0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

IK Multimedia iRig MIDI Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from Usa May 27, 2013Music Background:
    Producer

    Don't buy any other

    Awesome....the best! Plug and play. Charges your ipad so no worries when your producing music or playing live. Great for just taking your ipad to a gig with just a controller. Great with Pro Tools , logic, garage band. Best midi interface hands down.

  • from West Sacramento, Ca November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    IRig Midi

    I just love it. It has that personal touch, and so convenient. the sounds comes out, is like having a 600 + dollar interface. I'm very happy with it.

  • from Hanoi Vietnam October 1, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Midi Inteface device

    I own it 1 year ago and I can say "this is an awesome product"
    I used this Irig with sampletank everytime I practice with my band. It comfortable,very easy to use,soundgood for practice and very low lacenty
    btw, thank IK Multimedia for these products

  • from Oklahoma September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Music lover

    As advertised

    I needed a way to update my digital piano with additional voicings. Using the irig midi and my iPad, mission accomplished. Using the piano keys as midi input into the iPad, and feeding the iPad headphone output back into the piano line in- remarkable! GarageBand, meet my piano. Very sweet.

  • from SE Missouri June 29, 2012Music Background:
    Born Again Band Student/Hobbyist

    Fantastic Tool For The iPad!

    I really like IK Multimedia's products (I have all their software instruments) and had purchased SampleTank for the iPad. The iRig MIDI now allows me even more voices for my compositions (I focus mainly on Symphonic/Concert Band pieces) by allowing me to add the iPad into the mix. The only issue I have is that the microUSB cable is so short you either need the keep the unit close to a USB port for charging or to use an extension cable - which is ok as long as it's a decent extension cable.

  • from United States May 16, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer (Professional)

    Great Unit!

    This is a fantastic unit!!! I use it live with the piano sounds and am blown away by the flexibility it has! The piano sounds are great, the latency is not an issue, it loads very fast, and it is light on your batter if you don't have power close. So glad I bought it.

  • from Temescal Valley August 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Bass Player

    Live or in Studio

    I play MIDI pedals with my bass, so I needed a compact and portable interface for live performances and rehearsal. This is it! I hook my Roland PK-5 into my iPad and iPod using this interface to access all the different sounds available through music audio apps like GarageBand. The cables it comes with are a bit short, so I bought a MIDI cable coupler to attach it to a longer cable. I also purchased a longer micro USB cable for the charging port to reach my power supply. The recharging port did not respond to plugging directly into a powered USB port, but using the proper iPad/iPod outlet adapter makes it work.

  • from Sparta, WI May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Semi-Pro musician

    Just plug and play!

    This unit worked seamlessly with my core-MIDI compatible apps. The only hiccup I had is mostly a criticism of the cover I had on my iPad. Because the iRig is mounted off'-center to the interface connector, I had to cut a bit of my cover away to use the iRig with the cover on the iPad.

  • from Chicago Illinois May 4, 2012Music Background:
    Intense!

    iRig Midi Rocks!

    The ONLY reason i shaved half a star off of perfect is i would like to see a version that ALSO includes a USB connection(female).
    Since i use my ipad on stage, the ability to keep it charged is PARAMOUNT, this makes iRig worth the price of admission in itself!

    It 's midi implementation and throughput is PERFECT!
    I own MANY iPad synths including Garageband, BS 16-i and Sampletank, it ROCKS with them all. Thanks Sweetwater::))

  • from South Bend, IN March 12, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend warrior - 1 to 3 gigs per week.

    Works well

    The iRig midi works very well for my purposes. I'm using it in conjunction with the "Set List Maker" app to change programs in my midi equipped keyboard and guitar rigs. I just select the next song on my set list, and PRESTO.....the patches on my Alesis QS-8 keybord and my Zoom G9.2tt automatically change to where I need them. Invaluble to a seemless show! I haven't done any sequencing with it yet, so I couldn't speak to latency and things like that.

  • from New York February 25, 2013Music Background:
    semi-professional performer

    Really Good

    That I can hook up a keyboard and play into my iPad is phenominal--I does what it advertises and does it well. It has changed how I use my iPad entirely. Love the price and portability. There are a couple of cons you should be aware of:
    1) the 30 pin plug may not fit in all the way on with certain iPad covers, and even if it does, the fit is loose and easy to disrupt. If you do disrupt, you have to unplug and replug the unit.
    2) I found the charging feature will not charge an iPad. I plugged the usb cable into my factory 10W charger and my iPad still indicates it is not charging. It probably is, but at iPhone levels which is just a trickle.

    These quirks are not deal breakers and I would definitely, definitely recommend the product. If used in live performance I would secure the connect somehow and make sure my iPad is completely charged.

  • from Lincoln, RI USA October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Studio and Live Sound Engineer

    Great addition to my home studio

    I use it with my iPad and a Casio Privia 88 keyboard. The sounds are authentic and crisp. Works great with IK app and GarageBand. Now if IK can make a matching transformer or unit to plug the ipad directly into a guitar amp without overloading the input, that would be wonderful.
    Tom, my Sweetwater sales engineer has been very helpful with all the purchases I've made by putting the right gear together.

  • from Florida March 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Works Good

    This MIDI interface works well, but they should include Both Lighting and 30 pin connection. Also the usb chord provided to charge the phone is incredibly small and it renders it unusable unless you're right next to your computer which defeats the purpose of being a mobile device.

    But it works well and it does what it claims to do.

Questions about the IK Multimedia iRig MIDI?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway