rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

TASCAM iM2 Reviews

3.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • John Gebhart
    from PA USA December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Professional keyboardist

    Awesome microphone!

    I used this twice to record a couple gigs and the clarity and fullness of the recording let alone the stereo sound! A great buy.....worth every penny!

  • Mark Peters
    from Traverse City, MI USA July 19, 2012Music Background:
    Organist

    Great Microphone!

    Love the sound for such a small microphone. I use it to record live classical concerts on my iPhone. Love it!

  • Dustin
    from Las Vegas March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Artist

    AMAZING mic for the iPhone!

    This is an incredible tool for portable recording! I can do auditions now with just my iPhone and the iM2. The sound is that good! I did a side-by-side with my studio mic and was very impressed. This mic delivers for a great price.

  • BZ Lewis
    from Oakland August 7, 2012Music Background:
    6 time Emmy award winning com

    Great quality, only few drawbacks

    The biggest drawback is that there's no headphone out for monitoring. If you own an iPad, no worries- but if you have an iTouch, then the headphone out of the iTouch is too close to the dock connector, and you can't use headphones, so I wish the iM2 had a headphone out as well. The only other drawback is that there's a bit of handling noise, but as long as the iPad or iTouch is held still, there's no issue.
    The overall recording quality is fantastic!

  • jack thibault
    from Minneapolis, MN January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Radio, Television Advertising

    iM2 Will Work In Most Instances

    OK wasn't sure how to rate this little beast since a 3.0 is "Really Good" and not sure it's there but it is better than average.

    As it is I am using the mic on an iPad or iPhone so not sure what I should totally expect as far as sonic quality goes.

    Here's the skinny I have used it for live performances, recording advertising demos, live instruments and voices.

    I used my iPhone for a live club performance recording and lo and behold got it outside and played it through the car speakers and sounded very good with no distortion that I had got through the phone's speakers. For fleshed out demos for some ads we were putting together I used my iPad Garageband IOS and it to was good but thought it could have been a little better. The good first was recording quality was solid with a fairly flat response curve with no noticeable distortion with instrument and voice. The down side I felt the limiter really did not work real well as it did blow up from time to time with a sound glitch on high sound pressure signals and though a good idea not sure it was real effective. Also the volume control was not really needed or was it very noticeable unless you set it max or minimum. During the club scene I just set it at max and let it go since there was no way your going to mess with it in such a lowlight situation and that it would have any major effect on volume and smaller increments is questionable.

    Overall this may be the best option at this time for an external mic for the iPhone or iPad at this time. Don't think you will be disappointed but remember it is not a Neumann either.

  • Jean chevrier
    from Chico ca September 6, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Worth the money

    Records pretty good for what it is- once you figure out the quircks.
    I record our band practice with it , it's a wonderful tool. However trying to pass the recording on to my band mates via the built in sound cloud app
    Is useless. Clunky. So maybe a regular handheld would be better for a little more money

  • Liam
    from Des Plaines, Illinois March 9, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great concept bbut was disappointed

    I bought the IM2 for outdoor field recording. This is a warnign to anyone who is considering getting this for any sort of outdoor recording. Don't. The microphone is fantastic indoors and picks up very well. But any sort of air movement near it is picked up.. If I did indoor recording like band gigs and the like I think it would be fantastic for that. I think Tascam has a great idea. I love it's small size and simplicity, but the lack of any sort of wind screen protecting the microphone is a deal breaker for me. I'd love to see Tascam reengineer this mic to fix these concerns.

  • Rich Rodarte
    from Chicago July 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It's not you, it's me!

    It doesn't seem very complex: on/off, limiter and volume. For me, the performance sucks. Maybe it's something I'm doing. When used on my iPad, the sound is worse when compared side-by-side with the same performance on my iPhone which was only using its internal mic. I've tried all permutations of all switches, mic direction and settings. I've tried it in GarageBand and the video camera. All were very low in volume and quality. Ain't nobody got time for that!

Questions about the TASCAM iM2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway