rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

iConnectivity iConnectMIDI4+ Reviews

3.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the iConnectivity iConnectMIDI4+?

Questions about the iConnectivity iConnectMIDI4+?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Brian Loney

    iConnectivity's iConnectMIDI4+ is a real problem-solver in my keyboard rig! It allows me to have iOS control over my entire setup, routing Program Change messages from an iPad to a computer and several class-compliant USB keyboards.

  • Yolchie
    from August 27, 2016Music Background:
    Studio engineer, producer, multi-instrumentalist.

    LEARN IT AND LOVE IT!

    Long story short...this little, mighty box has a bit of a learning curve; but it's incredibly powerful. I use it in my studio as a single hub for 2 keyboards, a controller, and a set of Roland drums. It's incredibly nice to be able to have all my midi gear all hooked up and ready to play in a split second. It will do a GREAT deal more than what I use it for; but it's flawless for my application.

  • Two Shankz
    from San Francisco October 21, 2015Music Background:
    Producer writer mixer

    wired is better

    This box is really nice, I can now intergrate iOS synths much easier w/out wasting time with the
    wireless setup.

  • Dan Wentz
    from Naperville January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, Musician

    Best new product of 2014

    Overall this device has certainly exceeded my expectations. Incredible depth and flexibility. I use it both in the studio with a mini/iphone and as a complete MIDI interface/instrument source/controller for live performances. It has justified every dime I've ever spent on apps, and is pushing me to find just how deep this rabbit hole goes! There were some surprises but I found work-arounds in every case. Most notably, ground loop hum. Thank you Sweetwater/iConnectivity!!

  • Neil Barbu
    from Michigan USA November 14, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Producer

    Best midi interface

    One word,, Wow! Being able to integrate iOS devices with hardware midi and controllers with audio passthru from iOS devices to computer and from iOS device to another is absolutely brilliant! 7 control devices with a usb hub controlling anything connected to the iConnect Midi 4+. This is the central hub of my midi studio!

  • Scott
    from green bay wi August 16, 2015Music Background:
    music tech teacher

    Great Potential

    This is potentially a five star product but the learning curve is very steep. I consider myself tech savvy but I have had a difficult time wrapping my brain around the routing. It's flexibility is also its downfall.

  • Ryan
    from Paradise May 31, 2017

    Very finicky and tech support sucks

    I bought this trying to wire up quite a few outboard synths and such. Sounds like a dream when you read the tech facts on it but it doesn't work well for me. Lots of stuck notes and MIDI freak outs in my rig causing me to spend a lot of time trying to figure things out. I also bought the smaller MIDI 2+ for my other rig and same thing, doesn't do half of what it claims and is basically a huge headache. I'd just as soon throw these things in the trash. I tried tech support and they didn't get back to me at all until I threw a fit on their FB page then they basically just blamed it on my SY77 synth saying it has very complex MIDi blah blah whatever. Haha it worked perfect 20 years ago with an ancient rig, never had a single MIDI issue. This thing is a nightmare. Avoid it at all cost in my opinion, yes it is to good to be true.

  • Allan Evett
    from Valparaiso, IN March 21, 2017Music Background:
    Keyboardist / Producer

    Very Glitchy With Larger Rigs

    I really wanted to like this interface, as there's nothing available that does what it offers. But there are some major snags that came to light quickly, as I got under the hood with this device. The iConnectMIDI4+ is presented as a device that seamlessly integrates 5-pin MIDI-based keyboards / sound modules, USB-MIDI, audio, and iOS. Perhaps this will happen in the future, but it definitely fell far short with my studio rig. I use three keyboards, four hardware sound modules, an iMac w/Logic Pro X, and an iPad Air 2.

    The iConfig software appears capable, though I would've opted for a less engineer-oriented, more user-friendly / intuitive interface. Also, iConnectivity needs to ship these units with an 'empty' connection matrix; currently most of the DIN ports / USB ports are linked when the unit first boots. So MIDI feedback loops are a problem when setting up a larger rig. And even when I sorted out the connections there were still anomalies between a couple of my instruments and the iConnectMIDI4+ - weird audio artifacts, hung-up notes, etc.

    The tech support staff at Sweetwater did a great job attempting to help sort out my issues with the iConnectMIDI4+. And Trevor at iConnectivity was helpful, even taking the time to create a Logic Pro X / iConnectMIDI4+ video. While I was able to set up a MIDI and USB routing scheme that worked for basic MIDI recordings, things quickly fell apart when I tried to integrate audio and iOS. When I followed the instructions for that, the iConfig software reset everything back to factory condition, and all of my routings disappeared. Then the software repeatedly attempted to reload the firmware, and kept hanging up on an error message. After three power down / power up cycles of my iMac and the iConnectMIDI4+ (including disconnecting / reconnecting all cables, as instructed by the documentation),and the same result, I was done with this venture.

    Based on the videos presented by iConnectivity, I cautiously recommend looking at this unit for a very simple, USB controller-based rig (with maybe one MIDI keyboard / module). But for larger rigs, it still has a ways to go. Great concept, but not quite there yet.

  • Charles Lo
    from December 21, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Producer

    Don't Throw Your Hard Earned Cash Away

    I bought this after consulting with iConnectivity. It was marketed as being Windows 10 compatible and was told to me by iConnectivity it was Windows 10 compatible. It isn't...and they have since changed their product page.

    The MIDI+4 will not pass a simple dump message from the editing software of my Roland A-Pro Controller. It will receive one but it will not send one...it gets about half way and hangs... Every other MIDI interface I own has no problem with this. This is true via USB or the standard DIN jacks.

    The iConfig software will not run if you have another app open that uses MIDI ports. It does not work when my DAW is open. It will not run when I have a stand-alone app running like NI Kontakt or any of the Komplete instruments. It will not run with Sampletank.

    The Audio pass-thru will not pass audio above 48K 24Bit. Worse still, it will not allow my Audio Interface to operate above whatever sample rate is set at, even if I'm not passing audio thru it. I don't know if that is iConfigs shortcoming or ASIO4ALL but it doesn't matter because it doesn't have it's own drivers.

    In short, I expected a streamlined simplification of my MIDI devices with this interface. After all, MIDI is part of the name. Don't expect much support either besides an automated response saying your "Response has been noted," this after spending hours troubleshooting something that wasn't meant to work...

    It does one thing well. It keeps one of my two connected iPads charged.

    I don't usually sound off publicly about these sorts of issues. I have been working with these sorts of devices for more than 30 years but it has been 6 months since I purchased this and the software has changed from 4.2.0 to 4.2.2, with no improvements that I can detect and they have changed the Product page to read Windows up to 8.1, which tells me that they have regressed from their original marketing plan, which stated it was Windows 10 compatible. That doesn't sound to me like they are planning to do any further development...

    Occasionally, I will get a pop-up from my Operating System that says iConnect is SLOWING DOWN YOUR COMPUTER... That's sort of funny, since most of the time that iConnect is running my system is stopped...

Questions about the iConnectivity iConnectMIDI4+?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway