0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

IK Multimedia iLoud 40W Portable Personal Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the IK Multimedia iLoud 40W Portable Personal Speaker?

Questions about the IK Multimedia iLoud 40W Portable Personal Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Brooklyn NY September 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Music Producer/Composer/Engineer and Instructor.

    Iloud yes!

    Great speaker for it's size, portability and the fact it is Bluetooth. Awesome sound and loud. Actually this thing can be used to mix on as well as monitor your music thru.

  • from San Jose, CA October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Vegas style duo pro. Also completely enjoyed college jazz band.

    Really nice frequency response with bass port.

    I really like being able to bluetooth music from my iPhone or plug into an 1/8" jack. This speaker has a bass port so the frequency response starts down at 50Hz. Bass is my main concern when looking at portable speakers. Heck, this thing has LOTS of bass and I can jam a small party with some backing tracks and a guitar and amp. I did also download Free Amplitube for use on iPhone and it functions, though I do prefer to carry a guitar amp to jam along with this thing. GOOD CLEAN FUN!

  • from Bluefield, VA June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Consultant, Worship Musician

    Awsome Little Speaker!

    This thing really blows away most speakers of its kind; I only say "most" because I haven't heard them all and MAYBE there is one that sounds better, but I just haven't heard it. It was easy to get going right out of the box, and it fills my office with way more than enough sound. The bass response is amazing for its size, as well. I can't wait to try it out outdoors! Also looking forward to using it in a small jam session with my guitar. Great product.

  • from Roseville, MI February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer

    Can you hear me now??

    The iLoud speaker is PHENOMENAL!!! The sound is rich and full with crisp highs and solid lows. The amount of bass you get out of the iLoud is perfect... Not too much, but plenty and believe me, it comes through with ease. Don't let the size of this monster fool you either... It gets LOUD!!!! The sound is well balanced and pairs perfectly with my iPad. Now here's what you will discover as I did... I use the iLoud, the iRig Keys Pro and my iPad Air to record. If this is your set-upas well, just know that you cannot record in realtime when connected via Bluetooth. It will produce a latency issue which is caused by BLUETOOTH TECHNOLOGY, not the iLoud, or the iRig Keys Pro. Instead, you have to use the INCLUDED 1/8" TRRS cable and go hardwire from your iPad to the iLoud. Which for me, isn't a major issue. However, after you've recorded your song, bluetooth works flawlessly while listening as opposed to recording. I hope this helps someone and IK Multimedia, YOU GUYS ARE AWESOME!!!!!!!!

  • from Arizona January 1, 2017

    Great Product

    Easy set up. Loud. Sounds great. Small enough for a table or shelf. Better than I expected it to be.

  • from Denver, CO June 11, 2016Music Background:
    Playing for 18 years

    Very Impressive

    I was very impressed with this product. I used this unit at a large outdoor park for an EDM dance event and didn't even need to turn it up to the fullest. Excellent battery life and easy-to-use interface. The only (admittedly minor) complaint I had was that the 1/8" cable included to connect an audio source to the speaker was unusable - it crackled and popped at extraordinarily loud volumes. Luckily I had another that worked fine, but it was annoying as the rest of the unit seems to be of a very high quality. If it were lost or stolen, I would definitely replace it; I may even get a second just to have two. I highly recommend!

  • from Stow, Ohio February 2, 2015

    iLoud is worth it

    This device is pricy, but worth it. I read a couple reviews that stated that the device distorts when the volume is turned up to the max. Yes... if you are also playing a backing track. You do need to dial it down a bit from the max. If all you do is play guitar, you can go all out. I am totally thrilled with the device as a practice amp/monitor, and it makes a terrific portable Bluetooth speaker. REALLY good battery life.

  • from Key Largo May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Music Lover

    Use every day to practice guitar

    I use the iRig HD and it sounds great thru the iLoud. The built in interface did not work for me. To noisy and inconsistent. Works great as a Bluetooth speaker too. Put it in the corner of a room and you won't believe the bass coming from such a small unit.

  • from October 27, 2015

    Has its limitations

    I had anticipated better volume. Size is great for practice at house. Also battery life is good. My pig nose has much better amplification and capabilities. I am not impressed with the performance of the iIkmultimedia products as compared to cost.

Reviews

  • Mitch Gallagher
    4-24-2014

    Here's a little secret for you: in most cases, we make music because we want to hear it. When using an iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch, this means being reined in by earbuds or tethered by a cable from the device's headphone jack to a stereo or monitor system of some sort. But to experience your music without being tethered, why not go wireless? That's just what the iLoud from IK Multimedia allows you to do.

    Your iOS device connects to iLoud via Bluetooth, so no cables are required. It contains dual low- and high-frequency drivers, so you have full-range stereo in one box. With 40 watts of power on tap, the iLoud lives up to its name, delivering substantial volume without strain, with a lot more bass than you would expect from a speaker this size. Yet the iLoud is compact and light enough (less than two pounds) to drop in a bag and take on the go. The Bluetooth range extends out so that you can comfortably be out of the room and down the hall and still get reception from your iOS device.

    If that was all the iLoud did, it would be cool enough. But, it also contains iRig circuitry, so you can plug your guitar in and take advantage of playing amp simulators like IK's AmpliTube through the speakers.
    If you're looking to escape the tyranny of cables and earbuds, and want portable playback, check out the iLoud -- it's definitely doing the job for me.

    Manual Management

    I find myself using my iPad more and more. Here's a perfect example: most products, whether software or hardware, don't come with paper/printed manuals anymore. At most, you may get a small quick-start guide. Personally, I like to have access to my manuals when I am working in my studio; I might need to look up a DAW command, figure out how to create an effect, or just remember how to make some feature work on a box. But I hate having to search the web and look at manuals on my computer -- I'm already using my computer for music; I don't want to change screens or windows to look at a manual. Plus, I don't want to carry paper manuals or a computer to live gigs, which is another place where I might want to look something up.

    The solution for me was to load PDF versions of my gear manuals into iBooks. PDF manuals are available at virtually all manufacturer websites. What I do is find the manual on the web using my iPad, and when it is loaded into Safari, I tell the iPad to open it in iBooks. You can also use Dropbox or e-mail to get PDF manuals into your iPad. I created a "Collection" in iBooks for manuals, and now, I keep my trusty iPad beside me in the studio and with me at the gig (it was already riding along to display chord charts and lyric sheets anyway).

    The bonus is I actually find myself flipping through manuals during down time (I'm a geek; I admit it), which has really paid off in knowing my gear and my software better.

Questions about the IK Multimedia iLoud 40W Portable Personal Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway