0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

IK Multimedia iRig PRO Audio/MIDI Interface - iOS/Mac Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig PRO Audio/MIDI Interface - iOS/Mac?

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig PRO Audio/MIDI Interface - iOS/Mac?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Raleigh, NC November 8, 2016Music Background:
    Church musician

    Perfect for iPhone!

    We wanted to make videos with the iPhone, but use a lav mic on the person being interviewed. The iRig Pro is the perfect interface device! The output of the wireless mic goes into the iRig and its USB output goes into the iPhone lightening connector. Levels are perfect.

  • from Massachusetts February 25, 2016

    I Rig Pro

    Great interface for the I-Pad, Computer or Phone..Outstanding sound quality ..Very pleased with this purchase Sweetwater.... excellent service & fast delivery

  • from Winter Springs, FL USA February 21, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer (retired)

    Great for the backpacking musician

    What we have here is a cute little thing - roughly the size of a table salt shaker. The design matches an iPad or iMac as it was made by Apple.

    But how does it work? In a word, great! It is quiet & clean. It has plenty of gain for a good dynamic mic. A 9 volt battery provides the juice for condenser mic phantom power. It has MIDI IN. It comes with the cables needed to interface with a computer, iPhone or iPad, along with DIN-connector MIDI devices. And a most impressive feature is the low power drain, which is important when running off an iPad battery.

    If you are like me and like to venture out from time-to-time, but still be able to create, this is a great tool.

  • from Memphis, Tn February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Vocalist,Airforce Band Retired, Teaching artist,Project Studio Owner

    My IRig Pro experience

    Blown Away, is exactly what I would say, This is simpily an awesome interface, As vocalist I'm using it vocalive app the full version and it's the perfect fit for my live gig setup. as a vocalist you can be in total control of your effects and volume. Don't take my word for it , Try it or go to a music and demo one. AWSOME..........

  • from Norfolk VA May 13, 2014Music Background:
    Composer/Performer/Designer/Envisionist

    Amazing... This badboy is the Shnizel!

    Perfect for what I needed and my apps sound amazing controlled via Roland GAIA, especially Animoog, Magellan and the incredible Galileo. I researched these gizmos for quite sometime and as always my bud Matt Emick guided me through the process, carefully advising what would and would not work. As always, an amazing purchasing experience.

  • from Boulder CO March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Professional player and teacher

    Best device for iPad

    This turned my iPad into a pretty cool little studio. I have used this every day since I got it. Incredibly simple to use. Very cool!

  • from Valparaiso, IN January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist for 22 years, bassist for 5, sound production for 15 years.

    iRig Pro

    I've only had this for a month, so I don't think what i say is a definitive review. I got this so I could record guitar into my iPad and it does a great job of it, in 24 bit sound. While Amplitube will try to pimp their goods saying their is the best software (you might as well grab the free software they give you), I use this with Jam Up Pro XT and I've had no complaints. I haven't used it for anything but guitar, but I am excited to try bass and MIDI with it. Once again, thanks always go out to my sales rep Nate Edwards, who has spent the last seven years giving me his best advice.

  • from New York, USA October 7, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Famous Guy

    Expedites The Demo Making Process!

    I have been using amp sims for a while now and though I love the sound of a good tube amp and a solid guitar, the amp simulators can be very practical live. This unit is quite robust though not bullet-proof. I record all the demos for my band on Garageband and this unit has made it possible for me to record everything into my IPad! Check it out though if you are a stickler for tone and want everything to be "perfect" then go with a real tube amp!

  • from Detroit May 18, 2017

    Great product.

    Works great with my computer and my Ipad Pro. My only complaint is it won't charge my Ipad while I use it. In order to charge your Ipad and use this you need to buy IKmultimedia power bridge. My device has a great battery life so this is a minor complaint compared to all the benefits I have gotten from this awsome device.

  • from December 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist

    iRig Pro

    Clean, quiet! I'd buy it all over again.

  • from Boston October 28, 2014Music Background:
    semi pro

    Best solution for iOS I/O

    After trying a number of approaches to getting music into an iPhone and an iPad, this is the easiest. I'm cheap, so I was resisting $150, but this runs without external power and lets you plug in MIDI, mics and guitars.

  • from June 3, 2014

    Very Cool Indeed

    I waited quite awhile to get an iOS interface and my man Matt Emick was there to guide me the entire journey. This little gem continues to amaze me. While the touch technology of iOS offers a new approach to expression, being able to use guitars and keyboards to control the incredible world of musical apps is creatively refreshing. Latency is low, design is magnificent and the convenience is terrific. Yes, it is expensive but look how much we save by being able to access so many musical apps which are amazingly reasonable. It is like having an infinite palette of sonic colors.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Music Educator

    Excellent Product!

    The strength in this wonderful interface lies in the fact that you can use audio and MIDI at the same time on your iOS device instead of having to unplug it! Great sounding and practical unit. It won't replace my Apogee interfaces, but it works very well indeed!

  • from Cortland, IL October 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome for iOS AND Mac

    This device covers a lot of ground in a device not much bigger than two packs of Bubblicious, and even has room for a battery for the phantom power (more on that later).

    The iRig Pro allows for three connections: direct guitar via 1/43, microphone via XLR (with phantom power, if needed), and MIDI via weird 1/83 to 5-pin MIDI cable (included).

    This in turn connects to the iPhone or iPad via Lightning or 30-pin, both of which are included as well.

    Thus far, Iíve ran a couple electrics of varying pickup strength through it, as well as a large diaphragm condenser mic, and all work very well. Thereís very little, if any noise to be detected, and, as long as you kill all other open apps, very little latency. The mic pre is powered by a single 9v battery, and it sounds impressive for a device of this size and cost. In fact, I donít think my Steinberg interface is any better. Itís extremely easy getting proper levels for it, just by following the LED indicators, and watching the virtual VU meter in GB.

    Because thereís still no headphone out of the device itself, youíll need to utilize the iOS deviceís regular headphone out for connectivity. I donít really view that as too big of a setback, given that cables are readily available to adapt it to whatever you need.

    MIDI works really well too, particularly with GarageBand and Sampletankís virtual instruments. In this case, I used my YRG funky guitar-shaped MIDI controller, which has the 5-pin output. The YRG performed here as it always does connected to anything else, which is to say quite nicely.

    All in all, it may seem a bit odd to want to connect all of this stuff to a little phone, and in the case of the condenser mic, it probably is. But the strength of it is that I can jam on an electric with just my phone, I can do MIDI work and acoustic guitar on my iPad, and ANY of that is very simply imported into Logic X, and from there can be continued to be worked on. MIDI in particular is actually a blast to work on with the iPad, due to the touchscreen.

    What I have found cool for awhile now is to work entirely in GarageBand, recording electrics with their (somewhat mediocre) amp models, instruments, etc. Then when imported into Logic, I simply swap the amp modeling for Amplitube or GuitarRig 5, the drums for EZ Drummer (since itís just MIDI), and the virtual instruments for Sampletank or a Logic instrument (since itís also MIDI). The overall flexibility is amazing, and a lot of fun.

    Overall, I definitely recommend the iRig Pro. Itís more flexible than the iRig HD, Jam, or L6 Sonicport, and the sound quality is far superior to the original iRig stuff. Knocking off half a star for lack of output and inability to charge device while in use. Other than that, AWESOME!

  • from October 17, 2013

    iRig Pro

    This is a great low cost USB interface that has phantom power for my condenser mikes. I use it with garage band and have had no problems with it, just plugged it in, opened garage band and started playing. Very Cool device, highly recommended.

  • from April 13, 2017

    great price

    just what i needed

  • from euclid, OH March 20, 2017

    it works

    just what i needed to get some use out of this iPad

  • from Portland Oregon March 16, 2017Music Background:
    public/media relations specailist

    patching real audio into devices

    This is a great concept and perfect for smart phone and other compact computer devices recording video. Our event organization is growing our online and social media presence daily and this iRig converter is the perfect tool for patching a quality analog microphone into a digital recording device. It is particularly helpful for live streaming events right off smart phones. As the digital age settles into the operational norm it is becoming more important than ever to have this kind of tool that supports quality recording productions on personal devices. Wonderful customer service in helping find and ship this unique tool in a timely order.

  • from Vermont February 24, 2016

    So far so good

    This input is pretty plugnplay. No nonsense, clean hookup to logic x in my mac, readily recognized by system, simple colored lights let you know if gain is in a good window. I like it. And latency solved after firmware upgrade.

  • from Memphis, Tn October 29, 2015

    IRIG PRO

    If I had known IRIg was coming out with the IRIG Pro Duo I would have waited before buying the the IRIg Pro for $50.00 more.

  • from January 11, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboardist

    IRig Pro

    IRig Pro works very well. Quiet! I'm glad I chose it!

  • from Jacksonville, OR August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, recording enthusiast

    Perfect for on the go

    It works seamlessly with iOS. Was very impressed with the midi adapter and use with my Roland Kit. It would be nice to be able to track both Maddie and audio at the same time. But this may be software-based?
    I also use the USB adapter with my MacBook and was able to track in the field very easily with my mic.

  • from USA January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician/producer

    IOs interface done right

    After having an iRig Midi for awhile I decided to buy the iRig Pro. What an awesome interface. It's great that it comes with all the cabling you need for you're iOs device and computer via USB. I tried Lapsteel, SM58 and midi and all worked flawlessly with IKs apps as well as any others. Way to go IK Multimedia ans SWEETWATER !!

  • from Austin, TX January 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Producer

    A Fine Interface

    iRig PRO works like a charm. I got it for Christmas. It works well with my iPad 4. I haven't tried it with a PC yet but I'm certain it will work as well. I got it to use with an Aphex 230 Master Voice Channel with my iPad for voiceover jobs and auditions. The Pre in the iRig is clean and discrete. It doesn't adversely color the Aphex, which has a world class preamp. Lately I've found using iRig PRO with my guitars and the Amplitube goodies you can download as bonus to sketch out song ideas works out well. Having a good time working with this setup.

    My only complaint is the the LED indicator which tells you how strong your signal is (blue for weak, orange for good, red for too much) stopped glowing orange.

  • from Salt Lake City April 13, 2015

    Simple, good, a little noise

    Overall, I really like the simplicity and completeness of this - MIDI, phantom power, line, and instrument all in one interface. Setting it up and connecting equipment is pretty straightforward, too. The only problem is that there is a little bit more noise when recording than I would like, but for the price I really shouldn't complain.

  • from Traverse city, Mi December 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician

    iRig pro

    Good basic audio interface at an appropriate price point. Audio clear w / not much latency. Kinda cheap on the build quality ( knob, plastic casing)

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig PRO Audio/MIDI Interface - iOS/Mac?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway