These headphones were recommended at an NPR Audio Storytelling workshop as must-haves for a radio journalist. I have a tin ear, but my husband the audiophile says their sound quality is sharp and they make it easy to track the quality of recording audio interviews (even in the middle of bellowing cows in a dairy barn!). The earphones feel a little heavy for long-term wearing, but they work fine for interviews.

  • from Colorado in the winter, Maine in the summer! June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Live Recording Engineer, FOH Engineer, Monitor Engineer

    I luv my Sony-7506 headphones! Other folks feel differently & that is OK!

    I really enjoy working/mixing using my Sony 7506 headphones! But that is me! After reading thru several pages of reviews to see why some engineers don't like them as much as I do.... I have come to my own conclusion on this topic! Everyone is different in their opinions/preferences of what works well for them & what they like/need from their cans. (Some people like fish, while others will order chicken or steak, & some people only eat vegetables!) None of these people are wrong, they just have different preferences! It is a good thing!

    Sony has built the MDR-7506 headphone for many years & has sold thousands of sets over that time! (So they can't be awful cans!) Are they the best headphone ever built? Probably not! But I think they are great for doing my job... Especially for the quality you get from them at a reasonable cost! Just my $.02!

  • from Orlando, FL May 5, 2012Music Background:
    40 years gigging pro - 3 years with recording studio

    HIGH QUALITY STUDIO HEADPHONES

    I am a professional musician and have my own recording studio and have used many different brands of high end headphones, but when a friend lent me his Sony MDR-7506s and forced me to listen, I was very, very impressed. They can withstand high decibel playback without distortion. Mixdown of tracks has a smoothe blending sound as a good set of cans should, but without equalizing down the muscial punctuations within a song or a musical phrase. But where their real value lies is when you are both musician and recording engineer, e.g., you are playing/recording an instrument or singing/recording while listening to the rest of the mix in your cans. There is absolutely no bleed-through even if you're playing a loud amp. Nothing escapes the head set to get into the mic. A bonus is the mini-phone plug that allow a standard phone plug to be screwed onto it. My only complaint (and it's a minor one) is the headset has a coiled cable. It tends to get tangled. I would prefer a straight, uncoiled cable about 8 to 12 feet in length, but this is no reason to not buy this very capable headset.

  • from Chicago, IL USA February 28, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/BOSS

    OLD RELIABLE

    no matter what, or where i mix a track, i ALWAYS listen to my mix on these before my final mixdown. I know if it sounds great on these, it will sound great anywhere!!! I had these for about 3 years now, and i stepped on, dropped, sat on, and even lost a few times. These headphones will last for years and years. Sony really out-did themselves with these. Great Product.

    forever fly

  • from Tidewater, VA September 2, 2010Music Background:
    Performing musician, recording engineer, studio co-owner

    Well Used - No Regrets

    Great phones. I use them for detailed listening, tracking, etc. - even mixed. Mixing to headphones in general is not the best idea, but if you know your headphones and what things should sound like for a good mix, its not THAT hard. I've done better mixes with these than some of the cookie-cutter template mixes you'll hear everyday from the high-$$$ "studios".
    These phones kick a$$ at lower levels and when pushed. Some slight high-end hardness at higher levels, but again, know your phones!!! If its loud enough to make you flinch, then it may be TOO LOUD (dohhhhh)...
    We have quite a few sets of these in our studio (and lots of other models from different manufacturers) and these are always the first reach phones for most everything. The earpiece cushions do become worn and brittle after some time (about five years or so in our case), just get new ones (available online) and keep on moving forward. No problems so far with the cable, jacks or anything else - just good clean fun...
    Of course, like everything musical, try before you buy - if these are not for you, then keep looking until you find what you're after.
    Gave then a 4.5 just because it takes a lot to "WOW! Blown Away" me anymore. I have used more expensive, better spec'ed phones and have been more impressed with the 7506s.

  • from Marquette, MI October 25, 2008Music Background:
    Student, Recording Engineer, Musician

    Phenomenal Pair

    I can't see myself buying another model of headphones after using these babies! The sound is excellent and so is the isolation. My only complaint (that .5 star) is the cord. The cord is spiraled and can be very annoying at times when it gets caught on other chords or objects. You do however get use to it and learn to deal with it.

  • from Austin, TX USA June 29, 2008Music Background:
    Composer, Sound Engineer, Vocalist, Experienced Live Performer

    I Recommend Them!

    Excellent for the money. I use them to monitor and mix different types of music and voice styles and they work great. I give them 4.5 stars cause they do what you need. If you're needing anything better than these be prepared to shell out the cash.

  • from Stevens Point, WI USA February 18, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound/ Lighting

    MDR 7506 ear pads

    I just purchased a set of 7506's, like them a lot. I read about the ear pads in the reviews so I searched for replacement pads. There are Beyerdynamic DT 250 replacement pads that are supposed to fit really well.

  • from Houma, LA October 30, 2007Music Background:
    Producer

    The Real Deal

    I've owned two pair of these headphones for over five years. They are in constant use. There have been times when I left the headphone monitor waaay up (where I could even hear the headphones from the control room- in the mic booth late at night) and have never damaged these things. The only downside is they're a bit 'bright' compared to the monitors. However, it gives one an accurate appraisal of the mix- if you compare to the monitors.

  • from New Jersey, USA August 21, 2007Music Background:
    Singer, Musician, Recording Engineer

    Buying the second pair

    I have one for the last 7 years and now the pads are wearing out. I am buying a second pair of these and, I guess, that expresses my opinion.

    A truly professional equipment.

  • from January 14, 2017

    head phone sony mdr-7506

    for the money very good.
    little bet tricky to open i like simple but its ok

  • from The Great Northwest March 6, 2016Music Background:
    Live/Studio Musician, Engineer

    Very Comfortable

    Great sound and very comfortable for long sessions.

  • from November 26, 2015Music Background:
    music producer

    Cans

    This cans are great! If you care about your studio you should get them for their accuracy.Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Nashville July 18, 2015

    Love them!!!!! Thanks for always getting me what I need.

    Sweet water is always my first call and Charlie delivers every time.

  • from Long Island, NY January 26, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound tech

    Great product

    I have been using the 7506 since 2000 at my church. It has a nice balance between lows & highs and great isolation.

  • from Northern California November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Talent

    The Standard of the Industry

    Sony has a winner in the MDR-7506. After more than a decade of continuous use, I finally had to replace my MDR-7506's with another pair. They are well fitting on the head. And the sound is clear over the entire audio spectrum. And at my age, I can't be missing any more frequencies than I already am.

  • from Texas October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Hobbiest

    great headphones, but!

    I purchased these from Sweetwater several years ago. Great sounding headphones. pretty neutral. However the pads will break down and turn into a black dust around your ears in a few years just FYI. Sony needs to improve the material.

  • from San Francisco, CA USA October 7, 2014Music Background:
    On Air Talent/ Student

    NOT my first CHOICE

    I had ordered a different brand of headphones. But a couple days later I was called by a Sweetwater employee and was told that the headphones I wanted were no longer in stock and I had to wait some time till they have more. I needed them yesterday so I was going to cancel my order until the outstanding employee advised me of similar headphones that will work the same as what I wanted. Having knowledge of all my requests changed my mind set and I said "sure send me the Sony MDR-7506 headphones." I can say they work extremely awesome and I am on radio having fun as I host my show.
    Thank you for your expertise.

    Lyrical Ammo
    -One Shot

  • from Orlando, FL September 7, 2014

    Good Headphones

    These headphones are quite good! Lovely sound, incredibly isolating. My only issue with them is that they kinda lack in the lower frequncies. You can hear them, but you cant feel them.

  • from Southern New Hampshire, USA August 16, 2014Music Background:
    Semipro musician 10 years, pro 25 years, studio and live sound 8 years, mastering 2 years..

    Reference standard in their price range

    I've heard some of the best headphones on the planet, including electrostatics and also very standard but rugged studio tracking headphones. I've also used them in personal life and in the studio being beat to death.

    I will say that no headphones in studio life have ear cups that will last forever, especially with drummers, but these do pretty well.

    But if you are someone who needs a solid, BALANCED, delivery of sound that will fill a WIDE range of needs, these are extremely hard to beat for the price.

    As an everyday consumer, if you want something that doesn't exaggerate frequencies but is pleasing listening to CD's, or for those late nights when you CAN'T bug the neighbors but want to hear something full when watching your DVD's or BD's, again, hard to beat for the price.

    I also have a bald head and the headband doesn't bother me like some others have in the past. The overall construction does not fall apart like some consumer headphones. Naturally most studio headphones are pretty rugged.

    If you want super pumped bass there are phones for that, but if you want an overall pleasing sound for consumer use that will also serve pretty well in a pinch for mixing, here ya go.

    I've used them for quite some time now. I still have some other brands and models I'd like to audition, and have tried a lot for real, but I'm very happy with these. I have a hard time believing I could do better at the same price!

    There's the old problem of engineering spectrum balance, high and low accuracy and volume, then keeping it rugged. I will admit I have not checked out the very latest expensive state of the art stuff in the past 3 years which costs way more than these, but I'm happy with these. I suspect for the price you won't do better.

    What a great job they did with these!

  • from Greenville, TX June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Artist and Producer

    I'll Give It 4 out of 5

    Sony MDR-7506 have met the expectations of the hype. MDR-7506 headphones is affordable,comfortable to wear for long recording, and mixing sessions. They're actually great headphones. But here's why it fell one star short, When it comes down to balancing your mixes, it's a little disappointing. Over a period of time, I have to go back over the project and adjust the volume to balance the sound. Overall, they're great product that's been produced for over 20 years and still ticking.

  • from Tx,usa June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Music producer,sound engineer,mix and master audio engineer

    Great for producing and mixing

    Well ill be straight to the point i use headphones a lot and i mean a lot.i was a loyal beats by dre consumer and pioneer but these headsets completely changed my mind on being thier consumer.not only are they not lower end induced like the beats by dre but have a great balance between the mids and highs which i find very important when mixing.obviously for you bass heads who love the listening experience of heavy bass induced music then these may not be neccesarily for you but they still offer awesome bass and sound at a perfect balance and importantly at an affordable price.they are durable,comfortable and compact.im so sold on these that im even going to purchase the top end model which i hope will blow my mind.good luck on your headset fishing trip.

  • from Brazil April 4, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Mid-range Headphone

    This is a great headphone. I think it's ideal for tracking and it's very comfortable. Also nice to check the mid-range of your mix.

  • from LA, CA February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer

    Really comfortable for the money

    Ive been searching for the best pair of headphones for tracking. Primarily vocal tracking. Ive been very very critical in my search. Ive bought HD280s, SRH440s, SRH940s, DT770s, ATHM30s, and K240s. Of these the K240s have been the most comfortable and most natural sounding. And although theyre semi-open theyve been the best for vocal tracking. But to minimize bleed Ive been trying to find something that gives me a similar comfort in a closed back form. These are it. Theyre not the best sounding cans ever, but then again no $100 headphones are gonna sound that good. But they put almost no pressure on the jaw which would restrict a singer. They seal perfect without a lot of weight. You can hardly feel the headband.

  • from Denver, co. January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Flautist, Composer, Producer

    Always a winner in the studio.

    The mdf-7506s has been a standard for use in the studio for years. It prevents any bleed from occurring when tracking great vocals and are more than adequate for monitoring and just routine listening.

  • from Sacramento, CA January 21, 2014Music Background:
    Professional keyboardist, sound engineer.

    My studio go to headphones.

    These perform wonderfully: flat response, detailed sound field and a comfortable fit. They compare nicely with headphones costing twice the money - which is often a personal preference - and standup to anything in their own price range. Plus, at the price, you can own more than one so, if you have others helping with the mix, you can all be listening at the same quality without dropping too many large bills.

  • from Long Island, New York January 7, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro guitarist and guitar technician

    Sony headphones

    These are amazing headphones! Great sound and nice clarity!

  • from B-More November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sony MDR-7506

    Great headphones clear and comfortable

  • from United States October 19, 2012Music Background:
    Musician (many instruments), singer, amature recording engineer.

    Detailed Sound, Iconic Look

    I've had these headphones for about 8 years. It's survived in hot humid India for the last 5 years, been used to track, mix music, practice, listen to my iPod with, used while sleeping countless times... Whatever situation I could use this big headphone in, I've used it. After all this time I'm certain a 4 is an accurate rating for this.

    The leather pads, headband, and even the carry case will deteriorate over years. Mine started to leave tiny black leather bits all over my ears and hair. I now use velour earpads found online (ended up buying from Sweetwater). They don't provide the same seal as the stock ones, and aren't glasses-friendly, but feel incredibly comfortable. Sounds fine, looks fine.

    The cable, in my opinion, is annoying. I would have prefered a straight one. The concept of the removable cable is relatively recent, but it would have been a very helpful feature to have. It's never had a loose connection problem though. My biggest fear initially is that it would eventually start crackling, especially with the way I use them, but in 8 years it hasn't shown any sign of cable issues.

    Sound quality is a touchy subject. I'll say it's detailed; the bass is clear, the highs are clear, and you can analytically listen to your music with these. At times I feel there's something missing between the bass and highs, but with these headphones there isn't anything I can't hear in a song when I listen for it. At first I could barely use these headphones for 20mins straight. That may have been high frequency fatigue, but either they've worn in or my ears have changed. I'm using them for hours straight now. Also, they respond pretty well to weak outputs like laptop and cellphone jacks. My references are the headphone outputs of a MOTU Ultralite MKIII and a Presonus Firestudio Project.

    The left driver blew out on me about a year back. One of the speaker's internal coil wires broke, probably because someone plugged these into the speaker out of an amp. Repairing it myself was as easy as calling Sony's customer care, ordering the driver, then opening/soldering. The oxgyen-free wires weren't difficult to work with.

    I keep randomly seeing people using these headphones. YouTube, pictures; you'll find these everywhere. I've become a fan of a few headphone manufacturers that are not Sony lately, but these headphones still have a place in my work as a solid tool. Marketing aside, it's proven itself to be 'pro audio equipment.

  • from Fargo, ND July 29, 2012Music Background:
    Voice over artist/radio announcer

    Great cans for the price.

    Can't beat these headphones for the price. Just purchased a new pair after having my last ones for 10+ years. Durable and they sound great. Would have given a 5, but sometimes the sound isn't quite as flat as I'd like it to be. But that's really getting nitpicky on my part.

  • from Irvine, CA October 5, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, University Music Library Manager

    Worhhorse Headphones

    I manage a university music library where we have listening stations and headphones on our computers in the lab. I purchased about 15 of the SONY 7506s in 1992 for our facility, and they're still working great. We replace the pads every so often, but after 18 years, they still sound as clear as ever. I prefer to use other headphones with better outside isolation for tracking musicians during recording sessions (the Beyer DT 770 Pros are good for this), but for general listening and editing, the SONYs are very good.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN USA August 4, 2008Music Background:
    Lyricist, Producer

    Great Headphones!

    I've had these for about a month now and I'm really glad that I got these. They sound great, and they are very flat.

    These headphones also have great bass response and very detailed mids and highs. I use these to monitor my mixes and they come out very good and translate well over my studio monitors. I also have the Sennheiser eH-150 headphones and I use them now strictly for tracking vocals.

    The only thing I don't really like about these cans are the build quality. While good, they are not as solidly built as the HD280's but they are pretty sturdy.

  • from Ct. March 16, 2007Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Very good set of headphones

    I've had these headphones for approximately six months and so far, I've yet to have any deterioration that other reviewers have complained about. The singers who have used them have said there's very little fatigue and more importantly, unlike so many headphones (even other closed back designed I've used), singers no longer remove one side from their ears in order to hear themselves. I do think however that these 'phones are a little hyped in the low end but for basic monitoring, that's not much of an objection. Overall, excellent for the price.

  • from Rexburg, ID February 8, 2007Music Background:
    Hammond Organist, Recording Engineer - Rock House Recording

    The Sony cans sound better.

    I recently bought the HD 280 Pro's, and was disappointed with what I heard. I own some of the most expensive cans on the market, and comparing $100 heaphones to those is an apple to oranges proposition, but comparing cans that are competitors with the ideal as a reference has helped me out a lot.

    Simply put, the Sony MDR-7506's sound better. They don't hold a candle to headphones four-eight times the price. But compared to the Sennheiser's, they sound better. Noticeably better. The Sennheiser's had a muddy mid-range, though the sparkles still come through. The Sony's are a little on the bright side, but the mids come through with A LOT more detail. I'm sending back the 280's for the Sony. It really is that obvious.

  • from Newtown Square PA August 19, 2013Music Background:
    classical and jazz pianist

    Very Nice Headphones

    I'm using the Sony MDR 7506 headphones with my Yamaha mx61 synth. They have a fine, clear and balanced sound, lightweight, comfortable. I also own Sennheiser HD 565 Ovations and AKG K271, so I can compare. The Sony is an excellent pair for the price.

  • from New Orleans, LA July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good pair

    Great pair of cans, really comfortable and sounds great.
    good bang for your buck for sure!

  • from Orem November 18, 2009Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Studio Owner.

    And the winner is.....

    I have owned the Sennheiser 280 Pro headphones for 3 years. I was so pleased with my first pair, that I bought 3 more of them. However, I decided that as I need more headphones, I would purchase different kinds. Since the Sony MDR 7506 is the most popular $100 headphone at Sweetwater, I went with the purchase.

    There is quite a difference between the two headphones. The HD 280 Pro's hug tighter to the ears allowing more noise reduction. The Sony pair comes with a nice bag for the headphones which isn't included with the Sennheisers. But I have to say, that what matters most to me is how they sound. Although these are still great headphones, they are too bright as somebody else mentioned and seem to have a boosted 1-2k area which I really don't like. The bass response around 100-240 seems to be more present in the Sony's but I am not sure if it is more accurate. Both headphones seem to have the really deep 40-100 hz frequencies. I would definitely have to take some time learning these headphones before I could mix on them. The Sennheiser's are pretty good for the price and a great second reference from my monitors (Event SP8's).

  • from Richmond, VA February 9, 2009Music Background:
    Recording (studio/Live), Live sound, Musicians (guitar, bass, drums), A/V Technicial,

    Great product, but tricky when mixing...

    These headphones are super comfortable, and the fold-up design is awesome. I've owned my pair for at least 7 years (ish) and they're just about all I've used. They're very durable and they sound REALLY good. And in fact, that is probably my only issue with the 7506. They sound too good. Pretty much every mix I've ever done with them sounds unbelievably awesome in the headset, but when the final mix is played on another system, there is much to adjust. I guess you just have to learn to compensate, but it seems like a lot of compensation especially on the lows and clarity of it all (as in the headset sounds much fuller, clearer and punchier than the mix really is). I have a set of expensive Beyer Dynamics I've owned for a long time, but never used them because they don't pump out the volume levels that the 7506 does and they don't initially sound as good. I'm going to try to make the switch to mixing with the Beyer set and see how it differs. All that to say, I still think the 7506 is a great set especially for any musicians that would be using them in the studio or on the stage (like drummers). I'm just not positive it's the best set for accurate mix representation.

  • from dc February 9, 2007Music Background:
    video producer

    industry standard...

    i have 4 sets of these cans. i have had more over the years.

    i just ordered two more today.

    they are flat as hell--or seem to be (no exciting highs or boosted low range)

    they are probably the most indespensible piece of equipment you need for your studio, live shoot, FOH gig, mixing, VOs, etc.

    they are readily available everywhere

    they are a must to learn on because they are industry standard--right next to the yamaha monitors that are black and white (cant remember their name)

    *****however--
    they arent very comfy (if you have ears like me, the pads rub)
    they break easily, the drivers will blow out,
    the 1/4 adapter is easy to lose and then hard to find an exact replacement, they dont fit will into the bag they come with,
    the satin is unnecessary,
    the cord is long and gets tangled,
    the pads tear within days,
    they fatigue my ears,
    they havent been improved upon in the last 17 or so years!

    with that being said, you still must buy them--just tell your people to take care of them when putting them on/taking them off their head.

  • from San Francisco June 23, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro

    Must be deaf

    I've used these off and on for 25 years as a sound engineer. One upon a time they were the only affordable choice in closed back cans that sounded any good. Of course these date back to a different era in fidelity. What was 'hi-fi' at the close of the eighties is a piercing upper midrange presence to modern ears.
    These are good for forcing you to pay attention to sibilance. But if you mix on these your product will sound dull on normal systems. More than once the 3k-4k peak has bitten me. Tricking me into pulling down the eq on a vocal or guitar when it was not needed.
    Try Shure or AKG if you think these are flat.

  • from High Point, NC July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Sound - But Not Ideal For Mixing

    For general listening, the 7506's sound nice with an upper frequency sweet spot being very apparent. However, this works against you in recording and mixing decisions because they falsely accentuate the upper range. One other key factor here for engineers is that the bass response varies dramatically depending on how snug the phones fit against your head. If they are not held firmly flush against the side of your head, then you will not hear the lowest bass frequencies and will consequently overcompensate for this in your mix. The result can be a boomy bass when hearing your song on other systems.

    So, the 7506's are not flat and uncolored. While I love listening to them, they are not phones that you should use for critical mixing decisions. For general consumer level listening, I would give them 4.5 stars. For critical recording and mixing, no more than 3 stars.

  • from San Francisco Ca. (USA) March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Artist

    Review of Sony MDR-7506 headphones

    This a very good headphone. I have been using this brand and model number for sometime and am truly satisfied. As with digital headphones, I can't wear them for a very long time specially at louder volumes because of digital side effects.

  • from Lima, OH February 24, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician, Mix Engineer

    Not bad, but not accurate and prone to failure

    These phones really don't sound that bad. I've been using them for years, even mixing with them since I usually work late at night (checking the mixes later with my studio monitors, of course). Here's one thing I know for sure...I've owned 4 pairs of these and every one of them has gone bad due to the cord. I do not abuse these phones at all but inevitably the right or left or both sides will disappear. My place of employment has owned probably over a dozen of these phones over the last several years and we ended up nicknaming them the dreadphones because every single pair of them has failed. (right or left or both stop working.) I blame it mostly on the cable, not the drivers.

    Beyond the unreliability I've experienced, the audio coming out of them is something to be concerned about if you're a mix engineer. After using the Sonys for several years, I bought a pair of Sennheiser HD280s and immediately thought something was wrong with the Sennheisers because the midrange sounded completely different. The more I listen to each, I'm realizing that the Sennheisers are what you want to be hearing when you mix because they are more accurate and the Sony's have a bit more mid-sweep/consumer sound to them.

    Overall the Sonys are not terrible. They sound pretty good. But I would not consider them accurate and they are prone to failure. If you want a good pair of headphone to listen to mp3's, get these. They are more comfortable than the Sennheisers and sound more like what you hear out of a consumer sound system. If you want accuracy for mixing, especially more accurate mids, get the Sennheisers.

  • from NY February 7, 2011Music Background:
    music director

    plastic is flaking off

    The headphone sound is fine - but after only 3 years of use the plastic on the actual headphone part is flaking off in little black chunks. Really annoying and unprofessional, especially when a vocal diva points this out...

  • from Los Angeles December 8, 2007Music Background:
    Re-recording Mixer

    Brittle and Hyped High End

    These are NOT accurate monitoring headphones. I only use them to hear extreme detail when editing, but when comparing them to just about any monitors in any decent room they sound super-hyped in the high end. I've tried EQ-ing dialogue with these and end up with muddy, low-heavy results...

  • from Brea, CA August 4, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Sony MDR-7506

    I have purchased four pairs of these for my studio. The sound quality is OK but I've had several problems. First, the sound reduction/isolation is mediocre. Second, two of the four pairs have had a driver in one ear fail. Third, the outer skin of the muffs start flaking off after you use them for a while. Customers don't like black stuff in there ears.

  • from Bellingham, Wa December 7, 2011Music Background:
    Pro audio engineer (mostly live)

    Sound ok

    The sound quality is decent, and they are light, but it's almost to light weight, I baught them for a church and had to actually tell the engineer team to be jental with them, as I'm afraid they'll break. But it's a nice price.

  • from Charlottesville, VA USA March 10, 2011Music Background:
    Metal Musician, Home Studio Recording Engineer

    Great, but not always reliable

    I bought two of these headphones a few years ago. I use them every once in a while. The left side of one of the headphones just stopped working.

  • from Binghamton, NY September 22, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineering student, Music Industry student, worship guitarist, church sound editor

    Bizarre Sound Signature

    My school (SUNY Broome) has these on just about every station in the sound engineering lab. It's kind of disgusting to me. Every time I would put them on I would be left shaking my head and cringing. The sound signature is just downright bizarre. They have very hyped mid and high-end like many other reviewers say. The padding also seems to fall apart quickly. The cable is insanely annoying. It's hard to not get it caught on itself when trying to manage it. I only used these when I forgot my AKG K240s, and I rarely did that after having to use these headphones. The Sony's just aren't great at all for serious mixing. Isolation is alright for non-active isolation. Compared to my K240s the sound is very "closed" and hyped.

  • from Southern California February 27, 2016

    Flimsy....

    The Sony 7506 headphones are enormously popular in the production audio community, because they present a wonderfully clear mid-range, with a gentle but clear high-end. For me, that's about where it stops. I used to LOVE these, but I simply got tired of constantly having to repair/replace them. My last pair barely made it three months of normal use. The metal bands get stretched easily, and in a very brief amount of time, they are flopping loosely on my head, held on by mere gravity, providing very little-to-no isolation. The head-width adjustment also becomes very loose, and I have to readjust them every time I put them on. A lot of the time, they would just fall off my head, if I just looked down to my mixer, or whatever...not exactly what you want to happen when booming any kind of action or movement.
    The plastic "leather" on the ear pads peels off, leaving the cloth behind it, and the seams come undone soon after. The foam rings end up getting exposed, and you have to stuff them back in once in a while. The foam that goes between the cups and your ears, disintegrates, leaving your ears exposed to nearly bare, uncomfortable/painful metal. The hangars, the "Y" shaped parts that hold the ear cups, constantly break. I have no idea how many times I've had to order replacement hangars/ear pads. The coiled cable stretches out, and gets all tangled, and the loops get bent backward and weird. The wires going into each ear cup go bad more often than they should, as do the connector ends. Just a terrible build. As for music, these lack any real bass. Switched to Sennheiser HD80 10 years ago, and am only on my second pair...plus, a much fuller sound, comfort, and isolation.

  • from Detroit, MI June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Student Recording Engineer

    TOO clear

    Ok, these cans sound FABULOUS. On EVERYTHING. That's the problem- everything sounds so much brighter and clearer, with greater pronunciation than is really there. These cans are fantastic for closed-back vocal monitoring, but mixing on them would NOT be something I recommend.
    They're definitely awesome for general listening- although a bit too much of a curve for my tastes.

  • from GJ, Colorado September 5, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Sound, Terrible Ear Pads

    These phones sound fine, and when the earpads stay on, are comfortable. My earpads came off within the first fews months and I am constantly having to reattach them

  • from New York, NY September 10, 2011Music Background:
    Mix Engineer & Studio Technician

    Relegated to Pro-Sumer Standing

    These headphones are everywhere at my workplace. People use them for editing, mixing, tracking, and in-studio monitoring. I use them as paperweights, and carry my Beyer DT 770s around with a death grip.

    Here's why I hate them as a technician:
    - The earpads constantly deteriorate, become loose or fall off
    - The cable easily becomes tangled into a gnarly mess
    - The small cables on either ear get crimped into the headband when folding the headphones far too often

    Here's why I hate them as a mix engineer:
    - I've seen them fly off a guitarist's head more than once because they don't sit snugly
    - The midrange is hyped and harsh. Sibilance is painful to hear and midrange-prominent instruments (eg: accordion, bagpipes, trumpets) sound like nails on a chalkboard
    - They offer no sense of depth; your mix isn't faithfully reproduced
    - I have to apologize to visiting engineers who are any good for having them around

    Granted, these cans cost 100 bucks. If you need to chop up some speech in ProTools, and they sit at your workstation and your workstation alone, then they're fine. But there's a reason no one with developed ears uses these for serious work. They're a horrible source to reference a mix to, they're prone to damage when changing hands often, and they're fatiguing to listen to.

    There are plenty of decent reviews for these headphones. But in my view, these cans aren't meant for people who truly know audio. If you're an audio professional, and need a pair of cans for monitoring, checking your mix against, or seeing what's really in the low-end, get yourself a pair of Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro's. At the price point, you won't regret it.

  • from Los Angeles, Ca December 18, 2006Music Background:
    Union Sound Editor

    HI-end the doesn't end

    I'm different than most here. I'm a sound editor. I cut alot of dialogue, Fx's, etc, tracks for a lot of different movies. And owned alot of different hdphones (30 or so) and I'm about to go for a different brand again. Sony's have always had a hi-end problem. A lip smack in a dialogue track can sound like gunshot. Cloth movement sounds like sandpaper on a mike. It drives me crazy and I waste time trying to fix stuff that is easily rolled off by the mixers and mellowed by studio monitors. When I'm doing mini mixes in my Pro-tools what sounds clean in my Sony's, sounds muddy on my JBL Studio Monitors. You always have to adjust for the overbearing hi-head. Sony's saving grace was they were usually comfortble and always withstood the abuse (dropping, kicking, etc.) Big disappointment with my MDR-7506's. The leatherette on the ear pads started peeling off right off the bat. They still work, but my last 2 dialogue jobs, especially the "indie" film with bad production audio, was the last straw. My Sony's will be regulated to back-ups.

  • from NYC December 24, 2010Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Over

    An overly bright and brittle midrange made me shake my head the first time I listened to these and yet, I kept them because they received so much hype. I learned my lesson: trust your own ears before taking someone elses word for it.

    With that said, don`t let my review influence you. If you are considering these phones, by all means order them and try them out, they may be exactly what you need. However, for my tastes, the 7506s never proved their value or hype for the 3 years I used them before my toddler (thankfully) destroyed them... divine intervention perhaps?

    There are a handful of phones I have used over the years that sound so much better than these and translate better as well. Granted, they also cost more... maybe thats the reason these phones are so popular?

    Most likely, you take your music very seriously and want the best gear for your $$$. I`m not one to gripe about something without a solution so if you are wondering what other phones to consider, try the ATH-M50s. They translate well, are constructed better and more comfortable than the 7506s. They are in my opinion, the best bang for the buck right now. Comfortable, rugged and most importantly, represent the mix closest to what my monitors are telling me with added detail. Prior to using the ATH-M50s the low end on my mixes was always somewhat off. In the last year that I have used these phones, my mixes have improved dramatically, specifically in the low end where the issues were. Yes, they are a $50 more but well worth it.

    So with all that said, order the 7506s and the ATH-M50s. You decide.

  • from Milwaukee, WI December 23, 2010

    Worst Cable Ever

    These are good-sounding headphones, but they have the all-time worst cable ever. After a few months of studio use, the cable has twisted and twirled into a knotty ball of ravel that I can't pull apart to save my sanity. I guess they would be fine if you didn't move around at all while wearing the headphones. I've used other headphones with coiled cables, but these are so much worse for some reason. I'm sorry I bought them.

  • from Brooklyn October 12, 2008Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter, Producer

    Harsh

    I know many people like these phones but I think they sound incredibly harsh. I owned for about 4 years and then just got rid of them one day. I am also not a fan of the Sennheiser HD280s even though I own them. I know these are also popular cans but for a more natural sound, I would suggest the AKG K240s.

  • from Holliston, MA March 24, 2006

    Where are they?

    For some reason you just don't see these cans in many outlets. I can't even find them on Sony's site. This is my second pair. My first was actually the MDR V6 which is the same hardware. I wore those out and was finally able to find another pair here after finding out that the 7506's are the same thing. I have a $300 pair of Sennheisers also, and while those have a slight edge on these in terms of accuracy, the connectors on those are finnicky. Additionally those are much more fragile and don't have a sealed construction as do the 7506's. Ultimately, I still just keep coming back to these. The fact that these are so hard to find often makes me nervous. As with all quality products, I'm worried that they'll stop making them. I feel like I should order another 5 pairs, so as I wear them out, I'll have enough to last until I'm dead.

  • November 1, 2005

    Not accurate reference monitors.

    I don't know why everyone is talking about these cans having a hyped up response to bass frequencies. For me it was exactly the opposite. These headphones sound great, completely beautiful as a matter of fact. But that's not always good when mixing. My mixes come out very muffled and dull sounding if I use only these phones. Anything and everything will sound bright in the high end, and quiet in the low. So I'd usually boost too much bass, and not enough highs. Also, the connector is being screwy after about a year of use, and it now occasionally only plays back one channel.

  • from Ottawa, Canada July 1, 2005

    MDR-7506

    Nice comfortable headphones. A bit too forward in the bass for rock/pop music (except Reggae of course). I'd never try mixing on them but they are good for hearing what's going on in the deep bass. If the bottom end sounds lumpy in these cans, you need to go fix the mix. Good for voice/classical music where the bass boost is less obtrusive. Probably good for tracking female/tenor singers but I've not tried them for that yet.

  • from New Orleans, La. USA May 1, 2005

    7506 sounds different

    In response to the last review, if you earpads have lost the outer cushion material, they will have a different sound, i.e. less bass. I have 2 pairs of the 7506, but I tested the Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro, and the sound is great! The 7506 phones seem brighter compared to the DT770 Pro, and the latter has replacable ear cushions in velour or pcv material.

  • from Ottawa, Canada March 1, 2005

    Too hyped in the bass

    I find my pair hyped by at least 3 to 6 dB at the bottom end. This is good and bad. It's good because you really can hear what's going on way down low. If you can get the bass end of a mix to sound clear in these cans you'll have no problem with hyped subwoofers. However, the hype is bad because it really does make a lot of CDs unpleasant to listen to (and don't get me wrong: I LOVE BASS). They're fine for spoken-word, acoustic, and classical (especially organ music) but just about any genre of electric/electronic music is just too OTT. I can feel the air pumping through my Eustachean tubes into my throat with only moderate volume settings.

    In contrast the top end is wonderfully smooth and reveals harshness in source material very nicely. In summary: a useful tool while mixing but not a pair of headphones I'll use for relaxation except for my favourite organ music. If they weren't a gift, I'd probably have looked elsewhere.

  • September 1, 2004

    These Babies Bump

    My father has been doing quality control for dozens of post-production houses here in Hollywood (Complete Post, Dubs Inc. Etc...) and for my 18th b-day, he gave me his pair of this specific model of headphones...anyways, They have been the single most awesome pair of headphones I've ever used! Sound reproduction is top notch...the unimatch plug is indispensable...and the cord is good and long...Put it this way: when plugged into my minidisc player I find I'm able to HEAR when the lens is dirty...nuff said

  • from Charlotte, NC July 1, 2004

    SONY MDR 7506

    I have used this model headphone for radio broadcast work for 5 years.....Yes the ear pads are wearing out. Another radio friend of mine bought a pair new a year ago. They don't sound the same as mine, but are the same model number. Did SONY put a different speaker design in the newer models?

  • from Anaheim Hills, Ca May 1, 2004

    Seen Everywhere You Go In Hollywood

    Over the years, this would be the one headphone you'd be sure to see day in and day out throughout the LA production community. I keep waiting to see a sale price on these, but I guess I never will, because they're always in demand. The slightly-cheaper Sony 7502s are often seen for news production,etc., but they simply don't have the low end of the 7506s. If you're using voice or on-camera talent you're paying for, these are the ones you want to have them hear themselves played back through.

  • from Kansas March 1, 2004

    Good Cans

    In my search for a quality pair of headphones, I was looking at these and the AKG 240's. I decided to get these headphones. These are a little hyped in the upper and lower registers, but it is not a problem if you acquiant yourself with these headphones. The sound reproduction quality is very good, and these heaphones are well worth the price. Very comfortable design allows for hours of use (I sound like a product brochure!) If you're looking for something a bit more accurate, check out the 7509's, I've heard good things about them as well and a local studio owner here (Ron Tojier) uses them and recommends them.

    Overall I would strongly recommend the 7506's, they are good quality, well-made headphones.

Questions about the Sony MDR-7506 Closed-back Professional Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway