0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand - Adjustable Holder for Tablets/iPad Reviews

4.0 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand - Adjustable Holder for Tablets/iPad?

Questions about the IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand - Adjustable Holder for Tablets/iPad?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Ross Shapton
    from TN March 21, 2017

    It's a must for remote mixing

    It's great to have on a stand, but where it really shines is when I take my iPad into the audience to control my Presonus rm32ai. The ball connector on the back lets me hold the iPad securely on my arm like an artists pallet and I can just mix freely with my right hand. I never have to worry about dropping it. An unexpected feature but an awesome one.

  • Joel
    from Pittsburg March 17, 2017Music Background:
    +10 years playing and involvement in Church Ministries.

    Perfect for the musician on the go!

    I've searched and tried many, MANY of these iPad holders in search of the right one. I love this one because:

    1. It holds my iPad air 2 in my Otterbox Commuter snugly. Most of the ones on the market are NOT made to hold your iPad in a case.

    2. Due to the design of the clamping system it can rotate and adjust to fit most angle you could need. The big thing for me is that I can mount it to the arm of my boom stand and adjust the clip holder down to an angle I can easily see it OVER the mic.

    3. I was worried it would feel cheap since its plastic. I was pleasantly surprised by just how stout and solid this is. The clamping system works well and this product is definitely worth its money in my opinion.

  • Customer
    from January 2, 2017

    Works awesome

    Perfect for all stands and iPads

  • TN
    from Hightstown, NJ February 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician

    Fits iPad Pro

    I bought this because another review said it would work with the iPad pro. It fits nice and snug, but I only use it in landscape view. I would be hesitant to use portrait. It seems like it would hold but without some support underneath I just as soon not take that risk.

  • Customer
    from Florida February 5, 2016

    Great Product

    This is my second one. I have one for when I play with my band and another that I use for my acoustic gigs. I highly recommend it. Its not the cheapest but its the best. I've had several different models and this is the best. What I like best is that I do not have to remove the ipad cover.

  • FD
    from Texas January 15, 2016

    Works with iPad Pro!

    This will fit the iPad Pro, even though the description doesn't specifically mention iPad Pro, it will work. I'm very pleased.

  • Mike Pulgarin
    from Chicago December 26, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Piano and Bass Player

    Great !!!

    Works perfect with my iPad pro.

  • Customer
    from August 11, 2015

    IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand

    Excellent produce. Ridiculously easy to use and set up.

  • Lew Jetton
    from May 23, 2015

    Works well!

    Holds the iPad firmly on place and there's enough movement so I can position it exactly where I want it.

  • Jeffrey. Duplechain
    from Egan,La. March 20, 2015Music Background:
    Singer and songwriter

    iPad Holder

    This iPad holder works great.I just wish it had an extension on it to raise it up another inch but other than that it works really well and holds the iPad firmly in place.

  • Michael Young
    from San Antonio, Texas December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player

    IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand

    Excellent product, does exactly what it says. Allows a multiple variety of mounting positions. I use it with one of the bigger tablets on the market, a Samsung Note 12.2, and it secures it nicely to a mic stand with no issues. Highly recommended product.

  • Sheila Ward
    from New Britain, CT 06053 November 21, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Iklip Xpand

    Never one better,it's GREAT!

  • Scott
    from Orange County, CA October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Music Player

    Perfect for iPad Air and Air 2

    I was between this mount and the K&M universal mount to use my iPad for charts on stage. I needed a simple mount that allowed me to keep my iPad in it's case and one that would transport easily. I decided on this one over the K&M simply for portability and price, and I'm glad I did! It's lightweight, slim, and secures my iPad Air 2 well, even with it's Apple Smart Case still on.

  • Joe Raposo
    from Dartmouth, Ma September 14, 2014Music Background:
    Singer Studying recording engineering

    IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand

    Great product. Holds my Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 perfectly and stable. And.... of course, great fast service from Sweetwater. They are my go to guys....

  • Luis Martinez
    from Bronx, NY July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Good quality

    It holds the ipad securely in place. It does it's job very well and it seems to be bery durable. Highly recommended.

  • Anthony Williams
    from Alabama (AL) March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Answer to my problems.

    My iPad kept falling on the floor during rehearsals. This was the answer. Thanks.

  • Chris B
    from Danbry, CT January 11, 2017

    iKlip

    Expands to fit a variety of iPads or other tablets. The stand mount is all plastic. As long as you don't have to move it a lot, it should hold up fine.

  • KEVIN HERRINGTON
    from Anderson, SC September 18, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Good product but a little misleading

    This is a great product if you have a I pad thus the 4.5. However, It claims to be universal, even say's so on the box. It is not. I have a Samsung Galaxy 10" tablet and it will not open up wide enough for it and when you turn it upright it is to big for it. I did find one for the Galaxy but is is not this one. If you have an I pad you will love this holder.

  • Dave
    from emachine87@aol.com January 30, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player

    iKLIP Xpand

    I use a Samsung Galaxy 10.1 tablet in a heavy Unicorn case. I tried 2 other holders but neither had clips long enough to securely hold the tablet. Thanks to Tom Koch (best sales guy) got the info I needed. The clips on the iKlip are 9/16" long. My tablet in the case is 1/2", clips do not interfere with any controls, problem solved. Wish they could include that info in the description.

  • Peter Birchenough
    from Honolulu HI January 11, 2016

    Gets the job done

    Was worried that the spring tension wouldn't be enough to hold my iPad , but dang if it hasn't totally proved my intuition wrong. This thing is solid and glad I have it! No complaints. Easy assembly!

  • Customer
    from March 30, 2017

    VPinFL

    Does just what it was designed for. I purchased it for my IPad Pro.

  • James Schwarz
    from Winter Springs, FL March 11, 2017

    Works with Galaxy Tab 2 10.1

    Another ithing that can be used for Android tablets. Just check the width. I use this with my Galaxy Tab 2 10.1" with a defender case, though it's really tight with the case. If I was using this on a shaky stage I'd probably take the defender case off and get a better grip. But for most of what I do it works great. I can only grip my shorter side, so you might worry about it falling, but it is tight. I can press the screen to change my music with not problem.

    I've had this for about a year, and it's starting to sag a little. When it finally wears out, I'll certainly replace it.

  • Joseph Wilson
    from PA January 4, 2017

    Iklip

    It does a good job i just wish it tilted a little more

  • Luke W
    from Ct. August 16, 2016Music Background:
    Therapeutic n Hobby

    Even works great iPad mini

    I do karaoke online. My setup consists of boom stand, mic, iPad mini 4 and TWO IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand. Quick assembly of klip and easier popping your iPad in AND out!!! I realized most of the time the lyrics are not correct. That's why I have 2 iKlip xpands.
    EVERYTHING I needed and it was my Sales Representative who filled me in on what I'd need to start w/ the recording. She was right on the money too! Cost wise, in my opinion, was worth every dollar! Just w/ its simplicity AND convenience!!!

  • Drew Madere
    from United States March 23, 2015

    great

    great addition to my drum kit

  • dann franks
    from United States March 3, 2015Music Background:
    pro

    iklip

    I bought one and when the band saw how good it worked - they bought them too.. Well worth the money. Works with the otter box case as well. First class item!

  • Raymond Kim
    from Atlanta August 13, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist/part-time musician

    Best tablet mount I've used so far.

    Used a few tablet mounts in the past. I've also upgraded my iPad. Those mounts became useless afterwards. The iKlip is great b/c it's universal. Spring-mounts can often be a downside. I've had some that broke, or the springs would pop out. These springs seem a lot more heavy-duty gripping my iPad tightly, but also it can be a little difficult to get your tablet in and out of the mount. You do need a little strength to pry the thing open. I do love the ball-joint neck, which gives you the ability to turn your tablet in virtually any direction. I just hope the joint doesn't get lose over time. But so far so good.

    Also want to give a shout-out to Sweetwater! This was my first purchase with them. My delivery was very prompt, and they also gave me updates along the way. Great customer service! I will definitely be shopping with them in the future, and I recommend you do so as well.

  • Mel Stephenson
    from Kearney, NE (USA) August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Ametuer Musician

    Like my iKlip Xpand

    Very happy with the timely way I received my product from you. The iKlip Xpand is very useful in my way of using it......Great......

  • Mark R
    from Nampa, ID December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Bassist for over 35 years, Bass demonstrator at NAMM

    iKlip is Great - Back end apps are not

    The iKlip works perfectly, I highly recommend it. But trying to download the free apps on the IK Multimedia website is nothing short of an ordeal. Hey IK guys, stick with either hardware or software, don't try to do both!

  • Dave
    from Kohler WI March 19, 2017Music Background:
    Classic Rock

    iKlip Xpand

    Cut to the crash; I like it but the price is not on par with its value. The iKlip could potentially be the best tablet positioner in its class if some of the components were constructed of metal. With the exception of it's internal tensioning springs, this devise is nearly 100% plastic. For your investment, the ball and socket construction would be a better value if it was metal on rubber like a Ram-Mount type product. This one is plastic on plastic so it's grip is weak and the table tends to sag. The hand knob that tightens the joint is a plastic bolt that threads into a plastic clamping arm. When you realize that you cannot twist it hard enough to stabilize the table, try this; wrap two turns of tightly stretched electrical tape around the ball. Then be careful not to over tighten the hand knob as you will begin to strip or break the plastic threads. If that happens, you can replace the knob with an actual metal bolt ( # of threads and length must match ), however, you will likely need a tool to install and remove the clamp, and the female side is still plastic, so easy does it. For the asking price please give us a product that is more robust. We appreciate excellent ideas like the iKlip Xpand, we need value and reliability. The "love" part comes with trust.

  • Dan
    from California February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer

    iKlip Xpand

    This is doing the job required and holds the iPod even in it's foldback standard case. However I'm not confident that it will last the test of time as the materials, plastic, and construction hardly seen to warrant the $50 price.

  • Customer
    from June 27, 2016

    Iklip rubber pads fall off

    Good concept.
    Rubber pads should be attached with some adhesive.
    The pieces fall off and ik customer service is not helpful.

  • Customer
    from August 16, 2015

    Had several... That says something!

    I've had several of these b/c they fit various cases well and I've not found a suitable alternative. When it works it's great but they ball joint can be difficult to get tight enough and alias, strips quite easily. I've had several as our band uses there iPads on stage but I'd drop it in heartbeat if I could find a sturdier design that allows easy integration with cases. It's not that I like this - it's cheaply made though it costs plenty. It's just that there's not a lot of options. If you can find something else I'd recommend trying other options. I've had a couple die quick deaths. Never dropped a tablet, just lose he ability to hold it in he proper angle.

  • Bruce Durgin
    from Sparks, NV March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Rubber clamping pads fall off easily

    The 4 rubber clamping pads should be attached better. 2 of them fell off after the first practice session and were lost. Found the other 2 in the bottom of my gig bag! Could be a great product if designer can develop a better way to attach the rubber pads/grips. Does fit a Samsung Galaxy 10.5 screen as advertised.

  • Konrad
    from Colorado May 11, 2016

    IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand table stand

    I saw the mostly positive reviews and thought this would work for me. I would have been willing to go through the rework of gluing the rubber pads in so they don't fall out. My problem was much more fundamental. The clamp screw for the ball socket mechanism is steel; it threads into the plastic clamp. This concerned me right away. Not only is a metal/plastic interface bad news for a high stress application like clamping a ball into a socket, there was only around 4 threads of engagement....and the hole threads in the clamp only go around 50% of the hole circumference; a byproduct of the molding process they use. Anyways, threads stripped out almost instantly on assembly before the ball would lock into the socket (no, I didn't have it cross threaded). I'm returning it and will steer clear on ANY iKlip products in the future. At least it looks good.

  • Tad Wade
    from Oh October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Won't stand up over time

    I have used for several months. This product will not hold a standard IPAD in a nice case. So I used it without a case. After some months of use the IPAD started slipping. Twice my IPAD fell out of this unit. The second time it busted the screen.

  • NK
    from South Florida November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Do not believe the advertising

    This product is advertised as being able to hold ANY model iPad without having to remove the case. It even says this on the box! This is absolutely false. I have 3 iPads needing mic stand clamps, with 3 different style cases. None of them are held securely with the cases on by this item . The clips that are supposed to hold the iPad are too small to fit around the iPad and it's case. All the manufacturer would have had to do is add maybe 1/2 inch to the depth of the clips and this would be a good productů go figure . . I'm returning them

Questions about the IK Multimedia iKlip Xpand - Adjustable Holder for Tablets/iPad?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway