0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

IK Multimedia AmpliTube iRig Reviews

3.5 stars based on 34 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jason Kovach

    I've always wanted a quick and easy way to record high quality song ideas without the hassle of turning on my entire recording rig. The iRig by IK Multimedia is the answer. I used the iRig in a Jazz improv class in college and the sound quality held its own against any full-size guitar amps in the room. The size and portability makes this the ideal tool for any musician wanting to record a quick song idea, or to start a jam session on an iOS device.

  • Robert Williams

    I use the IK Multimedia iRig with an iPad and it's great fun. There's more dynamic sensitivity than I imagined. Clean graphics make the app easy to navigate and the basic models aren't bad. The "a la carte" aspect of obtaining amps and effects allows the user to only get the specific items they're interested in, or the full pack is only $19.99 from the app store. Since you can use the iRig with other apps, you're also not limted to one manufacturer's set of sounds.

  • Bill E
    from May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Beginner

    AMAZING

    I bought this with my 'player pack' and one of those new online-learn-to-play programs for my ipad. This is so cool. I can connect up to practice and learn without bothering everyone in the house!

  • Leon
    from April 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    IRig works great!

    The IRig worked great and was very simple to use. Just plugged it in and were then able to broadcast our church services through the conference call-in center, previously arranged.

  • Jeremy
    from June 26, 2013Music Background:
    singer, bassist, budding guitarist, semi-pro

    iRig Rock

    This is a great little in-line adaptor for the AmpliTube app! It fits easily into a gig bag or gear bag or even your pocket. When I can't use the iRig Stomp pedal, this is my go-to piece of gear. And at half the price of the iRigHD it's a great stepping stone to the iRig universe.

  • evan scott gross
    from Syracuse, NY February 22, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    iRig

    excellent, easy...most important...SOUNDS GREAT!

  • David D. Allen
    from United States November 9, 2010Music Background:
    Sometimes, if I'm really into it, I can pat both feet at the same time.

    AmpliTube iRig

    I'll give a wow for now but I'm still waiting for this version with a bluetooth transmitter. Let me just put my iphone in my pocket and my ears on. My headset has controls for both, may just need a little amp up and I'll be done waiting.

  • Kyle
    from N.E. oklahoma October 17, 2010Music Background:
    local musician

    awesome

    Greatest practice tool yet! i was just sitting outside playing my bass to my favorite tunes. just does not get any better than that. sound quality is satisfying, i really enjoy playing just about anywhere i want.

  • sunvalleylaw
    from Sun Valley August 2, 2010Music Background:
    active amateur musician

    Does a great job!

    This thing is a great value. Works quite well, seems built well, and the models, amps etc. seem great! The stompboxes and models work just like I would expect. Dial up the "tubesreamer" in front of the fender looking model, and the volume knob works with it on my strat just as with the actual equipment I have at home. the sound is good, with no latency I can hear. Very little extra noise, adequate volume once I tweaked it, (though it could be boosted in an update), and bottom line does just what I want. I am glad I got the full version with all the models so I can experiment. I may learn something about boxes I do not have at home. Nice!!

  • Robert W.
    from St Louis, Mo July 29, 2010Music Background:
    Church player, semi-pro guitarist

    IRig iRocks!

    As a PodX3Live user, this device is perfect for me! I easily dialed in tones close to my X3, and now exclusively use it for practice.

    Downloading tunes to it could be easier, but it's a great practise tool. How about adding functionality to slow down the track would be nice. A compressor would be a great add as well!

    All in all a home run...nice!

  • macwinuxit
    from Chicago July 29, 2010Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording

    LOVE IT!

    I am so far really digging the iRig/Amplitube setup, and can't wait to see what they do next with it, in terms of in-app add-ons. The tones are good once you start a new preset from scratch, and the effects are great. I am not experiencing any of the static/volume issues mentioned by others, so perhaps I have been benefiting from a good hardware/software/headphone combination. I've used it with cheap Philips headphones, higher end Audio Technica studio headphones, as well as even plugged directly into my car's 1/8" aux jack on the stereo, which is damn fun!

  • Joe Riley
    from July 22, 2010Music Background:
    Professional recording engineer and performer

    This thing works. If highly disappointed would have contacted their support team, they would have been highly happy as there are many of us out there with iRig working like a charm. Complaining before getting your problem resolved by the people paid to fix your problems just hurts someone's business.

    iRig works, AmpliTube on the iPhone sounds GREAT. Don't let that other review turn you away because they couldn't contact support.

  • Mark Horton
    from VA February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Live Tool

    Does what it's meant to do. No moving parts, works seamlessly with the app, small & very portable, and sounds great!

  • Strat
    from Ft. Lauderdale, FL August 27, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    irig is awesome

    I am very happy with the irig. When i first heard about the product, I could not wait to get one. i admit I has a small issue with the volume when i first started using it, but the IK support team responded immediately and quickly pointed me in the right direction. Now I cant stop playing with it. it is just too cool. Great job IK!

  • Kevin
    from Southern California August 2, 2010Music Background:
    semi-pro for a while now strictly for fun

    Sounds really great!

    I really like the iRig setup along with its iphone/itouch/iPad app. I bought the full app for $20 - well worth it. The sound is fairly amazing given that it is run through an iPad/iPod! The effects are really nice and the i think are exceptionally rendered. I experience no noticeable latency running through an iPad. I am running my guitar through the iRig into a ZT Lunchbox amp which sounds awesome. I have completely miniaturized my whole setup!! The only reason I don't give the iRig a five is because the sound level is pretty low. I think this is either due to the setting on the iPad or the fact the the iRig outputs in stereo while most amp inputs are mono. There should be an option on the iRig to switch to mono out. Otherwise great product!

  • Bob Trice
    from Rockwell, NC February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Professional solo acoustic performer

    Don't Record without it!!!!

    This little plug in is for your I-Pad to record with Garage Band. Just plug into the pad, plug in your guitar or bass, connect your headphones or buds and your ready to lay down some tracks!!! I think there are other interfaces that you can use but for me, this is all I need. My only reason for not giving it a 5 is that you can't plug in a speaker instead of the headphones. I don't really like how headphones feel on my head but I'm sure there is a reason or I'm not doing something right???

  • gregg
    from boston August 11, 2014Music Background:
    berklee grad, audio engineer

    irig

    years ago there was the rockman... what a great sound .... now, we plug into our smart phone and sound like jimmy hendrex ! (well, now exactly like jimmy cause he was mr hendrix but you playing thru his amp... now thats "foxy".

  • Royce Moreland
    from Grand Island, Fla February 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and home recording

    amplitude irig

    The amplitude irig works great. Plug your guitar into the 1/4 input and the interface in the iPad. Monitor with headphones or speakers. Great for original song ideas. Can record anywhere and anytime. Set your levels and hit record and your off and running. Just that easy.

  • Royce Moreland
    from Grand Island, Fla February 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician and home recording

    amplitude irig

    The amplitude irig works great. Plug your guitar into the 1/4 input and the interface in the iPad. Monitor with headphones or speakers. Great for original song ideas. Can record anywhere and anytime. Set your levels and hit record and your off and running. Just that easy.

  • Jon Clarke
    from SUNY Fredonia, NY October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Student guitarist, Recording Engineer.

    Awesome Rig for college players.

    I got this because I was going away to college 500 miles away and I wanted to play electric guitar while I played classical guitar at SUNY Fredona School of Music. I couldn't bring my amps because of their size so I decided to go IOS with my iPhone 4.
    I was disappointed with Amplitube's iRig app. The amps were alright and and so were the effects. Because I play mostly metal, the metal amp they had was too harsh sounding and nothing I would ever use for metal. Tip: Metalheads, get AMPKIT from Peavey. They have awesome effects and the great metal amps you'll definitely love!
    Another problem with iRig was that I heard constant interference. This is not surprise because I live in a dorm with a hundred other guys who are probably all on their cellphones too. A quick fix to this problem to put the phone on airplane mode.
    I have yet to try recording with the iRig but I am sure it would work great with a DAW. (I am a poor college student who cannot afford any new audio recording products).
    For those on a budget: an iRig interface and Ampkit iPhone application, you'll fall in love and you'll enjoy playing throughout college!

  • Scott R.
    from Vancouver, BC, Canada October 17, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist 30+ years

    FANTASTIC! WORKS AS IT IS INTENDED TO; An iPhone is NOT a Marshall stack.

    I have used a Dunlop Rockman for years as a portable practice tool, and when I saw the iRig, I was keen to see how well they had tackled the same problem.

    Overall, I am giving it 4 stars; the portability factor is great - with just a tiny iPhone adaptor that fits in your pocket, and your iPhone, which you have anyway. Now for performance, let me say that I have used a Rockman headphone amp for years, and you will not get away from a bit of background hiss no matter what setup you are using. With the iRig, the noise level is not any different; and manageable using the noisegate. Like normal amp set ups, some give more background noise than others; with the iRig clean amp, no effects, and my Telecaster, there is barely any noise; with the iRig metal amp, gain set high, using my Jackson/EMG's, there is noise! But if you use the noise gate, you can dial it down to whatever level you like. TAKE SOME TIME, and play with the settings on your phone and amplitube, and you will figure it out.

    The software itself is great; I find all the effects usable, and articulate. The noise gate is a touch heavy handed with tone( sucks away a bit of your top end ) but I find that with most real noise gates I've used. This, coupled with the fact that you are only able to chain three effects at once(you should see my pedal board!)are what took one star away from my rating of this product.

    Overall, a fantastic little tool, good sound, good value($40+$20 for amplitube app - less than half the price of ONE Boss pedal)and I will get a lot of use out of it. Remember that it's meant as an iPhone practice tool, and not a preamplifier for your Marshall wall at Wembley, and you won't be disappointed! I'm not.

    Kudos to Scott A. & Sweetwater for truly fantastic customer service, it's the first place I'll look for future purchases.

  • Chester
    from Washington, DC USA July 26, 2010Music Background:
    hobbist

    Portable Amplitube

    Clean amp is my go to. Nice delay, reverb and chorus. Interface is like candy, great to look at. The only thing is i cant pull songs from my itunes library. I have to download it to the app. Still, not the end of the world but so much more convenient if integrated.

  • JimmyC
    from Columbia, Mo July 25, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Don't forget to adjust the I pod volume in settings

    This section is in response to volume issues. The first thing I said was "The volume is too low" Then I realized my I pod settings were locked on 50%. I didn't even know the setting was there. Make sure you check your settings. We've all had the ID -10 -T error once or twice.
    OK, Back to business
    I went for it all and bought the $20 app. that includes 11 stomp boxes, 5 amps, 5 cabs, and 2 mics. I am really impressed with the tone considering it's a freakin' cell phone. I tested all the limits of the effects and I couldn't believe the response I got. The play along i pod icon allows you to add up to 20 mp3 files and you've got it made if you have backing tracks. I'm a tone addict, (many sleepless nights) and I'm giving it a thumbs up. It is without a doubt, the best thing that ever happened to a cell phone. I suggest a set of powered speakers and you'll be set!!!

  • Cecil
    from Kentucky December 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby

    It's ok but needs some work.

    Low volume, it's ok for what it is after all its not an amp. Works better on my iPhone, a lot of feed back on the ipad.

  • JEP
    from Somewhere in Texas January 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Works as designed

    I use this product with Garageband for the iPhone, and it seems to function as it was designed. I've played acoustic guitar for 20 years and only recently branched into playing electrics, so I'm still "feeling" my way around new technology.

  • Jack Gant
    from South Texas February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Cover bands in clubs - 50 years - Blues - Jazz Funk

    Someone's asleep at the Wheel

    LoAded 2 delays - hAving problems logging in
    The sounds I have gotten are are digitAly good

  • Matt Mckinney
    from Pensacola, FL October 29, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live Sound Engineer

    Really Good and Getting Better!

    I was initially a little disappointed with the iRig. There seemed to be a great deal of noise and the lack volume was a little bit of an issue. After tweaking it for a while I've come up with 3-4 really nice sounding presets to work with. I was also having trouble uploading songs to my iPod because the web page would not load. After some consulting with IK (they responded very quickly), I finally got that working and the songs load very quickly.

    Flash forward to last night's update. WOW! You now have a built-in 4 track recorder, phrase trainer and mastering! You can also now load songs directly from iTunes or your library.

    So with the new updates, the only thing I'm not really happy with is the Delay. I know I'm greedy, but I'd like to be able to place time based effects in a loop for the higher gain settings.

    Overall, a great practice and recording tool! Thanks and keep it up IK!

  • David
    from Alameda, CA May 24, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    OK, Needs Improvement

    I'm a traveling guitarist and don't always want to pull out my amp. I have a iPod touch and thought this would be a good practice tool. The ease of use and portability is perfect, but the sound quality is way below my standards. There's a lot of unnecessary noise and hiss with each of the simulated stomp boxes and amps. The 1/8" headphone jack is noisy and easily comes out with a little movement. Wait until they clean up the sound and upgrade the headphone jack to 1/4" size.

  • Shawn Gee
    from Hubbardston, MI August 21, 2010

    Geat Idea, Poor Performance

    I loved the idea of using my iPad or iPod touch to practice with this thing. However, the noise makes it completely unusable ( on both iPad and iPod touch). I don't know if it's because most people listen on low quality earphones and speakers or what, but with my in ears the noise is unbearable.

    I actually thought it was defective and Sweetwater sent a replacement (props to them for getting it out to me so soon), but the replacement is just as noisy. I'm not sure if IK did a poor job, or this is just the best you can do with the audio interface in the iPad / iPod touch.

    Anyway, minus the noise, it has the potential to be a cool product, not the kind of sound that would be gig-worthy, but again, I think part of that is the lack of a high quality interface

  • Michael Nikisher
    from Buchanan, TN December 17, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician.

    Disappointing

    When my Tascam MP-BT1 Bass Trainer started acting up I looked for a replacement that I could use with my new iPhone 5. Turns out that the iRig, teamed up with AmpliTube or GarageBand did not fit the bill. Two issues made it a non-starter. The first issue is that my 1995 Fender American Standard Precision Bass sounds like a kazoo when playing through the iRig using the same Bose headphones I use with the Tascam unit. Ugh! The second issue is that AmpliTube does not use music files from your iTunes library. Instead it imports music files, converts them to WAV files and stores them for it's exclusive use. AmpliTube provides no way to organize those files so you end up with two copies of the same song on your iPhone/iPad and updating your song list turns into a hassle.

  • Jeffrey Dobisch
    from January 13, 2011

    Don't Bother

    Don't bother with this overpriced toy. $40 for a $2 piece of plastic, then on to all the software. Those who bought the "complete" version found out it was not complete when v2 came out. The real problem is, as IK admits on their website, the audio of iPhone/iPad was not meant to combine playback with High-Z input. Result: backing tracks bleed into and through the effects, "multi-track" recording tracks bleed together, etc.

    IK says they are working on a fix "at a higher price point." Really? Are you really that desperate to make your iPhone/iPad do this?

    Do yourself a favor and spend the money on a Korg Pandora or a PocketPod instead of this overpriced gimmick.

  • Bradley Engstrom
    from san diego September 16, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, live sound engineer

    Doesnt work

    It doesn't fit into my I-phone and that's what they're suppose to work with. The collar on the I-phone is sunken in a bit so you have to use special 1/8 inch cords. I would have thought that they would have taken this into consideration. So what do you do cut it?

  • MS Ortega
    from Miami FL July 28, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Another useless gadget bites the dust

    The iRig does not work very well. I have gone round and round with tech support and still no solution to the problem. The volume is almost non existent no matter which guitar I use (single coil, humbucker, Active/passive pups etc) and which apple device I use (iphone or ipad). I have the volume on everything maxed out and still the volume is just above a whisper through the headphones.

    This needs to be fixed! Between the adapter ($40) and the software for the iphone ($20) and the ipad ($20), I have wasted $80 for something that simply does not work.

  • William Mcglone
    from Youngstown Ohio July 27, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just NOT worth the money

    I received by IRIG adapter and the excitement quickly turned to unhappiness. I have tried the irig with a Gibson Les Paul, a Fender Stratocaster, and a Dean electric guitar. The same extremely low volume on all three. I used the $20 version of the software on my ipod, iphone, and even my brand new ipad and it was terrible. I have all three devices cranked to maximum volume and the volume is not locked down (turned to max).

    Additionally, the static and noise make using this adapter and software a nightmare. I do not know what they were thinking when they thought this device was ready for release but they were wrong.

    I bought the iphone Software for $19.99 just two days before the release of the ipad version and if I want the ipad version I have to pay an additional 19.99. What a ripoff.

    The software is poor and the adapter is junk. I made a mistake buying this! If I could give it 0 stars I would.........

  • Big Mike
    from Georgia July 24, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Poorly made product

    Not a well made product. Sound quality is scratchy and hard to hear. I have tried it on three different guitars and both the iPhone and iPad and it is just not worth buying. A waste of my money!

  • Anthony Joy
    from Alabama July 20, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Highly disappointed - Barely useable

    I am highly disappointed by the iRig. The audio when used with headphones is way too low even with everything cranked up. This was a good idea but a terrible implementation. I would not recommend the iRig to anyone else!

Questions about the IK Multimedia AmpliTube iRig?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway