0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Blue Microphones enCORE 100 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 146 customer reviews
Questions about the Blue Microphones enCORE 100?

Questions about the Blue Microphones enCORE 100?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The Blue enCORE 100 sounds way better than your traditional handheld dynamic mic. It has a very "finished" sound - almost as if it were going through a compressor and EQ - which translates to better-sounding stage vocals. I guarantee you will be happier with it over what you have now.

  • Mike Harris

    This is the new standard in handheld mics! Built like a tank with crystal clear, detailed Blue sound quality. Add the Blue Quad microphone cable for superior sound quality.

  • from Massachusetts December 29, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musican

    BUY THIS NOW

    This is such a fantastic dynamic microphone!!! Honestly, just buy it! At $ its almost like your stealing! It's so clear. I used it on a gig last week and I sounded great. I'm purchasing a second one. I love BLUE Microphones.

  • from November 4, 2016

    Best mic value you will find

    After reading the countless stellar reviews, I opted to try one myself. I was not disappointed. WOW. At the price, it's hard to believe this mic is built so solidly, sounds crisp and clear, and looks great as well. My sales rep Derek told me I would love this mic. and like all of his previous recommendations, he nailed it. I will buying more of these mics for my band very soon.

  • from Kentucky October 28, 2016Music Background:
    Long time guitarist

    Great Mic

    Fantastic Mic for the money, great quality and nicely built with a great sound.

    Thanks for the recommendation Sweetwater! I wouldn't have considered it until my Sales Rep told me how great they are.

  • from Ohio October 25, 2016Music Background:
    15 year guitarist, drummer, and vocalist

    enCore100

    Buy this. It's the most clear, well built dynamic microphone ever made. I didn't even get one line of my song out and stopped in amazement.
    DON'T MISS OUT!!!

  • from October 13, 2016

    enCORE 100

    Wow, a really good sounding Mic, and for such a low price, that a go Sweetwater, you are the best...

    Thank-You
    Jean-Pierre

  • from Gadsden, AL September 23, 2016Music Background:
    folk, blues, singer/songwriter, jam band, rootsy contemporary worship, and touring sound engineer in the '70s. And occasional recording engineer if the gear is old school enough.

    Alternative to the 57 58

    I picked up a pair of these to try at church, mainly because of the price and previous good experiences with Blue. I do sound there about half the time and play in the bands the other half. The week we tried these out at practice, I started with little or no onboard EQ. I was onstage as we rehearsed vocal parts (4 voices) and the clarity and blend was noticeably better than with the 58s we normally use. I looked at the frequency graph and that explained a lot. The curves are smoother and they peak at the points I would normally emphasize for the lead singer. It worked better for my voice as well, which is usually EQ'd much differently. I think the gentler slopes help with the blend, and maybe it's the character of the cardioid element itself that lends itself to clarity as well as the curve. Whatever. Probably going to pick up a couple more.

  • from Longmont, CO September 16, 2016Music Background:
    Long-time professional guitar player and singer...now part-time musician.

    Great Mic!

    I received an email telling me these were on sale and I needed a new vocal mic...so I took a leap of faith and bought two of them. They sound fantastic! I've been a SM57/58 guy my whole live, but these sound better and look awesome! They reject feedback REALLY well and do they ever feel solid in your hand (on the border of being a bit too heavy almost).

    Bottom line: Couldn't be more happy with the purchase and would recommend this mic 100%! Thanks, Sweetwater!

  • from USA September 13, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Singer, Songwriter, Recording Artist

    Wow!! Pleasantly Surprised!

    This mic came highly recommended and was a terrific deal. I read reviews, lots of them. I have purchased many of the "top rated" budget mics and I don't get "blown away" too easily.
    I have also wasted lots of money. Remorseful, I thought, "Shoulda just bought one great one and been done with it!" Sometimes the mics were a huge disappointment, some were just ok but not great, and some were bordering on good. Very few actually performed as expected or better.
    Skeptical, my thoughts were. "You get what you pay for." For the most part this is true. The majority do not live up to the hype. I half heartedly gave this one a try after getting a heads up from my fav sales engineer. It was on sale so cheap, I figured why not? If it's good I win, if not I haven't lost much. Ok, this is the funny part. I WAS AMAZED! To be honest I expected zilch. However, I was super surprised! it sounded really great! This is one of the best I have used in this price range and even above. It's terrific for my voice and records beautifully. Buy a couple! They are so inexpensive. This is a using mic for any studio or stage. It's pretty sleek looking too!! Ok, It's not a Neumann but you'll be pleasantly surprised!

  • from North Carolina September 2, 2016

    Great Mics

    Love these Mics...Very clear and cuts through the Music like a Great Mic should. Have tested and tried several Brands...The Blue Mic is MY first choice ....(for SURE)

  • from PA August 26, 2016

    Awesome!!

    It s a terrific mic. I prefer way more than a Shure SM58....and the price!!! Wow!!!

  • from LA VERNIA August 23, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Guitar, Piano and Drums, working and practicing musician

    Blue 100 Mic

    Carson sent me an email about this mic and I decided to check it out. I ordered and like three days later it was in my mailbox!! When I held it in my hands it felt solid and well made. I had to wait a few days before I could actually plus it in to my mixer and when I did it was incredible sounding. I a/b it with my usual mic, which is a SM57 Beta and this Blie mic sounded so much better. For the price this is an amazing deal. Get one before the price goes back up!!!

  • from Oregon July 28, 2016

    Great Mic

    Looks and sounds great. Would buy again.

  • from Mount Hood July 5, 2016

    The New Standard

    Picked up 4 of these to use as main vocal mics in my live setup. Everyone who uses them or hears them says they are hands down superior to the standard sm58. I completely agree. They have more clarity and sound brighter and more musical than the standard. At half the price of the 58, you can't go wrong.

  • from Nashville, TN May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer

    Thanks Sweetwater

    Thanks to Sweetwater for standing behind their products. I bought a couple of these mics about a year ago when they were on sale buy one get one free. I bought them as spares and didn't even open the boxes till a couple of months ago when I needed a few extra mics for a project. One sounded great and the other was dead as a door nail. I called Ed Needler my sales rep and he hooked up with repairs. They handled getting the mic to them and back to me working fine. Great sounding solid mics and real people to help when you need them.

  • from Bensalem April 14, 2016Music Background:
    Singer

    Amazing Mic

    When I was looking for good mic, after lot of research, I gambled buying this mic over Shure and other music industry standard mics. Also that time there was deal for Buy One Get One Free It was great deal. when I started using this mic. I am very very happy with the quality of the sound, This mic built very well as well. Does not look cheap at all. I definitely recommend this mic even the Buy One Get One Free deal ended. It's worth every penny. Enjoy,

  • from New Smyrna Beach, FL March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Outstanding Sound

    After using an SM58 for many years I switched to this mic. Just an outstanding vocal mic that cuts through the mix with clarity. Excellent build quality too. In fact I would even compare it to my Shure Beta 87a and even say in my own humble opinion that it sounds better than it. It's just that good. And for the price you can't go wrong with this sweet sounding mic.

  • from December 6, 2015Music Background:
    FOH (5 years), Recording Engineer (10+years), Session Drummer (15+ years)

    Great Mics for unusual placements

    I took a chance on a pair of these when they were BOGO. I'm so glad I did. I have never had much luck in the past with the enCore 200. The venue I ran FOH for had 2 and they were always so noisy, handling one sounded like someone was dragging it down a cobblestone road. I made no attempt to use them further and never considered any of the enCore mics again until they were BOGO. I grabbed 2 just to mess around with. They had the same handling noise as the 200 but I didnt intend to use them hand held. I experimented on guitar cabs (pretty nice) and then, being a drummer, I had to put it up against the usual snare drum mics. I set up an i5 (was my favorite Snare mic) and SM57 and one enCore 100. after playing a bit, I realized how open and "Honest" the Blue was in comparison to the others. It did allow more hihat bleed and spill from my rack tom but it was somehow more useable and musical. I then tried what some would think is stupid, and threw one on a small stand and put it in my bass drum. I knew it wouldnt have the low end of a LDC or LDD but I decided to try it anyway. At first I kinda liked it flat. It was a bit tubby and didnt have a lot of "Ummffff." as I compressed and EQ'd it a bit though, rolling off a little under 75Hz, little bell at 125, and 300, and then BOOM! Not a big fat kick, but a much cleaner and honest sound, against my D6 and D112, this little mice kills them. I typically use a Tube LDC for Low end so the lack of <100Hz and nothing bellow 60Hz makes it fit perfectly. I am tempted to buy 4 more just to throw around the kit and see what it sounds like. Dont pass these mics up, they will impress you.

  • from Tejas December 2, 2015

    Hard to believe!

    After 34 yrs playing live and 25 in the studio, I would never have believed a $50 mic(2@$100) could rival an SM-58.These microphones do,and that is no hype. In many instances, it is superior. This mic takes you to the big 'ol grin from ear to ear stage within one hour, stage or studio. Trust the reviews, this is a new standard at a ridiculous price-point. Thank you, Blue AND Sweetwater!

  • from STANWOOD Wa November 26, 2015Music Background:
    worship leader or 26 years

    Blue Mic

    Outstanding mic. sounds great and feels solid!!!!!!!

  • from NJ November 25, 2015Music Background:
    FOH engineer and Guitar player

    Great Church Mic

    Just got six of these on the buy one get one deal for my church. Such an upgrade from our 58s. We were also using a super cheap wireless mic that just did not sound good at all. Now we have 8 channels of clear, clean wired mics. Highly recommend.

  • from November 19, 2015

    Great Mic

    I purchased this mic over a 58 because of the buy one get one free deal. I was very impressed by the warm tone this adds to vocals, especially with a female vocalist. Sturdy construction and sleek aesthetic wrap up this awesome package!

  • from November 4, 2015

    great microphone

    In it's price range this Mic is untouchable

  • from Galax Virginia October 29, 2015Music Background:
    None

    Encore 100 microphones

    These microphones were purchased for the church I attend. They perform really well and have great sound. The price was within our budget.

  • from Owensboro KY September 8, 2015Music Background:
    Lead Sound Engineer, Vocals, Bass, Guitar

    Fantastic Surprise!

    Picked a pair of these up on a whim, Very good vocal sound, great rejection! Brought my worship leaders forward in the mix without coloring them. Much better clarity, even than my Beta 58's and the 87C's.

  • from New Haven, CT August 31, 2015Music Background:
    Professional, Gospel music

    Awesome Mic!

    I initially purchased 2 enCORE 100s for use in our church music rehearsal room, after careful research and taking advantage of the two-for-one sale. The appearance of the 100 was quite appealing; and the reviews I had read were great. I ordered them and received them in an impressively timely fashion. I was not disappointed! I have purchased four more since then, as well as three enCORE 200s and two enCORE 300s. These are great sounding mics! I am true Blue fan now! Our music rehearsal room now has exclusively Blue mics!

  • from Louisville August 31, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend gigger. Singer/Songwriter.

    Great Mic

    Bought this mic on promotion, so bought on and got another free! It's absolutely replaced my Shure 58. Great value and quality.

  • from Livermore, CA August 28, 2015

    Great mic!

    This mic is built like a tank and sounds amazing!

  • from Surfside Beach, TX August 20, 2015Music Background:
    Piano, vocals, guitar, and bass.

    Great Value!

    I run sound for a popular live venue/bar on the Texas coast. I ordered two of these on a BOGO deal. I've used a lot of different mics over the 20 years I've been doing sound, from high end to low end. I have to say that these mics are some of the best live mics I've ever used. Unlike some popular (and more expensive) mics, on these you eq the singer, not the mic. If you don't understand the difference, you probably have never run sound. I highly recommend these, and have begun using these myself in my cover band.

  • from August 15, 2015

    Wow!

    I am a professional musician and sound tech and these mics are simply awesome! I was in a rehearsal situation when I opened these up and tried them. I had one of the tried and true 58's set up for one of my singers and this mic set up for myself for vocal lead and backups My partner asked what the heck I was using and since I got in on the buy one get the second for free sale, I had one for him to try also and now he won't give it back until his mic's arrive from Sweetwater. The sound quality is unreal compared to the 58's but the only small gripe we had with these mics is the handling noise and the perimeter sound interference.
    As I said, small gripe. We agreed we can get used to it in no time. Buy it! You won't regret it.

  • from Massachusetts July 28, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboardist

    enCORE 100, 100% AWESOME

    I bought this Mic for one of my friend and I was blown away with the clear and crispy output of the Mic. I decided to get mine and I love it so much because it doesn't need phantom power to operate. You will be happy with this Mic!!

  • from North Carolina July 22, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    As Good as It Gets!

    I have been using a beta 58 for a few years, loving it. I had always wanted a Blue mic just because they look cool. I was not prepared for what I heard! Although not quite as "hot" as the beta 58, the sound is much warmer with my voice. I love the weight and the fact that the barrel is not smooth; it's much easier to hold without fear of it slipping out of your hand when your hand gets sweaty. A great mic for a vocalist! Good value and quality. I can adjust the fact that it's not quite as hot as the beta 58 with a little more gain!

  • from June 15, 2015

    SM58 Rider Destroyer

    This mic's frequency response and overall sound is better and edges out the SM58.

  • from Lake Mathees California June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar, keys, drums, bass, recording/ mastering

    Blue mics enCORE 100.

    Amazing deal - mics are perfect for what we needed. The candy in shipping box... Sweetwater rocks!!!!

  • from June 10, 2015Music Background:
    I do about 20 to 30 dates a year. great mic!

    Encore 100

    I received my mic's a couple weeks ago and have already used them. The mic's look good and perform very well. I highly recommend this mic!

  • from June 10, 2015Music Background:
    DJ and Vocalist

    Amazing Sound

    The sound of these microphones is exceptional!

  • from Houston May 28, 2015Music Background:
    30 years pro

    enCore 100 Review

    It's only been a couple of weeks since I purchased two of these mics and whoa, I am truly blown away them. I've always been an SM58 guy but I tried one of these before and enjoyed them but wasn't able to compare them to anything at the time. Well I finally was able to compare head to head and I honestly couldn't tell them apart. Sounded very similar but if anything, the enCore 100 was a bit brighter and a hint clearer. Still love my 58s because they are the clear road worthy workhorse, but I have a good feeling and hope these mics will be road warriors too.

  • from May 27, 2015

    Encore Blue 100

    compares favorably to the SM58

  • from May 25, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Musician

    Great Mic for Vocals

    I bought this mic on a Pay 1 get 2 bundle. I was blown away by the beauty and quality of this mic. It seems really sturdy and road-worthy. The sound is amazing. In comparison to a SM58, it has a little more treble and it also rejects off-axis bleeding better than the Shure. I can't say anything about handling noise cause I only used it on stands for backing vocals.
    Overall is a fantastic mic for the price and a nice addition to any setup.

  • from United States May 15, 2015Music Background:
    professional touring musician..

    Wicked Mic

    Encore 100 is a wicked microphone,the clarity is just amazing!the next big thing in the market!

  • from Salt Lake City May 12, 2015Music Background:
    Lead singer guitarist, song writer

    Awesome mics

    After all the mics I've tried with my band, these have been the best.

  • from May 1, 2015

    Ideal for karaoke!

    These are well built, solid, great looking and ideal for a busy busy karaoke environment.
    Our customers love them, and so do I!

  • from April 30, 2015

    True Blue Microphone enCORE 100

    I love my new encore 100; it was to be a replacement for my previously esteemed Shure microphone and I was blown away by the presence and clarity of this Blue microphone. Definitely a good choice; it is now my number one go to mic for vocals. Way to Go BLUE

  • from Venice Fl. April 27, 2015

    Solid Build Awesome Sound!

    Great for Vocals, and for micing acoustic guitar, and or amps.

  • from April 21, 2015

    Awesome Mic

    For the price, this thing is totally killer (especially if you get them during a 2-for-1 promo). It sounds great with everything I've used it on so far (vocals, guitar, and percussion). And it's mega sturdy! I thought the silver ring on the grille would break off, but I've had it in a backpack for a little while and it still feels and looks brand new. I highly recommend it.

  • from Marathon, Florida Keys April 13, 2015Music Background:
    35-year full-time pro • Singer/Songwriter • Live Sound & Studio

    Buy This Mic!

    Like many here, I came up using the standard SM58. While I love the Beta 87, I have been using the Beta 58 on vocals for the last 10 years. Small gigs, big shows -- it never let me down. I still have several Beta 58s. Knowing that Blue has a good reputation, I decided to chance a purchase and bought 4. I am not a bit sorry I did.
    It is now my solo gig go-to mic of choice. Compared to the Beta 58, the sound is so much more natural on my voice. It has a high end more reminiscent of a condenser than a dynamic mic. Off-axis rejection is at least as good as the Beta 58, and I can get right on top of it without the proximity effect becoming too boomy. It did require a little more gain on the preamp than the Beta, but once the levels were matched, I was impressed by what I heard. Knowing that this mic can accept SPLs of up to 147dB, I can't wait to try it on stuff like guitar amps, snare drums, and brass at some upcoming bigger shows.
    I don't normally write these reviews, but I never expected that this mic would take the place of the Beta 58 as my preferred vocal mic. It even looks good, too!

  • from Tallahassee, FL, United States April 9, 2015Music Background:
    3123305542

    Great Mic

    All I can say....Awesome mic.
    And Great Dealer!

  • from Chicagoland Area April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, sound engineer, recording engineer, DJ, chief cook and bottle washer

    Fantastic under a snare drum too!

    I just ran some recording tests of all the combinations of SM57's and enCORE100's on a couple of Pork Pie snare drums. The best sound I got (out of a PP brass and PP maple 13x7 snare) was with an SM57 on top and the enCORE 100 below. Second best sound was with the snares mic'd with the 100's on top and bottom. I also did some comparisons between the 100 and an SM58 in a live scenario, and was quite pleased with the sound of the 100. However, the fit, finish and build quality of the 100 blows the 58 away! Easy to grip, nice and beefy weight and all the bling for the frontline. The bad part is that the mic is way too pretty to stick under a snare drum...but I'm going to do it anyway! Adding a couple more to my mic locker, you can't go wrong with the two-fer special...

  • from Tampa Bay, FL January 8, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro musician (gigging weekends)

    Excellent alternative to a SM58

    Bought these to replace some SM58s... first thing we noticed was the clarity, they're brighter, but not in a harsh way, more like lifting a blanket off a speaker would be the best way to put it. We're also finding that we need a lot less EQ on them, and they sit very well in the mix. Handling is a bit noisy, but we keep them in stands, so it's usually not an issue. Feedback rejection appears to not be an issue, they haven't misbehaved like that yet (so far). There's less proximity effect with these, nowhere near as pronounced as a 58, so I have to work a tad harder for some of my really low end vocal tricks. On the plus side, with the brighter sound, I don't have to run the monitors as hard to hear myself, leading to better, more relaxed vocals with less strain.

    After a month of gigging (about 10 shows), they're holding up just fine, so I think durability will not be an issue-not sure if I want to pound nails with them like I can with a 58, but with reasonable care, they should last a long time. Very happy to have these mics in my mic bag!!!

  • from New Castle, CO December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Wow! what a great sound!

    I love using Shure SM58's live and was using a Sennheiser on stage but the Blue Encore 100 in my opinion was outstanding! The price and quality is amazing. You will not be disappointed.

  • from Wash. DC December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro sound, musician....53 yrs.

    Excellent

    Your not gonna beat this. Solid and beautiful on stage . Great sounding with tons of headroom . I should get 6 more. Do not hesitate on this deal!

  • from Cincy December 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, recording hobbyist

    Expectations exceeded

    Got this mic Ina bundle with the bluebird, I thought it was be a gag piece , I was wrong.

    I feel this mic really resembles the Shure beta 58 in build as well as the way it feels in your hand but I have yet to use it live or for any vocals because it has found a home as my goto tool when I record any rock guitar . It lives in front of a 1960 Marshall cab and really brings the full spectrum weather your playing hard and dirty distortion or clean melodies this mic delivers the goods. Maybe one day I'll have someone sing through it but for now it's stuck in the studio.

  • from Roanoke, VA August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound and hobbyist

    A great vocal audio microphone!!

    I am a amateur radio broadcaster and I gave this mic a try. WOW, it worked great with excellent background noise rejection. It had wonderful frequency response, great clarity and brightness. Worked as well as my RE-20, PR-40 and was so much less in price...Excellent studio/shack microphone.....

  • from Coldater, MI April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, hobbyist, songwriter.

    Great!

    Very nice mic. Very happy with it, sounds great! Very clean, crisp sound.

  • from Knoxville, TN February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Blue Does It Again

    Blue quality has never let me down! We have been using these mics for about a month now and they sound fantastic. Near Studio Quality on stage! Supperior Mic if you want clarity in you vocal and the price will blow you away. The BEST mic in this price range!

  • from riverside, ca. December 2, 2012Music Background:
    some pro in my youth, now all hobby

    enCORE 100

    i had order a different mic when Ryan with sweetwater asked me a few questions on how i was going to use the mic. after a short discussion i went with his advise and bought this mic. i can't thank him enough for helping me with that move. it's perfect for what i need and i'm going to get another one soon. i use it with my boss 300 to add back ground inserts.works great with my pa too in a living room setting.

  • from North Carolina, USA November 25, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Amateur Engineer

    Try the encore on your snare

    I got this mic as a freebie ;part of a package with a Bluebird. That being said, I had no expectations and just thought it would be nice to have another mic choice in my locker. I decided to try it on my snare, just on a whim, and holy cow did it sound amazing! I'd been using an i-5, but have always had to tweak it w/ eq for added fullness. That was certainly not the case w/ the encore. I didn't know it's possible for a snare drum to sound "lush" until I started using this mic.

  • from amsterdam, ny August 28, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    you couldn't sound better

    blue mic's rule. they reject feedback like there is no tomorrow and make your voice sound real! remember the blue mic cable to complete your sound.

  • from Kansas City, Missouri March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Live Sound Engineer, Professional Studio Engineer, Musician

    Stellar

    I have been a professional sound terchnician for over 30 years and been a staunch supporter of Shure SM 58's ,strictly , for live vocal applications. They are built like tanks and have a very comfortable predictable sound. Seen the new Blue Encore 100's and since I currently use Blue mics for recording in my studio , thought I would give them a try. PIcked up a trio of them for the 3 female lead singers in a new country rock band I play in.............I am completely blown away by the sound of these mics, much cleaner, crisper and more present in the mix than the Shures I am so familiar with. The gain before feedback allows for a much hotter signal and they just seem to sparkle more than the 58. The mics seem to be built like tanks, have a good weight , balance and hefty feel to them. They do have a touch more handling noise but that is completely overlooked and un noticed when the band kicks in. Anf these mics just loook downright sexy with their chrome screens on them. WIll definately recommend these to friends and fellow engineers and musicians. Cant wait to record with them and see what I get. Give Matt Masek a call, he will hook you right up........

  • from Louisiana March 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazing microphone

    Mac Hatton said that this mic would out perform the ones we were currently using and wow was he right. Crystal clear and great ability to cut through any other sound happening. Love it.

  • from Montgomery, IL March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Home studio, Live sound, and musician.

    Nice mic

    Too new to tell if it's my favorite. Do use an EV N/D767, Shure SM-58, and AKG WMS40. The enCORE 100 is a nice sounding, very rugged mic with a nice feel.

  • from Durham'N.C. January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Gospel/Bluegrass

    The Best of the Best

    I never knew the encore 100 mic would clean up and out-perform the variety of mics i've used in the last eleven years.My group performs four times or more a month,and i am allways searching for that better sound and finally found it-My search has ended.I was on a quest for the perfect mic and found it .It does what it does and is what it is....The Best MiC on the market...to describe it as AWESOME would be just a scratch on a surface...we call it "THE MAGIC WAND"

  • from Seekonk, MA December 9, 2011Music Background:
    Producer

    Try this for recording, you won't be sorry.

    I produce music that sounds like it was written in the 30's and 40's. Very open, vulnerable vocals. I was using a Neumann TLM 170 , a fantastic but incredibly sensitive microphone. Now I use an enCORE 100 along with a windscreen, a Primacoustic barrier, and that's it. For us it's better. No EQ, and it's a dynamic mic, so it doesn't pick up anything but the voice. I cannot believe this wonderful product is so inexpensive. Just get one, record something, and you'll be blown away.

  • from Los Angeles November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Alternative Rock Lead Singer & Rhythm Guitarist

    So Amazing

    why are blue encore live mics not the best know in the world. They're still new. This mic is amazing. clear & articulate definition. The highs cut through the mix. Nice presence. Warm tone. Not harsh sounding. Not brittle. I play alt. rock & have used several different mics. This cleaned up the muddiness of the lows in my voice. Shure beta 58 had the lows so muddy that you couldn't even understand what I was singing. The Blue Encore 100 is amazing. I tried the Encore 200. It's even a little bit warmer!! I tried the Encore 300. It's a little bit warmer, plus a little bit smoother!!

  • from Corona, CA November 18, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Incredible Sound

    My band bought two of these mics. After testing I asked the vocalist what they thought. They were speechless. They could not believe how natural it sounded . Very open, precision sound with no EQ. I also run the sound for the band and I have to say that this mic also built like a tank.

  • from Baltimore September 4, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist, Guitarist

    Who needs EQs?

    I got this mic because I was tired of the sound of my SM58, I had to keep EQing everything way more than I should have. I sold my SM58, and got the enCore100 and at first it felt more like a condenser mic than anything, which is good and bad, but once I got my mic pre's set right, it just shined. I don't have to EQ anything, its crystal clear (unlike my SM58 which was extremely muddy) and the side rejection is just AMAZING. I was doing a scratch vocal using my monitors (not even headphones) so it was rather loud in the room, and once I finished, I solo'ed and played back the track. There was little to no external noise besides my vocals. This is a perfect mic for live recordings, and overall just amazing in my book. Please make a wireless version BLUE!!!!!!

  • from San Diego, CA August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Band in Church, Home Studio Engineer.

    Great Mic!

    I was using the e835 for the last year or so and I was deciding on a new dynamic mic. At first I was a bit skeptical on the enCORE 100 because the was it looks and how it isn't as common as the e835 or the sm58. But it is a great mic! I didn't have to eq much to cut through the mix at all! My sales rep said I wasn't going to be disappointed and I wasn't. Great mic for the price!

  • from August 17, 2011Music Background:
    Solo Artist, Songwriter,Sound Engineer, Student

    Awesome compared to what i had

    I knew from the beginning that i was going to get an awesome microphone all around. I was using AKG mics before i got these and the transition has been amazing so far. I really love my newest mic from my mic collection. I cant say more than this! Pretty much awesome compared to what i had. My vocals sound more powerful.

  • from Boiling Springs, SC January 7, 2011Music Background:
    Live & Recording Engineer, Musician, Hobbyist

    Great Choice Mic!!

    I was looking to buy some mics for my PA system and i am tired of seeing everyone with Sm58`s so i decided to try out some new mics, so i bough two of enCORE 100 and I love the sound quality and designed. it has good low and high frequency. Overall i am very satisfied with this mic!!!

  • from North Tonawanda, NY USA August 5, 2010Music Background:
    Church A/V Tech

    A wonderful, bright, vocal microphone

    I really love this microphone. I am amazed at how naturally this mic reproduces vocal sound with flat EQ out of the box. While it does not have as wide of a pattern as a Shure Beta 87 or even a Blue Encore 200, vocalists with well rounded voices and good mic technique will love how bright and clear it is. This is true sound reinforcement and a great value.

  • from Central VT June 13, 2010Music Background:
    Recording & live sound engineer, pro musician.

    Amazing Mic For Strings!

    I purchased this mic a few days ago to use for vocals. Yesterday I did audio engineering for a big Fiddle Contest. I had my Sure B4.1 set up for the fiddle mic, which I had always used in the past. It was giving me an uncontrollable low frequency feedback so I had no choice but to switch it out. I figured I'd give the Encore 100 a shot so I set it up as the fiddle mic, and I was impressed! Not only did it sound nice, but was just as loud from 3 feet away as it was from 8" away. This mic turned out to be a handy tool to have in the mic locker! I think I'll be purchasing a few more of these gems!

  • from Hinesville, GA March 24, 2010Music Background:
    Retired musician but still performing for my church

    Excellent Vocal Reproduction

    Since I no longer play any of my guitars except for an acoustic-electric Yamaha APX500, I decided to retire my PA system and other gear for a single Hartke AC75 acoustic amp, and a new microphone.

    For years and in several bands, I've always used the SM57 as my vocal mic, preferring it over the more popular SM58, because the SM57 seems to isolate peripheral sounds much better than the SM58.

    However, when I plugged the SM57 into the mic channel of the Hartke AC75, no amount of EQing could get the sound I was looking for. The SM57 sounded like mud and would break up very easily.Since the amp was making my guitar sound better than it had ever sounded before, I knew that the problem was in the mic and not in the amp.

    After months of researching microphones, reading every review I could find, and even reviewing YouTube videos for samples, I decided on the Blue EnCORE 100.

    I was not disappointed! When it arrived, without changing any of the settings on the amp, I disconnected the SM57 and connected the Blue 100.

    I was stunned at the difference! This beautiful mic is as clear as crystal! For my voice and my rig, it was a perfect match. The SM57 is now stowed away, and will only come out again if some emergency arises!

    When I rehearse, I have the Hartke AC75 amp sitting about 4 feet away from me on my left, and turned sideways so that the speakers are directly facing me and the microphone. There is not even a hint of feeback. I just can't say enough about how clear this mic sounds. (It's connected to a Blue Blueberry XLR mic cable, which runs into a DigiTech Vocalist Live 2. I plan on getting another Blueberry cable to run from the Vocalist Live 2, to the amp.)

    I'm 62 years young, and have played and performed since the age of 14, so I've heard and used a multitude of microphones.

    Trust me when I say that I am 100% satisfied with this mic, and I believe that you will be too!

  • from Belmar, NJ October 31, 2009Music Background:
    Musician/Singer/Guitar player.

    Better that the Sennheisser or SM58

    I have used the Shure SM58 for the past 2 years and decided to try a couple of other mics, the Sennheisser 835 and the Blue enCore 100. The ecCore wins. It has great tone like the SM58 for male vocals yet captures the highs really well. It is crystal clear and a bit more sensitive. I also have the Audix OM5. The Blue is quickly becoming my favorite. The Sennheisser just didn't blow me away. It looses your voice unless you are right on top of it. The Audix OM5 is clear, but didn't reflect the lows of my baratone voice like I wanted.

    The only constructive comment I have is that the Blue was more sensitive to popping from the air of my breath on the mic.

    I also love the look of the mic.

    FYI, I had the mic plugged into the Bose Personal Audio System.

    If I had to rank these mics, they woudl be in the following order:
    1) Blue enCore 100
    2) Shure SM 58
    3) Audix OM5
    4) Sennheisser 835

    Buy the Blue. You won't be dissapointed.

  • from January 2, 2017

    Blue Microphone

    Although only used for private use, it fulfills my needs very well. And I'm sure it could be very easily used for professional use

  • from November 16, 2016

    Great mic deal

    A really fine mic for multiple applications, and at a low price

  • from california October 13, 2016

    excellent value

    solid mic at a great price. loses half a star for me on the looks. could live without the blue emblem and silver band but otherwise sounds good. comparable to shure sm-58

  • from Louisville, KY September 26, 2016Music Background:
    Professional guitarist and vocalist

    Excellent purchase

    I purchased this mic along with the upgraded version (enCORE 200) when recommended to me from a sound engineer I trust. We have a sophisticated jazz vocal trio (1 female and 2 male vocalist) and have been together for a very long time. The female vocalist has a very pure voice with very few edges so EQ doesn't really work on her voice. It's like trying to EQ a sine wave. I used the 200 on the female and it was outstanding bringing her voice out front and crystal clear. I used the 100's on the two males which here-to-fore have been muddy. The 200 has a big bass proximity issue which would be exacerbated on the males.The 100's are again crystal clear with a little less output. These mics are perfect for our application and at a reasonable price. They seem very durable though we've not dropped one yet.

  • from Louisville KY September 19, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Great mic!

    I purchased two of these on a whim as they were on sale. I do have a band mate that swears by them, so I'd thought I'd give them a try. Needless to say I was quite impressed. Very articulate, a slight mid presence boost even though they have the same frequency response as an SM58. Deep and crisp at the same time, these mics will benefit anybody with a "Thin" voice like me. As far as standing up to the riggers of the road, the jury is still out, but, they are quite sturdy, actually heavier than the SM58. I think they will stand the test of time. Looking forward to many years singing with the encore 100. Try one, l think you'll be surprised at how good they sound.

  • from Brooks Ky September 16, 2016Music Background:
    Semi Professional

    Nice Mic at a nice price

    I bought two of these on a whim as they were on sale and I have a band mate that just loves them. I got the chance to use one on the gig the other night with my TC Helicon voicelive electric and was quite surprised at the tone and timbre of the mic. I have a thin voice and it's hard to get a good EQ on my voice but this mic has good bottom end as well as being crisp on the top end. I will say the the auto EQ on the voicelive electric adds a certain amount of depth and presence to a mic but I did try this at home straight into the mixer and it still sounds better to my ears than a sm58. Even though they have the exact same frequency specifications. Time will tell if this mic will stand up to the riggers of the road like the time tested sm58. I'm willing to put this mic to the test! Definitely a good buy at $99.99. And, Sweetwater puts these on sale from time to time which now makes them an excellent replacement mic. I would think these would be good for just about any vocal application as well as micing amps. I would try on drums due to the high SPL levels. But overall an excellent general purpose microphone. I would recommend the onstage mic stand adaptor to purchase with this mic as the mic clip that is included looks to be a bit more fragile than a standard "Shure Type" mic clip. I bought the adapter and find that it makes for an easy on and off for the mic clip as well as keeping it safe in the included mic bag. Try one, you'll be pleasantly surprised!

  • from September 9, 2016

    Owner

    Great product, unbeatable price, excellent sound quality

  • from Ithaca, NY February 19, 2016

    Good B4tB

    Blue Encore 100 is a very good bang for the buck. It's dynamic, so I can plug it in anywhere I have an XLR mic pre-amp and this dynamic gives a crisp response. So far, the pair I purchased have been good road warriors, too. Pick up a couple for your live scene.

  • from Texas January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Worship leader

    Fantastic Mic.

    It is rare for me to write reviews, but this mic is incredible. I'm not a sound engineer or touring musician. I lead worship at a medium sized church on a tight budget. I got this mic on Saturday and just swapped it in on Sunday morning during warm up. No adjustments made at the board, just took the old Sennheiser out and put this one in. I instantly noticed an improvement in clarity and focus.My vocals seemed to breathe and feel more alive. I'm sold. If I had to find a negative, its that the chrome around the top of the mic is very -very- polished; It was a bit distracting in the lights on the stage....kinda sparkly. But I can ignore that, and some might like it. Audibly, this is a home run.

  • from December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter

    Blue enCORE 100 - Great Microphone

    I am very pleased with this microphone's performance. It adds a sparkle of brightness to my naturally dark vocals while still bringing out the color and timbre of my voice. And not only does the microphone look gorgeous, but it feels very sturdy and well built. I'm not worried about it getting damaged.
    My only notice to potential buyers would be that it's quieter than I expected. You will need to give it a little boost in gain to get it to the volume that you desire.

  • from Gallup, NM September 28, 2015Music Background:
    musician, composer, producer, engineer

    good mic....

    I purchased the enCore 100 for a couple of reasons. First, the price was really attractive. Second, I have borrowed a Blue baby bottle recording mic from a friend and was impressed with the quality of the microphone. Thirdly, I was looking for a handheld mic that would rival the SM58 and the Sennheiser 835 for quality and durability.... I A-B'd the 100 with both the 58 and the 835, having friends who sang in a variety of musical genres take their turn with it. I couldn't hear a lot of difference myself between the three initially, so I brought in my friend who does all of our sound. His take on the mics were that the 100 and the 58 both had more presence than the 835, and that the proximity effect on the 58 was more pronounced than the 100. The 100 sounded really smooth, and sounded good through a variety of mixers and speakers. I gave it a 4.5 rating simply b/c I have only had it a short time, and can give no rating on it's long-term durability. It's been working fine so far, and I'm very pleased with how it is performing......

  • from Dwight Ill August 25, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound and Playing for more years than I care to count

    Blue e100 Mic

    Great mic, good side rejection with out having to eat the mic, You can be off center and still great pickup.
    Sound natural, I use these in a jam settings so I have many different singers and some that have no idea how to use a mic and am still able to pick them up with out issues. I've noticed that I have to increase more than other mic's I have but all in all they are great, and the price can't be beat.

  • from July 30, 2015Music Background:
    20 years music minister in churches

    Fantastic

    A really great mic. I am impressed. It is clean and transparent. Blows away the Sure SM58. It doesn't have a ton of oomph but I assume the enCore 200 adds that little bit of punch this one is missing. This mic was worth every penny.

  • from June 28, 2015

    great competition for the sm58 and e805

    Clean mic, slick appearance, good gain before feedback, great off axis rejection. Bought during BOGO deal, can't be beat. At normal price a worthy contender. Mix this on stage with other to get great clarity between vox and colour the mix a bit.

  • from Ohio June 19, 2015Music Background:
    Metal

    Great value!

    Figured for the BOGO deal they'd be worth a try... Conducted an A/B versus Shure SM58 - same channel, same settings and the enCORE100 seemed to have better focus/projection for my voice. Also more crisp high-end for the enCORE100. Took the enCORE to the point of feedback, muted the channel, changed to the SM58 and the 58 was also in the feedback zone.. Reversed the test - took the 58 to the feedback zone, muted channel, switched to enCORE100 and there was no feedback... I'm sold!

    This is not meant to be any kind of slight toward the SM58 - they are the go to mics for a reason, but you won't be disappointed in these enCORE100s. IMO they are a much better value.

    Not a huge fan of the chrome on the enCORE100.. That is the only thing I would change - offer a blacked out version which is not so shiny/gawdy looking.

  • from June 6, 2015Music Background:
    Bluegrass, Folk, Mellow Rock ,,

    Great Mic

    This mic is extremely transparent! Very natural. It looks really sharp too. I love it!

  • from Georgia June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Blue encore 100

    not as hot as a 58 but also not as colored. to me they have almost a tube characteristic. there is a warmth/sweetness but I would not call it colored. This mic is worth $99. it is certainly worth 2 for $99. I'm not going to give a 5 star because it's not fair to true 5star mics, but, I'll give it a 4.5 because not only are they bogo, they also come with a really nice bag for transport and the construction feels solid, and they look really cool.

  • from Ohio May 29, 2015

    New Blue enCORE100

    They sound KILLER.. Great performance at any price. They are a bit gaudy looking with all the chrome. If Blue would offer a "stealth" version without the shiny stuff - these would be a value which is impossible to beat!!

  • from United States May 28, 2015

    Great product

    These microphones have been excellent for our practices and have a nice, crisp sound. Good buy!!

  • from Howell, MI May 11, 2015Music Background:
    Coffeehouse Shows

    Great Value

    I bought two of these during Blue's buy one get one free. I am very pleased with the quality of sound reproduction. The only drawback I see is that the level of the output is less than any of my other microphones and it would probably benefit from an on/off switch. I only have this microphone and a guitar, so I can easily just turn it up a little more. So far I'm very pleased with the purchase.

  • from Florida May 2, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboards, guitar, bass and vocals.

    encore 100

    Thanks to Bart at Sweetwater I decided to try these Blue mics. Not really needing any additional mics at the moment, the Buy One Get One free offer was too good to pass up. To say I was surprised at the sound is an understatement. In fact, these have replaced my Shure SM 57's from day one. A really great sounding mic and a really nice look too. The only thing not giving this 5 stars is they could use just a bit more low end but nothing a little EQ can't fix. GET THEM NOW!!!!!!

  • from Chula vista California April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Percussionist

    Blue mic enCORE100

    They sound great thank you

  • from United States April 28, 2015

    Good For Live Music

    These are real good mics. They are really sensitive. They have a good high and low response. These mics work really good in a live performance.

  • from March 19, 2015

    Great mike

    I was always a 58 guy but fell in love with this Blue product! Sounds great, has warmth and a great natural, unprocessed sound.

  • from OBX North Carolina February 16, 2015Music Background:
    onics tech,bass, guitar, keys, lousy singing and recording. Electri

    I wish I had bought 20 of these microphones when you had the 2 for sale going on. 20 hell, more like fifty.

    Other than the handling noise I cannot find anything t"o say bad about performance, looks and or feel in the hand. It is much more airy and clear thru out the full bandwidth. I have noticed I do have to add more low end for my stinky voice on songs like Rainy night in Georgia but the mids are absolutely breath taking and clear. Let me know if you ever have that ridiculous sale price again. THANKS AGAIN MR. CLAPPER..........You weren't just blowing smoke.

  • from Huntington Beach, Ca. USA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter,recording hobbyist,part time pro,worship leader

    Very nice

    I really like the way this mic sounds with my voice and the physical quality of the mic. It seems to be a better fit than my SM58 with the clarity in the lower range. I haven't tried it for recording yet but anxious to hear how it sounds. Getting two for the price of one and sharing with a friend was a great bonus too. Thanks for the heads up email from Zach about the deal!

  • from Los Angeles December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Professional composer/songwriter

    Blue dynamic mic

    This was a real deal. The mics arrived quickly and were put to use right away. Coupled with my Top of the line Gordon pre-amp the mic performed well beyond my expectation. The warmth and presence of the acoustic guitar I recorded stood out. A great addition to my mic arsonal.

  • from Monterey, CA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Great sounding microphone for price

    I think this microphone has a really good warm and up front sound. I got it buy one get on free which is an unbelievable price considering its twice as nice sounding than most other dynamic mics and twice as beautiful.

    This mic is a lot like the sm58 in the sense it can kind of be used for anything, not just vocals unlike its sister microphone the encore 200 (which I have as well great vocal mic). So if you want something that is going tohp have a bigger sound for a singer or a guitar cab and you have a low budget- this is a must buy.


    My one criticism of this microphone is that when I need to be using it in a room with a lot of people there is too much feedback usually. And the reason for this is because the mic is super hot- it just listens so loudly even when I have the volume really low on the mixer. . So I think overall for vocals specifically this is a much better mic for studio vocals or on an actual PA system live rather than a jam mic or practice mic unfortunately.

  • from Atmore, Al. USA June 14, 2013Music Background:
    Musician 45 years, Recording Engineer My Studio

    Blue mic enCore 100

    For the price , and the performance of this mic can't be beat. Love the 3 i have.

  • from manteca, ca April 27, 2013Music Background:
    home recorder

    Also-harmonica

    I don't have experience with harps on mic's. But when i played on this one it handled well and even with my same vocal EQ to that of one which goes along with the Frequency response of the mic. In my case and to my ear, congruent along side it.

    Again, its D'esser really sheemed to shine. ahaha

  • from manteca, ca April 27, 2013Music Background:
    home recorder

    Frequency response is cool for me

    This is my first mic and the Lord and my rep really worked together for me on this one it seems. The frequency response of the MIC from what i gather during myself EQing it, is one of a perfect EQ curve start point for my EQing. The Mic really follows my male voice well into its gritty lows and pronounces the highs well. The MIC's frequency response seems to have a sort of D-esser in it. I'm not familiar with any other MIC's but this does cut through. Like my rep said, it cut's through.

  • from Salt Lake City September 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice mic, good price

    I'll chime in with the growing chorus of Blue enCORE 100 fans. Mics are very subjective, and worse, it's almost impossible to try them out in situations that approach real venues. But what I hear in the enCORE100 is an easy to use mic, one that isn't picky at all about singing "down its throat", one that has a little more open high-mids than its main competitor, and one that seems to be built tough. It doesn't hurt that it looks great to boot.

  • from Watertown, WI July 12, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great Microphone

    This mic is great! It picks up vocals easily and smooths them out. I have a Shure P48, and this one definetly is a step up! I use it for small venues through a Fishman Loudbox and it produces great sound. I dont have to strain as hard when I sing, cause this thing picks them up!

  • from Sandusky, OH January 3, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Pastor, Keyboardist

    Great value for a great mic

    These mics have worked well for us. We use them with our Praise Band along with a couple of Shure SM58s. They have compared very well, and we got them for a great price.

  • from Highmore SD December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Worship leader 28 years...

    good sound good quality..great deal

    This is a solid mic with great sound. I like the crispness and the clarity especially.

  • from Texas September 16, 2016Music Background:
    In music since the late fifties

    Great vocal mic

    I put the Blue Encore mic on the stand using the same EQ as the Shure SM58 and laid on down a vocal track. I was really surprised at the clean bright sound of the mic. The mids were very warm and smooth. I am very pleased with it's performance. I shall be using this mic as a go to mic. After using it for several weeks I love these mics. I have two of them and will add a couple more.

  • from Freeport, IL December 5, 2015Music Background:
    Lead Sound Geek at our Church.

    Blue enCORE 300

    I was looking for a good handheld counterpart to the larger condenser mics (AT2050 & an AT2030) that I had purchased and my sales engineer recommended this one. I use these mics at our church and they are a DEFINITE UPGRADE over the OM2 dynamic mics that we were using! VERY clear and crisp in comparison. However I STRONGLY recommend a windscreen or pop filter depending on the vocalist. ExPLOsives come through VERY clear... HAHAHAHA!
    I would have given it 5 stars except the mic holder uses an aluminum insert (5/8 x 27 thread) which can be stripped VERY easily. (Which it did when someone was in a hurry... ;-) ) If you are going to have someone pulling it out of a holder often, look for one for use with a wireless mic (larger body) they work GREAT! :-)
    With the current deal of 2-for-1, I am seriously considering purchasing 2 more! (Better mic at the same price (when all is said and done) as a dynamic... Hmmmmm... ;-) )

  • from November 18, 2015

    Natural sound up close.

    The mic looks great. It's a little heavier than an SM58 and feels solid. There is noticeably less of a proximity effect so the mics tends to sound natural whether you're up close or a couple of inches away. If you like kissing the mic to make your voice deeper than it really is or if you have a thin voice, this may not be the right mic. I'm impressed. A great addition to my collection.

  • from Ithaca, NY September 28, 2015

    Good overall live vocal mic

    I put the enCORE100's through their paces this past weekend, micing a few outdoor live acts. Overall, they were quite good. In one location, we had some issues with feedback that we quickly overcame with minimal EQ and placement adjustments. Both female and male vocals fared well. In some acoustic situations, players also would pop their instrument up to it for a solo and the sound was excellent.
    The biggest issue we had was that there was some wind and the only windscreens we had on hand would not fit over the metal cylinder that goes around the capsule of these. I'd be very interested to know if Blue or anyone else makes a screen that will fit this mic.

  • from Boston September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing engineer, Producer and DJ

    Detail

    I was surprised at how much detailed came from this microphone. Great buy for the price!

  • from Indianapolis, IN August 19, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass, keys, B/U vocals, production, video, lights

    Quality over output

    My singer and I needed vocal mics for our rock band and there was a BOGO deal on these so we pulled the trigger. They look and feel great. Sound quality is warm and present. However, they are not very high output so you have to bump the gain a little. In our experience this can lead to feedback issues. Perhaps some creative eq~ing will solve it but I would say this is better suited for not so loud situations or where feedback just isn't a concern. Also came with a nice pouch and mic clip.

  • from July 9, 2015

    Solid mic

    Nice and solid mic. It seems much hotter than my old 58. That required a bit of tweaking, but so far I'm very pleased.

  • from Los Angeles May 29, 2015Music Background:
    Rock

    You Won't Feel BLUE using this mic...Im clever

    Great sound, the band hasn't had anywhere near as much feedback issues with this mic ! Great for live or do-it-yourself recording projects !

  • from Grand Rapids, MI May 11, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Musician/Audio Engineer

    Great mic! Solid.

    I have really enjoyed this mic so far. I have not used it in a live context, but have used it for podcasting/recording and I am happy with the results I've gotten. Solid build, clear sound, and they look pretty nice as well. I would recommend them if you're looking for an affordable stage mic.

  • from April 30, 2015

    pleasantly surprised

    I have a sharp vocal pitch between 3 to 5k and this mike handled it well without killing it. Doesn't mind close work.

  • from Los Alamos, NM April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Blue enCORE 100

    I've tested them in the living room and did a little recording, and they sound pretty good. I plan to use them live in the very near future. They aren't as good as a condenser for picking up acoustic guitar, but they work great for vocals.

  • from April 28, 2015

    Satisfied buyer

    I bought these to use @ church. Great sound, my only problem I have with this mic is the hand noise.

  • from Florence, SC April 27, 2015Music Background:
    3 decades of playing music in bands, writing songs, recording, mixing and producing.

    Blue Microphones enCORE 100

    Hey you can't go wrong with this mic for vocals and instrument recording for the price. I am really happy with this mic in fact I replaced my Shure Beta 58 with it. On top of it being a really nice vocal mic for $100 it was B.O.G.O. !


    Thanks Sweetwater you are my favorite online music shop!

  • from Maine USA April 25, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Guy/Band/Singer

    Soild Performance and Build

    While the 58 has been the standard, I have always found them to be flat. In searching out a new all purpose mic to deploy when running sound, I came across the Blue enCore 100. It was a deal at the 2/fer price, and if I didn't like them I could sell them on and break even. I had them for a month before I got a chance to use them at a blues jam, a jam that got loud and lasted past midnight. Rejection was way better than I anticipated, and I encountered no issues, even when I went out in front of the PA.

    The sound is crisp, bright and well suited to vocals.... for my tastes, I would always have to boost the 58 in the highs and mids to get the sound where I wanted. The e100 does this right out of the box. It is hefty, solid... do not hit your teeth or anyone else. I found the weight and feel to be .. comforting? the barrel is machined so as to maximize grip with out having to throttle it. The proximity zone is very tight. I did not have to back off as far when belting, and when I got on top of it, it did not get over driven. the built in windscreen does a good job of doing its job of blocking the noise of being "on the mic". ( please learn not to throttle/surround your mic when singing)

    Handling noise is prevalent, so you are gunna want a system with a lo-cut/hpf, and let artists know about it so they can avoid using the mic as a rhythm keeper. Because of those machined grooves in the barrel that provide excellent grip, sliding in and out of the mic holder is not as smooth as one might wish, but there is the trade off for having such excellent grip.

    All mics are personal choice. for a lot of us money is an object. Would we like to have $600 stage mics, you bet your bippy we would, but we have to go with the $100 mics because that is what we can afford. The 58 has been king for a long time, but as one suggestion says, maybe the king has seen its successor.

    As I write this, I just order another pair.

    For the price range this mic is sold in, it really deserves a 5-star rating, but I compare this mic to not all, but a wider range.. so for me, compared to my $265 C535EB it is a 4-star rating.

  • from Salt Lake City October 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Nice on acoustic guitar as well

    I own four of these and like them a lot. Recently I set up a concert where the two and sometimes three three acoustic guitarists didn't want to use internal pick-ups. On a whim I mic'd them all with enCORE 100's. I think the results better than my SM57.

  • from NC October 24, 2013Music Background:
    Modest involvement.

    eCore 100 Microphone

    Good Quality @ good price from Sweetwater.

  • from Coeur d'Alene, ID USA July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Church Music director with Masters in Church Music

    Blue Microphone enCore 100

    It is a great improvement over our older mic. Works great

  • from Air base in Afghanistan April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound and some recording.

    Not bad.

    I really like the clarity. It has some weight to it so it is nice and sturdy and haven't had any distortion or too much feedback. No on/off switch so it is always running.

  • from United States March 27, 2013

    LOVE it!!!!!

    This mic has worked better than I expected for the applications that I need it for. As my schooling continues, I'm confident that it's gonna be great then too.

  • from Virginia March 17, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineeer and hobbyist musician.

    Big Blue Encore

    It is heavy, I hope that also means it is durable. It has good clarity and feedback rejection. Seems to cut through the mix and only adds a small amount of enhanced bass presence up close.

  • from December 27, 2016

    Encode 100

    Bought this mic because of the reviews and the sale price before the new model came out. I am really amazed at the clarity and the crispness of this mic. it does not require a bunch of figiting with the eq. This mic kills the Shure sm58 except for the handling noise, keep it on the stand. I highly recommend this mic for anyone looking for something that is superior to the sm58 but in the same price range. Great mic.

  • from September 5, 2016

    Accessories are disappointing

    Mics seem good. Got two of these and the thread on both clips are bad - checked it on all my stands and booms. The diameter of the base of mic doesn't fit most replacement clips. The canvas cases are interesting but they don't close and the mics fall out of the end of the bag.

  • from January 12, 2016

    not good for round deep male vocal

    Somehow despite great reviews sm58 sounds richer for my vocalist. Ive been sitting here listening to 2 sets of vocal and piano wt encore 100 and just switched over SM58. The voice just became richer right away. Im beginning to think that encore 100 is more for ladies voice. The setting on the mixer is exactly the same for encore 100 n SM58.

    No doubt SM58 has a boomier sound. But a small cut in bass on the channel resolves it.

  • from Akron, NY August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Tour artist/Worship Leader

    Great Mic

    I purchased the Blue Encore 100 cause I wanted to find something that would do a better job on my voice then a standard 58. And although they are probably more comparable, I loved the way my voice sounded. The reason for the 3.5 was cause a week later I stepped up to the Encore 200 and and was just completely blown away. So in review the 100 is a great all purpose mic for vocals but the 200 just is another level of greatness. I would recommend either mic. Plus the Buy one get one deal was to good to pas up too.

  • from Music City..... Nashville May 21, 2015Music Background:
    audio engineer, keys and backing vocals

    Encore 100 mic

    Got the encore mics for 2 of our lead singers.....Well built and nice pouch and looks great. Like the fact that you can really get in close to the mic without too much prox affect . The frequency response is ok...but would be nice if it went up to 16k . The sound..... well the guys like them and really...that's what matters most. I buy all the gear for the group since I have the most knowledge about equipment with my audio and recording background. It's a really nice deal for the price. . I've been a sweetwater customer since 1994 and they are still growing...!

  • from Findlay Ohio June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Musicians

    Blue Mics, enCORE 100 - good sound, but no on/off switch

    We have enjoyed using the Blue Mics in our first concert, and are looking forward to using them all weekend. However our biggest concern is that we are unable to turn off the mics when we are not using them. Then it picks up extraneous sounds. Are we missing finding the On/Off switch?

  • from Skinner July 22, 2015

    Solid Live Mic

    It is a good mic for live use. I have singer who needed alittle air in his vocals for our shows and this worked like a charm. Noise handling can be a bit much at times.
    I got two of them during the BOGO sale making it much more worth while.

  • from arizona May 21, 2015Music Background:
    live evnt engineer

    ev 100

    nicely built, solid enough to take a beating, but not warm enough, not too much proximity effect either,crisp in the top end, not a bad mic for the cost, I aquired 4 of them,

  • from San Francisco, CA January 5, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musicain, recording, guitar, sound engineering

    Nice mic but lost of handling noise

    This is a solid mic. I swear by my SM58s but I tried this after reading the ratings and looking at online reviews. The sound quality is good; a bit on the trebly side but nice and sensitive. Should work well for the Norah Jones style vocalist. What I did not like is that it does pick up a lot of handling noise when you hold the mic and also from the mic stand. I don't get so much of this with my SM58. Would I buy more of these mics? Hmmm...I don't know yet. I'll have to continue to compare this with my SM58s. Time will eventually tell.

  • from Queens, NY July 15, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    blue is cool but lacks punch

    The blue microphone looks, feels and sounds good....some people think that its an expensive mic with all the silver "bling" that it has. Kidding aside, the Blue stands its ground with the SM58, but it needs a lot more gain from the mixing board than the 58. It definitely has a brighter sound when AB'd with a 58. The bottom line is that its a good vocal mic to have when you want to go for a brighter vocal sound, and little more clarity..... and its less than 100 bucks

  • from Newtown, PA October 15, 2015

    Not very exciting

    After losing my Bets58 on a job, i purchased this enCore 100. I was dissapointed in the performance, The mic is certainly nowhere near the performance of a Beta 58. I've since purchased an EV N\D767a and that is a fantastic mic, very similar to the properties of the Beta 58. Im much happier with that. The enCores will stay in a mic case, just in case, but probably wont get used much.

  • from Kingsford, MI July 7, 2015Music Background:
    Studio and Gigging musician.

    Seemed fine at first

    I guess I can't dish these mic's too much. They just seem to lack a punch/fullness in a live setting. My sound man had a hard time getting it to compare with the rest of the band using Shures. I will keep them, but realistically they are a $50 mic. OK, but nothing to brag about. I ordered an Shure SM57 beta and used it on my last gig. Blew the Blue right out of the water.

  • from St. Louis, Mo May 2, 2015Music Background:
    Soundman, Multi-instrumentalist

    Bit on the 2 for 1 sale

    Was hoping for an option for beta 58s or sennheiser 835 for vocalists.
    However, this mic doesn't seem to have the punch or well rounded freq response
    I like for lead vocals, lots of mids and eq adjustments. It does seem to work OK on loud sources like
    guitar amps so I guess that's where I'll use it, although I already have 57s for that.

  • from Wisconsin April 14, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Live Sound Reinforcement, dabbling studio engineer, Music graduate, rock band

    Keep looking

    Not the best in its price range by a long shot.

    It has a boost at 100-200hz that you can really hear. It's not particularly susceptible to plosives, but it is excessively cloudy because of it, even farther back.
    Pattern seems a little narrow for cardioid, but that's not necessarily bad.
    That said, my biggest complaint is very high handling noise relative to its competitors.
    It's heavy, which is ok, except that I'm still not convinced of the durability of this studio mic brand, based on my Encore 200 breaking on the first gig, although the Encore 100 hasn't had an issue yet.
    Overall, owning the SM58, the e835, and having used the OM2, I would recommend any of those mics over this one. Sorry Blue, I think you can do better!

  • from Los Angeles October 29, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great sound, Not road worthy

    I really love the sound of this mic. It's what I've always wanted a SM58 to sound like. Great top end and feedback rejection. Every person who sings on them love how they look.

    I run sound at local bars with decent PA's and needed options for mics. I picked these up so I wouldn't have to use the crusty mics provided by the bar and these were well under my budget.

    Every single mic I mentioned has died or been rendered unusable in less than a year. Granted they've been dropped, thrown to the ground, rolled around, and generally been abused like any "LIVE" mic might be. These are not durable in the least.

    I routinely repair my equipment and often buy broken equipment to fix. All my attempts to repair these mics failed. Taking them apart is miserable. The condenser is glued into the body so there is no access to the wires or any part that might be fixable. It also seems that they've had several different productions so there's no consistency in parts. I also discovered there are no replacement grills available anywhere.

    I love the sound of these mics but will never buy these again. It's not worth throwing my money away when an SM58 or SM57 will sound basically the same and take the abuse needed for the road.

  • from Virginia Beach, VA August 12, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Not good for the price range

    I am the most easy going person in my band and I perform 3-4 nights a week locally. I previously used the Audio Technica Mics for years with no hassle and great sound. I own a couple of older Blue recording microphones and love them. When I saw this one, I thought maybe they would bring the same great quality that they have brought in the past to recording mics.

    Well I assumed wrong... The microphone itself is extremely solid and made of great materials.. A+ I play Keys and use an Ultimate stand with the microphone stand option on 2 tiers. After I started using this, 1. My sound man didn't have the head room he had before with the A/T Mics.
    2. The sound for my vocals was extremely muddy.
    3. We started getting all kinds of noise on stage that wasn't there previously... Turns out, the body of the microphone was picking up noise every time I hit the keys on my keyboard. NOT GOOD

    Bottom line... Solid construction and good materials, with terrible engineering. It doesn't come close to competing with other microphones in the same price range. Save yourself the headache and get the e835. I did, and I have never sounded better.

  • from February 10, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Not that great. Get a 58 instead

    Pros:
    -Sounds okay. Not good, just decent.
    -It's kinda pretty

    Cons:
    -Terrible feedback rejection
    -Absurd handling noise
    -Too much proximity effect

    These cons make it basically useless in a live application. It might sound good in a studio environment, but for live applications, I'm sticking to my 58's. Sorry Blue.

  • from Grand Rapids, Michigan September 7, 2016Music Background:
    Vocalist, harmonica, guitarist for over 30 years

    Very disappointed with enCore 100

    I saw the $59 sale price and thought it might be worthwhile and my Sweeteater rep said he'd used it on a gig and it worked fine. After sound check at my first gig after buying it, my band told me to return it. I've now bought a slightly used Shure SM-58 and the fidelity and power are so much better than the enCore 100. I guess you get what you pay for but I wish that I would've not had to learn that lesson in this case.

  • from August 1, 2015Music Background:
    Karaoke dj

    Not impressed

    Thesesics look pretty but that's it. The sound quality isn't very good and volume levels are terrible. These Mocs are very prone to feedback fry experience. I have owned these for six months and would not buy these again. For the same money you can get sennhiser ova that walk all over these. Spend wisely. Learn by my mistake

Questions about the Blue Microphones enCORE 100?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close