0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Focusrite iTrack Solo Reviews

4.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
  • BILLIONAIRE AUDIO
    from SOUTH CAROLINA December 24, 2014Music Background:
    HIP HOP ARTIST ( UNSIGNED , UPCOMING ) , SELF MADE RECORDING , MIXING , AND MASTERING ENGINEER

    LOVELY DESIGN AND NICE DAC CONVERTERS !

    I ORDERED IT FRIDAY AND RECEIVED IT THIS LESS THAN A WEEK . THAT GREAT WITH FREE SHIPPING AND IT BEING THE HOLIDAY SEASON. I ALWAYS LOVE THE WAY SWEETWATER.COM PACKAGE THEIR PRODUCTS TO ENSURE THEIR NOT DAMAGED ! I LOVE THE WAY HOW THE SLEEK ALUMINUM POLISH IS ALMOST IDENTICAL TO MY MACBOOK PRO . AND IT SEEMS SMALLER THAN THE FOCUSRITE 2I2 USB INTERFACE I HAD . I HAVE MAC OS 10.10 YOSEMITE. I SEEN A FEW REVIEWS ABOUT CERTAIN USB INTERFACES AND THUNDERBOLT INTERFACES NOT BEING COMPATIBLE WITH YOSEMITE . EVERYTHING LOOKS GOOD BUT WILL IT WORK WITH MY LOGIC PRO X DAW. SO I PULLED UP A HIP HOP MIXING SESSION I WAS WORKING ON WITH JUST MY HEADPHONE OUTPUT ON MY MACBOOK PRO AND SKULLCANDY HESH 2 HEADPHONES LAST NIGHT. I GOT MY 1/4 ADAPTER FROM MY BEAT AUDIO STUDIO HEADPHONES AND CONNECTED MY SKULLCANDY HESH 2 TO THAT AND CONNECTED IT HEADPHONE OUTPUT OF THE ITRACK SOLO USB INTERFACE. I PLUGGED IN THE I TRACK SOLO USB INTERFACE TO MY MACBOOK PRO AND INSTANTLY LOGIC PRO X SCANNED THE COMPUTER AND ASK IF I WANT TO USE THE ITRACK SOLO . ALL MY FEARS WAS GONE . FOCUSRITE ROCKS !! THIS IS MY SECOND USB INTERFACE I PURCHASED FROM FOCUSRITE. AND FOR IT TO BE A USB INTERFACE UNDER 200 DOLLARS IT SOUNDS AMAZING ON PLAYBACK . I INSTANTLY ADJUSTED SOME THINGS IN MY MIX ONCE I PRESSED PLAY IN MY DAW WITH THE FOCUSRITE ITRACK SOLO USB INTERFACE CONNECTED TO MY MACBOOK PRO . I ALSO HAVE A RODE NT2A MICROPHONE I PURCHASED ABOUT TWO YEARS AGO FROM SWEETWATER.COM . I WILL HAVE ME A RECORDING SESSION MAYBE ON CHRISTMAS OR NEXT WEEK TO SEE ACTUALLY HOW IS THE ANALOG TO DIGITAL CONVERTERS AND THE PREAMP IN THIS USB INTERFACE .

    OH YEAH AND MY FOCUSRITE SCARLETT PLUG-IN SUITE PLUGINS ARE INSTALLED AND ACTIVATED WITH NO PROBLEM IN LOGIC PRO X .
    I HAVE SOME WAVE PLUGINS , AND NEVE EMULATED EQS AND COMPRESSORS AND IZOTOPE OZONE 6 , BUT HEY WHO DOESN'T NEED MORE COMPRESSOR PLUGINS AND EFFECTS TO ADD A DIFFERENT COLOR TO YOUR MIX !

    I DEFINETLY WILL BUY THE FOCUSRITE FORTE USB INTERFACE BEFORE SUMMER OF 2015 TO BE MY STUDIO CENTERPIECE AND MAIN INTERFACE FOR RECORDING , MIXING AND MASTERING !

  • Lou D
    from Hillsborough, NJ August 1, 2014Music Background:
    Music teacher and performer

    Great little interface!

    I Use this interface with an iPad running iOS 7. I Run a mic and guitar into the box. Sound is extremely clean, very impressive. I'm just using Garageband on the iPad and the recording is great. Highly recommend this interface for a convenient, high-quality portable studio.

  • Joe
    from New Jersey March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Music teacher, part time performer.

    Excellent sound, easy to use

    I bought this to record with my iPad 2, and it works like a charm. Very clean sounding, and setting levels is a breeze. I was using another company's interface, and the sound quality of the Focusrite is night and day.

  • Junejonez
    from Tulsa March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer

    Wow

    I den had some some high end interfaces such as apogee duet 2 mbox mini 3 wich for the price is great and the the regular mbox 3 wich is 500 but let me tell u this thing sound really great like a 300 dollar interface for sure no lie u get a . Good mic an a good room yull love it .. Im very inpressed wit itt

  • Bennie Shipley
    from Nashville, TN USA January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Voice Actor

    Big Sound From A Small Package

    I was not disappointed in the i Track Solo.
    Like others, it would have been nice if the cable connecting
    it to the iPad had been a little longer. Not a big deal to me, though.
    Sounds great. I'm very happy with it.

  • Customer
    from December 15, 2012

    great product, great customer service

    I bought this to connect microphones to the music studio app and it is absolutely fantastic. It does not support midi, but that's one of the pros. Since the iOS 6.0.1 all my other iOS audio gear with midi i/o function has not been working properly. But the iTrack works fine every time I plug it in.

    Above all, customer service was excellent. Sweetwater really knows how to handle customers' needs. I will definitely be using sweetwater for my next musical gear purchase.

  • Matt Black
    from Elizabethtown, KY January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter/Producer

    Got to be the best iOS interface for the price!

    This unit sounds great. I'm using it for a live looping interface for the loopy iPad app and it's clean and true without latency thanks to the direct monitoring option. The metering ring lights are pure genius too! So easy to glance down and make quick adjustments on the fly. Didn't give it a 5 because it doesn't charge the iPad-even though it has it's own power supply that you have to plug in to an outlet in addition to plugging it into the iPad. Really wish that power would run on through to insure there's never an empty battery come showtime. A multi-plug would be a great addition on the mic input as well. However, at the price I'm just really thankful for the main thing-it has a pro-audio sound for the application I bought it for.

  • Mark
    from Santa Fe, NM July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Glad I went with Sweetwater on this one

    This device has worked out just as I would have hoped so far. It's really great for getting ideas down quickly on the iPad and it's simplicity compliments a smooth work flow. I've been fond of FocusRite's pre amps for years now and when Ryan explained to me that the pre amps in this device were practically the same as the ones you'd find in a more comprehensive hi-end FR interface, I was excited. Simply put, they sound good. The guitar input is quick and convenient as well. I was also amazed by Ryan's comprehensive knowledge, professionalism, general enthusiasm and genuine kindness. Felt comfortable talking to him right away. Speaking with him felt like the first time in my online shopping experience that a substantial gap had been bridged between the elements missing from the friendly neighborhood music stores of the past and today's more anonymous online marketplace. It was a surreal shopping experience to say the least. I will be trusting Ryan and Sweetwater with my purchases to come.

  • Sean Johnson
    from Corona, CA November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Professional guitarist, teacher, would-be producer

    Great first audio interface

    This was my first audio interface. I got it to do demo recordings on GarageBand on my iPhone. Took it out of the box, followed the instructions and started recording immediately. I was also able to use the iTrack on my friends laptop with no problems. I'm very happy wih my purchase.

  • Customer
    from August 22, 2013

    Bosting an SM7

    I'm using a CloudLifter with it to boost an SM7 for voice-overs. It works great.

  • Gladys
    from Los Angeles, CA June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Works as advertised

    I mainly used this with Garageband on Macbook. I've also used this with Garageband on iPad. It works well but since it records in each channel in mono, you'll get a hard left and right pan for the mic and guitar input. I've tested it on iPhone 4 using the voice memo and it works fine. I've used Audacity on Windows 7 as well and it has proven that it has worked well on all the platforms that I have mentioned above. I am very happy with this device. Great value for the money!

  • John beach
    from Chappaqua, ny March 6, 2013Music Background:
    Announcer

    Itrack is what you need

    This I/o is a game changer. FINALLY--a way to get my Neumann into my iPad/iPhone for truly portable recording. I can now work on the road in a quiet room with this tiny kit, and give my customers the pristine audio that they have come to expect from my work in my home studio. No more USB mics! And the focusrite preamp sounds transparent and quiet.
    Plus, the USB option for Mac and windows lets this amazing box perform double duty with my laptop or workstation.
    This is the only product of its kind --with he iPad 30 pin adapter-- that I know of. I've waited a long time for this. Thank you, focusrite!

  • Vincent Bennett
    from Cincinnnati, OH March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Intuitive and Easy to Use

    I was looking for a simple, intuitive interface to record on my iPad. This was recommended by Sweetwater and it meets my needs perfectly. I now can put everything I need to record in a small backpack and have a portable studio. I've recorded perhaps a half dozen tracks on some songs. I record everything using the mic input and don't need to record multiple inputs at the same time. Simple, intuitive and the price was right.

  • Ken Thompson
    from Lady Lake, Florida, USA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    30+ years of singing and guitar playing. Semi-Pro.

    Simplistic Excellence

    As a complete beginner to recording the iTrack solo could not be easier to use and operate. Couple that with the excellent back up from Focusrite when I called with a query plus Sweetwater's own great service. To any novice looking to start recording or indeed anybody who is using a Mac or iPad for recording look no furthe for a well made, quality interface that allows you to operate on either and all for a sensible price.Scored 4.5 as 5 will only go to Focusrire 's head !!

  • Patrick
    from United States January 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    High Quality, High Utility, Low Price

    This little box does exactly what it is supposed to do, which is to act as an effective input from mike and/or instrument to computer or IPAD. I bought the thing to use with my IPAD, as USB interfaces for PCs are about as common as dirt. However, I wound up using the ITrack mostly as an input device for my PC, where it works exceptionally well. The drawback for using with an IPAD is the not very reliable cable that connects the box and tablet. The included cable is the weak point of the unit. It is short, inflexible, and tends to work loose at the connection with the IPAD. These factors limit the usefulness for direct recording on the IPAD (although when it works, it works well).

    My understanding is that a longer 30-pin interface cable is now available. Hopefully, this will take care of the problem mentioned. Otherwise, expect to spend a lot of time fussing with the cable to keep the unit functional with an IPAD. This is not an issue in using the unit with a PC, as connection for that purpose is standard USB.

    Would I buy this unit again? Most certainly.

  • Gae Phillips
    from Baxter Springs, KS February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Band Director

    Great product!

    Plugged it in & it works! No need to install driver software, etc. Worked great with macbook pro and look forward to using it with my iPad 5.

  • Steve
    from Massachusetts December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Happy

    Very simple interface that works well. Works with Garageband on my Mac, iPad, and iPhone with no trouble and great sound.

  • Keith
    from IN USA December 22, 2013Music Background:
    singer/songwriter

    Focusrite iTrack Solo

    Its a good solid interface, very good sound quality, easy to use and great for home recording, just what I needed!

  • Richard McGonagle
    from Burbank, CA June 20, 2013Music Background:
    VO artist

    As promised.

    This unit has delivered as promised for everything I need for VO recording.
    Thanks Sweetwater for always delivering the goods, and having such knowledgeable sales reps for assistance.

  • Adrian
    from San Antonio, TX April 12, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist for 11 years

    Focusrite iTrack Solo

    The Focusrite iTrack Solo is a great tool for recording ideas to my iPad. For me I bought the Focusrite iTrack Solo to capture ideas for songs so i dont forget them and to come back whenever I want and put songs togeather. For this functionality the Focusrite iTrack Solo is awesome and is what i have been needing for awhile. The only thing that is kind of a set back(Not Really) is that there is no EQ section, which is expected for thid tiny device. It's just a matter of playing with mic position to get the sound you want. Again i got this to capture my ideas quickly, which the Focusrite iTrack Solo does an amazing job at. I am using a Blue Bluebird mic, a Blue e100, and an Audix i5 and i really like that the Focusrite iTrack Solo works great with all kinds of mics. I recomend the Focusrite iTrack Solo to anybody who wants a quick easy way to record to your iPad.

  • dspieker
    from Grand Rapids, MI United States January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/Hobbyist

    iTrack Audio Interface

    I've been very impressed with the Focusrite iTrack Solo. It is rugged, very easy to use and the sound quality is impressive. In addition to recording tracks with my iPad 2, I've been able to feed the RCA output into a looper so I can use GarageBand instruments to supplement live performances.

  • Tom
    from South Carolina December 12, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Buyer Beware

    Is not compatible with IPAD 2. Does not interface with garageband. A big disappointment

  • Rick Hunter
    from NC October 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist guitarist, home recording enthusiast, music lover

    Unlike others here, this did not work for me

    I purchased this from a competitor and really wished it had worked as well as it has for the other reviewers here. Basically, I could record well with it on my iPad 3 in the "Guitar Amps" and "Audio Recorder" screens of Garageband (iOS7). But when I toggled over to the multi-track view and attempted to play back what I had just recorded, the audio became distorted and unuseable. Despite trying a second unit and restoring my iPad, downloading the Focusrite driver per their support techs, the problem was still there. So, if anyone reading this (Sweetwater support included) has any idea of what might have caused this glitch, please contact me. One other note: my Apogee Jam and iRig Pre interfaces work perfectly fine with my iPad and GB.

Questions about the Focusrite iTrack Solo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway