rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Sennheiser e614 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e614?

Questions about the Sennheiser e614?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 3, 2016

    Sennheiser e614

    Works perfect, great service.

  • from Kentucky July 20, 2015Music Background:
    Arabic Music

    Excellent Mic like all Sennheisers!

    I wanted a mic for my oud and violin in live gigs! This is small enough and seems well thought out. I returned 2 other mics before keeping this. It feels just right in the hand, small enough, and has the full sennheiser sound. Sweetwater service was excellent as always! I am running out of words to say!!!

  • from Scott depot ,wv December 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician,45 years

    Great tool at a great price!

    These little microphones are a great tool for drum overhead use ,live or recording ,our band just finished recording latest cd, (Chaz Humley and the effects) blues band, 2 of the e-614 and a audix D-6 On the kick drum worked very well . You can listen for yourself on our web site.

  • from SW VA, USA August 6, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Great on Kicks

    The guitarist I record with got one of these based on some reviews. I thought it an odd choice for bass drum application, but the attack is superb and it handles the pressure levels fine. I got a second one to use on my double kick set up which we are recording now. It seems like so many mics designed for kick drums sound muddy to me with low end saturation and no decent attack. These small diaphragm condensers surprisingly do the job well. I really like them. At this price point that are winners.

  • from LR, AR February 4, 2010Music Background:
    project studio owner

    not a bright SDC...a GOOD thing!

    i own another pair of SDC's: rode nt5 pair. i find the nt5's are pretty bright and lack bottom, these are polar opposites. full and not piercing. i have used them primarily acoustic guitar and have used them as OH, they reveal a more realistic 3D side to the sound. truly an underrated mic. i own a pair and usually use them as spaced pair or wide xy.

  • from York, PA January 10, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Just the Sound of the Taylor!

    Tried a stereo pair of these when recording a Taylor 110. Unbelievable is the only word to describe. Very precise sound out of these little beauties that required no EQ. In fact, I hesitate to do anything to these dry tracks - all I would do is mess them up. Recorded over a hardwood floor - one to the soundhole, the other to the 12th fret. I thought I was listening to a different set of very expensive German mics.

  • from Boxford,MA USA March 28, 2009Music Background:
    Musician, engineer

    E614

    I bought these thinking they would be good portable overhead solution for live drums. Then, just for fun, I put them up in the studio over the drums instead of my expensive large diaphragm condensers. These are my new overheads. Amazing.

  • from Athens Greece July 5, 2006Music Background:
    Pro Musisian/Recording-Live Engineer assistan

    NOT EXPECTED GUEST..

    I'm playing the most of traditionals acoustics strings instruments in my country(GREECE!)plus guitars and some percusions.Always looking for"pure"sound at live perfomanses.One night i'm trying the 614e and it dosn't need even EQ!Even sens i have a pair(for my new home studio too!)..!!!
    It's really great for this category of money.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah January 9, 2006

    A Real Steal

    When I went hunting for a reasonably low priced high performance condenser primarily for live use with a Martin acoustic guitar, I looked long and hard at a number of top choices. Shure, Rode, AKG and Audio Technica were certainly in the running. However I remembered an experience I had with some older Sennheiser condensers on some Martin 12 String guitars I recorded on back in the early to mid 1970's.

    I decided to give this little wonder a try. Built as one would expect from this respected German company (and yes this mic IS made in Germany) it is built like a little brick cylinder made of turned solid brass it would seem. Small enough to get into tight places and be placed anywhere imaginable. While it doesn't have the ultra sensitivity of some condenser's out there, it's self noise is better than most I've ever heard to be sure. But last and not least it's tonal characteristics are simply stunning. If you handed me this mic and said it set you back $800 I would not challenge you. The tone coming off a nice Martin acoustic is like putting your ear in front of the actual guitar. Small adjustments in placement make the appropriate changes desired. Any small amount of eq goes a long way. The slight presence boost works for the guitar perfectly. All in all this is a wonder of a mic for the price, and a must have for even studio acoustic guitar. It will see more use than just live that's for sure.

Questions about the Sennheiser e614?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway