0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

IK Multimedia iRig Stomp Reviews

3.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig Stomp?

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig Stomp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Danny
    from Kansas City June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician: swing, rock, old timey, Christian, musicals

    I want to believe...

    For two years I've been trying to make the case for this on my pedal board. The promise is basically you can some how never buy new pedals again other than online and downloaded... But, try as I might, I have still yet to use it live. I just can't trust it.

    It is noisy. Lots of fuzz comes through the connection. The selector snt always sile t and usually pops. If the wires aren't just right, I get terrible feedback. And, the recording software you can buy is only so so.

    I've used a couple other interfaces and they seem to all have these problems for me. I think the tech is just not there yet.

    Lastly, I haven't found a way to bias the amp modeling In any of the software options. I'm already playing through a good amp. Adding an amp model on top usually just makes the whole thing muddy (if I can get past the noise and feedback).

    If you want a toy to play around with, it might be fun. But I would suggest building up a good collection of real pedals first.

  • Kelly
    from United States May 29, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    iRig Stomp

    OK, but not a serious tool. I was disappointed when I realized the sound gets routed through the Mic/headphone jack on the ipad. This makes it noisy, and the slightest movement of the ipad creates unwanted sounds. Also, if you don't unplug the cable from the input, it sucks the battery dry when not in use. It's useful in trying out a variety of pedals to develop your sound, before you buy the real thing.

  • Dan P'tan
    from Indiana November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Bass Player/Guitar Hack

    The Missing Link

    If you own an iPhone or any other gizmo that uses the standard TRRS com jack, then this thing belongs on your pedalboard. It's a simple, cheap, and good enough way to get your signal to your mobile gadget and back to the rest of your rig, with the added convenience of a headphone jack for when you don't want to wake the kiddos. The sound quality is just fine, considering it uses an analog connection, and at least there's a volume knob to you can adjust how much gain you send your apps. And to top it off, this thing's built solidly enough to crack macadamia shells. I'm not saying you're going to use this to track your next record or whatever, but if you want to take advantage of all of those cool effects app and looper and whatnot on your phone, you're not going to find a better way to do it for the cash.

  • Lindydanny
    from Kansas City February 5, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good, but not a workhorse

    I like this product. I can't emphasise the enough. But, if your are looking for a multi effects substitute, this is not it. Don't rely on this to replace a good set of regular pedals or amp modeling.

    The good side is almost entirely from recording. The outputs work great through a speaker or PA, but will not sound good through your regular amp. Regardless of the software you use.

  • Al Terhune
    from Newcastle, WA November 8, 2012Music Background:
    Home Recording Enthusiast

    Great recording tool

    A wonderful tool, but if you don't adjust your volumes, both inputs and outputs correctly, you'll get distortion. Two sources you might not check are your phone and instrument volumes. Even though the display in settings shows LEDs that are below distortion, if your instrument signal is too hot, it will still clip - same with phone volume. Once you get your volumes correct, you can get ultra clean tones - should you desire. I have had the Amplitube app not work a couple of times, so hopefully that will be a bug that gets fixed. Bottom line is that for under $100, you get a lot of nice effects and interface for your instrument into an amp, P.A., or recording software (Pro Tools in my case).

  • Kevin M
    from October 8, 2012

    Poor sound

    If you like the sound of your guitar or bass, this pedal is not for you. When engaged, this pedal removes all low frequencies from your sound (even with guitar) and clips/distorts on strong attack. Your guitar or bass sound will not make it through this pedal and into your amp/mixer intact.

  • Mike
    from Trussvilla, AL September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musicain

    Nice but Needs work

    I use the pedal for live performances as a bass player. I love the fact that you can tap your Itunes music during a break and go right to a playlist. As far as being useful as a bass effects pedal, its very noisy and emmit a constant hiss. Use the noise filter and you get no tone from you bass. I think it is more of an issue with the cable more so than the pedal itself. I get a lot of pops and cracks when the cable is disturbed even the smallest bit.

  • Brian
    from United States September 11, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Nice Pedal

    Very nice pedal!! Much better than the original iRig. Easier to use with my guitar amp. Very sturdy and well made, doesn't feel cheap.

  • Anthony LaGrassa
    from Poplar Grove IL September 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Improvement!

    Love this for my iPhone 4S. Great way to play live or practice. Low latency low noise. I use it with Amplitube, AmpKit+ and JamUp the interface really shines with AmpKit+.

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig Stomp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway