0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
April 2017 Giveaway

Sennheiser e901 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e901?

Questions about the Sennheiser e901?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Tyler Berggren

    The e901 is my favorite kick mic, regardless of whether I'm in the studio or running live sound. No longer do I need to spend five minutes carving the flab out of a kick drum with EQ. I just lay this thing inside the drum and walk away. It's tight and punchy, with just the right balance between bottom-end shell resonance and top-end beater snap.

  • David Stewart

    As a live sound engineer this mic saves my life every night that a drummer shows up and has cut the hole too low in his kick drum for a stand to fit in. With the e901 I am able to lose the stand and just place the mic in on top of the damping material for a great sound. Also, this mic does wonders when combined in the studio with a more traditional kick mic to emphasize the slap of the beater.

  • from Norwalk, IA October 6, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Performing Arts Center Manager

    Unorthodox? Maybe!

    Using a kick drum mic as a podium mic might seem silly, but it's working really well! Took a chance on the first suggestion offered by Brad, my sales engineer. Glad I did!

  • from Norwalk, IA October 6, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Performing Arts Center Manager

    Unorthodox? Maybe!

    Using a kick drum mic as a podium mic might seem silly, but it's working really well! Took a chance on the first suggestion offered by Brad, my sales engineer. Glad I did!

  • from THe Great State of Texas September 9, 2015Music Background:
    Owner Rough Wood Recording

    Re-discover your Kick

    I was told this was a better alternative to the Beta 91. Have not used the 91, so I don't know either way. Had to take the front head off as it is a little wide for some ports. It picked up everything from snare to cymbals, so you'll need a gate. But, it gave a nice chest thump with very little EQ. Paired with AUDIX D6 you get the best of both with very little work. Check polarity of course.

  • from Denver, Colorado July 27, 2015Music Background:
    Vocalist, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer

    Absolutely Phenominal!!

    All of the reviews on this mic are spot-on. It absolutely hits the ball out of the park as a kick drum mic, and I am pretty picky on what I use on the kick. For some perspective, I normally like to use an Audio Technica AE-2500 dual-element kick mic, or even its little brother the ATM250DE, as they combine both a condenser and dynamic element into one mic. Worst-case scenario, I will use a nice dynamic like the Sennheiser e902 if I only have the time or channels to allow for a single kick drum mic. To make a long story short, I had a show coming up for a band I had never worked with before, and found out days before the show that the drummer had just bought a "new kit". Not having pictures of the kit, and not trusting his hole placement on the head of the kick, I read a ton of reviews and decided to give this mic a whirl based on numerous great reviews on a number of sites. I also did not know what I was walking into, so I wanted to make sure my piece of the set-up was a quick as possible. When I got to the show, he had a nice hole placement on his kick, so I really didn't need this mic, but I really wanted to try it out to see how it sounded (plus, it was literally "hook a cable to it and throw it into the drum" to set up!). Well, let me just say I was "blown away", as my 5-star rating would indicate. With just a little gating and compression (and NO EQ!!), this mic had the kick sounding tight and thunderous in about 2 minutes. I literally could not believe the great depth I got out of this mic, as being a condenser I had anticipated it being a little "crispy" and maybe not have the "kick" of a dynamic mic. No problems whatsoever with the low end or getting the subwoofers to move; this mic absolutely hit the sweet spot for the kick at an outdoor show where acoustic conditions are not always the best. I can honestly say I was ready to sell my other mics I have used on the kick in the past, but they still have use so I have kept them; they just won't be used live on a kick anymore! Bottom line is that this mic far exceeded expectations in a real-life live environment, and for its price there is simply no comparison in my mind. And as far as ease of set up, there is no comparison whatsoever: you just plug a cable into it and set it on the pillow or whatever pad is inside the kick drum about halfway in and you are done! No kick mic stand to mess with and have taking up space on the stage = AWESOME!! Don't hesitate or think twice: just buy it!!

  • from Michigan/Indiana June 10, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician/Live Audio since 1965

    Sennheiser e901

    I use it in kick drums along with another mic. It does everything I need it to. I like it to because it durable, sounds great and has no cord, just a mic cable plug in.

  • from NJ USA February 8, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbist, Musician

    How could you go wrong

    Stick it in a bass drum and you're done! It's that simple and you get the perfect kick sound every time. Pair it with a AKG D112 on the beater side to get have more flexibility with your tone.

  • from July 9, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobbyist Recording Engineer

    Natural Sound Plus Convienence

    I used this mic on my kick drum when I played at this year's Bonnaroo Festival 2009. I was blown away by its performance in a live setting, but factored in the top notch sound system and engineers. I went ahead and purchased this mic and compared it to my beloved D6 in my home studio. I have found my new favorite kick mic in 901! It sounds much more natural than the D6, less hyped, but still has weight, body, punch, and captures tone. Plus, being a PZM, I've used it on tons of other sources with great results. This mic kills the Beta 91 in features and sound: it has two holes in the bottom to mount it on a wall, a solid rubber bottom to eliminate slippage, and No tinny preamp cable. There is a lot to love about this microphone! Thanks Sweetwater!

Questions about the Sennheiser e901?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway