0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

IK Multimedia iRig Mic Handheld iOS Microphone Reviews

3.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig Mic Handheld iOS Microphone?

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig Mic Handheld iOS Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Matt Alexander

    I've been writing songs for over a decade and I've realized something - if I don't write down or record an idea when it hits me I'm going to lose it. Fortunately for me, the IK Multimedia iRig Mic has now made that problem practically disappear! Set-up is quick and easy, so I can lay down my ideas quickly and effectively. Offering far better sound capturing than the on-board recording devices on my iPhone, the iRig has found its permanent place in my to-go bag.

  • The Mule
    from Palo Alto, CA USA March 29, 2011Music Background:
    Bagpiper, Vocalist, 2 degrees in music technology, iPhone developer

    Smule loves the iRig!!!

    This is TheMule from Smule! I'd just like to say that the iRig Mic is quite awesome. It works really well with our apps at least, and the 3 intensity settings give it quite a bit of versatility to be used in a number of different settings for a number of different applications (both iPhone applications and real world applications alike).
    Don't listen to the review bombers, this mic provides a number of things that the iPhone and iPad built in microphones do not. the most important of which is it reduces feedback immensely when you plug the output into a stereo system, because let's face it, that's what the majority of you will want to do with it.
    You see, the iPhone and iPad microphones pick up pretty much everything in a 10 foot radius around them, while the iRig mic has a cardioid (aka directional) polar pickup pattern (say that 10 times fast!!), which gives it the ability to block out everything except for what's right in front of it. And what's right in front of it should be your beautiful singing face!
    Another added benefit of this is that you get to hold a microphone in your hand and sing into it, which may not seem like a big deal, but it does make you feel like you are performing a lot more. Plus it gives you the freedom to place your iPhone or iPad farther away from your face in case you want to read lyrics to a karaoke song (you know with Glee Karaoke or I Am T-Pain)
    So that's it! Go get it if any of these things seem appealing to you! And Sweetwater has Free Shipping! WOOT!!! Get to da Choppaaaaaaaa!!!!

  • Dawn W
    from United States July 2, 2013Music Background:
    years of singing, student of piano, want to do perform them together!

    La La La ... Something to Sing About !

    Great Mic! use it to practice singing with apps on my iPad. Records great. I've used the dual connector with headphones when i'm recording, speakers when i'm listening. (and critiquing, ugh!) The mic has 3 volume settings. It didn't get a 5.0 because you can't adjust the mic volume pick up to the nth degree. but it's amazing how it can pick up from a distance, holding in my hand, or speaking right into the mic. Def worth it all! And the best....got it at Sweetwater!!!

  • Steve Peterson
    from Willmar, MN March 28, 2012

    iRig for iPad and iPhone

    We are a group of radio stations and use the iRig products to record news events, do field interviews and record clients copy for ads
    Before we had the iPhone and iPads with the iRig mike we had to drag along a very expensive and heavy digital recorder. We get as good or even better recording and using the iRig App on the iPhone or iPad we send these recording back to the studio via MP3's or several other types of files via email. We can do a live field interview for a news event send it email back to studio and have it on the air in minutes, making our news department ahead of all other media. Looking forward for more products from iRig.

  • Customer
    from July 23, 2011

    Awesome mic!

    I love it! With all the effects available even I sound good! lol, the radon I gave it a 4.5 and not a 5 though is because the cord continuously wraps itself into a knot, I'm not sure why this happens but it's easy enough to straighten out so DONT let that hold you back from getting it. Also you can import all your songs on your iPhone and sing till your voice is gone! lol, I highly recommend this!!!

  • David Franklin
    from Mesa, az, USA July 1, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, hobbyist,

    Not terrible, but don't expect a lot

    Sure it's great for putting ideas quickly in, and can work for people who hope for better audio for videos or voice notes. Can b fun with backtracks on GarageBand, but not fantastic. But don't expect this to be a great mic to make good demos with. It's not, but I would recumbent the audio technica at-2020 for someone looking for that.

  • Customer
    from December 13, 2014

    Original mic

    Works well when recording on my iPad and phone. Have some difficulty with actual recording volume but does work well at cutting down background noise.

  • Customer
    from June 17, 2016

    It's okay

    It's good for the price

  • Customer
    from May 20, 2016

    Broke Randomnly

    The sound quality really wasn't really any better then my phone, 2 of the settings were useless and sounded like garbage, then it randomly broke on me after it was working fine the day before, I wouldn't suggest getting this it felt like a giant waste of money in my opinion. If I could at least detach the adapter I would give it an extra star but can't, the headphone jack still works fine so it's probably the mic, I really regret this purchase overall, just upgrade to a phone with good sound quality and this product won't be necessary.

  • Beau Weaver
    from Los Angeles, CA March 22, 2011Music Background:
    voice over artist

    Not What You Are Hoping For

    In short: noisy, poor frequency response, very little improvement compared to built in microphones. It might be of use for radio reporters or podcasters, but this does not produce pro-quality audio. And, one of the bundled apps is not even available yet, which seems deceptive to me. The other apps from IK disguise the sound with a bunch of effects, but cannot change the fact that pro quality audio cannot be had from the 1/8th inch input in iOS devices. Wait for products that connect digital audio through the 30 pin connector which will be coming later this year. Don't bother with this. Complete waste of money.

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig Mic Handheld iOS Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway